Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Punchestown bets thread

• 28-04-2009 12:06pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭

Tricky opening day, Ruby Walsh is on three short favs, none of whom is bomb proof at the odds, so do we pile in and pray, do a trixie and hope or oppose all of them and trust that at least one of them comes in?

Hurricane Fly 1.44/1
    Go Native 4.5/1

Master Minded 1.33
    Big Zeb 6/1

Cooldine 1.66
    Joncol 4/1

In the 5.30 there has been a big move for Get It Sorted, 66 to 21s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,568 ✭✭✭thewools

I think one if not two of those three will get overturned but wouldnt lay them myself... :p

Will watch on to see if Hurricane Fly has recovered its form and I can never go against Master Minded - awesome horse!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭brandon_flowers

Posted this on the other thread but its probably more suited to here.

Lay Master Minded at 2/7 if you can, he has never ran before in Ireland and has only won once going right handed. Fancy Big Zeb big time. That run over hurdles recently has done him the world of good.

If the Master wins its the same as backing a 7/2 loser which Im sure many of ye will do today. If he's beaten its a 7/2 winner.

(Its nothing personal against Master Minded or anti-English I love the horse, there is a possibility of him being turned over though)

I would like to see Hurricane Fly go well but not sure how good he'll be after that lay off. Cooldine should have too much for everything else in the Novice chase although there is a lot of money for Paul Nolans horse Moskova in it.

The two Bumpers are wide open, not even going to attempt to pick a winner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 thesoad

Hurricane Fly is magic, was gutted he didn't make Cheltenham, can't see him being turned.

Will be interested to see how Silverhand runs in the 16:55 and the bumpers are racecard and a dart job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Sean Quagmire

C'mon big zeb!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭gscully

Justified might be worth a punt in the 3rd race. He's never looked comfortable over fences (jumping left a lot), but his hurdle form, albeit four years ago, is quite good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

An Cathaoir Mor is now 2nd fav in the 4.55 hurdle (pays 5 on PP) 11s into 8s

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

Master Minded is bombproof, hes nuclear war proof

Okay I've gone for a boring place bet treble from 4 @ 7/1

El Dancer
    An Cathaoir Mor
    Imperial Cascade
    Joncol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

mike65 wrote: »
    An Cathaoir Mor is now 2nd fav in the 4.55 hurdle (pays 5 on PP) 11s into 8s

His form is rock solid also. Saw him winning a decent handicap in Gowran (think) and he was impressive. It was soft also that day.

Heard a squeak for Sparkling Tara in the 5.30.

Think I will just watch the odds on shots although the treble could be worth a bet (just over 9/4).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Whyno

Layin Big Zeb for place...Master Minded is a cert.The only worry is where to put the trophy as ders no space on the mantel :D:D:D:D

Hurricane Fly - what a machine. Delighted to see him back to his best.

Any tips for the 7:15? Want to do a treble, but need one more horse. Went with Give Us a Nod. Liked the name.

Barca to win (7.45)

mike65 wrote: »
    Barca to win (7.45)

Hm? Where?

Hm? Where?

In d nou camp

what the **** is wrong with the boylesports website?

working grand here anyway man

Master Minded is bombproof, hes nuclear war proof

Hardly, fluffed his lines but got away with it due to Big Zeb blowing his moment.

Ooo. Put money on Gone to Lunch because I liked the name. Putting money on Give Us a Nod.

Might work.

Posted this on the other thread but its probably more suited to here.

Lay Master Minded at 2/7 if you can, he has never ran before in Ireland and has only won once going right handed. Fancy Big Zeb big time. That run over hurdles recently has done him the world of good.

If the Master wins its the same as backing a 7/2 loser which Im sure many of ye will do today. If he's beaten its a 7/2 winner.

(Its nothing personal against Master Minded or anti-English I love the horse, there is a possibility of him being turned over though)

I would like to see Hurricane Fly go well but not sure how good he'll be after that lay off. Cooldine should have too much for everything else in the Novice chase although there is a lot of money for Paul Nolans horse Moskova in it.

The two Bumpers are wide open, not even going to attempt to pick a winner.

Only for the last fence I was signing, only lost 150 quid where as I stood to win 740.
    30e/w on Big Zeb 5/1 returned 67
    500 against Master Minded at 2/7 paid out 142.

Ouch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭Gdep

i had an e/w accum on for one horse in every race. i had 4 winners, 2 placed and it was cooldine who let me down :(

forpaddytheplasterer seems to be a good shout this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭siobhan.murphy

not a bad first day
    had e/w double big zeb&gone to lunch
    had rare bob just before the off
    an cathoir mor let me down thought he was a cert!

Any tips for tomorrow?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭zonEEE

had a winner with Truckers Delight today. @ 16/1

For tomorrow im thinking

18.05 - scots irish

16:55 midnightclub e/w

Also kinda fancy Baracas @ 33/1 in the 5.30 for a e/w bet.

Any tips for tomorrow?

Dunguib to win by whatever amount of lengths they'll offer you. The best bumper winner since Montelado.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭dundalkbhoy

Dunguib to win by whatever amount of lengths they'll offer you. The best bumper winner since Montelado.

think ill be laying this one as cheltenham bumpers winners have a poor record in this race(cousin vinny last year exception).also dunguib is quite a quirky horse and is likley to get very worked up so a paddock inspection is a must

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

Some amount of after timing on this thread. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭Trankton

I'm a big fan of Imperial commander but with the going sft/heavy today it really suits Notre Pair, considering an outside on Miko De Beauchene at 25-1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭dundalkbhoy

Bluetonic wrote: »
    Some amount of after timing on this thread. :(

whats after timing:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

whats after timing:confused:

Saying what winners you backed when the races are over.

don't think he was talking about you.

Could someone throw up the price for the Gold Cup today and the bumper. Thanks, can't access bookmakers sites at work today.

gold cup

Notre Pere 3.75
    Imperial Commander 5
    War Of Attrition 8
    Roll Along 9
    Albertas Run 11
    Air Force One and Scotsirish 13
    17 bar

bumper

Dunguib 1.7
    Luska Lad 7
    Universal Truth 9
    Sweeps Hill 11
    Sicilian Secret 13
    Golden Sunbird 21
    Quadrillon 26
    Tornedo Shay 26
    Fionn Tra 34
    Baracas 43

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭jkmanc1974

Having a small punt on Gonebeyondrecall in the handicap, likes the track(won the Goffs Bumper 2 years back), would be having a lot more on though if the going was good!!!

Brgds
    Johnny

Justpourit to finally click today....get on

I think I might put some money on Danguib. He won me 400€ during Cheltenham.
    Whyno wrote: »
    working grand here anyway man

It was my browser that was screwing up, so I'm just going to use IE from now on (ugh)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭Trankton

Considering the going is sft/hvy I've picked out the following which go on the ground -

Race 1 - Dante Hall
    Race 2 - no one tells me
    Race 3 - caim hill
    Race 4 - dunguib
    Race 5 - notre pere
    Race 6 - plaisir destruval
    Race 7 - jayo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭minty16

Fancied Notre Pere, but not at those prices. Imperial Commander will probably drift all day, and if I can get 6 or 7/1 I'll give him a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

minty16 wrote: »
    Fancied Notre Pere, but not at those prices. Imperial Commander will probably drift all day, and if I can get 6 or 7/1 I'll give him a chance.

Just got a phonecall tipping Notre Pere. He's been backed in already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 thesoad

I think Merrydown has a good shout in the 16:55 at 9/1, he has a solid effort on soft behind weapons amnesty who beat the favourite at Cheltenham, so at each way odds, he should give a good account.

Its hard to get away from Dunguib in the bumper, but at the prices I'll take a chance with Sicilian Secret put a halt to the recent blip in Mullins bumper form, though can't say the jockey booking is inspirational.

18:05 has seen Notre Pere shorten all day and the value is long since gone, so a place bet is advised at this point. If it not for the rain I would have been on Schindler's Hunt to grab a place, but as it stands with the going I'd be looking for Alberta's Run to find form and at 11/1 you should get an entertaining race at the least with the never say die McCoy on board.

I backed De Boitron last week when it won and looked like an improving type, has a chance with the weight and 8/1 looks an acceptable price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭Gdep

today's bets:

accum:
    4:55 Palace Merano
    5:30 Dunguib
    6:05 Imperial Commander
    7:15 Jayo

e/w on Air Force One in the Gold Cup @12/1

3.45 - Handicap Hurdle e/w on Oh So Humbel @ 20/1....won his last 2 outings

Have a trixie and a treble on Air Force One, No One Tells Me, and Palace Merano.

double imperial commander with luska lad:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Sean Quagmire

Tips for the 4:20 lads? blood diamond, jettymarc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭evil_seed

trebles on danguib, notre pere, jayo, coffee tea or me, plaisir destruval.
    e/w bet on oh so humbel

careca wrote: »
    Saying what winners you backed when the races are over.

don't think he was talking about you.

Could someone throw up the price for the Gold Cup today and the bumper. Thanks, can't access bookmakers sites at work today.

try hacketts.ie

bloody hell hard to pick them today!
    and I laughed when I looked at cross dresser earlier!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,459 ✭✭✭T-b0n3

Some one said to me that Gungadu in the 6.05 might be worth and each way bet. Hes 54-1 on betfair. Apparently the ground will suit him. Don't blame me if he's wrong though!

Adam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

Backed Golden Sunbird @ 20/1 and Schindlers Hunt @ 16/1, high hopes for a value place :)

think ill be laying this one as cheltenham bumpers winners have a poor record in this race(cousin vinny last year exception).also dunguib is quite a quirky horse and is likley to get very worked up so a paddock inspection is a must

He got worked up alright. By Brian O Connell about a furlong out though, and he made bits of them!

Great win for Notre Pere as well, had him backed for the IGN but didnt today. Still cant figure out why. It was a steering job for Andrew Lynch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 780 ✭✭✭jossnjuice

had a decent day had two short priced winners in dunguib and the midnight club, had ross river each way at 25's and topped the evenin off greatley by hittin jayo in the last. always always listen to what willie has to say if hes talking to tracy piggot, cause he said that jayo was his bet of the day and it absolutely hosed in. was havin doubts about dunguib and didnt back until i won on the midnight club but i have to say it was an unbelievable show, and if this horse can jump a fence then the 12000 they paid at auction will seem like pennies, moreso than it already does.

anybody anything picked for tomorrow yet???