Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rate Susan Boyle's new look - WITH PICS

• 25-04-2009 11:10am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭

gallery_enlarged-0424_susan_boyle_newdo_00.jpg

gallery_enlarged-0424_susan_boyle_newdo_01.jpg

gallery_enlarged-0424_susan_boyle_newdo_02.jpg

gallery_enlarged-0424_susan_boyle_newdo_03.jpg

Susan Boyle's new look is a 55 votes

0% 0 votes
    16% 9 votes
    3% 2 votes
    12% 7 votes
    12% 7 votes
    12% 7 votes
    16% 9 votes
    5% 3 votes
    10% 6 votes
    9% 5 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭sportswear

id prefer if she wore a kilt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭bobcar61

It's still pretty awful. Something needs to be done with her hair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 677 ✭✭✭darc

at least she still has that mischievious look she had just before she first sang.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,700 ✭✭✭✭holly1

Give her a chance,after all its her voice that won not her looks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

She still looks like she has downes syndrome. She really should stop giving the thumbs up, and walking with her mouth open. Fashion wise she's looking fine now, it's just the mannerisms that need sorting out.

[EDIT]Jesus reading that back is harsh ... sorry![/EDIT]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭bobcar61

Straight to the point and honesty is the best way though no matter how harsh it seems.I just wanted someone else to say it.
    The leather jacket doesn't go with anything and what's with the scarf?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

Her main problem is that she has no jaw.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,722 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

She looks so old! She's the same age as my mam but by mam does NOT look like that! She needs new glasses and those trousers are awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Jesus - leave the woman alone you superficial jerks!!! She's a 50 year old woman, do you expect her to have an extreme makeover just to please you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,375 ✭✭✭fonpokno

Twee. wrote: »
    She looks so old! She's the same age as my mam but by mam does NOT look like that! She needs new glasses and those trousers are awful.

Same here, my mam is 5/6 years older than her and looks 10 years younger!

At least she has better eyebrows now...

ned78 wrote: »
    She still looks like she has downes syndrome. She really should stop giving the thumbs up, and walking with her mouth open. Fashion wise she's looking fine now, it's just the mannerisms that need sorting out.

i think a full edit would have been better there than the sorry at the end :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

eth0_ wrote: »
    Jesus - leave the woman alone you superficial jerks!!! She's a 50 year old woman, do you expect her to have an extreme makeover just to please you?

My name is Susan Boyle
    I'm from Blackburn near Bathgate West Lothian
    It's a sort of collection of
    it's a collection of uh
    villages
    had to think there

I am forty seven
    and that's just one side of me

So from her audition tape, she's not 50

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I'm glad her eyebrows are gone, but as has already been said her problem is her hair and her lack of a jaw. She looks like Peter Griffin tbh.. If she was actually an outstanding singer that wouldn't bother me, but she's only ok and people are acting like she's the second coming! Paul Potts was better and he didn't get on Oprah after his audition.

Also those trousers do her no favours, the jacket is too short for her and makes her look bigger than she is and the top is just woeful. A softer brown jacket, maybe to hip length, would be much nicer, With some darker trousers.

(I think her bag is tartan on the front as well, ha)

Seriously - you must all be supermodels to be able to make these nasty comments about this womans appearance!

Take a long hard look in the mirror. She might not be physically beautiful to you, but she's clearly a nice person on the inside, which more than can be said for some of the people posting on this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭fuzzywiggle

100 times better

She might not be physically beautiful to you, but she's clearly a nice person on the inside, which more than can be said for some of the people posting on this thread.

Lighten up. It's just a thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

the tache and eyebrows were endearing, she looks older now :pac:

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Tazzle

Is her zipper half down?

Pythia wrote: »
    Lighten up. It's just a thread.

This isn't After Hours.

It also isn't Communist China. People can give opinions, positive or negative.

Anyway, I doubt Susan Boyle cares what a group of people on the internet think.

This isn't After Hours.

Report the posts so...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

meh i don't get this whole susan boyle thing.

ok she doesn't look like the hottest pop star or whatever. she does have a good voice too, but the whole thing is so blown up you'd swear people haven't ever seen an ugly person (in some peoples eyes) sing good.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,722 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

This isn't After Hours.

No it's not. It's Fashion and Appearance. We're discussing her clothes (fashion) and how she looks (appearance).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

She still looks like she has downes syndrome. She really should stop giving the thumbs up, and walking with her mouth open.

yep

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭allabouteve

Not harsh, offensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Tazzle wrote: »
    Is her zipper half down?
    No, it's half up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 676 ✭✭✭Nickibaby*

She is never going to look 'amazing' like other 'celebs' (don't know if you could call her that YET). She is an amazing person though and if it makes her feel better about herself then good for her! I hope she does well. With all the hype about her I almost forgot what an amazing voice she has! Just watched her audition there on YouTube and it had me near tears!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

Tazzle wrote: »
    Is her zipper half down?

Why are you looking at her crotch?:pac:

She looks better than she did before, but sure they said they didn't want her to change her looks.

She's not gonna leave her house tomorrow looking like Madonna or anything, all she did was groom her eyebrows and dye her hair. She's still wearing the same style clothes. She's probably making more of an effort now that she's getting more attention. Can you honestly say that if you had camera's at every corner you turned you wouldn't try and spruce yourself up a bit?

Besides, it's her voice that they put her through for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭Leprachaun

Where's the 0 option?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭beauty101

big improvement with the eyebrows but bein honest its not about how she looks, her voice makes her a winner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

You can discuss Susan's look without being mean or making offensive comments. Remember this is a real person you are talking about. If this thread gets out of hand, I will close it.

-simu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I don't like this look - still very dowdy and actually makes her look older than 47. A long, tailored skirt would be nicer, in my opinion - her legs are a lovely shape. And a pretty chiffon top. A little bit of eye make-up and some lip colour and earrings would give her face a lift too. And maybe if her hair was straightened...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭conorlechance

hhahaha state of her. needs to hit the gym and do something with her tomato face.

Now that's uncalled for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

conorlechance banned for a week for ignoring mod instruction not to be mean or make offensive comments.

phasers, if you have a problem with a post please do not react on-thread. Use the report post function.

This is the final warning, any more offensive comments and this thread will be closed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭Lobelia Overhill

and walking with her mouth open.

If you mean the third pic I think she's talking to someone ...

I think she looks a lot better now :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

http://cgi.ebay.com/Susan-Boyle-OFFICIAL-Charity-CD-Cry-Me-A-River_W0QQitemZ160330444467QQcmdZViewItemQQptZUK_CDsDVDs_CDs_CDs_GL?hash=item160330444467

Sorry if this has been posted.

As for Susan Boyle, only heard of her today (See that rock over there, I live under it) More power to her, personally I think it's a sweet story. I hope all the brats who were throwing faces at the start in the clip I seen from YouTube are still cleaning the pie off their faces. You Go Girl etc.

Seems like one of those rare 'good thing happens to good person' stories the media love.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 606 ✭✭✭fifomania

It goes to show just how used to judging people we all are, and how almost shocking it is when a 'normal' person achieves fame and doesn't look like the 'good looking' celebs in magazines! :rolleyes: Personally, I think she doesn't look fabulous but her talent is her voice, which is lovely. Her personality shone through on the TV and I'd rather look at her than that lollipop Victoria Beckham.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭smileysurfer

You sound like a really nice person!!!!! :mad::mad::mad:

WHo cares what she looks like? she sounds fantastic!!

The people who are constantly going on about how she's defied the odds etc seem to care hugely about what she looks like - not just the more obvious bullies like the ones who jeered her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭nobodythere

holly1 wrote: »
    Give her a chance,after all its her voice that won not her looks.

Do you think she'd be suddenly famous if she was good looking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭moonflower

She looks much worse now, at least she looked interesting before, now she just looks bland and boring, like any person you'd pass on the street and now look twice at.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

Dudess wrote: »
    The people who are constantly going on about how she's defied the odds etc seem to care hugely about what she looks like - not just the more obvious bullies like the ones who jeered her.

Yeah, you know it's just as mean to be shocked that someone can sing (well but not amazingly well IMO) just because they looks less than amazing. Amanda Holden's face said it all. "OMG she's hideous but she can sing, cha-ching! $$"

Someone sent me a link to eBay last week where a CD that Susan Boyle had one song on for some local charity or whatever had been sold for nearly £700stg. It's ridiculous.

Personally I think she looks no worse than a lot of people you see every day, either before or after her "makeover".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭Leprachaun

WHo cares what she looks like?

People in this thread obviously care what she looks like since they're discussing it,though she still looks terrible

She sounds fantastic

rofl

What I find most pathetic of all is people jeering her, then feeling bad because she had a good voice. So if she didn't have a good voice, the jeering would be ok...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭badolepuddytat

She's dressed appropriately for her age/figure in my opinion and looks comfortable and happy in her skin. Don't watch much tv but have heard about her and watched the tv clip on youtube. I don't know how much of her story is spin but hope her self-confidence isn't wrecked by the negative and well meaning pitying-type attention she's getting as she seemed quite sweet. Who knows though, she could be a playing us all (media and public) and fair play if she is :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Twee. wrote: »
    fonpokno wrote: »
    Same here, my mam is 5/6 years older than her and looks 10 years younger!

At least she has better eyebrows now...

pics?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 6,485 Mod ✭✭✭✭silvervixen84

I think she looks quite well in the pictures. Her hair is a nice colour, her eyebrows have been trimmed, she's wearing flattering makeup and a nice outfit that flatters her figure. She's obviously been styled by someone, and that's fine once she isn't being forced into it.

At the end of the day, people loved her in her flowery dress and fuzzy hair at the original audition, so it's not approval she's seeking. She's just making the most of her new-found fame, and once she doesn't let it go to her head, leave her do and wear what she wants!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

If I had a garden full of willies I wouldnt leave her look over the fence. She not my cup of but she is a grand singer. Id say she be some laugh on a night out. Seems down to earth, so far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 301 ✭✭-lala-

It's frightening how critical some of the posters in this thread are. Can any of you people sing like Susan Boyle can? I doubt it.