Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leinster STHs only allocated 3,500 tickets for the final...

• 04-05-2009 10:52am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭

First of all - I know buying and selling tickets here is not allowed. I am not looking for tickets, just looking at the situation.

I don't have a link but that seems to be the case. Leinster have been given 7,500 tickets and the rest are going to sponsors and the like. This is massively unfair on STHs imo, there's about a 1/3 chance of getting a ticket now through official channels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭curts82

lot of Munster fans have tickets already.they'll come up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

welcome to the world of heineken cup finals. It sucks, and this is why munster fans bought up last january. Luckily for leinster this means the tickets are in the country, because for years they've only been with english touts. This will be the first in a long list of complaints. Wait til you see the sheer disorganisation at the airports and ferries. You won't believe it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,023 ✭✭✭Tim Robbins

zuroph wrote: »
    welcome to the world of heineken cup finals. It sucks, and this is why munster fans bought up last january. Luckily for leinster this means the tickets are in the country, because for years they've only been with english touts. This will be the first in a long list of complaints. Wait til you see the sheer disorganisation at the airports and ferries. You won't believe it.
    Tonnes up on ebay

http://shop.ebay.ie/items/__heineken-cup?_trkparms=72%253A1298%257C66%253A2%257C65%253A12%257C39%253A1&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_pgn=1

ERC's ticket policies are increbily cr*p.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭squareboy007

All will be revealed on Wednesday...

http://www.leinsterrugby.ie/newsroom/3441.php

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

daveirl wrote: »

There's only 7k difference between Murrayfield and the Millenium, which is significant but not 20k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

I see that somebody is selling their Munster scarves as well.

Nah it's 67k or there abouts. Millenium is 74.5k and Twickenham is about the same as Croker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

Which is why Landsdowne Road is going to be way too small. The smallest of the Home Nations by far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

It's pretty shocking alright - looking at the Leicester website, a lot of Munster fans are selling their tickets to Leicester only. :/

Also, on the Munster fans site, a Leinster fan requested a ticket and was told "What? After you did everything in your power to stop us getting tickets for the semi-final?" as if Munster have some devine right to opposition tickets.

Pretty poor show it has to be said, but there you have it. Either touting it for big bucks or selling to Leicester only. And who says the bitter rivalry is only a minority of few. ;)

I was lucky enough to have been blind in my faith of Leinster and bought tickets at the start of the season (one of my best mates who is a Leinster season ticket holder and die hard Munster fan from Limerick was in line to get the tickets for Murrayfield if we lost), but I don't know what the rest of the Leinster fans will do.

It seems like a lot of tickets going to sponsors and general sale - would have thought at least half of the ground would go to the fans of the teams competing :confused:

Just hope Leinster fans can continue their growing reputation as superb commited supporters that we've shown in bukets this season and can get a good chunk of the tickets for the final - whatever the cost!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,894 ✭✭✭dreamer_ire

[Jackass] wrote: »
    And who says the bitter rivalry is only a minority of few. ;)

In fairness jackass there is no doubt that we all have our idiot supporters but I do believe they are in the minority. All of Munster fans I know with tickets are either 1. still going and shouting for Leinster or 2. have already lined up Leinster buyers at face value for their tickets. I too got my tickets last year when they went on general sale, four of us are still going and wearing Irish jerseys and will shout for Leinster and the other four tickets have gone to Leinsters friends of my sister.

I always think we are in danger of whitewashing a whole team's fans when we generalise... and this goes for both Leinster and Munster fans. All in all I thought the behaviour of the fans on Saturday was great. We met a couple of eejits from both sides but you know what, all they do is let themselves down not their teams.

I have no doubt that more tickets will be floating on ebay and I also don't doubt that they will sell for ridiculous prices. As fans tho please don't go there... if they don't sell people will stop trying to extort fans. Have faith that if you travel on the day you will pick up tickets from genuine fans at face value.

Good luck for the final Leinster

All of Munster fans I know with tickets are either 1. still going and shouting for Leinster or 2. have already lined up Leinster buyers at face value for their tickets.

Great to hear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

In fairness jackass there is no doubt that we all have our idiot supporters but I do believe they are in the minority. All of Munster fans I know with tickets are either 1. still going and shouting for Leinster or 2. have already lined up Leinster buyers at face value for their tickets. I too got my tickets last year when they went on general sale, four of us are still going and wearing Irish jerseys and will shout for Leinster and the other four tickets have gone to Leinsters friends of my sister.

I always think we are in danger of whitewashing a whole team's fans when we generalise... and this goes for both Leinster and Munster fans. All in all I thought the behaviour of the fans on Saturday was great. We met a couple of eejits from both sides but you know what, all they do is let themselves down not their teams.

I have no doubt that more tickets will be floating on ebay and I also don't doubt that they will sell for ridiculous prices. As fans tho please don't go there... if they don't sell people will stop trying to extort fans. Have faith that if you travel on the day you will pick up tickets from genuine fans at face value.

Good luck for the final Leinster

I'd throw you a thumbs up, but I thanked every fan in the "well done Leinster" thread and I think you only get a certain quota before you have to wait a while to give "thanks" again. :D But that is good to hear.

It's tough though. I'll be honest, if I didn't have tickets I'm pretty sure I'd end up paying insane money on ebay so that there's no way I could miss the game. Having said that though, Lesinter "fans" of old did that in 2006 to Munster and genuine fans like myself didn't get a ticket for that day, so swings and round abouts I suppose. I just hope in future more and more genuine fans will trade tickets reasonably between eachother.

Nice to know we'll have some of the red army behind us on the day too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

It's pretty shocking alright - looking at the Leicester website, a lot of Munster fans are selling their tickets to Leicester only. :/

Well their is a long connection between the two fan groups there that isn't as bitter as say the one between Munster and Leinster. You'll have some people that will sell to the Tigers out of past favours and others just generally won't give it to Leinster, meh id be more pissed off that sponsors take up nearly the grand share of tickets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭Jackz

Fair play dreamer your post restored my respect for my fellow Irish man after reading that thread on Leicster Tigers forum and some posts on munsterfans.com.

Stev_o wrote: »
    Well their is a low connection between the two fan groups there that isn't as bitter as say the one between Munster and Leinster. You'll have some people that will sell to the Tigers out of past favours and others just generally won't give it to Leinster, meh id be more pissed off that sponsors take up nearly the grand share of tickets.

Nah it's just shocking to be honest. The same goons who sing away about Trevelyan's corn no doubt.

Jackz wrote: »
    Nah it's just shocking to be honest. The same goons who sing away about Trevelyan's corn no doubt.

Meh you never really you can argue it's bitterness or just repaying a favour. Think it'll be blown out of context because it's Leinster in the final aswell it's not like this is the first team iv seen these set of fans swap tickets hell they did it in 07 and 08 for their respective finals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

If you weren't going, do you not think you'd be supporting your fellow Irish man by giving a Leinster fan first refusal?

Meh you never really you can argue it's bitterness or just repaying a favour. Think it'll be blown out of context because it's Leinster in the final aswell it's not like this is the first team iv seen these set of fans swap tickets hell they did it in 07 and 08 for their respective finals.

Swaping is all well and good when there isn't another Irish man who would give his left nut to see his team in their first Heineken Cup final.

Jackz wrote: »
    Swaping is all well and good when there isn't another Irish man who would give his left nut to see his team in their first Heineken Cup final.

Would a Liverpool supporter give his final ticket to a Man Utd supporter for a Champions League final (ruling out they may be a scouse and need the money :P)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Would a Liverpool supporter give his final ticket to a Man Utd supporter for a Champions League final (ruling out they may be a scouse and need the money :P)

If Leinster and Munster's relationship was like Pool and United's there'd have been riot police in Croke Park. Poisonous is an understatement.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,617 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

+1 to this, I ended up with a group that included one Munster fan, he was quick to offer his final tickets afterward.

Like people said there is always plenty of muppets on both sides and there was a fair bit of it before the game, but the fans there at the end and who stuck around the pubs after the game were to a man as graceful as you can be after losing a big game.

If Leinster and Munster's relationship was like Pool and United's there'd have been riot police in Croke Park. Poisonous is an understatement.

And the ground wouldn't have looked like this:

The alternate squares of fans was a great idea.

danthefan wrote: »
    And the ground wouldn't have looked like this:

The alternate squares of fans was a great idea.

Looked amazing.

Just a shame the red sticks out so much more than the blue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭smog

Also, on the Munster fans site, a Leinster fan requested a ticket and was told "What? After you did everything in your power to stop us getting tickets for the semi-final?" as if Munster have some devine right to opposition tickets.

Pretty poor show it has to be said, but there you have it. Either touting it for big bucks or selling to Leicester only. And who says the bitter rivalry is only a minority of few. ;)

That is the most bitter thing i have heard .. i had to go check this as i didnt believe anyone who called themselves Irish would act like this ... and im appaled.

I thought the Munster fans were great after the match and figured if any bitterness that is when it would have come out ..

To support a GP team over an ML and IRISH club is just sick. So much for the "high" in Irish rugby :(

Just hope Leinster fans can continue their growing reputation as superb commited supporters that we've shown in bukets this season and can get a good chunk of the tickets for the final - whatever the cost!!

I will be still trying to get tickets whenever they come out but a 1/3 chance is not great odds as no doubt it will be a lottery system of some sort so getting two together gets tricky for myself and the misses (both STH) I will not be paying touts above odds or a Munster fan looking to cash out their tickets ... gutted now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

smog wrote: »
    That is the most bitter thing i have heard .. i had to go check this as i didnt believe anyone who called themselves Irish would act like this ... and im appaled.

I thought the Munster fans were great after the match and figured if any bitterness that is when it would have come out ..

To support a GP team over an ML and IRISH club is just sick. So much for the "high" in Irish rugby :(

I will be still trying to get tickets whenever they come out but a 1/3 chance is not great odds as no doubt it will be a lottery system of some sort so getting two together gets tricky for myself and the misses (both STH) I will not be paying touts above odds or a Munster fan looking to cash out their tickets ... gutted now
    seriously, dont believe the hype. most munster fans will be selling at face value to leinster fans or travelling themselves, I know this is the case with everyone I know who has tickets. lets not stereotype all fans thanks to a few.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭smog

zuroph wrote: »
    seriously, dont believe the hype. most munster fans will be selling at face value to leinster fans or travelling themselves, I know this is the case with everyone I know who has tickets. lets not stereotype all fans thanks to a few.

I know mate. And i am hoping for this .. but even at this been the minority (which im sure it is) i still cant believe those posts ... it is a disgrace, not as a Munster fan(s) but at being Irish ....

I am not making this an us verus them club issue .. but rather a disappointment in Irish people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 359 ✭✭vote4pedro

Is there an official HC Final thread? If not, what are people doing about accomodation in Edinburgh? I've match tickets, but it looks like there's no room at the inn across Edinburgh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,894 ✭✭✭dreamer_ire

vote4pedro wrote: »
    Is there an official HC Final thread? If not, what are people doing about accomodation in Edinburgh? I've match tickets, but it looks like there's no room at the inn across Edinburgh

Few friends of mine just cancelled their self catering apartment cos they aren't travelling now. It was £270 for 2 nights for up to 7 people. I'm not selling it.... just letting you know it's free.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

vote4pedro pm sent
    edinburgh looks, well, full!!

I'm now doubting the validity of the whole 3,500 tickets for STHs only. Could well be untrue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,979 ✭✭✭✭phog

I'm sure some accommodation will become free over the next few days, Munster and Cardiff supporters that had booked in hope may now release it. I'm sure tickets will also become available from those that aren't travelling.

For the Leicester Wasps final in Twickers the Leicester Supporters club arranged tickets from MRSC unfortunately for Leinster that arrangement might still be there.

I have travelled to 5 Finals and Munster were in only two of those, the reason is if you want your family to sit together then you must book in advance, I guess Leinsters success this year will add to the panic buying next year, the ERC will be delighted, the last time they had difficulty selling tickets was for the final in LR, they learnt their lesson there and now sell the public tickets before the QFs are held.

The Leinster supporters who took a chance must be very happy now.

BTW - please stay away from the touts - no matter how hard up you are to see your team in their first HC Final.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

smog wrote: »

I'd say that Leinster will do their best to make sure any STH's who get a ticket are put sitting with other STH's that they know. They did this last year for the Tiger's game in Welford Rd.

Honey-ec wrote: »
    I'd say that Leinster will do their best to make sure any STH's who get a ticket are put sitting with other STH's that they know. They did this last year for the Tiger's game in Welford Rd.

Didn't happen for Quins this year though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 eddie1690

theres a lot of camp space for tents at mortenhall at a good price
    im travlling anyway no tickets
    deadicated leinster fan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭dingbat

The "Munster fans selling tickets to Leicester fans" thing is way overblown. Seriously, it's just a few of the real head-the-balls. 99% of Munster fans are either still going to the match or are selling them at face value to Leinster fans while wishing them good luck.

Don't let the actions of a few eejits drive a wedge between two fantastic sets of fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭Blured

4,000 tickets for the season ticket holders - to be allocated by lottery ala the International tickets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

and so the dash for tickets begins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭madds

Blured wrote: »

4,000 tickets for the season ticket holders - to be allocated by lottery ala the International tickets

One ticket per person unless you have family membership...:(
    Leinster Rugby are delighted to announce that 4,000 tickets for the Heineken Cup Final will be available to purchase by our Season Ticket holders.
    Tickets will be allocated on a lottery basis, successful applicants will receive one ticket each. Each season ticket holder is entitled to one entry, family Season Ticket holders can enter 4 times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭leinsterman

I too got my tickets last year when they went on general sale, four of us are still going and wearing Irish jerseys and will shout for Leinster and the other four tickets have gone to Leinsters friends of my sister.

I went to the final last year and wore a Munster jersey:o ... I have to confess in retrospect I think this was the completely wrong approach ... while I was supporting Munster, I could have done it in my own teams colours ... one of the things I noticed amid the red sea in Cardiff last year was a lot of fans from all over UK, France and Ireland wearing their own colours ... It is one of the good things about Rugby ... so I think Munster fans travelling to the final should don their own colours with pride as always ... and hopefully most, if not all of them will offer us their support ...

Back on topic - I'm hoping all this mumbo jumbo about Munster fans deliberately selling their tickets to Leicester is untrue it would reflect badly on them if they acted like this out of spite ... but I suspect this is largely our media causing trouble by blowing a few isolated incidents out of proportion ... that said, its up to the individual Munster fan to whom he or she sells tickets ... if it were reversed, I'd be trying to find a Munster supporter... but offering it for general sale to the highest bidder is understandable in these troubled times ... though I personally hate touting... it is a market that would not exist without buyers!

I am lucky that I took a punt last year and have my tickets for the final for a long time now ... I planned to travel even if neither Munster nor Leinster (nor for that matter Ulster) qualified ... I will be my 5th Heinekin cup final ... they are special events all ... and always worth the trip ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭Hyperbullet

I'm a member of the MRSC (munster rugby supporters club). All members received an email this evening on how to offload unwanted final tickets to Leinster fans, and a link to the leinster forum boards. The Munster club has stated that they would like the tickets to go to Leinster supporters, although they do have a link for the Leister away supporters group as well.

So hopefully there'll be a few more tickets floating around for Leinster fans

I'm a member of the MRSC (munster rugby supporters club). All members received an email this evening on how to offload unwanted final tickets to Leinster fans, and a link to the leinster forum boards. The Munster club has stated that they would like the tickets to go to Leinster supporters, although they do have a link for the Leister away supporters group as well.

So hopefully there'll be a few more tickets floating around for Leinster fans

Nice gesture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭brandon_flowers

I went to the final last year and wore a Munster jersey:o ... I have to confess in retrospect I think this was the completely wrong approach ... while I was supporting Munster, I could have done it in my own teams colours ... one of the things I noticed amid the red sea in Cardiff last year was a lot of fans from all over UK, France and Ireland wearing their own colours ... It is one of the good things about Rugby ... so I think Munster fans travelling to the final should don their own colours with pride as always ... and hopefully most, if not all of them will offer us their support ...

Back on topic - I'm hoping all this mumbo jumbo about Munster fans deliberately selling their tickets to Leicester is untrue it would reflect badly on them if they acted like this out of spite ... but I suspect this is largely our media causing trouble by blowing a few isolated incidents out of proportion ... that said, its up to the individual Munster fan to whom he or she sells tickets ... if it were reversed, I'd be trying to find a Munster supporter... but offering it for general sale to the highest bidder is understandable in these troubled times ... though I personally hate touting... it is a market that would not exist without buyers!

I am lucky that I took a punt last year and have my tickets for the final for a long time now ... I planned to travel even if neither Munster nor Leinster (nor for that matter Ulster) qualified ... I will be my 5th Heinekin cup final ... they are special events all ... and always worth the trip ...

Couldn't agree anymore, HC Finals are a very special occassion. This year will be the first time I watch it without Munster as I sold my ticket to a Wasps fan in 07. I will naturally enough be shouting for Leinster albeit in a Tonga jersey (about as neutral as I have, its still red!). A Leinster victory in the final would have a far greater positive effect than a Munster one should they have been in it. With the exception of Earls all the Munster players are past winners, Leinster have the future backbone of the Irish team at the moment (Kearney, Heaslip, Fitzgerald, Healy, Sexton) and I have no doubt but Munster will come again. A Leinster victory would boost their confidence no end. It also may be the last chance for guys like Drico, Darcy, Cullen, O Kelly and Jackman. My heart goes out to Contepomi, the abuse he had taken from all sectors including Leinster fans was pretty horrendous to say the least. Contepomi dragged that Leinster team on his own when BOD was suffering from a loss of form last year and deserves enormous credit for that.

It is a bit disappointing to hear about tickets being sold to Leicster fans but some people are just ignorant and all the will in the world won't change that. I lived in Edinburgh for a year so there was no way I was missing a HC final there.

madds wrote: »
    One ticket per person unless you have family membership...:(

no the family ticket just gives you 4 chances of winning a ticket they still may only get 1 ticket between the 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭madds

no the family ticket just gives you 4 chances of winning a ticket they still may only get 1 ticket between the 4

Yeah, have just read the email again and you're right. Not good.

It's only natural that we're going to hear all of the negative ticket experiences over the next couple of weeks but my experience has been nothing but positive. Last night I managed to pick up 2 match tickets and accommodation in Edinburgh city centre for the Sat night from a Munster fan who is a friend of a friend. This Munster fan doesn't know me from Adam but wanted to see the tickets go to a "Leinster fan and fellow Irishman". His words and I'm very, very grateful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,023 ✭✭✭Tim Robbins

madds wrote: »
    This Munster fan doesn't know me from Adam but wanted to see the tickets go to a "Leinster fan and fellow Irishman". His words and I'm very, very grateful.
    Well done. Still struggling to get tickets myself.
    Have flights though.

truthfully the real villian in the fecking airlines, not for rising the prices of tickets as supply and demand dicates this but more for the fact they are charging around €100 a ticket to change the names on flights and this is the main reason Munster fans are having problems offloading their tickets as they don't want to be left out of pocket and then Leinster fans are feeling that packages are just to expensive to buy from Munster supporters