Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fantasy Football 2009

• 05-05-2009 4:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,452 ✭✭✭✭

I played it for the first time last year and it was great fun, I I've set up a league and we will see how it goes. Its called the Boards.ie American Football forum League, but there is something about a payment of 149.99 for it, and if thats the case we would all have to come together to pay as there is now way I'm paying it. Everything seems to run fine as it stands but I just don't know what the payment is all about.

Anyways its set up the same as last year, see what interest is in it and we will extend it as necessary. Post your interest here and then we can get email addresses sent to me by pm if we have enough and I'll invite you.

Below is the message on the main page that I'm getting. If somebody who set one of these up before can help please let me know all about it.
    Save $30 off the regular price of $179.99 + get a FREE draft kit! Purchase this league for the 2009 football season on or by 11:59pm ET June 24, 2009 to ensure a price of $149.99 and a free draft kit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,641 ✭✭✭kev_s88

im interested in it but being a student and not having any sort of bank a/c i would find it impossible to pay for it :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭TheHeadhunter

What about using one of the free leagues i think ESPN and CBSsportsline offer free leagues. maybe nfl.com give an option of a free one also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Karlusss

What do you get for that amount of money? The league last year seemed reasonably alright...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,452 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I don't know what you get or if you even actually have to pay for it. I set up the same league as last year. I just don't want to have everyone signed up and then it doesn't happen.

I have a feeling that it will be ok and that they just have that option for leagues that want to join a bigger competition or something. I would just like to be sure before I get people signed up and get their hopes up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 Sydney Steelers

What a CHUMP :D

There are literally HUNDREDS of FREE fantasy football websites out there, but if you insist on paying 150 bucks for the privilege then go right ahead fool!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,067 ✭✭✭tallaghtoutlaws

Its free on every website. Those paid leagues are also offered on every site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Royal Seahawk

And how does team selection work? Do you pick every position or just on the offense?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

eagle eye wrote: »
    I played it for the first time last year and it was great fun, I I've set up a league and we will see how it goes. Its called the Boards.ie American Football forum League, but there is something about a payment of 149.99 for it, and if thats the case we would all have to come together to pay as there is now way I'm paying it. Everything seems to run fine as it stands but I just don't know what the payment is all about.

Anyways its set up the same as last year, see what interest is in it and we will extend it as necessary. Post your interest here and then we can get email addresses sent to me by pm if we have enough and I'll invite you.

Below is the message on the main page that I'm getting. If somebody who set one of these up before can help please let me know all about it.

Don't bother your ar** with the pay league on NFL.com. They bring out their free league in a month or so's time which is what we used last year. More than adequate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭zepp

So just looking for some thoughts.

I am in a 16 man nfl fantasy league. I have the 9th pick in the draft. I am thinking of trading my first pick and tenth pick for a 2nd and 4th pick. Madness?

so basically my first 5 picks will go from picks 9 23 41 55 73 to 23 29 41 51 55

Thanks for the advice Neil. Just so you know its the exact same as last year only they want you to pay for it. Anyways we'll wait for a free one and it shouldn't be too long. So I will keep you guys posted on it in this thread.

And how does team selection work? Do you pick every position or just on the offense?

If memory serves correctly, in the league we played last year, everyone had to field

1 QB
    3 WR
    2 RB
    1 TE
    1 K
    1 D/Special teams

You could then have up to 5 replacements.

I am in a 16 man nfl fantasy league. I have the 9th pick in the draft. I am thinking of trading my first pick and tenth pick for a 2nd and 4th pick. Madness?

so basically my first 5 picks will go from picks 9 23 41 55 73 to 23 29 41 51 55

Hmmm... It's a tough one.... personally, unless you're pretty sure of some solid sleepers, I wouldn't forfeit a 9th overall pick. You could land a stud rusher or QB with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 487 ✭✭bobby wade

Is it yahoo?? If so the payment is probably for FF extra. Where ya get live stat-tracker & don't have to wait for the scores to update

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭zepp

Neil3030 wrote: »
    If memory serves correctly, in the league we played last year, everyone had to field

1 QB
    3 WR
    2 RB
    1 TE
    1 K
    1 D/Special teams

You could then have up to 5 replacements.

Hmmm... It's a tough one.... personally, unless you're pretty sure of some solid sleepers, I wouldn't forfeit a 9th overall pick. You could land a stud rusher or QB with that.

Thanks for the advice. I will think about it some more. With a big draft I find consistency is a big bonus. You often end up having to play 3rd choice WR's as there is nothing else left. So a few more picks in the decent sections might be better then 1 big pick.

I use ESPN fantasy game. Free and very good. Updates the scores during the game

What a CHUMP :D

There are literally HUNDREDS of FREE fantasy football websites out there, but if you insist on paying 150 bucks for the privilege then go right ahead fool!:D

Calm down mate, he's only trying to set something up for the forum in his free time...
    zepp wrote: »

Who are you taking with the nine? If you make a list of players and you don't have any around 7th-12th best that you think are really worthwhile, do it. But I wouldn't.

In fantasy, the bulk of your points are going to come from a couple of guys who you ride the whole season while attempting to get healthy starters off the waiver for the rest of the slots. You could get an elite RB or if not a worthwhile RB then maybe one of the top 3 QBs with that pick, I'd keep it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭jdivision

I'm in if there's room when this starts. I did the NFL one on Facebook last year, pretty good but got beaten by two points in the final ):

Well looking at these rankings as they stand today, a mock of your picks would be:

9. Brian Westbrook
    23. Steve Smith
    41. Derrick Ward
    55. LenDale White
    73. Matt Schaub

or

23. Steve Smith
    29. Philip Rivers
    41. Derrick Ward
    51. Willie Parker
    55. LenDale White

Now obviously this isn't an exact science as picks don't usually follow the objective values of players, but imo Brian Westbrook makes team A the obvious choice.

I'm agreeing with that. If you don't get an elite running back high, you're stuck with committee guys who you might love on a real life team but who won't be consistently productive in fantasy.

I'm desperate to get going now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭Mr. Guappa

I'm in anyway whenever we get one set up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Laces Out

Would love to get involved in this if there are still places?

This is a site I use to while away the days, perfecting my FF team till the real thing kicks off...

http://fantasyfootballcalculator.com/

Tried one just now...

Running back by committee is wrecking fantasy football.

Karlusss wrote: »
    Running back by committee is wrecking fantasy football.

Big time - There's very few feature backs out there now; you can't even be sure of last years top points scorer DWill as Jonathan Stewart will definitely take more carries off him this year - that's why I only have Williams at 8 on my board.

I think there's a big drop off in the potential numbers for RB's after spot 4;
    Peterson, Forte, Turner, MJD >>>>>> the rest

I want to be in on this.

2 quick questions lads.

Myself and my friends have set up our own league this year and we're just wondering when's the best time to hold your draft or does it really matter?

Secondly, we're having a live draft and just wondering is it possible to do so working off just one laptop?

Laces Out wrote: »
    I think there's a big drop off in the potential numbers for RB's after spot 4;
    Peterson, Forte, Turner, MJD >>>>>> the rest

This may be bias speaking for the 500th time but... Steven Jackson! And even Clinton Portis or Frank Gore tend to get the vast majority of their team's carries.

The problem comes though when the feature back you've drafted gets hurt and you really are scouring for a guy who's going to get enough snaps.

2 quick questions lads.

Myself and my friends have set up our own league this year and we're just wondering when's the best time to hold your draft or does it really matter?

Secondly, we're having a live draft and just wondering is it possible to do so working off just one laptop?

as close to the start of the season as possible

bobby wade wrote: »
    as close to the start of the season as possible

I would agree with this. Me and my Wisconsin buddies do our live draft a week before the first game. You get the best idea of injuries and whos in and out.

Karlusss wrote: »
    This may be bias speaking for the 500th time but... Steven Jackson! And even Clinton Portis or Frank Gore tend to get the vast majority of their team's carries.

The problem comes though when the feature back you've drafted gets hurt and you really are scouring for a guy who's going to get enough snaps.

Good shout with SJax - I feel the Rams have strengthened their O-Line (even though they lost Orlando Pace) and he will be a featured back; I'm just worried about his numbers declining over the past 2 years.

Going on past seasons, Portis will be the leading rusher in the NFL for the first half of the season - but get rid of him after that as he'll crumble as in years gone by :P

Gore - see SJax's dwindling numbers for the last 2 years

But I do agree with you that at least these guys will get most of the carries (barring injury) for their teams.

The likes of DWill, Chris Johnson, Marion Barber, Brandon Jacobs and possibly LT2 & Westy will be splitting carries big-time next season and make it hard for FF owners; this is why I desperately want a 1-4 slot in the draft!

Oh, and if I had to pick an RB to shine most outside of the top 4 I'd go for Slaton!

thanks for that lads.

But again just need to know does anyone know if it is possible to do the live draft on one laptop as we want to get together in someones house have a few beers and do the draft but not sure if its possibel?

thanks for that lads.

But again just need to know does anyone know if it is possible to do the live draft on one laptop as we want to get together in someones house have a few beers and do the draft but not sure if its possibel?

Possible but it means signing in and out of accounts. You can open a few different browsers also but I would try have a few PC or laptops there. When I do it in Wisconsin we have 5 or 6 computers on the go. Makes it easier to sign in and out of peoples accounts.

honestly I wouldn't like to try it on 1 laptop. You've only so much time per pick by the time you log out & back in the comp may have auto-picked

bobby wade wrote: »
    honestly I wouldn't like to try it on 1 laptop. You've only so much time per pick by the time you log out & back in the comp may have auto-picked

Yeah exactly it can get very messy and you have to be very fast signing in and out.

but would it be ok if we were using 2 or more laptops?

again. i wouldn't like to be doing it but with 3 or 4 laptops ya might do it

still be a nightmare I'd say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,330 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

You could have 4 users signed in at different browsers. One in IE, one in forefox, one in google chrome, one in safari. Have one as the main one and then when its safari's guy to pick just flip over to that to make the pick...

Missed the deadline last year, hoping to improve on my performance two years ago

Eagle Eye here is a list of those interested. Lets see how many we have :D

Eagle Eye
    Kev s88
    TheHeadhunter
    Karlusss
    Sydney Steelers
    Tallaghtoutlaws
    Royal Seahawk
    Neil3030
    bobby wade
    jdivision
    Mr. Guappa
    Laces out
    The Dazzler
    Dodge

14 so far. Are we going to put a Max number? 16 would be a good cut off point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Chanandler Bong

i'll be #15 so

Video Intro =

"#15 Chanandler Bong, Defensive End, THE Ohio State University"

Eagle Eye
    Kev s88
    TheHeadhunter
    Karlusss
    Sydney Steelers
    Tallaghtoutlaws
    Royal Seahawk
    Neil3030
    bobby wade
    jdivision
    Mr. Guappa
    Laces out
    The Dazzler
    Dodge
    Chanandler Bong

15 so far. Are we going to put a Max number? 16 would be a good cut off point.

PM one of the other lads on the one of the other threads,

yeah 16 is the most that can be done reasonably

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭Its So Easy

I'd be really interested if there is still room. Played in one last year and twas alot of fun. I did the one on nfl.com. i'm not sure which one ye do on boards.

Eagle Eye
    Kev s88
    TheHeadhunter
    Karlusss
    Sydney Steelers
    Tallaghtoutlaws
    Royal Seahawk
    Neil3030
    bobby wade
    jdivision
    Mr. Guappa
    Laces out
    The Dazzler
    Dodge
    Chanandler Bong
    Its So Easy

16 now Id say cut it there. Any more teams and it will be sh1t.

When will the draw take place?

When you select your team defense what happens when that team is on a bye week?

You need to have another team defense or you get zero points

Laces Out wrote: »
    Would love to get involved in this if there are still places?

This is a site I use to while away the days, perfecting my FF team till the real thing kicks off...

http://fantasyfootballcalculator.com/
    hate it on these sites where people just ruin the drafts!, had a guy in my 1st one called himself "Al Davis" and drafted

#1. Darrius Heyward-Bey
    #2. Darren McFadden
    #3. Jamarcus Russell
    #4. Javon Walker
    #5. Justin Fargas
    #6. Zach Miller

and justified every pick with constant references to the "GREATNESS OF THE RAIDAHS BEING THE VERITCAL GAME"

UUGGHH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,641 ✭✭✭kev_s88

any sign of this getting organised ??

kev_s88 wrote: »

NFL.com haven't set up there fantasy football yet. Don't know about others.

As they are linked to the CBSsportsline one they usually dont launch until July. They try get people to pay for the league commish one first before throwing it out there for free.

kev_s88 wrote: »

The later the draft takes place, the better tbh - means you have more info on players/depth charts/positional battles, etc. and can make more informed draft picks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭LightningBolt

Raging I missed this due to my self ban with exams. Was in the second version last year but that was a bit of a joke in certain weeks due to people not managing their team.

If this get's extended put me down.

Raging I missed this due to my self ban with exams. Was in the second version last year but that was a bit of a joke in certain weeks due to people not managing their team.

If this get's extended put me down.

Personally I think there would be enough interest before the season starts to run at least 2 leagues - I feel that 16 is a bit too many for a single league. If we have 16 interested already, I'd say it's a sure bet that at least 24 would express an interest in the near future. I'm willing to offer my services as a Commish in one of the leagues if this does in fact happen (will have loads of free time over the next few months!)