Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

pearl jam

• Registered Users Posts: 962 ✭✭✭Burty330

"Bobby, Don't You Think They Know?" and "My Hurling Days Are Numbered"

Why can't PJ create music that good these days. I must have gone back and listened to Bobby, Don't You Think They Know? about 20+ times.

Im already starting to forget what "Superblood Wolfmoon" sounds like.

Btw , The Cult called , they want their song title back. hehe!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭EyesClosed

Burty330 wrote: »
    "Bobby, Don't You Think They Know?" and "My Hurling Days Are Numbered"

Why can't PJ create music that good these days. I must have gone back and listened to Bobby, Don't You Think They Know? about 20+ times.

Im already starting to forget what "Superblood Wolfmoon" sounds like.

Btw , The Cult called , they want their song title back. hehe!

Yeay more anger from burty.... Great to know you still hate pearl jam

• Registered Users Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭fluke

27th... hopefully

Looks like they still intend to release it on the 27th. The instagram Whoever Said text seems to suggest they were trucking on with it.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,870 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Apparently that song Eddie done on the organ at the start of his solo shows last year will be on the Gigaton ??

Decent song

• Registered Users Posts: 21,149 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Snippet for Quick Escape now. Seem to be doing all songs this way. Enjoyed this too, but same caveat of hoping its reflective of full song and album.

Feel like the album is more varied, and in a good way so far too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Runaways

So Gigaton is out there.

It’s effin immense. Truly. Mountains better than it has any right to be.

Runaways wrote: »
    So Gigaton is out there.

Where? Gimme gimme gimme

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭6am7f9zxrsjvnb

So Gigaton is out there.

It’s effin immense. Truly. Mountains better than it has any right to be.[/quote
    Interested now...how did you feel about ‘Lightning Bolt’ incidentally?

(prays he hates it)

So Gigaton is out there.

It’s effin immense. Truly. Mountains better than it has any right to be.[/quote
    Interested now...how did you feel about ‘Lightning Bolt’ incidentally?

(prays he hates it)

Two or three songs are great. As a record though? Fail.

This is immeasurably better. This is back to true past glories most of it. And even when it isn’t is doing something totally new

• Registered Users Posts: 2,441 ✭✭✭ILikeBoats

So Gigaton is out there.

EyesClosed wrote: »
    Where? Gimme gimme gimme

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭6am7f9zxrsjvnb

Two or three songs are great. As a record though? Fail.

This is immeasurably better. This is back to true past glories most of it. And even when it isn’t is doing something totally new

Well , if it can become my sixth favourite PJ album i’ll be thrilled...not expecting it to match any of the 5 90s albums,but hopefully it’s their best album since Yield.

No bs but this feels more like yield than any other. On a comparable level.

Got it anyway, so will work my way through it. Love the opening g riff of Quick Escape.

Got it anyway, so will work my way through it. Love the opening riff of Quick Escape.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,441 ✭✭✭ILikeBoats

First listen on a sh1te laptop speaker whilst working so not getting full attention

Going to spoiler just in case
    Who Ever Said - Nice opener
    Superblood Wolfmoon - I had liked this on release, good tempo
    Dance of the C - Glad the whole album didn't follow this approach
    Quick Escape - There's a catchy riff to it
    Alright - love it, I think this is best song on the album
    Seven O'Clock - Good, really like the keyboards/strings
    Never Destination - Upbeat. Reminds me of RearviewMirror
    Take The Long Way - didn't impress on first listen apart from Mike's solo
    Buckle Up - A bit different, it's fine
    Come Then Goes - Acoustic ballad type, nice song
    Retrograde - Good song
    River Cross - Had heard this played at Eddie's show in Dublin over the summer, it's growing on me even more

All in all I like it. Not sure are there any outright "anthems" but a solid selection of songs.

*disclaimer* All above views can and may change after I listen more and more

• Registered Users Posts: 10,150 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

ILikeBoats wrote: »

Going to spoiler just in case
    Dance of the C - Glad the whole album didn't follow this approach

I think it's their best song for a long long time.

If you told me Quick escape was an unused demo from 91 I’d have no problem believing you. It’s huge. Like Breath, but bigger. And it’s somehow right beside dance of the Clairvoyants. Brave lads. Brave.

For the most part I really like the album. Was expecting more along the lines of Lightning Bolt or more songs like Cant Deny Me, but it's not like that at all (not that I dont like LB, but dont find it as solid as rest of catalogue).

The run from DotC to 7 o clock is very strong imo, really like all those songs. Never Destination is like from Backspacer, that and Take the Long Way are my weakest ones (for now).

Alright possibly being my favourite of the lot.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭lassykk

Where are ye getting access to the full album?

Says pre-release on the website and it's not on Spotify that I can see

• Registered Users Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭Mrcaramelchoc

Ill put up a link in awhile..............lol just kidding.
    Its available on torrent websites.

Ill be buying it as well for sure.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,087 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

Strange, this was gonna be an automatic vinyl purchase for me.

Can't see myself getting into town to buy it though. Not for a while. Don't even know if Tower is open.

Strange, this was gonna be an automatic vinyl purchase for me.

Can't see myself getting into town to buy it though. Not for a while. Don't even know if Tower is open.

You can preorder it here. I got a delivery from them last week in 3 days.

https://therecordhub.com/products/vinyl-pearl-jam-gigaton

I also think you can order online with Tower as well.

Don’t order from ten club unless you wanna pay through the nose.

Incidentally whoever runs their forum is losing their mind over the leak and threatening any fans that share links or even talk about it will face repercussions. Haha

Don’t order from ten club unless you wanna pay through the nose.

Incidentally whoever runs their forum is losing their mind over the leak and threatening any fans that share links or even talk about it will face repercussions. Haha

Some of the fans there are pricks and way too obsessive with pearl jam/Eddie Vedder

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Some of the fans there are pricks and way too obsessive with pearl jam/Eddie Vedder

On the official site? Totally agree. Psychopaths to the last one. With severely unhealthy obsessions with the band and members.

Watch this. It’s frightening. ‘It’s all about the music for me’
    Ehhhhhhh you have a Pearl Jam collection valued at five million dollars.
    Admittedly a mind blowing collection though

This guy will Give you the willies

https://youtu.be/V_wCsiM3gWA

On the official site? Totally agree. Psychopaths to the last one. With severely unhealthy obsessions with the band and members.

Watch this. It’s frightening. ‘It’s all about the music for me’
    Ehhhhhhh you have a Pearl Jam collection valued at five million dollars.
    Admittedly a mind blowing collection though

This guy will Give you the willies

https://youtu.be/V_wCsiM3gWA

After the dickheads from the eddie show last summer I have a strong dislike for mega fans

I was recording a snippet but didn't want to be abused and made look like a fool or there to ruin your night Was near a load of PJ mega fans in London 2017 and they were grand and had no problem with people on phones etc

PTH2009 wrote: »
    After the dickheads from the eddie show last summer I have a strong dislike for mega fans

I was recording a snippet but didn't want to be abused and made look like a fool or there to ruin your night Was near a load of PJ mega fans in London 2017 and they were grand and had no problem with people on phones etc

Ah don’t mind em. You’ll get that everywhere. But there is a very very scary element that go to the shows alright.

I might even buy a new stereo for this record. I need one anyways but apparently this new one is all recorded some mad new way (atmos I think it’s called?).,

Cos even on the crappy mp3 quality you can hear sooo much going on
    Easily their best sounding record in forever.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,500 ✭✭✭flasher0030

Ill put up a link in awhile..............lol just kidding.
    Its available on torrent websites.

Ill be buying it as well for sure.

Hope I'm not breaking any rules here. But how would I get to hear it. Not up on torrent websites.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,548 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Cos even on the crappy mp3 quality you can hear sooo much going on
    Easily their best sounding record in forever.

There's too much going on for me from an initial listen to the album.
    Its overproduced.

I didnt think much of it to be honest ,no real stand out track.

There's too much going on for me from an initial listen to the album.
    Its overproduced.

I didnt think much of it to be honest ,no real stand out track.

Really? It’s their most live sounding record of them all for my money. But I love all the stuff going on in the space around the main channels.
    Horses for courses.

It’s definitely not perfect. The decision to put those two pink numbers side by side in the very middle of the album is baffling. And they’re neither of them very good. I been skipping them.

Everything else is worthy up to amazing.