Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Muppets in Modified cars

• 07-05-2009 11:30am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 985 ✭✭✭

I was Coming back from Cork late last week about 1 am. Drizzly rain. After Portlaoise on the motorway I was behind two HGV’s doing about 60mph. I’m in a transit towing a compressor so I was cruising. The rear truck decides to overtake the slower one so moves out and begins to overtake, slow progress because of the limiters.

Within seconds two modified Sh1te boxes are on the trucks flashing and swerving trying to get by. There is a lot of spray so I hold back because I figure if these muppets loose it, They’ll hit me.

On a left bend on the motorway they go up the inside of the trucks on the Hard shoulder at about 70-80mph.

This was suicidal because of the spray and the bend, if there was a broken down car on the HS ( as there often is) then we would have two more dead gobsh1tes and a possible major truck crash.

I have reported dangerous driving in the past and it’s not worth the effort.

I think statistics will take car of these muppets. I’ll get up some morning and on the news I’ll hear of another single vehicle crash overnight.

My only hope, is that when they crash is that they don’t kill some other responsible road user or children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭cianclarke

Single car accident with these sort = natural selection tbh.. It's when others get mangled in the process that I worry...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,430 ✭✭✭bladespin

Future Darwin award winners.

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Are HGVs allowed overtake on the motorway? Did I hear some media mention of banning that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,694 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

I thought they were banned from it if i'm not mistaken...It's a stupid rule though..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Vegeta wrote: »
    Are HGVs allowed overtake on the motorway? Did I hear some media mention of banning that?

Regardless of if they are allowed on not....are you condoning what the modified cars did?

EnterNow wrote: »
    Regardless of if they are allowed on not....are you condoning what the modified cars did?

I don't think Vegetta's condoning anything, just asking a related question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

HGV's and other heavy vehicles "overtaking" are a scourge, especially in rush hour. I was coming home the other day and a fool in one of those big trucks with the back that tips (<--my girly side really showing there!) was sitting in the middle lane of the N7, while someone in a large saloon type car sat beside him in the outside lane, both going 70 :mad: effectively forcing people to undertake.

Oh and a while ago a silly lady in a sporty little BMW pulled off at an exit, changed her mind, slammed on and swerved back out in front of me. I had to stop so suddenly my wheels locked up, I was blessed that I didn't skid into her, the guy behind me missed me by an inch too, by swerving into the other lane. (the woman had a kid in the car too!)

Don't get me wrong those fools you saw are muppets, but people in all types of cars can be muppets. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

I seem to remember reading something in the rules of the road that they must stay in the slow lane alright, think it actually did mention they were not allowed to overtake.

As for the scene the OP witnessed, I was on a single carriageway where a brand new BMW with a mid 50's male driving went to overtake me, another car a van and a truck, the van had already decided to overtake the truck on the blind bend and then the BMW did too only to also go on to the hard shoulder and overtake the van that was already overtaking the truck, all on a blind bend.

So if a car came around that car they would have been met with a truck and van and the BMW 3 a breast, ludicrous driving.

Couldn't believe it and then next thing I see is the BMW undertaking a line of cars further up the road.

So ridiculous driving is not confined to modified cars or young drivers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭Tefral

HGV's and other heavy vehicles "overtaking" are a scourge, especially in rush hour. I was coming home the other day and a fool in one of those big trucks with the back that tips (<--my girly side really showing there!) was sitting in the middle lane of the N7, while someone in a large saloon type car sat beside him in the outside lane, both going 70 :mad: effectively forcing people to undertake.

Oh and a while ago a silly lady in a sporty little BMW pulled off at an exit, changed her mind, slammed on and swerved back out in front of me. I had to stop so suddenly my wheels locked up, I was blessed that I didn't skid into her, the guy behind me missed me by an inch too, by swerving into the other lane. (the woman had a kid in the car too!)

Don't get me wrong those fools you saw are muppets, but people in all types of cars can be muppets. :)

Ive seen men in Mercs and BMW's do this a few times on my way from Dublin to Limerick just outside Roscrea, so its not just muppets in Modified Cars, Just Muppets in General.

Have to say though, nothing more frustrating then being stuck behind a HGV over taking another one, Still doesnt excuse their actions. As you said, statistics will take care of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 985 ✭✭✭spadder

draffodx wrote: »
    So ridiculous driving is not confined to modified cars or young drivers.

Agreed, but you cannot deny that alot of Mod. car drivers are muppets?

A lot of them are but based on my experience, a lot of BMW drivers are muppets too. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

spadder wrote: »
    It wasn't the modified car that did it, it was the driver.

Wouldnt be so sure about nailing it down to one group. ALot of drivers in general are muppets. Taxi drivers, bus drivers, truck drivers, motorbikers. They all do stupid things just as much as any other group, only thing is there is a stigma attached to Modified Car drivers and thats what boils peoples blood quicker!

I'm baised, I hate them, several reasons:

1. one of my vans was hit by a modified car doing donuts in a carpark

2. noise, where I live I can hear the stupid exhausts all around the town all night.

3. Generally driven by skangers, I know there maybe some genuine "enthusists" but I haven't met any.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Sean Quagmire

Coming back on the m1 last week seen this carry on far too often. If its a modified car just doing normal over taking etc fine, but little sh*tbox slarlets and corrolla's that have no power just exhaust noise, now that annoys me. Struggling to get the car to a high speed :pac:

and yes (most) BMW drivers are twats too! they have a complex about getting over taken..

2. noise, where I live I can hear the stupid exhausts all around the town all night.

3. Generally driven by skangers, I know there maybe some genuine "enthusists" but I have met any.

Thats unfortunate really. I run a modified Car website and i have to say 80% of them are genuine and 20% are complete idiots. Its unfortunately that 20% that has caused most of the hassle.

Coming back on the m1 last week seen this carry on far too often. If its a modified car just doing normal over taking etc fine, but little sh*tbox slarlets and corrolla's that have no power just exhaust noise, now that annoys me. Struggling to get the car to a high speed :pac:

and yes (most) BMW drivers are twats too! they have a complex about getting over taken..

Isnt that why Clarkson calls them "Cocks" although it seems the once respectful Audi drivers are now getting diluted with "Cocks" now too

cronin_j wrote: »
    Wouldnt be so sure about nailing it down to one group. ALot of drivers in general are muppets. Taxi drivers, bus drivers, truck drivers, motorbikers. They all do stupid things just as much as any other group, only thing is there is a stigma attached to Modified Car drivers and thats what boils peoples blood quicker!

Cronin_j sums it up pretty much perfectly, if you drive much every day you will see unbelievable driving from every stereotype of driver on the roads, but because of media coverage and the general public's ignorance towards the modified scene the minority of people in modified cars who drive dangerous and cause havoc are suddenly reason enough to tar every modified car with the same brush.

The proper modified community have to put up with this tarring because of the number of young idiots in clapped out mircas with big exhausts thinking there on a race track. Meanwhile if the public would open there narrow minds they would see that most proper modified car owners drive as responsibly as anyone else, they keep there fun to track days and they even are involved in a large number of charity events throughout the year making money for various charities.

But sadly all this is missed by the public as they concentrate on the minority of idiots out there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,833 ✭✭✭✭Armin_Tamzarian

3. Generally driven by skangers, I know there maybe some genuine "enthusists" but I haven't met any.

Hi, I'm an 'enthusiast', nice to meet you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 300 ✭✭thethedev

I drive a modified car.
    Its a 1.3......with a standard exhaust and it aint built for speed neither.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 100 ✭✭D-Boy

Wanna see Celbridge theres this burgundy 3 door starlet with a exhaust that sounds just 'loose' crawling around.
    Worst thing is they just get into the cars and shoot off in first gear to make as much noise as possible even when the engines are cold!!!
    For all the 'modofying' they dont take basic care of the poor cars.
    Not to mention when they try to race motorbikes lol!

Thats unfortunate really. I run a modified Car website and i have to say 80% of them are genuine and 20% are complete idiots. Its unfortunately that 20% that has caused most of the hassle.

Here's an idea for your enthusiasts, why not form a national club ( maybe you have one?) print a sticker with your club membership no. and a message like " If I drive like a muppet please report this number to blah blah blah"
    If you lose your sticker due to complaints or muppetry then your excluded from national events and shows etc.

Inform the Guards about the club and the stickers. This will be good PR for the responsible modders and cars that don't have a sticker will recieve more attention from the cops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,463 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

I agree 100%. Where I live I can hear the little skangers doing donuts on the main road and it's not even in the early hours..more like 11pm!

Yes, we will eventually be rid of these thicks when they get cleared out in crashes, as someone already said, it's just heartbreaking that innocent people get caught up, which makes it tragic.

Here's an idea for your enthusiasts, why not form a national club ( maybe you have one?) print a sticker with your club membership no. and a message like " If I drive like a muppet please report this number to blah blah blah"

Inform the Guards about the club and the stickers. This will be good PR for the responsible modders and cars that don't have a sticker will recieve more attention from the cops.

Already have that, Guards are members of the club, 10k members, have had two very successful charity events for Milford Hospice, Have attended other charity events to show support (kids ones esp love looking at modified cars), won awards up and down the country at shows, we have been on the radio discussing these matters and have always got praise.

And im not a scumbag, drive my car responsibly, Service it evey 5k miles, check everything on it weekly, have my own apartment and im a Quantity Surveyor working away paying my taxes like everyone else here and believe it or not thats the same picture for the majority of Modified Car Owners

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Tragedy

Why are modified car enthusiasts in this car saying things like "it's the minority who let us down" etc? The majority of people in modified cars are young knackers, there's no point pretending otherwise.

And if in someones personal experience, more modified car drivers are idiots than other makes, why are you arguing with that? Personal experience is personal experience.

Already have that, Guards are members of the club, 10k members, have had two very successful charity events for Milford Hospice, Have attended other charity events to show support (kids ones esp love looking at modified cars), won awards up and down the country at shows, we have been on the radio discussing these matters and have always got praise.

And im not a scumbag, drive my car responsibly, Service it evey 5k miles, check everything on it weekly, have my own apartment and im a Quantity Surveyor working away paying my taxes like everyone else here and believe it or not thats the same picture for the majority of Modified Car Owners

First I heard of it tbh. You need to do more to distinguish yerselves from the skangers or you will all be tarred with the same brush.

If you lose your sticker due to complaints or muppetry then your excluded from national events and shows etc.

Sounds like a plan. Can we have them on Transits too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,699 ✭✭✭ronaneire

Lane 1
    The normal 'keep left' rule applies. Stay in this lane unless you are overtaking.

Lane 2
    On a two-lane motorway, use this for overtaking only and move back into lane 1 when you have finished. You may also use this lane to accommodate traffic merging from the left.

On a three-lane motorway, you may stay in this centre lane while there is slower moving traffic in lane 1.

Lane 3
    If you are travelling on a three-lane motorway, you must use this lane only if traffic in lanes 1 and 2 is moving in queues and you need to overtake or accommodate merging traffic. Once you've finished overtaking, move back to your left and allow faster traffic coming from behind to pass by.

You must not use the lane nearest the central median (lane 2 or lane 3, depending on the motorway width) if you are driving:
    • a goods vehicle with a design gross vehicle weight of more than 3,500 kilograms,
    • a passenger vehicle with seating for more than 8 passengers (aside from the driver), or
    • a vehicle towing a trailer, horsebox or caravan.
    You may use it, however, in exceptional circumstances when you cannot proceed in the inner lane because of a blockage ahead. You may also use it if you are at a location on a motorway where a speed limit of 80km/h or less applies.

Anan1 wrote: »
    Sounds like a plan. Can we have them on Transits too?

Alot of commercials do have them.
    "is this driven responsibly" etc

Alot of commercials do have them.
    "is this driven responsibly" etc
    I particularly like your idea about Transits that don't have a sticker receiving more attention from the Gardai. Does your Transit have such a sticker?

First I heard of it tbh. You need to do more to distinguish yerselves from the skangers or you will all be tarred with the same brush.

I wish i knew how mate. I have been involved in modified cars 8 years now and i haven't met anyone that can solve that yet.

I particularly like your idea about Transits that don't have a sticker receiving more attention from the Gardai. Does your Transit have such a sticker?

No, But my company name and number is all over them, about two years ago I got a complaint about a guy that works for me throwing a cigerette pack out the window. I gave him a warning if he done it again I'd fire him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

I despise these threads, I really do. You see the likes of a 94 Corolla saloon, with a "Toyota" sun visor sticker, a mahoosive exhaust, tinted windows and a crap set of wheels. These people, and the likes, are not enthusiasts. They are people that drive the ****e out of their car, because they've paid nothing for it and don't care what happens to it.

Why do I despise these threads? Because I drive a modified car, and I hate being tarred with this overly used brush. I've spend a few k on my car, I serviced every 5k miles and I check the oil/lights/ everything every week. I don't drive at high speed, and when I do, it's only when I feel it's safe to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭ronanc15

@Spadder.... Another Genuine Car Enthusiast checking in for a hello. Staff on the same modified car site as cronin_j runs, 21 year old male, Living in dublin, from clare, working for one of the worlds largest insurance brokers. :) We do exist :D

Sick of these threads popping up, like someone said its the person that carried out the action not the car. Of course theres some knobends who drive modified cars, it would be foolish to think otherwise. You may not notice the genuine car enthusiasts because we have no reason to draw the negative attention

Tragedy wrote: »
    Why are modified car enthusiasts in this car saying things like "it's the minority who let us down" etc? The majority of people in modified cars are young knackers, there's no point pretending otherwise.

And if in someones personal experience, more modified car drivers are idiots than other makes, why are you arguing with that? Personal experience is personal experience.

Where your getting things wrong here is your definition of a modified car. I presume you think its a fiesta or civic or corolla that has a 1.3 engine which has been fitted with a tacky bodykit, large back box to make noise and some neons or what not, that to you is a modified car. And in that respect you are correct most people who drive them are young knackers.

However a modified car is in actual fact any car that has any of the Original Manufacturers parts replaced, In this respect what I call a modified car is one that looks normal from the outside but has had modification work done on the performance side.

This type of modified car owner is the proper enthusiast, they have nice cars, they insure them properly, they drive responsibly, they go to tracks to have fun, they organise and take part in charity events, they are apart of large online communities that are trying there best to promote the true image of a modified car enthusiast. This group of people is much larger than the 1.3 tacky bodykit brigade.

Unfortunately the general public are ignorant and because the first group I described cause them so much hassle the second group I described gets tarred with the same brush.

Theres a lot of online communities that are trying to promote what is the real image of todays modified car enthusiast, they organise meets for owners to meet up and share information, these meets are strictly no messing, any messing is reported to gardai and the gardai themselves are usually informed about the meets.

The meets often involve promoting safety or are held to make money for charity. Sites like DTDirl.com are like this, they have just recently held a track day at Mondello to raise money for the Irish cancer society and have a good relationship with charities.

You say they have to promote themselves more but DTDirl has tried its best to promote itself, the trackday was promoted i several local papers, the site has been involved with radio shows but its impossible to get large scale national coverage, Why? because a pretty picture of responsible modified car owners raising money for a large charity just doesn't help sell national papers whereas the little ****s causing annoyance for people in towns and housing estates that actually are young knackers do

No, But my company name and number is all over them, about two years ago I got a complaint about a guy that works for me throwing a cigerette pack out the window. I gave him a warning if he done it again I'd fire him.
    So someone wanting to complain about your driving would get to talk to who - you? In my experience, Transits are driven dangerously rather more often than modified cars - they might be a good place to start with your 'If I drive like a muppet please report this number to blah blah blah' stickers idea?

but little sh*tbox slarlets
    :eek: I love my little (unmodified) starlet.

Yet another one of these tiresome threads. Really as has been mentioned above some people really need to learn how to distinguish between a modified car and a badly butchered fiesta, civic(1.3), corolla etc. Skylines, Evo's, Impreza's, Silvia's etc are very rarely driven by skangers as they cannot afford them. These cars often have thousands more spent on them to improve performance, braking etc. If they are loud its almost definitely due to using a straight through exhaust system to aid performance and not a back box to make noise.

I know a number of people who drive modified cars of these there is a computer programmer, a graphic designer, an architect and an electrician to name but a few. Hardly a bunch of skangers.

In my experience the people who complain about modded car and BMW drivers(of which I am one) are often a much bigger danger on the roads and are probably doing something wrong themselves rather than the driver they are complaining about.

So someone wanting to complain about your driving would get to talk to who - you? In my experience, Transits are driven dangerously rather more often than modified cars - they might be a good place to start with your 'If I drive like a muppet please report this number to blah blah blah' stickers idea?

Not sure what your getting at?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

but little sh*tbox slarlets

As much as I hate them, they are very very fast cars.
    D-Boy wrote: »
    Not to mention when they try to race motorbikes lol!

Get that all the time. Including the screaming "pussy" out the window. They should really do the maths.

Because as said before, a lad who bought a 2k car threw a small bit of money into a badly done body kit and loud exhaust so he can impress his other mates is being thrown in with lads who buy 10k+ cars and throw 10k+ into them. They love those things and really are not the guys you see driving around like assholes waiting for chance to kill them.

Not sure what your getting at?
    It's quite simple - i've seen more muppets driving Transits than modified cars. Does that make you a muppet? Or would that be stereotyping?

No, that makes white van man :p

Unfortunately for the true modded fan, any car that has modifications done falls into this category (rightly) and the cars most likely to have this work done (well/badly) are the civic, corsa, starlet turbos etc that cause this kind of venom.

Little things in life p*ss people off the most, I hate civics due to the gobsheens living around me with their illegal exhausts, tyr getting a 1 month old back to sleep at 3 in the morning after some eegit decides to warm up his engine by revving the knackers out of it.

Dangerous driving as mentioned in the initial post comes from any type of roaduser and shouldn't be tolerated, I'll assume he called the gardai and made a statement about what he saw before posting here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭igglou

Ah so that explains it! I've just gotten my first BMW and couldn't understand the hostility I've been receiving on the road since changing from my Volvos. I have to wait an age at junctions before anyone lets me out and i needn't try over taking anyone because that same driver that was doing 70km for miles now speeds right up to stop me pulling back in safely!

Iv'e seen muppets in Transits too, but it's mod. cars that has the image problem. Yep, there is the white van syndome but it doesn't attract half the bad press that a badly driven skanger mobile will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Sean Quagmire

Don't get me wrong about the starlet comment. My brother used to have one they are a great car! You know the ones I'm talking about the 'Glanza' wannabe starlets. Pimping the hell out of the 1.3 engine with air boxes and exhausts then giving it the official skanger stamp with crap alloys, visors etc. always the same mongo driving them!

and now for a laugh, check out these expertly modified motors! :D

http://www.barryboys.co.uk/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=31504

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭Marcus.Aurelius

What about the HGV drivers? If the limit is more than 65 kph, they are banned from overtaking.

The new regulations in the next road traffic act we hope, will fix this nonsense and give some teeth to Gardaí. A new keep left unless overtaking fine would also massively decrease congestion on motorways and let people get home at more average times, instead of losing 20 minutes being stuck behind thickos hogging overtaking lanes.

Iv'e seen muppets in Transits too, but it's mod. cars that has the image problem. Yep, there is the white van syndome but it doesn't attract half the bad press that a badly driven skanger mobile will.

Im guilty of stereotyping at times, I would presume your van is full of carpets/fireplaces :D:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Tragedy

draffodx wrote: »
    Where your getting things wrong here is your definition of a modified car. I presume you think its a fiesta or civic or corolla that has a 1.3 engine which has been fitted with a tacky bodykit, large back box to make noise and some neons or what not, that to you is a modified car. And in that respect you are correct most people who drive them are young knackers.

However a modified car is in actual fact any car that has any of the Original Manufacturers parts replaced, In this respect what I call a modified car is one that looks normal from the outside but has had modification work done on the performance side.

This type of modified car owner is the proper enthusiast, they have nice cars, they insure them properly, they drive responsibly, they go to tracks to have fun, they organise and take part in charity events, they are apart of large online communities that are trying there best to promote the true image of a modified car enthusiast. This group of people is much larger than the 1.3 tacky bodykit brigade.
    Actually, I think you're the person getting your definitions confused. Look at modified car magazines, the majority of sites dedicated to modified cars, and you'll see in general it's japboxes+the usual with aesthetic mods, modified exhausts and dump valves.

And no, I dont know what world you live in but modified car enthusiasts who go to track days and take part in charity events dont outnumber knackers in modified cars.

Not in the real world anyway.

In my experience the people who complain about modded car and BMW drivers(of which I am one) are often a much bigger danger on the roads and are probably doing something wrong themselves rather than the driver they are complaining about.
    How exactly do you know this? Do you see dangerous driving by non bmw/modded car drivers, follow them home and ask them how they feel about BMW and modded car drivers?

Uh huh.

Look at modified car magazines, the majority of sites dedicated to modified cars, and you'll see in general it's japboxes+the usual with aesthetic mods, modified exhausts and dump valves.

Absolute and utter chocolate is what you're talking, show me one modified car magazine full of "japboxes+the usual with aesthetic mods, modified exhausts and dump valves." No magazine would sell if it was this bollox it published.

As for sites im not even going to start ranting on how wrong you are...

ronanc15 wrote: »
    Im guilty of stereotyping at times, I would presume your van is full of carpets/fireplaces :D:p

good deal on power tools boss:D