Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Priest supports rapists appeal against sentence

• 30-04-2009 8:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭

I'm not sure if you rememner this, but 2 years ago in clondalkin a polish lady was dragged into the church grounds and visciously raped for over 2 hours. Her attacker photographed the attack.
    He was later convicted and sentenced to 12 years in prison.
    The local priest sent a letter to the courts appealing for leniency in sentencing as the attacker came from an otherwise decent family.

this week he has launched an appeal against the sentence, and the local priest is again voicing his support for this scum bag... claiming the judge failed to take his age into account (He was 19 at the time), and the fact that he had ADHD!!!!!
    I mean what the f***.

There was a piece on it in the herald today but cant find it online.
    Here it is in todays Independent.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/church-rapist-appeals-12year-jail-sentence-1719720.html

In my opinion this scum bag should get life for what he did!!!!!

There is talk in the local area of boycotting the church in response to the priests behaviour!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭Melange

I'm not sure if you rememner this, but 2 years ago in clondalkin a polish lady was dragged into the church grounds and visciously raped for over 2 hours. Her attacker photographed the attack.
    He was later convicted and sentenced to 12 years in prison.
    The local priest sent a letter to the courts appealing for leniency in sentencing as the attacker came from an otherwise decent family.

this week he has launched an appeal against the sentence, and the local priest is again voicing his support for this scum bag... claiming the judge failed to take his age into account (He was 19 at the time), and the fact that he had ADHD!!!!!
    I mean what the f***.

There was a piece on it in the herald today but cant find it online.
    Here it is in todays Independent.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/church-rapist-appeals-12year-jail-sentence-1719720.html

In my opinion this scum bag should get life for what he did!!!!!

There is talk in the local area of boycotting the church in response to the priests behaviour!

Unless there's more to this case than meets the eye, then... good god. WTF is possessing the mind of that priest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭herya

Disgraceful. As far as I remember it was a very clear case with no space for doubt who did it etc.

Good idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

The priest needs to realise that while the clergy had a bit of clout in years gone by, those days are well & truly over.
    He would be better off putting his energies into supporting counselling services for people who have suffered from sexual abuse. Not supporting the people who commit these crimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭grind gremlin

He had her mobile phone in his room when they searched it. There was no question he did it.

I cannot believe they are trying to argue that the fact that it was 'out of character', and he had adhd should be some cause for a reduction in his sentence. How the hell can ADHD be seen as an excuse for such behaviour!

The priest should hang his head in shame for what he's doing... I mean, the poor lady in question was raped in the church grounds!!!!

My heart goes out to the mother of the attacker though as there is not a mother in the world who would want such a monster for a son.

As for that priest, what right has he to defend this behaviour??? He obviously has no consideration for the amount of suffering this attack caused for all involved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

He is a catholic priest, there's something in the job description about encouraging forgiveness and all that, let he who is without sin cast the first stone and all that. Catholocism 101 stuff folks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

easyeason3 wrote: »
    The priest needs to realise that while the clergy had a bit of clout in years gone by, those days are well & truly over.

I'd hope so, wouldn't be too sure though.

Actually, just read there that the victim was married. Let him free I say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭monellia

amacachi wrote: »
    Actually, just read there that the victim was married. Let him free I say.
    Am, why??

monellia wrote: »
    Am, why??

So her husband can buy him a pint.

monellia wrote: »
    Am, why??

Looking for a reaction me thinks ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭monellia

Ah. Excuse my slowness :o

Why would he buy him a pint? I shouldn't ask but I want to see where this goes....

Christ, I'll go back to the start. I was mostly being ironic saying to let him go free, but I wouldn't mind if he was released as yer one's husband will probably sort him out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

The priest has his priorities all wrong by supporting the attacker, the priest should be shown his support for the victim.

Christ, I'll go back to the start. I was mostly being ironic saying to let him go free, but I wouldn't mind if he was released as yer one's husband will probably sort him out.

Ah feck ya. I thought it was some kind of a sick joke but I couldn't make the connection which is why I asked.
    Anyway not something to be laughed at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭DevilsBreath

I say put the priest in there with him for the 12 years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭GirlInterrupted

orestes wrote: »
    He is a catholic priest, there's something in the job description about encouraging forgiveness and all that, let he who is without sin cast the first stone and all that. Catholocism 101 stuff folks

It is not within the priests remit to forgive this crime against another.

He is not the victim, and only her forgiveness (if it should ever be forthcoming, and I see no reason why it should be), should count.

Common sense, 101.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

So The rapist comes from a good background ? pfft .He's still a rapist .

Priest should be out supporting and helping victims of rape including church sexual abuse victims , not their attackers .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

True, but there's also something in there about those who do not pay for their sins in this life paying for them in the hereafter ...

Tbh, I don't think most priests would be out campaigning on an issue like this, unless there is more to the story than meets the eye ... e.g. does he believe yer man isn't capable of taking full responsibility for his own actions / that ADHD is an under-estimate?

True, but there's also something in there about those who do not pay for their sins in this life paying for them in the hereafter ...

Once ya tell God you're sorry before ya die then you're grand. Well, ya have to mean it too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭Donny5

Forget the fact he's a priest. Can you believe anyone is supporting this rapist?

Tbh, I don't think most priests would be out campaigning on an issue like this, unless there is more to the story than meets the eye ... e.g. does he believe yer man isn't capable of taking full responsibility for his own actions / that ADHD is an under-estimate?

Well if he's not responsible for his own actions due to a 'condition' then what is going to be achieved by letting this rapist out? He will do it again. ADHD is not to blame for him commiting this crime & it is an insult to anyone with half a brain to think otherwise.
    Also you have to understand that if, IF, this man is successful on his appeal then there will be a huge surge in appeals lodged because the attacker has 'ADHD'.
    If he has a medical condition, that is valid - if there is such a thing, it would have been brought up in the trial but this appeal is clutching at straws & wasting peoples time as well as adding more pain to the victim.

Every day for 12 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,441 ✭✭✭jhegarty

Am I the only one who doesn't see anything about a priest in the article ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Well seeing as he's enrolled in an organisation that has more perverts in it and corrupt white collar's and murderers (Look up Roberto Calvi) over the years of the organisations history than Germany's NAZI party, it comes as nor surprise that yet again another priest is standing up for another pervert!

...and yes, they can sue me for blasphemy if only for telling the truth. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Forgive the rapist but lock up the unmarried single mother. These priests wouldn't know morals if you wrote them in a book and made them spend their whole lives studying it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭D-Generate

Yup, I scoured that article for mention of the priest but see nothing too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭bigeasyeah

That poor girl.I dont like it when they mention the attackers 'decent' family,its irrelevent.

Well if he's not responsible for his own actions due to a 'condition' then what is going to be achieved by letting this rapist out? He will do it again. ADHD is not to blame for him commiting this crime & it is an insult to anyone with half a brain to think otherwise.
    Also you have to understand that if, IF, this man is successful on his appeal then there will be a huge surge in appeals lodged because the attacker has 'ADHD'.
    If he has a medical condition, that is valid - if there is such a thing, it would have been brought up in the trial but this appeal is clutching at straws & wasting peoples time as well as adding more pain to the victim.

ADHD is a very real and serious condition that has profound implications for the quality of life for the sufferer.

Impulse control is just one area of behaviour that it greatly effects. Its unlikely to affect his ability to discern right from wrong, but it may affect his ability to control his behaviour.

If ADHD is a factor, medication can have very great benefits, enabling the sufferer to bring their condition under control and live a 'normal' life.

The extent to which ADHD affects a person varies from individual to individual.

ADHD is a very real and serious condition that has profound implications for the quality of life for the sufferer.

Impulse control is just one area of behaviour that it greatly effects. Its unlikely to affect his ability to discern right from wrong, but it may affect his ability to control his behaviour.

If ADHD is a factor, medication can have very great benefits, enabling the sufferer to bring their condition under control and live a 'normal' life.

ADHD is a very controversial possible disorder, the existence of which is speculative.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭bigeasyeah

Biggins wrote: »
    Well seeing as he's enrolled in an organisation that has more perverts in it and corrupt white collar's and murderers (Look up Roberto Calvi) over the years of the organisations history than Germany's NAZI party, it comes as nor surprise that yet again another priest is standing up for another pervert!

...and yes, they can sue me for blasphemy if only for telling the truth. :mad:

Now I dont condone the priests actions however I dislike general sweeping statements like this.There s bad apples in every organisation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭crustyjuggler

This is a bit surprising , I thought priests only stood up for paedo rapists ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,441 ✭✭✭jhegarty

Can someone link to where this story about a priest is ?

The perv can count himself lucky!
    In 1994 Oklahoma rapist Darron Bennalford Anderson received a 2,200-year jail sentence.

When he appealed and won a new trial, he was convicted again and resentenced to more than 90 additional centuries behind bars - including 4,000 years each for rape and sodomy, 1,750 years for kidnapping, 1,000 years for burglary and robbery, and 500 years for grand larceny. In July 1997, the state Court of Criminal Appeals held that the grand larceny charge was double jeopardy on the robbery conviction and thus dismissed it. So the court cut Anderson's sentence by 500 years, speeding up his release date to the year 12,744!

Source: http://www.democratandchronicle.com/blogs/chili/2008/06/as-i-was-cruising-through-internet-this.html

I understand that this article is not online.

But the priest is involved all right, I remember reading about it earlier.

I've never had an impulse that continues for two hours.

And involves video documentation of the "impulse", as well as earlier research (he knew where she lived).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Saibh wrote: »
    The priest has his priorities all wrong by supporting the attacker, the priest should be shown his support for the victim.

More often than not when a Priest and a Victim are seen in a single sentence, it's usually because the Priest is the Perpetrator of sexual abuse imo.

So I am not surprised at all by this.
    Like finds Like.;)

herya wrote: »
    And involves video documentation of the "impulse", as well as earlier research (he knew where she lived).

Far from defending the man's actions, I was trying to demostrate how ADHD could be used as a defence.

I also said it may affect his impulse control, and that he could still discern right from wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭Arathorn

That's bizarre I wonder does he have some dirt on the priest or something, really strange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭Captain-America

Ah I'm sure he means well.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,561 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

Don't catholics believe in forgiveness? Aren't there whole chunks of the bible about Jesus going up to murderers, thieves, rapists etc and saying "Repent and I will forgive you. Don't repent and I'll forgive you anyways" and the like?

Don't catholics believe in forgiveness?

Of course they do, unless you're gay, or try to stop the spread of AIDS with condoms.

Ok, I can accept that some people actually have ADHD. I don't accept that having this condition excuses them from commiting very serious crimes.
    Also, & I'm probably going to get shot down on this but I'm going to say it anyway, there are people who have been diagnosed with ADHD & they don't have it. Nowadays everyone seems to have a label if they don't conform to what is 'normal'.
    When I was growing up if I acted out against someone or something for no reason I was called 'bold', I got the punishment & learned from my mistakes.
    If a child does the same things now there has to be a big hulabaloo to find out why little Johnny or Mary is doing this & it's obviously ADHD when they have ruled out every other condition.
    This sticks in my gut for two reasons.
    Number 1: It is insulting to peope who genuinely have this condition.
    Number 2: A child behaving badly doesn't need a label other than being called a pain in the ass.

Society seems to be too accepting of people with 'issues' commiting crimes. The sad thing is that the people who do have issues are not receiving the relevant care & assistance because the system is full of chancers looking for a get out clause.

Let the abuse begin..............

Far from defending the man's actions, I was trying to demostrate how ADHD could be used as a defence.

I also said it may affect his impulse control, and that he could still discern right from wrong.

Fair enough, but even if those were mitigating circumstances (which they really shouldn't be seen as) 12 years is too short a sentence to begin with, let alone allowing him appeal it.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,561 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

Donny5 wrote: »
    Of course they do, unless you're gay, or try to stop the spread of AIDS with condoms.

But would it not be fair to say that priests spend (and I suppose logically ought to spend) more time trying to convert people than they do simply pandering to the devout? I mean there isn't much point in a priest telling good christians that they are going to heaven, they already believe that. To increase their market, priests need to reach out and expand, and this means reaching out to the people they consider lost sheep.

Fair enough, but even if those were mitigating circumstances (which they really shouldn't be seen as) 12 years is too short a sentence to begin with, let alone allowing him appeal it.

Why? It's within the standard range for rape with aggravating circumstances, and below the penalties for the most extreme cases.

What do you want the punishment to be? Death, or some kind of divine retribution?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭ninjasurfer1

What do you want the punishment to be? Death, or some kind of divine retribution?

How abut starting with physical (not chemical) castration?

Don't Catholics believe in forgiveness? ...

They are supposed to believe in mercy too I hear! This convicted perv' didn't show any of that did he?
    We are also overlooking the fact that if this perv' is that sick, behind a room wall wih bars is just the place for him.

...but O' no, lets try to get him out instead! That will be the mercy thing to do! Who the frak for - his next victim???

Why? It's within the standard range for rape with aggravating circumstances, and below the penalties for the most extreme cases.

I'd be supportive of capital punishment.