Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cinema Prices

• 06-05-2009 7:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭

Not sure this is the right place but , it is film related

Just back from seeing wolverine and Meh not that great .

Me and GF went , 2 medium drinks and popcorn + tickets 29euro

29 EURO <>>>>> UN BELIEVEABLE . when is the "deflation" going to hit the cinema cause as far as I can see cinema prices went up

and this month we have star trek and TS to see aswell thats 90euro alone .

So the question is Cinema Prices one of the factors in rise and rise of ppl downloading movies off the net ??

Are Cinema Ticket Prices one of the Factors pushing move Downloads for free 98 votes

Yes oh Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No Ticket Prices are Fair
    78% 77 votes
    I download and Dont care
    21% 21 votes

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,282 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

I only go to Cineworld and have the Unlimited card, so i dont really worry about the actual film price. They fuppin rip me off enough for the popcorn and drinks as it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

The price for the movie ticket is not expensive itself but as the poster previously said the price of the food is expensive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Joeface

9.50 per ticket is too much way too much

so the its 19.00 before one buys the food which came in at 10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Paying just under a tenner isn't too bad to see a new film on the big screen, but the popcorn/drink prices are extortionate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

To see a film no. To feed and water yourself yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭m83

Jesus man, have you not heard of women's lib? Get her to pay her own way!

This should be a PI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭driverite

vue in lifey valley is 10.90 per adult, I was there yesterday then 17.90 for 2 drinks hot dog and nachos ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭anotherlostie

Maybe when people stop paying these ridiculous prices, the cinemas will take action. What incentive is there for them to do so when people continue to lap it up? I wouldn't say I have bought anything going to the cinema in 10 years; I make sure I'm well watered and well fed before I go, tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Bob the Seducer

Between food and the ticket I spend about 20 euros per cinema outing. I spent 14 on 4 dvds in the last week, I know which one is the better value but I can't help getting a large popcorn when I go to the cinema, paying 5.50 for it is what grates...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 600 ✭✭✭The Orb

Joeface wrote: »
    9.50 per ticket is too much way too much

so the its 19.00 before one buys the food which came in at 10

In fairness 9.50 isn't too much for two hours entertainment on a night out, it's less than the price of two pints, I know I would drink more than two pints in the same timeframe (the fact that pints are too dear is another topic for another day).
    We can all agree that the food is a truly shocking price, it's where the cinemas make their real profits. Some cinemas are now selling tickets a the food counters, proof if any were needed. I haven't bought cinema food since I paid three times the ticket price for nachos in UCI Tallaght in 1991 (before Bill and Ted's Bogus Journey, a most excellent film).
    Solution is simple, don't buy the food, get a can of coke and a bag of jelly babies in the nearest newsagent on the way.

First this should not be in PI

second don't just look at he fact i paid for my GF, what if its a family , it is quite expensive to go to something that may not be as good as advertiesed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭robby^5

Under a tenner for 2 hours entertainment and seeing a new movie on a big screen is well worth it anyway (I'd even go far as saying anything under €12 is decent imo) it has been said but it's the food which is a rip-off. Bring your own next time.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

I have no problem paying the 8/9 euro for the ticket, its the food that kills me. I mean with Pic and mix, nachos drinks etc you could easily spend an extra 25 euro. So normally buy food elsewhere.

And I do download quite a bit but normally well after the films are long in the DVD bargain bin!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 330 ✭✭Dexterm99

So normally buy food elsewhere.

The popcorn they sell in the shops tastes like sh1te though and it's not that cheap either! It's about €3 for a pack of Manhattan 6x30g bags in Tesco. The smaller shops might charge more than that. I agree that movie popcorn is expensive but I think it's much tastier and <probably> fresher that the bagged rubbish they sell in the shops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Dancor

Go online and book student tickets. They are cheaper and they never look at them ;) Or you could borrow a wheelchair from the local hopo and one could go free with a carers ticket :pac:

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Is it true none of the ticket price goes to the cinema, it all goes to the movie companies?
    What's why they need to rip us off on food to make money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

idownload movies because i can smoke and because i can pause for a piss and i don’t have to listen to primitives or scumbags or whatever you want to call their kind.

i own and pay for a cineworld cinema card and as i pointed out in other threads if i download ANY new movies i will go into town - queue up and get my ticket - i wont go see it but ill still get a ticket so i am recorded when they tally up the films viewers

if i do that i can download even if its not offically legal and i will argue that to the end

• Closed Accounts Posts: 156 ✭✭Mully

Mark Kermode has raised an interesting take on downloading, it being an industry problem & not a consumer problem.

He reckons that the film industry need to catch up in the same way as the Music industry has done in recent years & treat cinema as a format, same as blu-ray, dvd & download.

If films were released in these different formats at the same time it would help matters. Some folks like seeing films in the cinema, some folks like the comfort of home. Thats fine, but the way things are now, one lot is being held back & practically encouraged to download illegally.

Turn the above arguement to the Music Industy, imagine albums came out on vinyl first, the cd 4 months later, then mp3 after that ... Its sounds rediculous, but that is how films are released at the moment.

Mully wrote: »
    Mark Kermode has raised an interesting take on downloading, it being an industry problem & not a consumer problem.

He reckons that the film industry need to catch up in the same way as the Music industry has done in recent years & treat cinema as a format, same as blu-ray, dvd & download.

If films were released in these different formats at the same time it would help matters. Some folks like seeing films in the cinema, some folks like the comfort of home. Thats fine, but the way things are now, one lot is being held back & practically encouraged to download illegally.

Turn the above arguement to the Music Industy, imagine albums came out on vinyl first, the cd 4 months later, then mp3 after that ... Its sounds rediculous, but that is how films are released at the moment.

He is not comparing apples with apples. For example, you don't go to a concert to hear an album for the first time do you?
    The Motion Pictures association have been whinging about the threat of downloaded movies to the movie industry like they have been when VCR's and DVDR's came out. But it has not happened.
    The real threat could be what Kermode is suggesting, not to the film industry but to the movie going industry. If it was just as easy to stream, dl, rent or buy the movie, how many would bother going to the movies? It would be cost advantageous to close down theatres because you are cutting out the middle man (Cinemas) and have less distribution costs.

I hope that does not happen because going to the movies is an experience that I enjoy and which you don't get from the TV.

Steven Sodenberg tried that with Bubble and they head of the American cinema association called it "the biggest threat to the viability of the cinema industry today."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

User45701 wrote: »

i own and pay for a cineworld cinema card and as i pointed out in other threads if i download ANY new movies i will go into town - queue up and get my ticket - i wont go see it but ill still get a ticket so i am recorded when they tally up the films viewers

Seriously? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭*Simone*

Whoever said the cinemas don't make money on actual ticket sales is correct. The money is made in kiosk, therefore the prices are so high. And why are ticket/food prices so high? Because they can charge it - like it or not people who attend the cinema are fully willing to pay those prices coz it adds to the 'cinema experience', so if people will pay it - they'll charge it!

As for the guy who says he has an unlimited card therefore that justifies illegally downloading movies... that makes no sense. You're paying next to nothing for that card, so why not take advantage and watch the movies on the big screen? People who pirate movies are responsible for the rising prices so stop complaining if you're one of the people that adds to that problem!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

i only go to the cinema when im in the uk

£3.50 per ticket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,579 ✭✭✭BopNiblets

I managed to get away with paying student prices for a few years because of these ripoff prices.
    (Aren't we all just students of life anyway? :D )

Lost my 2006 student card though. :(

bigkev49 wrote: »
    Seriously? :eek:

ye

in the last 6 or 7 months think ive downloaded one cinema movie and then i went into ugc a few days later queued up, got my ticket and left - i pay for a cineworld cinema pass meaning unlimted filims so it does not cost me anyhing and its a nice thing to do, if i watch movie and i can contribute to the filims viewings at very little effort to myself then why not?

sure for all the tv shows i download when i was yolunger i used to turn on my tv when the episode got its first airing over here to i could contribute to the ratings of a show i liked - i mean why not its no effort to me and it helps something i like why not do it?

then i found out ratings arnt really counted over here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 156 ✭✭Mully

Dexterm99 wrote: »
    how many would bother going to the movies? It would be cost advantageous to close down theatres because you are cutting out the middle man (Cinemas) and have less distribution costs.

I hope that does not happen because going to the movies is an experience that I enjoy and which you don't get from the TV.

How many people don't go to the cinema because of the people who make going to the cinema a negative experience ? Kids, knackers, fcukers on their phones ... you know who you are !

Remove these negative people from the cinema would encourage lay cinema goers to return. People don't stop liking films, they start disliking the cinema going experience.

To go back to the Music analogy, yes music stores are closing, but others are adapting and surviving. Like a fish, its move or die.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Brimmy

if i do that i can download even if its not offically legal and i will argue that to the end

You can argue it all you're like but it's wrong both morally and ethically. I'm not condemning you for downloading movies or tv shows don't get me wrong but if you think that argument would hold up in a court you would be laughed at. You're using it in an unintended (as of yet) format that may be detrimental for its future profits as you might show the film to someone else.

Also the cinema has to pay a cost to the distributor for the right to show the film and by not going to watch it there you're removing the potential factor over whether you might buy a drink or a snack (You can say you wont but say over 100 visits chances are you will buy something at least once).

If you enjoy the terrible cam quality though fair enough. I'm not a lawyer ;)

Zascar wrote: »
    Is it true none of the ticket price goes to the cinema, it all goes to the movie companies?
    What's why they need to rip us off on food to make money

Urban myth.

They do make money on the ticket however it's completely conditional on how long the movie has been on in the screens.

Initially for the first 2 weeks or so a high percentage of the cost of the ticket will go to the distributor (90 to 100% or so) and then the longer the film goes on the less percentage is given to the distributor (a 10% drop a week or so). The last I heard of these figures was a few years ago so it might have changed but this is why you'll see some films on for 1 or 2 screenings in one cinema while it's not on anywhere else etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭ohnoigotsick

Brimmy wrote: »
    You can argue it all you're like but it's wrong both morally and ethically. I'm not condemning you for downloading movies or tv shows don't get me wrong but if you think that argument would hold up in a court you would be laughed at. You're using it in an unintended (as of yet) format that may be detrimental for its future profits as you might show the film to someone else.

Also the cinema has to pay a cost to the distributor for the right to show the film and by not going to watch it there you're removing the potential factor over whether you might buy a drink or a snack (You can say you wont but say over 100 visits chances are you will buy something at least once).

If you enjoy the terrible cam quality though fair enough. I'm not a lawyer ;)

Urban myth.

They do make money on the ticket however it's completely conditional on how long the movie has been on in the screens.

Initially for the first 2 weeks or so a high percentage of the cost of the ticket will go to the distributor (90 to 100% or so) and then the longer the film goes on the less percentage is given to the distributor (a 10% drop a week or so). The last I heard of these figures was a few years ago so it might have changed but this is why you'll see some films on for 1 or 2 screenings in one cinema while it's not on anywhere else etc.

use to work in a cinema in my student days

what the man says above, the cinema doesn't make money on the price of a ticket , the majority goes to the distributor and the govt , what money the cinema actually takes covers the overheads , staff power and lighting etc - also the distributor might want 10 showings a day of a film so it could be shown at 11 in the morning with 4 people in it , to make up the 1st of 10 showings, even though they know it will make a loss.

the profit is made at the food stands , which in fairness you don't have to use.

one thing i don't miss was getting abuse from punters stopping short of calling me a robbing bastard at the ticket booth when i sold them a ticket - the same punter who would say fair play to colin farrell for living the high life cos he was getting paid a fortune in hollywood - cost of ticket goes to distributor which gets back to the studio which paid farrell in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

in the last 6 or 7 months think ive downloaded one cinema movie and then i went into ugc a few days later queued up, got my ticket and left - i pay for a cineworld cinema pass meaning unlimted filims so it does not cost me anyhing and its a nice thing to do, if i watch movie and i can contribute to the filims viewings at very little effort to myself then why not?

sure for all the tv shows i download when i was yolunger i used to turn on my tv when the episode got its first airing over here to i could contribute to the ratings of a show i liked - i mean why not its no effort to me and it helps something i like why not do it?

Your either very highly principled or slightly bonkers, I can't figure it out. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

then i found out ratings arnt really counted over here

You don't really think you were contributing to the ratings by turning your tv on to the channel in question, do you?

That's not how it works.

They don't have a computer server sensing all the tvs tuned into a particular channel around the country.

There's a selection of households (think it's 1500 or 2000) around the country with a box attached to their sets and the ratings for a particular show are a multiple of the number of households tuned into it.

On topic, the recession won't bring cinema prices down. The latest figures released in the States (repeating what has happened in previous recessions) show that more people are going to the cinema now than the same period last year.

It's a cheaper night out for people and so cinemas nearly always record a boom in times of recession.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,837 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

The Orb wrote: »
    Some cinemas are now selling tickets a the food counters, proof if any were needed.
    I take issue with this - it makes PERFECT sense to sell tickets from the food counters.

With such large cinema sizes, looking at multiplexes for instance, it makes sense to use each counter to its full potential. To only be able to buy cinema tickets from one location is madness and would create massive lines and waits. By allowing people to buy tickets from multiple locations, as well as a ticket counter it allows you to serve more people in less time, and also helps the customer as if they want food, they don't have to queue up twice. I can see no reason why anyone would think being able to buy tickets from food counters is a bad thing, to be honest.

*Simone* wrote: »
    Whoever said the cinemas don't make money on actual ticket sales is correct. The money is made in kiosk, therefore the prices are so high.

Not entirely true, depending on what you mean. For each movie, a percentage of the ticket price goes to the distributer, can be 60% or higher depending on the movie and how new it is (the percentage decreases after, generally, the first two weeks and so on) So, part of the ticket price does go back to the cinema, but then whether they make money on tickets depends on if you want to take their costs out at this point (very high rents, heating/elec, wages etc)

kraggy wrote: »
    It's a cheaper night out for people and so cinemas nearly always record a boom in times of recession.
    From what I have heard, foot traffic in some cinemas is down as much as 50% over the same time period as last year, so the recession is certainly affecting the cinema industry.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,532 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

We've found this cinema in Irvine that plays popular films about 3 months later than the first release cinemas. They only charge $1.50 USD (about 1.12 €), but the concessions are just as high as elsewhere, so we skip them. On my starving student budget I'd rather wait three months to see the film than spend over seven times the price just to have bragging rights.

kraggy wrote: »
    You don't really think you were contributing to the ratings by turning your tv on to the channel in question, do you?

That's not how it works.

They don't have a computer server sensing all the tvs tuned into a particular channel around the country.

There's a selection of households (think it's 1500 or 2000) around the country with a box attached to their sets and the ratings for a particular show are a multiple of the number of households tuned into it.

On topic, the recession won't bring cinema prices down. The latest figures released in the States (repeating what has happened in previous recessions) show that more people are going to the cinema now than the same period last year.

my post clearly says "when i was younger i thought" so it would have been over 13 ago - years before i hit my teens - and yes i used t download on a 33k modem - better than hanging around and waiting

so ye i found out shortly after torrents came out and downloading becamem more popular

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

The prices are fine I think, in terms of cinema prices - sure, its 10 euro, but that's 10 euro for (well, ideally, but not always) 90 to 120 minutes of good entertainment. You'd easily have 2 pints taken in that length, for the same amount of money. The food prices are crazy though. They get huge 20KG bags of kernels in there for low prices that yield about a 1000% profit. Even the Nachos come in bags that cost about 2E, and fill about 4 trays at 4 euro each....my girlfriend works in the cinema though so this is all irrelevant to me. :D

How many people don't go to the cinema because of the people who make going to the cinema a negative experience ? Kids, knackers, fcukers on their phones ... you know who you are !

Remove these negative people from the cinema would encourage lay cinema goers to return. People don't stop liking films, they start disliking the cinema going experience.

To go back to the Music analogy, yes music stores are closing, but others are adapting and surviving. Like a fish, its move or die.

I stopped going to the UCI in Tallaght for that very reason but I've never ran into that eliment at Vue, Movies at Dundrum or Cineworld. That's not to say you won't get the occasional ar$ehole in those places but it's extremely rare in my experience.
    Look, it's a night out where I can escape the realities of life, stuff my face with popcorn and have a pint afterwards. It certainly beats sitting at home...

I stopped going to the UCI in Tallaght for that very reason but I've never ran into that eliment at Vue, Movies at Dundrum or Cineworld. That's not to say you won't get the occasional ar$ehole in those places but it's extremely rare in my experience.
    Look, it's a night out where I can escape the realities of life, stuff my face with popcorn and have a pint afterwards. It certainly beats sitting at home...

what can you do to change the peoples behaviour ? theres no bigger pain in the hole than having your film ruined, you'd be surprised how effective a fellow cinema goer telling the knacks to shut up would work

i have read that people were complaining that the security in a cinema were interupting there film when they did a screen check by walking up and down - unless you sit beside these knacks for the whole film your not gonna stop it. if you do this the price of the ticket will rise and then we will be complaining about the price of the ticket again

what can you do to change the peoples behaviour ?

Good luck with that. There will always be ar$eholes and one thing is certain, there is no shortage of them. Trying to change their behavior while they are in a cinema? Seriously, if they were a scumbag before they got to the cinema, they will still be a scumbag when they are at the cinema. Two hours is not going to prevent them from their usual behavior. If the cinema can't be bothered to deal with it then bring your business elsewhere.
    If you are at a cinema where security are patrolling the isles, alarm bells should start ringing for you. Again, bring your business elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭Amberjack

Was looking to book 2 tickets for one of the big Cinema chains last night - 2 x 11.50 + 1.74 CC Booking = 24.74 before even getting there.
    Didn't bother in the end

Good luck with that. There will always be ar$eholes and one thing is certain, there is no shortage of them. Trying to change their behavior while they are in a cinema? Seriously, if they were a scumbag before they got to the cinema, they will still be a scumbag when they are at the cinema. Two hours is not going to prevent them from their usual behavior. If the cinema can't be bothered to deal with it then bring your business elsewhere.
    If you are at a cinema where security are patrolling the isles, alarm bells should start ringing for you. Again, bring your business elsewhere.

every cinema has security in it now - why are they walking up and down , ok maybe it's more so shows were teenagers are in it, just to show there is a presence in the screen i suppose. as for trying to stop people coming in - you have to experience it to believe it , you throw them out of the cinema and little johnnys mam is up hurling abuse at you saying that he wouldn't do anything to get thrown out , if you say he did this , you get to the "are you calling me a liar" stage , to which you can't go there and told not to go there.

as for other elements who go to the cinema mainly on a sunday - you get the discrimination charge thrown at you when you don't let them in.

and considering you more than likely get your money back from the cinema when you get turfed out , theres no incentive for good behaviour from these knacks

think we got off track I just I only asked about ticket prices

Storm Limerick Ticket price €9.50

Omniplex Limerick Ticket Price €9.00

the Gate Cinema Cork Ticket Price Standard tickets at €8.00

strange that if the movie makers get the ticket price in full that is different everywhere .

Joeface wrote: »
    think we got off track I just I only asked about ticket prices

Storm Limerick Ticket price €9.50

Omniplex Limerick Ticket Price €9.00

the Gate Cinema Cork Ticket Price Standard tickets at €8.00

strange that if the movie makers get the ticket price in full that is different everywhere .

they get a percentage of the film price, which is most of the ticket - might cost less to run some cinemas depending what they have on offer, some cinemas may have less screens and less capacity and charge more , or in the case in limerick , is the storm cinema new compared tot he omniplex , people will pay more for a cleaner/newer cinema or a cinema with lower box office prices may bank on you buying popcorn etc to meet their costs. lots of factors

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

I'm not worried about the price of tickets/food but I've stopped going to the cinema purely because I find it inconvenient and unenjoyable. Why bother going out of my way geographically to sit in some annoying communal area when I can have a satisfactory experience at home under my own favoured conditions. Basically going to the cinema isn't an appealing prospect anymore and it wouldn't be to me even if the tickets were €1 instead of €10.

Now I just download everything I have an interest and if I like the movie I just watched then I'll buy it (currently have around 800DVDs) so the movies I think are valid are getting rewarded financially and the the stuff I was interested in that ended up just being highly marketed schlock takes the hit.

Seems fair enough to me.

I take issue with this - it makes PERFECT sense to sell tickets from the food counters.

With such large cinema sizes, looking at multiplexes for instance, it makes sense to use each counter to its full potential. To only be able to buy cinema tickets from one location is madness and would create massive lines and waits. By allowing people to buy tickets from multiple locations, as well as a ticket counter it allows you to serve more people in less time, and also helps the customer as if they want food, they don't have to queue up twice. I can see no reason why anyone would think being able to buy tickets from food counters is a bad thing, to be honest.

No. It doesn't. I can see why you think this but then you have to think of the people who don't want concessions being forced to queue behind six people who's film starts in 20 minutes when yours starts now.

Movies @ Swords do this and I absolutely detest this. They have a normal stand for ticket sales only that is almost never staffed and it is so annoying. One of the reasons I don't like going there as they usually only have 5 people the concessions dealing with about 100 or more popular easily at any given moment on a busy night.

By doing so you're making the queue longer for people who want concessions as you're forcing people who don't to queue up and get in their way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭gaius c

Re food in cinemas.
    Bring in your own. For users of Cineworld on Parnell St Dublin, there is a Spar across the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

Brimmy wrote: »
    No. It doesn't. I can see why you think this but then you have to think of the people who don't want concessions being forced to queue behind six people who's film starts in 20 minutes when yours starts now.

Movies @ Swords do this and I absolutely detest this. They have a normal stand for ticket sales only that is almost never staffed and it is so annoying. One of the reasons I don't like going there as they usually only have 5 people the concessions dealing with about 100 or more popular easily at any given moment on a busy night.

By doing so you're making the queue longer for people who want concessions as you're forcing people who don't to queue up and get in their way.
    Movies @ cinemas only have 2 tills at the tickets only stands, whereas theres always at least 5 staff on the food

Also, you're obviously late if you're only buyin a ticket the same time the film starts. Aspire to your food purchasings queue-ees and be a bit more punctual!
    gaius c wrote: »
    For users of Cineworld on Parnell St Dublin, there is a Spar across the road.
    Screw that, there's a Tesco Xpress on the same side of the street as the cinema!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

Luckily I've got a student card, so I usually pay about 7 euro per ticket

Full price is nearly 11 euro now, which is a bit shoyt

and the whole diff prices at diff times things is silly. It cheaper to go when theres less people in the cinema!

Set prices please!

Same way the buses piss me off, constant price hikes with no improvement of service

unreggd wrote: »
    Movies @ cinemas only have 2 tills at the tickets only stands, whereas theres always at least 5 staff on the food

Ever been to the one in Swords? On a busy Sunday night it can take upwards for a half an hour to get a ticket and no, I'm not joking or exaggerating. There was alswo no one at hte ticket stand. There rarely is.
    unreggd wrote: »
    Also, you're obviously late if you're only buyin a ticket the same time the film starts. Aspire to your food purchasings queue-ees and be a bit more punctual!

And the reason why you're standing in line waiting on your ticket...There have been times when a group of us have gone about 15 minutes before the film was due to start and in the queue still ten minutes after it has started before deciding to just leave it.

It's a horrible, horrible joke of a cinema and I only ever go there extremly rarely and not once have I enjoyed it. Cineworld might a bit overpriced, as too might be the Savoy but they are fantastic in terms of their productivity and staff. Although the queues in Cineworld can be a bit ridiculous at times they're usually quick in dealing with them unlike Movies @ Swords.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Just to show prices across the pond, in central Illinois anyway. Shows for adults after 6PM are $8.75 and $6.75 for before 6PM. Students tickets are always $6.75 at all times (unless it is 3D, $2 for the glasses I think onto the ticket price). I think the prices are fair. There is a frequent moviegoer card where you can earn points for each film and then use it to get popcorn, etc. Free refills on drinks and popcorn refills are 25c.