Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

McIntyre OUT!!

• 04-05-2009 02:04PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 42

This man is an absoulute fool.How can his decision to drop ger farragher to accomodate chunky hayes be justified! IT boggles the mind!! Mcyntre s a joke and I think his comments earlier on in the year after the defeat to kilkenny where just down right Disgraceful sure enought we were beaten by a good kilkenny side put we didnt play all that well and i think by saying everyone in galway was living in dreamland if we think we can win an all ireland must of been so dis-hartening to the players who train so hard for our county. IF MCINTYRE FEELS LIKE THIS THEN WHY DID HE TAKE THE F-ING JOB IN THE FIRST PLACE???!!! Let him **** off back to Ofally is what i say!

Welcome!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 Diabhal Beag
    ✭✭✭✭

Ger Farragher is in poor form compared to All-Ireland club winning chunky. Nobody will beat Killkenny so I wouldn't feel down about that. MCINTYRE IN!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 krustywanksock

Ger Farragher is in poor form compared to All-Ireland club winning chunky. Nobody will beat Killkenny so I wouldn't feel down about that. MCINTYRE IN!

SHTOP farragher was galways top score in the league until that fool dropped him yes i know nobody will beat kilkenny but im saying how dare mcintyre make those comments? And chunky hayes is just a buff with a hurl no skill what so ever! Farragher is the key to galways sucess he carried the team to the final in 2004 AND HELL DO IT AGAIN!!! if given the chance

✭✭✭✭

Didn't he have arthreitus or something else wrong with his back. He hasn't been the same since. Joe Canning took his role as free-taker so his only addition to the team is gone. Cyril Donnelan and Iarla Tannion are getting good now so eventually we will see the lad on the bench.

His only role?? He wins ball after ball and can throw balls over the bar from either size from huge distances out i dont know about the airthritus but he does have frequent bck injuries on his day he is amongst the best 5 forwards in ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 Benhonan
    ✭✭

I know this is off-topic but I have to agree with earlier comments about Ger Farragher. He's a very handy hurler and all and it is no big surprise that he was top scorer for ye, but at the end of the day he is the poor man's Joe Canning. Galway's game has always been to have small, fast forwards running off a big, strong ball winning full-forward. While Canning was tied up with Portumna then Farragher stepped into his shoes well, fair play to him, but his main strength was always from dead balls and I don't see how you can justify starting both. I don't think he has the pace or the aerial skills to play in the half-forward line during the summer championship months and there's no place for him at 13 or 15.

I would have to disagree i think ger's airial skills perfectly suited to the half forward line, with joe full forward and ger at centre half with small quick players running off them think this could be galways best forward combination. As a person who watches ger many times for club and county ive seen him rake in many the high ball and with the likes of tannion hayes cahalan and donelan supporting him galway could get some real success

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 Orizio
    ✭✭✭

I haven't seen Farragher be anything other then mediocre in a Galway jersey.

✭✭

Has he got much experience at 11? I couldn't see him being an option there, he's always struck me as more of a finisher than a playmaker. What Galway want at centre forward is a big physical hurler who'll neutralise the centre back and keep the ball moving in to that lethal full-forward line. Couldn't see Farragher in that role, even if he is a good player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 premierstone
    ✭✭✭

This man is an absoulute fool.How can his decision to drop ger farragher to accomodate chunky hayes be justified! IT boggles the mind!! Mcyntre s a joke and I think his comments earlier on in the year after the defeat to kilkenny where just down right Disgraceful sure enought we were beaten by a good kilkenny side put we didnt play all that well and i think by saying everyone in galway was living in dreamland if we think we can win an all ireland must of been so dis-hartening to the players who train so hard for our county. IF MCINTYRE FEELS LIKE THIS THEN WHY DID HE TAKE THE F-ING JOB IN THE FIRST PLACE???!!! Let him **** off back to Ofally is what i say!

First of all you do realise that what a manager says in the press and what he says to he's own players are two different things or is this concept alien to you :(

And just for your information he's from Tipperary not offaly. ;)

As regards Farragher hes is an above average free taker who is still, like many of he's Galway counterparts, living on he's achievements as a minor

First of all, Mr.smartass <wink>,You do realise that the players read and listen to the media aswell? AND actually FOR YOUR INFORMATION McIntyre used to manage ofally or did you not have that stored in your limited gaa knowledge.And as for farragher living on his achievments from minor was it his minor achievments that got him runner up in the hurler of the year in 2004?? Please come back to me when you can conduct a proper debate rather than just waffle.

Fair enough argument Ben honan but i would have to disagree i think farragher would be perfect for getn the ball into the full forward line quick and accuratly.

Orizio wrote: »
    I haven't seen Farragher be anything other then mediocre in a Galway jersey.
    Well i dont know if you seen any of the league games this year or the 2004 championship but ill say you didnt which could be the only reason that would cause you to say that!!;)

✭✭✭

So your basing all this on irrelevent league matches - and yes I have seen Galway play in the league this year - and championship half a decade ago?

No about 5 years ago? At the start of our league i believe ger was the stand out player and last year aswell and him being dropped now i think is completly unjustified.

✭✭✭

Half a decade = five years.

Ger is a fellow clubmate isn't he? ;)

No mate im from westside galway my club is rahoon ger plays for cashegar on the opposite side of the city.Im sorry i didnt see the half before the decade!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 portumna
    ✭✭

Poor ould Chunky gets an awful doing on these forums. What has the man done wrong this year? Hurled out of skin for Portumna, won an all-ireland club title with them, get called onto the county panel and played his way onto the team. The man is on fire at the moment and if John McIntyre see fit to play him ahead of Farragher so be it. Farragher has flattered to decieve since his runner-up accolade in 2004 and i'm sure this has something to do with McIntyre's decision.

Lay off Chunky. He didn't pick himself but i'll assure you that he'll give his all for the cause once he's out on that field.

portumna wrote: »
    Poor ould Chunky gets an awful doing on these forums. What has the man done wrong this year? Hurled out of skin for Portumna, won an all-ireland club title with them, get called onto the county panel and played his way onto the team. The man is on fire at the moment and if John McIntyre see fit to play him ahead of Farragher so be it. Farragher has flattered to decieve since his runner-up accolade in 2004 and i'm sure this has something to do with McIntyre's decision.

Lay off Chunky. He didn't pick himself but i'll assure you that he'll give his all for the cause once he's out on that field.
    Fair enough argument put i still feel strongly that chunkys hard work and graft offers more to the team than gers accuracy(from play) his distribution skill his ball winning and his unnoticed hard work . I know chunky will give it his all and fair play to him for tryin hard but think mcIntyre has unjustly dropped ger after some good solid performances

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 premierstone
    ✭✭✭

No place for Farragher in the starting 15 for Sunday I see, I reckon its a Tipp man trying to sabotage Galway hurling tbh :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 LeoB
    ✭✭✭

Orizio wrote: »
    Half a decade = five years.
    Well spotted. Are ya a sums teacher in U.C.C:)

Ger is a fellow clubmate isn't he? ;)
    A brother by the sound of it.

Look the manager picks the team and this lad is living on things from a few years ago. He is inconsistant and I think McIntyre done the right thing.

Consistancy has been a problem for Galway and manager picks on what he sees at training or in Challenge games. For to long this didnt happen in Galway and lads were left in the side who were not up to it.

Anyway welcome to Leinster.
    Oh and to be honest, I was not in favour of Galway playing Leinster.

The purpose of this thread was to highlight what i feel is mcintires mistake by choosing chunky hayes over ger farragher..I think judging by chunkies "antics" yesterday im right. Hes useless all together some good hell be on the sidelines.

✭✭✭

It appears to me the purpose of this thread was you to vent your anger at your "mate" not getting picked.

Galway hit 5..29 and won. He didnt even bring on Farragher. Sometimes **** happens in games. I dont like it but it happens, should'nt but it does. Sure your crowd will lodge an objection, if ye dont oust McIntyre in the mean time and he will be back for Dublin Antrim or Wexford.

✭✭✭✭

We didn't need him too badly yesterday. Enough with the bitter attitude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,005 Flukey
    ✭✭✭✭

Krustywansock, before McIntyre goes back to Offaly, Galway should go back to Connacht and play in the Connacht Hurling Championship. "There isn't one" you'll say. True, and that is the real problem, and the one that should be addressed. Galway aren't the problem. Mayo, Sligo, Leitrim and Roscommon are. Which of Mayo, Sligo, Leitrim, Galway or Roscommon are most capable of winning the All-Ireland? The answer is obvious. So how come it is Galway that are regarded as the problem? "It would take years to get the others to a competitve level" you'd say. True, so they better get started immediately, hadn't they instead of continually ignoring the problem and even going as far as trying to solve something that isn't a problem? The same goes for Antrim and Ulster.

Don't be worrying about McIntyre. Galway doesn't have any problems in Hurling. All of us that have a real interest in Hurling know that. Unfortunately the GAA doesn't seem to. We have the crazy situation that several Leinster counties aren't allowed to play in their own championship, while Antrim and Galway are, while at the same time the two of them also aren't allowed to play in their championships. Even putting them into Leinster hasn't really changed anything. Yesterday they played Laois, as they have for the past few years, so nothing has changed. They'll end up playing several other teams that they've also being playing in recent years. Some may be under the title of "Leinster Championship", but they are no different than any other meetings they've had with Leinster counties in recent years. Yesterday's match did nothing for Galway or Laois. It is a pointless exercise, ignoring the real problems hurling has.

Galway may not win the All-Ireland this year, but they'll do well, proving yet again that there isn't a problem in the county. They are in fact still the last county to have beaten Kilkenny in the championship. On a good day, if everything clicked, they could do it again. If they don't, it won't be the manager's fault. The players have the ultimate responsibility. The talent is undoubtedly there.

✭✭✭

No offence meant

✭✭✭✭

Flukey wrote: »
    Krustywansock, before McIntyre goes back to Offaly, Galway should go back to Connacht and play in the Connacht Hurling Championship. "There isn't one" you'll say. True, and that is the real problem, and the one that should be addressed. Galway aren't the problem. Mayo, Sligo, Leitrim and Roscommon are. Which of Mayo, Sligo, Leitrim, Galway or Roscommon are most capable of winning the All-Ireland? The answer is obvious. So how come it is Galway that are regarded as the problem? "It would take years to get the others to a competitve level" you'd say. True, so they better get started immediately, hadn't they instead of continually ignoring the problem and even going as far as trying to solve something that isn't a problem? The same goes for Antrim and Ulster.

Don't be worrying about McIntyre. Galway doesn't have any problems in Hurling. All of us that have a real interest in Hurling know that. Unfortunately the GAA doesn't seem to. We have the crazy situation that several Leinster counties aren't allowed to play in their own championship, while Antrim and Galway are, while at the same time the two of them also aren't allowed to play in their championships. Even putting them into Leinster hasn't really changed anything. Yesterday they played Laois, as they have for the past few years, so nothing has changed. They'll end up playing several other teams that they've also being playing in recent years. Some may be under the title of "Leinster Championship", but they are no different than any other meetings they've had with Leinster counties in recent years. Yesterday's match did nothing for Galway or Laois. It is a pointless exercise, ignoring the real problems hurling has.

Galway may not win the All-Ireland this year, but they'll do well, proving yet again that there isn't a problem in the county. They are in fact still the last county to have beaten Kilkenny in the championship. On a good day, if everything clicked, they could do it again. If they don't, it won't be the manager's fault. The players have the ultimate responsibility. The talent is undoubtedly there.
    Donegal,Tyrone,Monaghan,Derry,Armagh,Fermanagh.
    Cavan,Meath,Carlow,Louth,Longford,Kildare,Wicklow.
    Leitrim,Sligo,Mayo,Roscommon.
    Kerry,London,New York.

Thats a list of all the minor counties who can't compete against the big teams. There are a few teams that could have a decent match ala Westmeath and Laois.

The GAA can't just order these teams (over half the country) to become competitive. Meanwhile Galway and Antrim struggle in such a perdicament if they were unincluded in the Provinial Championships.

✭✭

By enforcing your geographically correct championship, you're demeaning the game as a whole. The system at the moment is about having a strong championship with equal treatment for all counties who are of a high enough standard to compete.

✭✭✭

Flukey that just about sums it up. What the other counties do is their business. Because some counties only pay lip service to Hurling and put in no effort thats not the fault of counties who do things right. I can speak from experience of 2 of the counties you mention and they simply put NO EFFORT in to Hurling at all.

Look at it from a Dublin or Laois point of view, they work extremely hard well I know they do in Dublin anyway and here is another obsticale put in your way.

To take Benhonan point why not put Clare and Antrim into Connacht? Mayo and Roscommon play to see who meets Antrim and Clare play Galway and then ya have your Connacht final. Under the current system Dublin and Laoise are being penalised.
    Surely Westmeath and Carlow are more entitled to play in Leinster than either Galway or Antrim.

Back to the op McIntyre is a good man who knows his stuff and will deliver if he is given time

✭✭

LeoB wrote: »
    To take Benhonan point why not put Clare and Antrim into Connacht? Mayo and Roscommon play to see who meets Antrim and Clare play Galway and then ya have your Connacht final. Under the current system Dublin and Laoise are being penalised.
    Surely Westmeath and Carlow are more entitled to play in Leinster than either Galway or Antrim.

Having teams like Mayo, Roscommon, Carlow and Westmeath getting the lard bate out of them by top flight counties will put them back even further in terms of development. There is no place for them in the top tier of the championship, regardless of where they happen to be situated.

Your suggestion would be disastrous. By moving Clare to Connacht you're denying them their historical place in the Munster championship, something of which we are hugely proud of here in Clare. You're also equating the Connacht championship to the Munster championship, which is ridiculous because only one team there is within an asses roar of Munster hurling. By moving Galway and Antrim to Leinster you're giving them an opportunity to play good games and improving the quality of a flagging Leinster championship. By moving Clare and Antrim to Connacht you're penalising a good hurling county, and basically creating a new hurling championship that doesn't exist. You said yourself no effort was made in these counties, having Clare, Galway and Antrim take the piss out of them in the championship will not inspire a renewed effort.

Dublin are a team on the way up, and when they take their place at the top podium (if they haven't already) then they'll be glad of the high intensity of the revived Leinster championship and what it brings with it in terms of competitiveness. Galway and Antrim will also be happy with competitive championships. This would not happen by allowing second and third tier hurling counties get the snot beat out of them by their neighbours just because of their geographic location.

✭✭✭

Benhonan wrote: »
    Having teams like Mayo, Roscommon, Carlow and Westmeath getting the lard bate out of them by top flight counties will put them back even further in terms of development. There is no place for them in the top tier of the championship, regardless of where they happen to be situated.

Your suggestion would be disastrous. By moving Clare to Connacht you're denying them their historical place in the Munster championship, something of which we are hugely proud of here in Clare. quote]

We would deny Clare their historical right, until the mid 90s if memory serves me rightly there were a few right beating handed out to Clare and they stuck at it and EVENTUALLY made an impact. The connacht council and G.A.A hurling committees have a job to do but they are not doing it to improve what the province has, likewise Ulster. I actually think we could have an Ulster championship in in anothe 3 or 4 years. If Dublin lose in Leinster they should be let play Ulster finalists at least then we would have some chance of getting to All-Ireland Q/F. What about the Dubs historical right to get or win the chance to play in Leinster Final. This is another hurdle put in the way. It seems the earth can be moved for Galway and Antrim but where is ther earth being moved for Dublin. We could end up playing Galway and Kilkenny and that is not fair on a county who only now have a decent chance of making a breakthrough.

Dublin would have a reasonable chance against Wexford is the other point I was making and the fact Wexford have a pedigree which has helped them against teams like Dublin and Laois over the years. I was not knocking Wexford just saying they have to reproduce the form which often sees them take a big scalp and then fall flat. I think the current situation works against 2 LEINSTER counties, Dublin and Laois.

Welcome!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.