Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

George Hook promoting Sky

• 01-05-2009 12:50pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭

I always enjoyed George on the rugby and to be honest he was one of the reasons why I watched it.

Considering Sky are pretty much the reason that Irish people cannot see any live premiership games, a lot of the rugby, golf etc etc without paying a fortune to Rupert Murdoch every month, Im surprised that he would bite the hand that feeds him. And the fact the he "acts" so well in the ad would make me wonder does he actually give a kcuf about the rugby or is this all an act as well.

His credibility imo is not in doubt because he is no longer the only one who can pre-record TV programs. His credibility is gone because he has sold out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

He annoys the fcuk out of me when he says Sky + is the stuff of science fiction/ H.G Welles.

No it fuppin isn't!!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

someone oughta tell that asshole murdoch that it's just not acceptable to be really successful and make money.

bastard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

That advert annoys me big time! Cringe!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭IIMII

I think the ad is aimed at the older generation. The ones that took a while to get their heads around texting, and some of whom take great pride in refusing to do anything that involves pressing a button. George is ideal for this, I think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭ben bedlam

I personally sent a lenghty letter this morning to Mr. Robert Skyplus, inventor of that glorious device, to his mansion in Hawaii, congradulating him on his fine invention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭LostinBlanch

Like the OP I remember Hook giving out yards about SKY Getting the Heineken Cup and stopping terrestrial TV getting it.

Then he comes out with these ads. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Which one of us can say, hand on wallet we are not free to be bought off?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Oh no, George Hook has done an advert for Sky and got paid for it. The bastard!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

I'm not really bothered about him doing an ad for Sky, but it's an awful ad, that's why I hate it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Anyone hear the gift grub mocking that ad yesterday?

http://www.todayfm.com/Shows/Weekdays/Ian-Dempsey-Breakfast-Show/podcastaudio.aspx

Entitled Gift Roy Ipswich.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Like the OP I remember Hook giving out yards about SKY Getting the Heineken Cup and stopping terrestrial TV getting it.

Then he comes out with these ads. :rolleyes:

IIRC he was complaining that the governemt wouldn't make changes to the law like they did for soccer.

When I first saw the ad I had to google to fins out who the hell he was and even then I still have no real idea of who he is. The ad really does annoy me tbh and the whole HG Wells thing is a joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭thebigcheese22

someone oughta tell that asshole murdoch that it's just not acceptable to be really successful and make money.

bastard

Nah hes a bastard because he has built up a near monopoly and is forcing his viewpoint with that monopoly

Also, didn't Hook wear a black armband on RTE when the rights were sold to Sky?? Friggin hypocrite like!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Also, didn't Hook wear a black armband on RTE when the rights were sold to Sky?? Friggin hypocrite like!

You know I nearly forgot about that..

Irish Time, Monday January 23rd, 2006.
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2006/0123/1137626797489.html
    You need to be subscribed to view the whole article

Irate George goes where only golden eagles

On Saturday an irate George Hook, wearing a black armband and black tie in "mourning for the death of the Heineken Cup on terrestrial television", kind of intimated that Sky Sports wouldn't know Irish rugby from Japanese baseball.We thought this was harsh, until Sky's Graham Simmons told Brian O'Driscoll, after Leinster's rather splendid triumph over Bath yesterday, that "they'll be singing Cockles and Mussels in Limerick right now".

Thing of HG Wells? Thing of Judas more like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,284 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

Mossy Monk wrote: »
    IIRC he was complaining that the governemt wouldn't make changes to the law like they did for soccer.
    He had an issue with the government, yet he still pays his taxes? What a hypocrite! Burn him! BURN HIIIIM!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

I have lost all respect for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,465 ✭✭✭MOH

Insurgent wrote: »
    He annoys the fcuk out of me when he says Sky + is the stuff of science fiction/ H.G Welles.

No it fuppin isn't!!!!

It is, there's a little known sequel to "The Time Machine" called "Series Link".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Surely his black armband protest was more complaining about the Heineken cup organisers doing the deal rather than Sky itself?

I don't see what the fuss is about, he is a genuine Sky user (heard him talk about it for ages on his Radio show) and now Sky offered him money to do an ad for it and he took it.......fair play to him I say ....don't know why people would get worked up enough about it to put a post on here about it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

murpho999 wrote: »
    I don't see what the fuss is about, he is a genuine Sky user (heard him talk about it for ages on his Radio show) and now Sky offered him money to do an ad for it and he took it.......fair play to him I say ....don't know why people would get worked up enough about it to put a post on here about it!

tbh...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,956 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Its a brutal ad.
    You'd think Sky invented the pvr ,ffs.:rolleyes:
    All they did was copy tivo and other products and create a much inferior product.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,387 ✭✭✭EKRIUQ

22 posts in and no one can still tell me Who invented Sky+?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭claiva

Henri Le Schiploose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

Its a brutal ad.
    You'd think Sky invented the pvr ,ffs.:rolleyes:
    All they did was copy tivo and other products and create a much inferior product.

But Tivo never had Kelly Brook in a leotard telling you the wonders of cannibalising the ad revenues of every station in exsistence.

From Brook to Hook just to be 'regional'? The Irish have learned to listen to people with British accents again, honest!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,316 ✭✭✭Reginald P. DuM

Hook is a publicity mad whore.. Flogging crap for financial gain is the lowest form of public life. Scurvy ridden airtime. I have seen this ad just once, during ads I always keep the remote close at hand in case it comes on.. Truly irritating, as he can be sometimes on the rugby shows. I do respect his opinions on that sport though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

Hook is a publicity mad whore.. Flogging crap for financial gain is the lowest form of public life. Scurvy ridden airtime. I have seen this ad just once, during ads I always keep the remote close at hand in case it comes on.. Truly irritating, as he can be sometimes on the rugby shows. I do respect his opinions on that sport though.

I think you're one of very few. I enjoy him and Dunphy as Simon Cowell-esque curmudgeon characters whose jobs are more to be contary and entertaining than to offer much depth of knowledge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,817 ✭✭✭ynotdu

George is a perfect way of using Sky+!

during the six nations i could skip his analasis and watch the Ads(before he might turn up during the Ads:D)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I wouldn't be surprised if your all hypocrites. I don't have a sky box and am beligerant in my support of terrestrial.

It's a devious and stupid service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Koloman

Considering Sky are pretty much the reason that Irish people cannot see any live premiership games

Why would Irish people want to watch premiership games? confused.gif Last time I looked there was no Irish team in the Premier League!

I would say the ads conflict with his role on RTE, no? Will we have Pat Kenny advertising UPC next?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭rotinaj

Dont sky sponcer his program on newstalk?

d3mon24 wrote: »
    Dont sky sponcer his program on newstalk?

No, Aviva Insurance do. Sky sponsor Tom Dunne's show though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

There's something disturbing about George talking about falling in love with a robot. :eek:

Koloman wrote: »
    I would say the ads conflict with his role on RTE, no? Will we have Pat Kenny advertising UPC next?

Well, you know that Irish people want to see the premiership, so I'm not gonna argue that point. I think the ad is conflicting with his role in RTE as well. They are showing highlights on RTE TWO now. McGuirk is hosting the show, dont know if George is on it.

Looked up my online TV browser. Tonight's program.

"Highlights from Europe's premier rugby union tournament. Tom McGurk is joined by George Hook and Conor O'Shea for action from today's All Ireland semi-final clash between Munster and Leinster at Croke Park. Ryle Nugent and Ralph Keyes commentate."

Bit stupid RTE paying Hook to be a pundit on the show, when he is promoting Sky?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Looked up my online TV browser. Tonight's program.

Bit stupid RTE paying Hook to be a pundit on the show, when he is promoting Sky?

Why so ? RTE is on Sky after all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭Trouser_Press

bastard

Yes Captain, Murdoch's success and money are his only flaws. :rolleyes:

Firetrap wrote: »
    There's something disturbing about George talking about falling in love with a robot. :eek:

Didn't George on his radio show get to bring home a robot vacuum cleaner to test?

I dread to think what went on that night in his house!eek.gifbiggrin.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

I couldn't resist half-vamping this thread because of Apres Match..

thanks for posting I missed this last nite...

I really think this ad, more so than the last one, is contemptible. It portrays George as having a sense of Schadenfreude now that all of us, who supposedly got above our stations during the boom, have been brought back down to Earth. And Sky are portrayed as now throwing us a few crumbs in our time of need. They can go and fk off, both Hook and Murdoch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭Kai

I always enjoyed George on the rugby and to be honest he was one of the reasons why I watched it.

WTF? George Hook was one of the reasons you watched Rugby. That's like going on holidays because you like being stuck in an airplane for 8 hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,577 ✭✭✭lord lucan

thanks for posting I missed this last nite...

I really think this ad, more so than the last one, is contemptible. It portrays George as having a sense of Schadenfreude now that all of us, who supposedly got above our stations during the boom, have been brought back down to Earth. And Sky are portrayed as now throwing us a few crumbs in our time of need. They can go and fk off, both Hook and Murdoch.

Yeah,it's the condescending tone that annoys me. No,we didn't all "think we were millionaires" a few years ago,only some did. The ad reminds me of Haughey's famous "we're living beyond our means" speech in the 80's.

And Sky charge more here than they do in the UK for their product,they're certainly not the white knight of home entertainment by any means.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Poly

" Sky care that you are getting the best televisual experience".
    What a load of bollix.

Note to Hookie
    Please drop the sky ads George, it's sickening.
    Go and do an ad for Barrys Tea or something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭henryporter

I'm glad to see there's a few more people here more than annoyed at that obnoxious condescending twát with his stupid opinions on Sky. The frequency of the ads on radio and TV is shocking. Funnily enough it's having the opposite effect on me - I needed a (bog basic) Sky subscription because I can't receive terrestrial tv without a 100ft high aerial. Once the World Cup is over I'll be canceling my subscription and doing without RTE and Hook - I've already switched to Matt Cooper as I couldn't take any more of Hooks blueshirt drivel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

lord lucan wrote: »
    Yeah,it's the condescending tone that annoys me. No,we didn't all "think we were millionaires" a few years ago,only some did. The ad reminds me of Haughey's famous "we're living way beyond our means" speech in the 80's.

And Sky charge more here than they do in the UK for their product,they're certainly not the white knight of home entertainment by any means.:mad:

Poly wrote: »
    Note to HookiePlease drop the sky ads George, it's sickening. Go and do an ad for Barrys Tea or something

I like it Poly.... It's knits nicely in with the sky ads...
    script for the Barry's Tea ad... " You know just after I've pressed the pause button, there's nothing I like more than a cup of Barry's Tea... "

Maybe Ladbrokes could also capitalize on the fact that we now know that his grandchildren gamble on his knee... ;)

Mo money for George..

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Say what you will, that live pause is a life saver when you want to go take a slash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Does anyone take Hook seriously? I doubt it.

Say what you will, that live pause is a life saver when you want to go take a slash

Maybe when the prostate goes I'll appreciate it more, the two terms could become synonymous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭barneygumble

The last time I saw him on RTE1 he was saying how the Lions tours are nothing more than money-making exercises and should be scrapped.

And one of the bigger beneficiaries of said tours would presumably be the broadcaster with sole UK and Ireland rights....

I wonder if there is anyone Hook wouldn't take money from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

The latest add seems like all out lies on the part of GH. Now his saying that sky have one of the best customer service teams that really care about the customer.

That's not what all my friends that have sky would say. They'd say sky steal money from their bank accounts without permission, won't give the money back, aren't in the same country and haven't a clue what your on about, not that they'd care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭minotour

until the latest ad i thought "Ah, the poor auld crater seems to really like the telly pause thingy", sure why not get a few quid for something he genuinly believes. DVR is a fantastic feature.

But the idea that the man fronting the commercial marketing drive on national telly has to call in for tech support beggars belief. Credibility shot to hell.