Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pet Hates

• 06-05-2009 9:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭

I'm starting a thread on your pet hates and why. We have them all and see the end results of people who do things to themselves and others.

Mine for the day is Speeders.

The carnage on our roads is unbelievable - we have speed limits for a good reason, not as a general guideline that going 20km/h above it is ok.

Statistically, your death and serious injury rate rapidly rises as speed goes up by even 10km/h compared to normal speed.

I unsuccessfully resuscitated a motorcyclist by roadside whilst out driving and it was harrowing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭pingu2008

Rubberneckers seriously folks keep your eyes on the road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭1922

cars full of rubbish and dirty.....grr

then again i'm a clean freak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

Fog lights are my pet hate.
    Seriously they blind the road users coming towards you.
    I feckin hate them.
    I also hate that when I point out the fact you have your foglights on, people say "Oh I didnt realise", cue me saying "Well see that green light on your dash? That indicates your foglights are on. HOw can you miss that green light."

or worse still is

"No guard they are not foglights, they are spot lights"

"im sorry but under the RTA Acts they are foglights and still cause a certain amount of blindness to drivers coming towards you"

For Gods sake dont confuse a marketing gimmick such as spotlights for foglights!!!
    On most cars they are the same thing and therefore should only be used during heavy fog or heavy snowfall

I hate foglights

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭rex-x

following on from a recent thread on another forum i must say that doing 25000 miles a year and driving for a number of years I have never ever been blinded or otherwise distracted by fog lights, and i can see no problem with them! certain new cars i.e. mercs turn on one fog light while turning right or left (see topgear episode minicabbing)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

TheNog wrote: »
    I feckin hate them.
    I also hate that when I point out the fact you have your foglights on, people say "Oh I didnt realise", cue me saying "Well see that green light on your dash? That indicates your foglights are on. HOw can you miss that green light."

or worse still is

"im sorry but under the RTA Acts they are foglights and still cause a certain amount of blindness to drivers coming towards you"

For Gods sake dont confuse a marketing gimmick such as spotlights for foglights!!!
    On most cars they are the same thing and therefore should only be used during heavy fog or heavy snowfall

I hate foglights
    Theyre called Hi-Beams :)

/runs back to America

The guy ready to turn that doesnt - even though he has the right on red.

Broken Lights - you have no way on the road to really tell someone their light is busted, and they could be driving like that for weeks or months before they realize it.

I want desperately to talk smack to the driver behind me - I'm saving up for a keyboard, some duct tape, and this

The guy in the turning lane that leaves a huge gap between him and the lead car; usually resulting in half the queue having to sit through the next light cycle.

Cell Phone Talkers! :mad:

Its hard to think of any that arent road related.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭jaffa20

I hate when someone's break lights are not working. Of course, you are meant to look beyond the car and anticipate what is going to happen. I saw a guarda car with one breaklight not working in bray the other day. Now that did shock me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 569 ✭✭✭lods

DrIndy wrote: »
    I'm starting a thread on your pet hates and why. We have them all and see the end results of people who do things to themselves and others.

Mine for the day is Speeders.

The carnage on our roads is unbelievable - we have speed limits for a good reason, not as a general guideline that going 20km/h above it is ok.

Statistically, your death and serious injury rate rapidly rises as speed goes up by even 10km/h compared to normal speed.

I unsuccessfully resuscitated a motorcyclist by roadside whilst out driving and it was harrowing.
    Add tail gateing while speeding.:mad:

rex-x wrote: »
    following on from a recent thread on another forum i must say that doing 25000 miles a year and driving for a number of years I have never ever been blinded or otherwise distracted by fog lights, and i can see no problem with them! certain new cars i.e. mercs turn on one fog light while turning right or left (see topgear episode minicabbing)

For me while driving for the last 16yrs and doing 50,000 miles a year for the past 9yrs I find Nissan Micra foglights to be the worst. Especially when the drver side foglight is misaligned and so directed across oncoming traffic.
    Overheal wrote: »
    Theyre called Hi-Beams :)

/runs back to America

OH you run boy :p

Im not referring to Hi-Beams but yes they are bad too.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Overheal wrote: »
    I want desperately to talk smack to the driver behind me - I'm saving up for a keyboard, some duct tape, and this

I have wanted one of those for a long time now!

"You are tailgating me"

"It is illegal to drive and talk on your phone"

"I left that space in front of me for safety sake"

"That lever on the side of your wheel is called an indicator, USE IT!"

"Put your makeup on before you leave the house!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

Personally, truckers/taxi dirvers or anyone else who drives for a living using their phone while driving.

If your job involves being out driving everyday surely you should get a handsfree kit/bluetooth!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

Getting home from the shops & discovering the ice cream has melted is one, but speeders & drink drivers would top my list, always have, and still remain at the top... :)

People using fog lights.
    People using fog lights instead of their headlights.
    People with only one headlight working.
    People with only one fog light working.
    People with one headlight and one fog light working. (usually on opposite sides)
    People on mobile phones. (If i can walk up to you wearing my hi-viz and you don't see me what chance does a child or cyclist have?)
    People driving in the overtaking lane of a dual carrige way or motorway. (if you are driving as slow as the car in the normal driving lane or there is no car in that lane that get out of my way.)
    People not indicating. (I'm not pyschic)
    People stopping five feet away from me at a checkpoint.
    Drivers who forget how to drive when they see a Garda car.

Did I miss anything?;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

My pet hates when other dogs sniff his bum.

My pet's a goldfish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭Celticfire

Is this the Motors or Emergency Services forum :confused::confused:

Celticfire wrote: »
    Is this the Motors or Emergency Services forum :confused::confused:

Considering we can issues fines for most of the "hates" so far what do you think? Especially for Deadwoods example!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭ART6

lods wrote: »
    Add tail gateing while speeding.:mad:

A-bloody-men! I sincerely wish that the Gardai would do one of their clamp downs on tailgaters and take the damned fools off the roads. For some reason most of them seem to be female, driving with one hand on the top dead centre of the steering wheel, and oblivious to anything around them. Please, Traffic Corps, start pulling them up???

ART6 wrote: »
    A-bloody-men! I sincerely wish that the Gardai would do one of their clamp downs on tailgaters and take the damned fools off the roads. For some reason most of them seem to be female, driving with one hand on the top dead centre of the steering wheel, and oblivious to anything around them. Please, Traffic Corps, start pulling them up???

Both sexes are responsible for this one. Problem for the Gardai is that people tend not to do it when you are around. Only way of catching people who do it is by being around in unmarked cars.

Personally, if somebody is tailgating me I just ease off of the accelerator, don't brake, just slow them down. Most of the time they take the hint. If not and it is safe to do so I will move over to let them past me. Let them kill themselves. I want to go home at the end of my journey.

Oh, if you can get the offending cars details and feel so strongly about it report it to TrafficWatch and follow it through to court.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

I feckin hate them.

or worse still is

I hate foglights

I don't get the hatred of fog-lights, unless it's jealousy because your rust-bucket doesn't have them. They are aligned downwards to illuminate the road, in particular the nearside curb, for a very short distance in front of the car as they are designed for relatively low-speed driving in poor visibility. If properly aligned like as headlights should be they should be dipped below your dipped headlights therefore less blinding than dipped headlights. What's the big deal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Ok mine here - relating to AGS...

Why on earth do guards not polish their boots or press their uniforms?.

Seriously, it bugs the life out of me.

Other than that, spitting!.. I detest it.

And lads peeing on the street.

Ok mine here - relating to AGS...

Seriously, it bugs the life out of me.

I polished my boots before work the other night and the first call that I went to I had to climb a wall ruining the polish. :mad:

I do agree re the presentation though. It doesn't take much effort to run an iron over the shirt and trousers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭ivabiggon

when people ring 999 and call me out in my ambulance at 4 i the morning to a pain they've had for a month....
    or
    call me when the hospital discharges them and they get a little pain and after travelling home in the taxi ring an ambulance...
    oh then their partner travels behind the ambulance breaking red light etc with flashing hazards after i've told them not to follow the ambulance
    gRRRRRRRRRRR????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭jake59

foreign wrote: »
    I polished my boots before work the other night and the first call that I went to I had to climb a wall ruining the polish. :mad:

I do agree re the presentation though. It doesn't take much effort to run an iron over the shirt and trousers.

A few pet hates.. people not indicating, people indicating to pull in when i'm on blue lights/sirens coming up behind them and yet they keep on driving closing the gap between themselves and any oncoming traffic or central roadsign/island etc., (pull in and stop, let me pass you on the way to the emergency and then when its safe to do so carry on with your journey... k?), mules thinking its part of the uniform to wear your tie hanging over your vest with your top button open once its gone past 2am in the morning... it looks **** lads........:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

My pet hates..

The standard of driving in this country.

Gardai who don't use indicators and drive fast when they are definitely not on call. They should be setting an example for other road users both on and off duty.

But one of my biggest pet hates is people's refusal to cross a busy street at allocated points i.e. traffic lights. Or even worse.. crossing at traffic lights without waiting for the 'green man' signal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Pedestrians who deliberately walk slowly until the traffic lights show red for peds and green for cars, and then cross the road, frowning upon drivers who beep at them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Myggel

In the gym last night, girl about 18 pulled something in her leg. Mum was called and she called an ambulance.

The girl was put on a stretcher and taken away to the hospital.

I thought ambulances were for emergencies??

I heard a mate of mine bitching about ambulances being used as taxis but I thought he was exaggerating until I saw it with my own eyes.

The mother had a f**king car outside!!!

Is this as common as I'm lad to believe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭DrIndy

yes it is - its the big white taxi that takes you to the city centre area.

They did a pilot in cork where an emergency doctor was in the back of one of the units - cut the carry load to ED in half and in addition sorted out 2 really sick people immediately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭daithip

Biggest pet hate, temporary traffic lights at roadworks, actually not the lights, the people who disobey them and you end up sitting the far side of the lights while car after car follows the last one through the red until eventually your light has gone from green to red again:mad::mad::mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Myggel wrote: »
    In the gym last night, girl about 18 pulled something in her leg. Mum was called and she called an ambulance.

The girl was put on a stretcher and taken away to the hospital.

I thought ambulances were for emergencies??

I heard a mate of mine bitching about ambulances being used as taxis but I thought he was exaggerating until I saw it with my own eyes.

The mother had a f**king car outside!!!

Is this as common as I'm lad to believe?

You don't say what happened to the girl, and so I'd have to assume it might have been too serious for her mum to take her in the car.

A few years ago I tore a hamstring while kickboxing, I had to get an ambulance to the gym!.

I spent six weeks on crutches!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,091 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Blame Deadwood for this post.

(Drug) dogs who sniff my package then sit beside me like they know me. Wtf like?

(Drug) mules who have the same type case as mine, and take it off the carousel because they got cold feet. The Customs guys who never believe this story.

Female Gardaí who refuse point-blank to give me their number, even though they're really hot, and I tell them this repeatedly.

Seriously though, I did think I was in Motors there for a while!

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

foreign wrote: »
    People using fog lights.
    People using fog lights instead of their headlights.
    People with only one headlight working.
    People with only one fog light working.
    People with one headlight and one fog light working. (usually on opposite sides)
    People on mobile phones. (If i can walk up to you wearing my hi-viz and you don't see me what chance does a child or cyclist have?)
    People driving in the overtaking lane of a dual carrige way or motorway. (if you are driving as slow as the car in the normal driving lane or there is no car in that lane that get out of my way.)
    People not indicating. (I'm not pyschic)
    People stopping five feet away from me at a checkpoint.
    Drivers who forget how to drive when they see a Garda car.

Did I miss anything?;)

Hate all them apart from the walking upto me at a checkpoint cos Im not a cop. I be laughing at people stopping before they get tot he guard though. whats the point

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

You don't say what happened to the girl, and so I'd have to assume it might have been too serious for her mum to take her in the car.

A few years ago I tore a hamstring while kickboxing, I had to get an ambulance to the gym!.

I spent six weeks on crutches!.

My friend tore his hamstring playing rugby.He was running full sprint with no one near him and he went down like a sack of sh1te,it was like there was a sniper in the bushes!Had to get and ambulance.

He tore it again putting his feet up on a table,worst pain ever he said,again an ambulance!

Back on topic,I hate people who drive wile slow and refuse to pull in and let you past:mad:

And really annoying drunks slobbering all over the place.

Hagar wrote: »
    I don't get the hatred of fog-lights, unless it's jealousy because your rust-bucket doesn't have them. They are aligned downwards to illuminate the road, in particular the nearside curb, for a very short distance in front of the car as they are designed for relatively low-speed driving in poor visibility. If properly aligned like as headlights should be they should be dipped below your dipped headlights therefore less blinding than dipped headlights. What's the big deal?

My rustbucket does have foglights and seeing as I am not the jealous type thats not the real answer.

Next time you see a car with foglights on during the dark hours, try reading the reg plate number. Nearly impossible. I dont say that lightly cos I scan each reg plate for the ones I know which are stolen or are known drug users/dealers or involved in burglaries etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

try reading the reg plate number.
    Sorry I wasn't referring specifically to you, your post just prompted me to post as I've seen the anti-foglight thing so often in the Motors Forms. It got so bad the topic is banned now.
    I never thought about the difficulty of reading the licence plates, fair comment so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭TheInquisitor

I can get their safely or fast. I choose fast. Speeders are winners!!

Pet hate- Someone doing 80 on a 100km/ph strech of road and when a bus moves over to side of road to let people pass cars that still won't overtake even when there is no on coming traffic for miles. Its called an accelerator pedal not a"lets all go slow" pedal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Hate speeders who go way over the limit. Also hate f**kers who go way under the limit. Nothing worse than some muppet pottering along at 30 in a 80 zone.

Apparantly, you're not meant to polish the boots but use the gel provided. Handy excuse for a few.

I polish mine and it hasn't compromised their super-human qualities yet.

Funny how lads who can't shine their shoes still manage to get a nice shine on their trousers!

happyhappy wrote: »
    taxis and their hazard lights.

i propose that every friday and saturday night, all taxis should start at the bottom of georges street and drive to flannerys on camden street and stop for 1 minute each in the middle of the road and put their hazard lights on to get practice and see how far the traffic will go back onto dame st!!!! actually wait a minute.........:eek::eek:

I always thought that was the queue to get into the rank outside Citi Bar!:p

Though another pet hate is taxi drivers queuing for the rank at that bar and blocking traffic coming from Dame Street. It's narrow enough as it is. Oh and taxi drivers blocking the right hand lane on Aston Quay waiting to get into the rank. And taxi drivers...

I don't hate all of them though. Some have been a help to me in the past.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭brayblue24

Illegally parking on disabled bays

Using mobile phone while driving-an earpiece costs less than the fine!

Don't get me started on roundabouts

And finally, when my wife's friends, all female, call to visit why the necessity to park across my driveway, even when there is loads of other spaces, when my car is not in it so that when I get home I can't get in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

brayblue24 wrote: »

And finally, when my wife's friends, all female, call to visit why the necessity to park across my driveway, even when there is loads of other spaces, when my car is not in it so that when I get home I can't get in!

You seemed pretty keen to stress that fact!:p:D

Ok I'm going!...

eroo wrote: »
    You seemed pretty keen to stress that fact!:p:D

Ok I'm going!...

Following on from previous posts re females. Well spotted tho

(cue sexism grief....)

Don't get me started on roundabouts

Nobody push Brayblue on the wittle woundabout. He's only ickle and does a wittle wommit when it spins too fast.

That's to give me time to get out the back.

Deadwood,

I thought I had wit. No, I know I have wit (though it mightn't quite shine through on this site) and then there was you....

Well done on the constant observations and amusement. Full marks my good man!

I thought I had wit. No, I know I have wit ...quote]
    I agree. Mrs Brayblue gives me some of my best material!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Parking on footpaths, especially where they leave little space so you have squeeze past (and hey, I'm slim!)
    If you come out of your house and find your wing mirror folded in, t'was probably me who did it

And it's ok for me but what about people with children in buggies, they have to step onto the road and then lift the buggy back onto the footpath.

Give me a garda jacket and the ability to give tickets and I'll make progress on the national debt :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭ste88m

People pulling into yellow boxes at junctions and roundabouts!!
    'Amber gamblers' - those who see a light turn amber, speed up to make it before it turns red & then end up breaking the lights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭the roo

how about the ***t who tailgates you and does his best to overtake you as dangerously as they can, cuts in and then slows down right in front of you to the correct speed limit as if they are a safe and responsible driver

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,091 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

ste88m wrote: »
    People pulling into yellow boxes at junctions and roundabouts!!
    'Amber gamblers' - those who see a light turn amber, speed up to make it before it turns red & then end up breaking the lights.
    You do know that it is legal to enter the box if you are turning right?

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭ste88m

esel wrote: »
    You do know that it is legal to enter the box if you are turning right?

Only when the lights are green though isn't it?! I don't mind that, just don't like it if there going on straight and they pull up into the yellow box.. Blocks the road for all ES vehicles & others.

Dog sh1t.

I have to scrape the stuff from Deadwood juniors pram after every walk - hey, i'm a bad pram driver.

Do wheelchair users have to go through this disgusting routine when they try to negotiate the dogsh1t all over our streets?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

finn28 wrote: »
    how about the ***t who tailgates you and does his best to overtake you as dangerously as they can, cuts in and then slows down right in front of you to the correct speed limit as if they are a safe and responsible driver

Report them. I've reported drivers for this on two occasions, their actions caused me to "brake sharply & swerve to the left, to avoid a collision with them".

Been to court twice, both found guilty & €150 paid to me in expenses each time. Easy cash. :)