Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wolverine Origins Spoiler Warning

• 30-04-2009 10:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭

OK just back from Blancherstown and I m so disappointed.

I have never seen such a mess (well maybe the jazz scene in Spiderman 3)

Be warned from this point onwards there will be spoilers.

Now I m a comic fan but still for anyone who has just seen the films this is bad.

There is so many stories that could have been used but instead Hollywood decided to pick scenes from different comics and slap them together for this.

Oh and stay until after the credits.
    Theres 2 really pointless after scenes

Like to have a comic character like Wade Wilson and have him speak twice in the film is bad enough but then to have Gambit barely there too.

And then of course there the ending
    They kill Deadpool ffs and Wolverine and Sabertooth make out

I expected something epic, something worthy of the character but alas it was not to be.

Thanks Hollywood for nothing.

PS
    The story is exactly the same as the leaked copy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

Shocking movie tbh. Worst cgi I've seen in a supposed top action flick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,923 ✭✭✭kearneybobs

Saw the preview tonight.
    the CGI was really noticeable and bad in a lot of places.
    Prof X turning up at the end
    looked like it was definitely cgi'd. The whole scene around the
    fight on top of the chimney stack
    was very well done for the most part.
    The story was very stop/start/stop/start. And thought that the whole
    Weapon X portion
    was really sparse and would have liked to have seen more of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

I posted in the review thread about this film that i really liked it, and in a lot of ways i did, Jackman outstanding as always as Wolverine, Schreiber immense as Sabretooth. But I must admit that looking back at it, there were a lot of really poor scenes.

The Professor X cameo was terribly done and the worst CGI ive seen in ages. I dont know the back story to Deadpool but it seemed like it would have been interesting to have seen more of him definitely. To be honest i thought the one short action scene with Agent Zero was fantastic and could have used more of him definitely. The adamantium bullet was pretty ridiculous and the fact that it changed the whole point of the film was dissappointing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭Johnny Bitte

Corholio wrote: »
    Jackman outstanding as always as Wolverine, Schreiber immense as Sabretooth.

Definitely agree with you there.

Wolverine's claws were so noticable CGI in a lot of the film.

I really was hoping that
    Deadpool would become free cut open his mouth and have a 5 min rant :D

But anyway, thinking more and more about it after I posted I just wish I hadn't gone to see it.

Anyone know how its doing on sales?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

How does it compare to the Workprint?....do you think the March 30th Workprint was alot more recent and close to a finished product then what the movie makers tried to spin?....that it was 3 months old?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,287 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Saw this on Wednesday and thought it was pretty mediocre indeed. Definitely agree on the CGI thing - really distractingly bad on occasion. The
    Patrick Stewart
    bit looks absolutely dreadful, while even Wolverines claws looked horrific in the scene where he was looking into the mirror.

I guess it is a lightly entertaining film, but even in pacing terms it seemed a bit all over the place, and some of the appearances of the other X-Men were seemingly just inserted as a kind of token fan gesture. It was also unforgivably cheesy on occasion
    (Logan holding his girlfriends body in his arms and screaming to the sky - a horrible movie convention that)

Better than the Last Stand all said and done - slightly less bad I guess.

I REFUSE to pay to see the movie, why?....because Fox lied. Lied to the fans, lied to the public and lied to the media. I mean, how can they spin this?....people have the workprint and can compare it scene for scene.

Soon Cam and screeners will appear, as such Fox will not be able to offer ANY defence for their lies...it sickens me!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,287 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

I REFUSE to pay to see the movie, why?....because Fox lied. Lied to the fans, lied to the public and lied to the media. I mean, how can they spin this?....people have the workprint and can compare it scene for scene.

Soon Cam and screeners will appear, as such Fox will not be able to offer ANY defence for their lies...it sickens me!

A big MNC lied to cover their own ass? Now that's a new one...
    I wouldn't take personal offence from it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Roar

after watching the movie in the cinema on wednesday for the first time, I quite enjoyed watching the workprint, looking at the unfinished effects shots, wirework, unfinished sound effects etc.

maybe it's just cause I'm a bit of a geek, but I thought looking at the unfinished version and comparing it with the finished version was great fun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,972 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Saw it tonight and I'm not one bit happy.

Gambit is my favourite character from the X-Men serious and gets a poxy fucking part that could have been played by a trained dog. He used his cards in ONE scene FFS. No doubt that'll be the last we see of him. The casting for the role was shite as well, just like most of the film.

:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

This was p1ss poor.

The worst thing about it is unlike most comic book movies I feel there is a genuinely good film in there somewhere.

Here's my main gripe...if your not going to do something original or unique why copy the horribly trite clichéd comic book movie model we have seen summer in summer out instead of ripping off the dark knight? It seems to me the wolverine character would be perfect in a more adult grown up film that didnt pull its punches. It needed to be darker and more serious.Some of the scenes were just plain embarrassing (the boxing scene:rolleyes:).

I thought the action for the most part was good but some of the CGI was shocking. I also felt most of the action scenes had little emotional depth because I was sitting there thinking "eh hang on now can he die? can he be hurt? is he feeling this? is this not all a bit pointless?".

A prime example is the final fight scene....the thing with the sown up mouth falls off the chimney and we are to assume he died but then wolverine jumps off and he's fine?

the motivations of the various characters all seemed somewhat contrived and unbelievable. The stuff with cyclops was horribly clunky and out of place and the gambit character (I agree with Xavi he is one of the best things about xmen) was outstandingly disappointing. Horrible casting.

On the whole the film just seemed badly written, badly directed, trite, cliched, contrived and most of all a wasted opportunity.

I remember around this time last year writing a near identical post about the incredible hulk.......Ill probably be writing it again in May 2010:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

it was crap but i missed the 2nd post credits scene, what was it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

Me and a friend saw this this evening... i have never read the comics but besides that we both felt it was really weak...

It seems simple who is to blame for this tripe and the rest, the executive producer, Stan Lee. Now I know as it says below he is not involved in the technical side of things but surely at some point he could say "hold up lads, stop ruining these characters"

Executive Producer

AKA: Executive in Charge of Production
    A producer who is not involved in any technical aspects of the filmmaking process, but who is still responsible for the overall production. Typically an executive producer handles business and legal issues. See also associate producer, co-producer, line producer.

BlitzKrieg wrote: »
    it was crap but i missed the 2nd post credits scene, what was it?

Pointless really but

1st showed Stryker still walking and a hummer pulls up. A soldier approaches him and tells him he is wanted in connection to the murder of a general.

2nd shows Wolverine in a bar in Japan, the bar tender pours him a shot and says
    "Drinking to forget?" and he says "No, drinking to remember":confused:

Truely pointless.

I would have rather seen
    Deadpools head re attached itself and him say something epic:D

How does it compare to the Workprint?....do you think the March 30th Workprint was alot more recent and close to a finished product then what the movie makers tried to spin?....that it was 3 months old?

100% the same except for the CGI which isnt that much better :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,330 ✭✭✭niallon

Just back from this and taking it for what it is, dumb fun, I enjoyed it.

That's not to say that it's not flawed but personally, I thought Wolverine's backstory was fleshed out enough in the flashbacks in the original trilogy and so with this they were trying to find a story where there wasn't one.

Also suffered from X3 syndrome: too many characters! Gambit: cameo. Deadpool: cameo. Cyclops:horrendously pointless cameo.

As for the CGI, apart from the claws in the mirror bit I didn't find much of a problem and really don't see what was wrong with Patrick Stewart's either, looked fine to me (fine being I know damn well it's CGI but it works)

Anyways, here's hoping they let it die with this, the Origins side of Wolverine's story is finished. Give us a Deadpool stand alone film somehow and leave it at that.

^ you're obviosuly not used to high quality CGI.

Extremely used to it as a matter of fact, and I've seen my fair share of crap CGI: I Am Legend, Deep Blue Sea, Narnia and so forth. My point was more to say that though not entirely flawless, the Wolverine CGI isn't so bad as to beg the incredible backlash it is receiving in every single review of it I have seen.

Also, what the hell? There's a Deadpool post credits sequence being shown in certain theatres but not all!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IgndmyItrg0

Every single review you say....what does that tell you?
    34% on RT out of 80 reviews....come on!

the Wolverine CGI isn't so bad as to beg the incredible backlash it is receiving in every single review of it I have seen.

The film is the fourth in a series of films that has had for the most part outstanding sfx, even the god awful 3rd one had good sfx, but all of them even the first one outdo this one not only in its cgi but also in its wirework, stuntwork and general visual standard. While not the worse sfx they are assumed to carry on techniques and standards from the prior films to this one.

BlitzKrieg wrote: »
    The film is the fourth in a series of films that has had for the most part outstanding sfx, even the god awful 3rd one had good sfx, but all of them even the first one outdo this one not only in its cgi but also in its wirework, stuntwork and general visual standard. While not the worse sfx they are assumed to carry on techniques and standards from the prior films to this one.

Fair point, I just can't stand how much it's being singled out. I personally still thought the film was well acted and a good bit of fun.
    Every single review you say....what does that tell you?
    34% on RT out of 80 reviews....come on!

Tells me a bunch of reviewers thought the same thing but, as is the case with reviews, tells me nothing about how I will personally like or dislike the film.

anyone else annoyed at the disintigrating claws, everything he attacked disintigrated into nothing, most notable in the
    fight with gambit
    and he's chopping up the fire escape and the fire escape is just disintigrating with every swing, it looked really crap and bugged the hell out of me.

Not to mention the awful skipping stone segment.

One wonders if Fox themselves leaked the workprint....so they could blame that for the poor ticket sales?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

I went to the cinema and got swine flu for this?

Horrible. Not near enough action, and not near enough time spent on deadpool. That fight could of been so much better. It just felt real wishy washy, like when Gambit attacks Wolverine when he's fighting Sabretooth, or when Wolverine just starts walking away after realizing the love of his life is still alive, then runs back in when she screams, only to then have a half arsed fight with sabretooth where he lets him go again.

It was all over the place. I'd of prefered if the scenes with the blob, wraith and bolt where cut and replaced with more scenes with deadpool and Gambit.

Oh and has anyone here played SFIV? That last fight with deadpool I was like "is that Seth" :D

niallon wrote: »
    Also, what the hell? There's a Deadpool post credits sequence being shown in certain theatres but not all!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IgndmyItrg0

Why the fook is this not in all cinemas?

Now that would have been worth sitting through the credits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,780 ✭✭✭JohnK

A prime example is the final fight scene....the thing with the sown up mouth falls off the chimney and we are to assume he died but then wolverine jumps off and he's fine?
    Well to start with wolverine
    hadn't been decapitated
    :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭emy-87

I thought it was only ok. The CGI was really quite bad, and there was some bits that were a bit silly, like the boxing scene.

One thing really annoyed me though. In the first X-Men, they kinda tried to make Hugh Jackman look like he was short, because the character is supposed to be 5"5 or something like that. In this, they didnt bother. That just seemed lazy to me. (I know that's a weird thing to point out!:o)

It could have been a lot better. I hope to Christ if they do a Magneto Origins it will better than that!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,249 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

L31mr0d wrote: »
    Oh and has anyone here played SFIV? That last fight with deadpool I was like "is that Seth" :D

Watcted it tonight and that was the first thing that went through my head as well. :pac::pac::pac:

I went with my brother and my girlfriend. Myself and the brother would know his backstory but the gf has only seen the x-men movies.

It was a decent movie, and I think my gf like it more than we did. The CGI work was truely shocking though. Terminator 2 would have better efffects than Wolverines claws. Can't understand how it got to the cinema without someone saying something about it.

Some cool characters but Gambit was given very little time as was Deadpool which was a shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

In regards to characters introduced - Gambit & Deadpool it was good, although as mentioned by everyone they didn't get enough screentime. Gambit was always my favourite of the X-Men and when he wasn't in the first 3 movies I was well pissed, happy when I found out that he'd be in the 4th and that Josh Holloway would be playing him, slightly less happy when I found out Holloway wouldn't be taking on the role and unhappy about the little screentime Gambit got.
    I think if they want this origins thing to work - they need to be doing them on characters like Gambit and Wade who we know little of. The first three covered all the main guys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭Full_Circle

Having been braced for a truely awful experience by people who'd seen it already (and most reviews in general), it wasn't as bad as I'd expected, but certainly nowhere near as good as it could have been.

That Jackman would be great as Wolvie was a given, but I was really impressed with Schreibers Sabertooth. I kinda felt sorry for Ryan Reynolds. He always gets shafted with bit-parts!

I loved the opening credits "war montage". I thought it did a great job of establishing the camaraderie between the two characters.

I didn't see the point in having Gambit or Cyclops make an appearance. Their presence added nothing to the film beyond fanboy recognition.

For the most part, the effects were OK, but I have to echo most peoples complaints about the CGI claws. First off, given the fact that they managed to perfect them in a movie made 9 years ago, you'd think they'd be able to reproduce the same quality now, given that the new movie has twice the budget of the original X-Men film. Second, the claws themselves are iconic and integral to the movie. They are the characters signature, for feck sake! You'd think of ALL things, it would be the one thing they'd get right!!

Also, the scene with
    the de-aged Charles Xavior
    was painful to watch. If they cant convincingly make him look younger, then just get a younger actor to play him.

Overall, it was an alright run-of-the-mill action flick, but given the wealth of story material, felt like a wasted opportunity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

What's with the timeline of this film?

Stryker recruits Logan into his special team at the end of the Vietnam War (1970-ish?).

Then a mere 6 years later, the latter half of the 70s supposedly, we have modern looking vehicles, advanced looking computers / equipment. And also a teenage Cylcops who is about 30 years of age in Xmen 1.

Colour me confusted :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

I went in expecting something anywhere between the heady highs of X2 and the stinking lows of X3, but left feeling pleasantly surprised.
    They kind of fluffed up Gambit, and didn't give him anywhere near enough screen time, but apart from that I found it to be a great way to spend a couple of hours.

My female friend also really enjoyed it, despite having not seen any of the previous films, or indeed having a clue about the X-Men in general (I have a sneaking suspicion that this was due to Hugh Jackman being in it though!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 605 ✭✭✭ghouldaddy07

Went in knowing it with low expectations, left wishing i had just downloaded the work print.

I dont see why they just cant get the people invovled from x-men 1 and 2 and let make the films their way, it would be extremly profitble and people would enjoy it.

Thought the casting was probly the worst part with the exception of sabretooth who was fantastic.

After this and X-men 3 I cant see myself ever paying for anothe x-men film.

At least i finally got to see gambit in a film,as he always was my favorite character.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Shacklebolt

Would Wolverine not have noticed that his girlfriends body was covered in blood but had no wounds? Ridiculous plot-twist in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

Would Wolverine not have noticed that his girlfriends body was covered in blood but had no wounds? Ridiculous plot-twist in my opinion.

Yeah I was really hoping that when he met his GF again that she would turn out to be mystique (weren't Wolverine and Mystique romantically involved at some point?) The fact that there were no wounds and that he left her out in the woods to rot was ridiculous. I mean he didn't even bury her :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,780 ✭✭✭JohnK

Maybe she used her power to convince him to just walk away and believe she was dead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

Saw the movie yesterday, twas good.
    I am disappointed at the way Nigeria was portrayed-some of the words where not even Ibo... Or any Nigerian language! I honestly don't think there are dwellings like that anymore.
    The researchers should have done a better job at sourcing and ffs Hugh Jackman and co should have learnt some Ibo!
    There was too much hype, twas good but not that good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Vokes wrote: »
    What's with the timeline of this film?

Stryker recruits Logan into his special team at the end of the Vietnam War (1970-ish?).

Then a mere 6 years later, the latter half of the 70s supposedly, we have modern looking vehicles, advanced looking computers / equipment. And also a teenage Cylcops who is about 30 years of age in Xmen 1.

Colour me confusted :/
    I think the main part of this film is set 10 years before X-Men. I'm not sure why I think that, but it rings a bell for some reason.

I thought it was a fairly poor film for all the above reasons. Too many characters with too little screentime, terrible CGI, terrible dialogue, terrible plot with terrible twists. I was actually really annoyed that Wade only had one action sequence. That scene was possible the only one I enjoyed in the whole film.

And I also thought it was a bit stupid when
    Stryker is telling Wolverine all about his hackneyed plan, he says that he's taken elements from mutants and put them into the "pool", which was an ok hint at who was under the sheets in front of him. But then he straight away calls it "Deadpool". So the later reveal that it's actually Wade is rendered pointless to anyone who has any idea about the comics.
    I know it's not the films biggest problem, but it still annoyed me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Shacklebolt

L31mr0d wrote: »
    Yeah I was really hoping that when he met his GF again that she would turn out to be mystique (weren't Wolverine and Mystique romantically involved at some point?) The fact that there were no wounds and that he left her out in the woods to rot was ridiculous. I mean he didn't even bury her :confused:

If he had their plan to fake her death would have fallen through pretty quickly :P
    JohnK wrote: »
    Maybe she used her power to convince him to just walk away and believe she was dead?

Possibly, but seeing as she was knocked unconscious by the injection Victor gave her, I doubt she was able to use her powers.

Also when she used her powers on Stryker, she wasnt actually touching him she was only touching his clothes... I know it sounds picky but if the power works through someones clothes, then it would logically follow that it works through anything the other person is touching including the ground or the walls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 869 ✭✭✭flying _squirl

The Blob's appearance: Pointless.
    Gambet's appearance: Pointless. Could have been epic but the movie was too busy with characters
    Dude who's really good with guns' appearance (sorry): Pointless. But I chuckled at the Die-Hard-like placing of the guns behind his shoulders.
    Diamond skin girl's appearance: Amazingly pointless - Deadpool doesn't even have her power!!!
    Dominic Monaghan's character 'Bolt': Pointless
    Teleporting black guy's (sorry): Totally pointless. Well, apart from showing where the ability to teleport came from. But he could have just been left out and we'd happily assume it came from a mutant we hadn't seen.
    Deadpool's appearance: Tbh, pointless and could have been put to better use;
    They could have just hinted at deadpool's existence and brought him up in later movies. This would have made everyone much more interested in him and would of allowed for much more of a character development. I guess the guy who said 'Lets give him 15 mins screen time and one fight scene then kill him undramaticly' must have been pretty convincing.

The Painful:
    Cyclops is locked in his cell with the clamp over his eyes with his hands free. Once free from his cell he lifts it momentarily to take out the dudes pinning them down with guns before sliding it back on. Why didn't he just do that to get out of the cell?! Also, why was there 'dried blood' stains on the cloth on the inside of the clamp?

Wolverine is about to kick sabertooth's ass when gambet comes in and blows them apart with his cane. why?

The boxing scene... what the Christ?!

Wolverine can avoid a mini-gun by driving on a bike?! ...in a forest?!

What happened with the cg? I mean, my god! what the hell happened?! It was at the level of Matrix Revolutions! And even that wasn't good when it came out!

Where does Deadpool put those extra long claws?

Wolverine's claws spark like they're made of magnesium? Just so he can set fire to the fuel and kill a pointless character?!

Wolverine, when shot in the head/sufferers extreme brain damage, re-heals using the genetic data from his cells but looses his memory because its not part of his genetics (nature Vs nurture and all that). Ok, I'll buy that...
    but, this has never happened before? Not even during ANY war? During the executions?
    He was never shot in the head?! EVER?! Nor Sabertooth?! Christ one of them got hit with a freaking cannon ball, you'd think that might do some damage to the brain!

Also deadpool's not dead. The blast from his eyes would have stopped if he was. I'm guessing they're gonna try re-introduce him in another movie by having someone re-assemble him but its going to be as week as hell because they didn't develop the character... at all. Not even the original guy, Agent Zero!

There's more but thats the main parts

Summery:
    So, if you go in to see this expecting a low quality action movie with poor character development and some bad effects but that has that sort of 'fast and the furious' ridiculously-stupid-but-fun feel to it you'll probably enjoy it otherwise avoid it.

Actualy, no, do see it for the lulz, but dont pay any more then 2.50 to rent it, if anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Roar

Wolverine, when shot in the head/sufferers extreme brain damage, re-heals using the genetic data from his cells but looses his memory because its not part of his genetics (nature Vs nurture and all that). Ok, I'll buy that...
    but, this has never happened before? Not even during ANY war? During the executions?
    He was never shot in the head?! EVER?! Nor Sabertooth?! Christ one of them got hit with a freaking cannon ball, you'd think that might do some damage to the brain!

stryker shot him with adamantium bullets though, which he admits won't kill him, but will make him lose his memory. no one else shot him with adamantium bullets. sure he was shot in the head right after the adamantium procedure and just shook it off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭savemejebus

That didn't bother me at all after all the cop shows i've watched.

If he was in a war then you can imagine a high velocity bullet going through his skull and out the other side, so localised damage. This scenario would probably be similar to how they portray someone being shot in the head with a .22 handgun round. It's a small bullet that has the velocity to go through the skull but not out the other side, so it bounces around inside the skull ripping the brain apart until it's energy is expended.

So, i figure the adamantium bullet would be the same, can pierce the adamantium coating the skull but in doing so loses so much energy that it can't get out the other side so bounces around inside turning wolverines brain into all types of mush. Voila memory loss cos of huge brain damage.

Couse why he could remember how to talk and that he likes cigars and whiskey after that.....;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

Don't be rediculous. Being shot in the head isn't so bad as long as the bullet goes straight threw your brain? Come off it. The film was just that bit retarded.

Roar, you seem to have missed the posters point entirely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

I'm not the guy that tried to give an explanation. ;)

You're links are to extreme and very rare exceptions. That's why they make the news. Don't be facetious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 869 ✭✭✭flying _squirl

warning, rant iminant. not directed at anyone. just a random outpouring of knowlege
    Roar wrote: »
    stryker shot him with adamantium bullets though, which he admits won't kill him, but will make him lose his memory. no one else shot him with adamantium bullets. sure he was shot in the head right after the adamantium procedure and just shook it off.
    i don't think the material of the bullets mattered once it got inside his head and smushed some/all of his brain. the adamantium bullets were used because of his shiny new coating of the stuff on his head. hence the armour piercing shape. he shook off the first bullet because, with the new adamantium layer, his head was now bullet proof.
    That didn't bother me at all after all the cop shows I've watched.
    [...]
    So, i figure the adamantium bullet would be the same, can pierce the adamantium coating the skull but in doing so loses so much energy that it can't get out the other side so bounces around inside turning wolverines brain into all types of mush. Voila memory loss cos of huge brain damage.

Before Wolverine got his Adamintium layer he had normal bone strength (Sabertooth snapped his claws by stamping them) so with that in mind Id assume bullets would have done to him what they'd do to us... well apart from the whole healing from tromatic wounds bit.
    Keep in mind that up until relatively recently bullets were quite low powered and were often just enough to bust through bone and often were made of lead which would realy mess you up.
    to be honest being shot in the head at all is pretty much guaranteed to kill you. The force of the impact necessary to puncture the bone once not to mention twice is more then enough to do the job, not just because the bullet happened to hit the medulla oblongata but because the impact pulped your brain. This would also destroy wolfies memories.

Don't read the following if your squeamish, I describe roughly what happens when you get shot in the head.

Bdw, savemejebus, if you read it keep in mind I'm not trying to shoot you down (no pun intended) I'm just having a rant at the silly movie.
    Don't read the following if your squamish, I describe roughly what happens when you get shot in the head.

The brain basically has the same consistency and strength as jelly you'd have on ice cream. Now put it in a spherical tupperware box made from 5mm of bone with sharp protrusions which go relatively deep into the jelly (these aid stabilisation of minor jolts and hold other bits in place). leave about 5 mm room on all sides and fill it with liquid. Mount it on a flexible/springy pole and mount this to a dummy that weighs the same as a person... then shoot it.
    Impact on a small area of the outside of a sealed container filled with liquid.
    The pressure, because of the liquid, is transferred extremely quickly across the container and depending on the force, it will burst out a large section of the other side helped by the first impact of the bullet and the impact on the following surface and/or the shock wave will bounce around in there escaping where ever it can with the added bonus of shattering or severely cracking the rest of the container (that's why when someone is shot, blood comes, for want of a better word, 'gollooping' in a small dollop out of the hole just after impact).
    You've then got sudden deceleration when container snaps back to the full extent of the flexible/springy pole.
    Re-acceleration in the opposite direction follows because the flexible/springy pole (neck) naturally wants to spill off the excess kinetic energy built up buy the bending back by directing it forward and then we've got the sudden deceleration as its snapped forward to the full extent. Then we top it all off with the sudden impact as the now unconscious/dead person unbalanced dummy falls to the ground without breaking their fall and cracks their severely compromised head tupperware box again.:eek:

I mightn't be spot on but that's the basics of what happens in most cases.

Falling down two steps and hitting your head can cause fatal damage to your brain.O_o

Granted in some very rare cases the bullet can go through and cause minimal damage but these cases are very rare, hence why they make shows about them.
    Couse why he could remember how to talk and that he likes cigars and whiskey after that.....;)

i loled ^_^

EDIT: damn, beaten to it

excellent post, informative yet gruesomely entertaining.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭Pub07

Would someone mind telling me what was wrong with the CGI? All I hear is, 'it was terrible' but I haven't seen any examples of what was so bad about it. I thought it was fine, way better than the crap effects in XMen 3.