Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Extreme Male Beauty - Starts on C4 May 7th

• 29-04-2009 9:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭

Just saw an ad for this on TV. It'll be a bit like watching "The Office"....You will probably recognise someone just like one of these characters:D

Extreme Male Beauty

4 part series starting Thursday May 7th on Channel 4 at 10pm

From Beckham to Bond, there's never been more finely honed and perfectly groomed male flesh on public display. The beauty industry, first fuelled by selling products and insecurities to women, has now turned its attention to the men's market; and it is booming.

This new four-part series follows one man each week as he is re-branded and transformed from slovenly slob to perfect Adonis. Every part of his physique is scrutinised and sculpted in an attempt to create the perfect body.

Journalist Tim Shaw will also drop his 'five-pints-a-night' and 'zero exercise' lifestyle for a gruelling diet and exercise regime in an attempt to transform himself. He road-tests products and treatments and meets the men who have taken their quest for perfection to outrageous extremes.

In episode one, Tim begins his quest to transform himself from 'superslob' to Superman in just eight weeks. The 35-year-old journalist, husband and father of two, is 6 foot 5 and weighs 14 stone 7 pounds, and describes himself as a 'skinny fat bloke' with a beer belly, hairy back, man boobs and 'an obsession with the size of my knob'.

First Tim focuses on his chest as he tries to turn his man boobs into the sort of pecs you see on the poster boys. Along the way, he meets men who take their desire to get bigger and buffer to frightening extremes: including steroid abuse and surgery. Tim also hears tales from the locker room from moobs to shaving your privates.

Sports stars, actors and athletes have graced its cover before and now the search is on to find a new cover model for Men’s Health Magazine. The series follows men from all walks of life as they compete in the initial mass auditions through to the winning cover photo shoot for the May 2009 edition of the magazine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Malteaser!

Just saw the ad for it!! Dunno whether to take it seriously or not!! I have a feeling it's gonna be just like every other one of these shows!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭slemons

lol, do looks matter?
    Its all in the chat ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭Zamboni

I bet at the end of it they come up with some crazy conclusion like....

...well it seems a healthy balanced diet and plenty of exercise is the best way to achieve an attractvie physique.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

Superslob at 6' 5 and 14.7 stone, he's not exactly overweight now is he.

Will check it out, hopefully this thread gets bumped on May 7th!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

ANyone see the documentary on that english female bodybuilder on TG4 the other night?? they repeat it alot and it always scares the shiite outa me!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭jt_dublin

Starts tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭anplaya

ANyone see the documentary on that english female bodybuilder on TG4 the other night?? they repeat it alot and it always scares the shiite outa me!!

lol is that yer one with the 5 o clock stubble on her face?:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

anplaya wrote: »
    lol is that yer one with the 5 o clock stubble on her face?:pac:

Yup!! her naked before the Miss Olimp is probably the single most disturbing thing i've ever seen:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭anplaya

Yup!! her naked before the Miss Olimp is probably the single most disturbing thing i've ever seen:)

didnt see that part thanks be to **** :pac:,seriously she must b fcuked up in the head to think thats an attractive look:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,532 ✭✭✭WolfForager

I'll give it a gander... However "The Mentalist" holds a special place in my heart...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭mack32

pec cream haha

Yeah thought that was funny... Never heard of it before... And the guy saying men would soon find a use for tampons:D

As for Tim putting an inch on his chest in 2 weeks... I want one of those chest expanders!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

jt_dublin wrote: »
    Yeah thought that was funny... Never heard of it before... And the guy saying men would soon find a use for tampons:D

They already have - boxers of all people!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭crotalus667

Hanley wrote: »
    They already have - boxers of all people!
    Actually we have another use for them , an old photography/filming trick to make food look piping hot is to dunk one in water wrap it in cling film and bung it in the microwave , after which you crack it open and stash it behind the plate :p

On another note that program was not as bad as it could have been (at least it was not a shock type documentory), the guy that had the “transformation” was a bit of a let down (id of at least like to of known more of the background story ie if he was working out)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 508 ✭✭✭Dubdude

"the guy that had the “transformation” was a bit of a let down (id of at least like to of known more of the background story ie if he was working out)"

This guy had a gastric bypass and then goes through all that pain dont think he really wants to workout and put a bit of an effort to get rid of the fat!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 508 ✭✭✭Dubdude

How about the guy agreeing to talk his steroids use... when he was bench pressing i didnt think he was goin to get the full rep and was sayin to myself he's only after putting all that weight on the bar for the tv

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭Dovers

I thought it was kinda making weight lifters out to be some sort of vain sub-species?! I mean when it showed yer man in the gym doing his workout he looked like he was going through hell. Maybe if they start showing him actually making progress with it it will actually inspire people to work out with weights and see that they can make positive changes to their bodies with some hard work and determination. And as for the fat italian looking lad with the daily beauty regime wtf was that all about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Malteaser!

I totally forgot about this, only remembered to set record half way thru!! I'll check it out sometime today!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭Blazher

I thought it was well worth the watch,

Some parts where about abit played out. When the bloke when in for his op. He got his nose/chest/bell all done and to be honest the money that must have cost. I don't think he got his money worth.

But il watch it till the end and see how much of a change he makes in the 8 weeks

Dubdude wrote: »
    How about the guy agreeing to talk his steroids use... when he was bench pressing i didnt think he was goin to get the full rep and was sayin to myself he's only after putting all that weight on the bar for the tv

Didn’t the other guy’s have to assist the rep for him after he stalled??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,454 ✭✭✭slicus ricus

I wasn't a fan of this at all - only saw it from about 10.30. I thought they went for the shock factor way too much. All they did was focus on steroids and on the pain you can go through when lifting. They never even mentioned diet which is one of the most important factors. Surely they could have asked the guys he interviewed in the sauna about diet, as they all claimed to be natural and were all in decent shape.

I thought the fact that he used the chest expander as the solution to his problems blatantly promotes taking short cuts rather than solid training and quality nutrition.

Obviously from the perspective of the TV show, showing hard training and good nutrition wouldn't be sensationalist enough:rolleyes:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Dubdude wrote: »
    "the guy that had the “transformation” was a bit of a let down (id of at least like to of known more of the background story ie if he was working out)"

This guy had a gastric bypass and then goes through all that pain dont think he really wants to workout and put a bit of an effort to get rid of the fat!!!

In fairness to the man he came down from 25 stone and was left with loads of stretched skin, there's f*ck all you can do to get rid of that without surgery as far as I know.

I thought the fact that he used the chest expander as the solution to his problems blatantly promotes taking short cuts rather than solid training and quality nutrition.

Obviously from the perspective of the TV show, showing hard training and good nutrition wouldn't be sensationalist enough:rolleyes:.
    Judging from what I have seen so far (most of the first episode) I have a funny feeling that the series is going to give an end message that he gimmicks don’t work (how much of what does work that they pint out is another question but he is hitting the gym next week )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

I think that the whole point of the show is that it's an average bloke that's being bombarded by the male body beautiful image and he has decided to try out all the options to see what may or may not work. It's supposed to be entertaining and not a scientific experiment.

Dovers wrote: »
    I thought it was kinda making weight lifters out to be some sort of vain sub-species?!

We're not? Dam, i thought that was what gave us our super powers...

BaZmO* wrote: »
    I think that the whole point of the show is that it's an average bloke that's being bombarded by the male body beautiful image and he has decided to try out all the options to see what may or may not work. It's supposed to be entertaining and not a scientific experiment.

Yeah, I know that; as I pointed out, doing a show where people talk about the correct steps to take would be far too bland for tv (particularly Channel 4:D).

The main problem I have with it is that people will watch this and think the short cuts he's trying out are the way to go.
    he is hitting the gym next week

I thought he was looking into penis enlargement next week? I got the impression that last nights episode was the gym side of things done with?

He is but he is also looking at more was to get rid of his moob's (there was aclip of him benching)

Ah right, I eat my hat then! I might actually watch in that case (as I had no intention of watchin an hour about penis enlargement!!)

Don't think that it will be a full hour of penis enlargement tonight but it definitely features!

Journalist and TV presenter Tim Shaw continues his quest for the perfect body. Turning his attention to penis enlargement, he investigates the latest procedures and tries out a variety of gadgets that claim to increase size. He also meets 33-year-old Edward Evans, who needs radical surgery to remove excess skin after losing 17 stone, and more contenders battle it out to become the new cover star for Men's Health magazine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭celestial

jt_dublin wrote: »
    Don't think that it will be a full hour of penis enlargement tonight but it definitely features!

Journalist and TV presenter Tim Shaw continues his quest for the perfect body. Turning his attention to penis enlargement, he investigates the latest procedures and tries out a variety of gadgets that claim to increase size. He also meets 33-year-old Edward Evans, who needs radical surgery to remove excess skin after losing 17 stone, and more contenders battle it out to become the new cover star for Men's Health magazine.

I was hoping for a lot less todger on display this week but looks like that won't be the case!!

celestial wrote: »
    I was hoping for a lot less todger on display this week but looks like that won't be the case!!

He really does like showing it off doesn't he? What's he hoping to achieve by bombarding people with that image?

Only saw the second half and it was a load of toss! At least next week looks like he's doing some strongman training. Might be a bit more interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

Those transformations where all the friends and relatives show up is all a bit Sky One-esque,all in all its not a good show.

Week 3 tonight... I wonder if anyone will be hitting the gym and talking about diet in order to get their six-pack? Doubtful!

Journalist and TV presenter Tim Shaw turns his attention to the six-pack as he continues to explore the pressure men feel to achieve physical perfection. He investigates the latest abdominal liposculpture procedure that promises instant results, and tests out the gadgets that offer a less invasive way of getting a washboard stomach.