Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cyclists and horse riders?

• 24-04-2009 11:35pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,114 ✭✭✭

Hello

Do folks have much experience of the interaction of the above?

I don't cycle but I horseride and sometimes I wonder if those on racers realise how silent they can be. I was out on Wednesday and two cyclists past me with no warning or whistle, thankfully my mare is extremely good to hack but is she wasn't the second cyclist could have been kicked. Another time I had a man on a bike (still in shirt and trousers, POB?) pass me on the small space on the outside of the horse and the road. He came worringly close to my Nag's hindquarters:eek:

Up in the forestry I have had better experiences.

When I'm out hacking I am dressed in hi-viz both on the horse and myself and I regularly glance behind. I just feel that if a bike is silent than it is prudent to call out 'bike' and not pass too fast/close.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

dont encounter horses to often, but any time i do will always slow down and allow that extra space, just in case said horse does get spooked and decide to kick, although would still be cautious to calling out bike or something similar as always thought you were best to avoid sudden sound or movement around horses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Esroh

Into Horses long b4 I was ever into bikes.

Cyclists are best advised to go wide early. Horses will see you a long way back as their Blind spot is directly behind them

A shout from you will be heard by the Hose easier than the rider and often its the rider reacting to the sudden appearence of a cyclist that causes Horse to spook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭zzzzzzzz

I often come across horses on the road. Think there must be a riding school or something nearby.

I know absolutely nothing about horses but I've always moved out early. First time, I mistakenly changed gear just before I passed... horse went a bit nuts as the noise must have been a surprise.

Now, I move out very early and make sure not to change gears. So I should give a call when approaching? Cool beans

Actually there were a few horses knocking around when we were racing the other night. We were only in a small group so it wasn't too bad but the other groups I'd say frightened the crap out of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,220 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

You say cyclists are too quiet. Then aidan says he made a gear change on approach and the horse got suprised. This is confusing for a non-horsey person.

What are we supposed to do, approach whilst singing a gentle song?

I approach at slow speed on the extreme opposite side of the road.

Perhaps horses need wing mirrors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

I would tend not to shout or do anything to surprise the horse, slow right down, and move well clear... not sure why I do it, but I do, and haven't had any problems (and often see horses up Stocking Lane / Edmonstown Road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭Gavin

Bump into them regularly on the mtb. Good advice is to shout hello when you see them and slow down. Horsies get freaked when they see the you coming at them, but when they hear a human voice, the strange contraption turns into a human on a strange contraption and isn't as scary.

This is wot I've read anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭fenris

I try to give horses a wide berth, let the rider know you are coming if possible and get past as quickly as possible, minimising the time that you are at risk and the stress to the horse as they try to figure out what is coming.

My feeling is that the person in control of a horse should be in control of the horse if they are on a public road, they connot expect the world to stop and fall in behind them as some ladies in the north wicklow area seem to think as the ride two and three abreast chattering innanely like random bits of fluff from a Ross O Carroll Kelly novel, who then flap and screach like harpies when you get fed up sitting behind them and pass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 627 ✭✭✭mcguiver

I use my bell!!

As a cyclist, motorist, pedestrian and a (bad ) horserider, I always use the bell (C'mon why don't ya have one... you know u wanna). few tinkles from as far away as you can.

I've lived in city and country and have a horse riding school nearby. There are some very ignorant riders out there... especially instructors for some strange reason, never a thumbs up, or wave of thanks!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

fenris wrote: »
    I try to give horses a wide berth, let the rider know you are coming if possible and get past as quickly as possible, minimising the time that you are at risk and the stress to the horse as they try to figure out what is coming.

My feeling is that the person in control of a horse should be in control of the horse if they are on a public road, they connot expect the world to stop and fall in behind them as some ladies in the north wicklow area seem to think as the ride two and three abreast chattering innanely like random bits of fluff from a Ross O Carroll Kelly novel, who then flap and screach like harpies when you get fed up sitting behind them and pass.

I read in the ROTR that other road users have to follow directions from people in control of animals.

http://www.rulesoftheroad.ie/respecting-other-road-users/respecting_animal-traffic.html
    Always slow down and be prepared to stop when approaching or overtaking animals. If a person in charge of animals gives a signal to slow down or stop, you must obey it. Avoid using your horn if animals are in front of you, as it might frighten them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭stopped_clock

Good thread. Remember that horses can see a fair distance behind them since their eyes are on the side of their heads (but they can't judge distance well). They'll get spooked when they see something mysterious approaching quickly from behind.
    Gavin wrote: »
    Good advice is to shout hello when you see them and slow down.

+1 on this. It'll allow the rider to turn the horse to face you as you approach if it's nervous or inexperienced.

@Lumen: Singing the gentle song might actually be the best way of having a fairly constant "human-voice-sound" approaching. The problem with noise/no-noise is making sudden noise when the animal doesn't know you're anywhere close.

@mcguiver: you use a bell when you're on a horse?

Good thread. Remember that horses can see a fair distance behind them since their eyes are on the side of their heads (but they can't judge distance well).?

But do they not usually have blinkers on? So they can only see in front of them?

My point is that they should be in effective control of the animal.

Fair enough - but if you startle the animal, and the rider by baiting past them at high speed there's not much they can do...

If you continue that line of reasoning then you could go on to say that motorists passing cyclists within 1ft at 80mph should be fine, given that the cyclist should be in effective control of their bicycle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭stopped_clock

But do they not usually have blinkers on? So they can only see in front of them?

Not usually afaik. Racehorses sometimes do alright, and if they're pulling a carriage they often do. (open to correction though).

Wouldn't dispute that, but animals are going to be harder to guarantee control of than machines, so there's no harm in helping the rider out as much as possible, maybe more than is really necessary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

Generally no, you see blinkers mainly on working horses (e.g. pulling a cart) or sometimes racing. Not hacking about the place. I believe they can spook worse with the blinkers as their vision is already restricted and so when you suddenly appear to them you will be very close.

I think the most important thing is giving horses _plenty_ of space, this means other side of the road, I will generally shout to indicate I am passing also.

Fair enough - but if you startle the animal, and the rider by baiting past them at high speed there's not much they can do...

If you continue that line of reasoning then you could go on to say that motorists passing cyclists within 1ft at 80mph should be fine, given that the cyclist should be in effective control of their bicycle

If you continue any line of reasoning poorly enough you can usually torture it into stating what you want as opposed to the original statement, that makes it you line of reasoning not mine

For you :)http://www.fallacyfiles.org/slipslop.html
    See if you can find me :phttp://www.fallacyfiles.org/taxonomy.html

Don't think so - Wide bearth = 1 foot? - not in my judgement.

Cycling past a horse and rider who are are aware of their environment and in control of their actions and pussy footing around putting yourself at personal risk by faffing about behind a horse being piloted by a person oblivious to their environment are very different propositions - not least because in both cases the horse knows that there is something behind it, the difference is that a good rider can/will give direction to the horse, impose their will on the situation so the the horse does not feel that it has to be the brains of the operation and react out of stress in a manner that may not be optimal for all parties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Esroh

I've been around horses along time and I use the roads when riding.Most of them start out by going in the company of another horse and i woud be very aware of my enviorment.But it is an animal which has a mind of its own.Riders do not impose their will on the horse they work in partnership though generally as the dominante one as remeber a 1 tonn average horse can not be stopped by a 80kg human if t gets a surprise and nature takes over.Thats what makes the top riders stand out from the crowd they have a natural way to get horses to relax and trust them
    They are a flight animal with a wide angle rear vision< which natural instinct is to run first or protect themselves with their hindend if unable to get away.(rider stopping them)As I said b4 its often feeling the rider tense up thats starts the reaction.Riders cannot spend their time looking behind for Cyclists(the only silent predator on the road:D):D so
    Go wide for the horse and call for the rider.

Re Blinkers
    In racing its used because the Horse is a Quitter and gives up when another comes upsides and so vision is restricted till the last minute.
    On Work horses it was so they could not see the Carrige etc and after learning that it would not hurt them the concentrated on going forward . Now its just tradition.

I said impose your will on the situation not the just the horse. Yes it is a partnership - the horse does the donkey work the rider decides where and how you go. If you are in a direct battle of strength V strength with a horse without the toys of humanity you are probably screwed!

When you are out on your horse, you decide what side of the road you ride on and to a point how fast you go, when you hear a car coming up from behind you evaluate the situation and control the options available to the driver up to a point. i.e. if you think there is not room to pass you may move out to remove that option for a short period of time until you get to a place with better passing, or you may pull in and wave the driver on, to let the car as appropriate. But whatever action you take will be probably be decisive and taken in good time to avoid the other parties having to come up with their own plan (horsey plan may not be the best, driver plan may not be great either).

My point is that passing a horse can also be dangerous for the cyclist so we need to take reasonable precautions, this is made easier if both parties are switched on exchange hellos and it is a non-event for both parties. but if one party is not all there in terms of skill or attention then you need to minimise your risk and get out of the situation but we are ultimately responsible for our own safety and should act accordingly to either not get kicked/trampled or not get thrown/carried into oncoming traffic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,114 ✭✭✭doctor evil

Fenris, it is not always possible to be in control of a half tonne of muscle and bone after it has been spooked due to someone elses dangerous folly.

Good replies here. It is probably best practice to pass slow and wide and to never get too close. I'd recommend a human voice over a bell. Racer bikes are too quiet for their own good, they have given me a shock or two when out walking!

Perhaps a mod can put up a sticky about how to safely negotiate these types of things? It could include segments from ROTR.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,114 ✭✭✭doctor evil

mcguiver wrote: »
    I've lived in city and country and have a horse riding school nearby. There are some very ignorant riders out there... especially instructors for some strange reason, never a thumbs up, or wave of thanks!!

If you know what school/yard they are from drop them a line about safety and the magical word - liability/litigation.

Do these riders have high viz and use correct hand gestures?

Perhaps a mod can put up a sticky about how to safely negotiate these types of things? It could include segments from ROTR.
    There is a Cycling section in the Boards wiki where we stick this sort of thing. Gavin has been doing most of the work on it. I think it may be down right at this moment but more info here.

There is stuff in there already about cycling ettiquette, etc. feel free to add a section about passing horses (anyone can edit it.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭Vélo

Horses have as much right on a road as cyclists and in some places probably more (The Curragh). How is a horse meant to get used to the road without getting out there. My apologies for saying this but you actually sound a bit like a motorist:eek:. DO cyclists not cycle two and three abreast chattering inanely also?

My own opinion is give horses plenty of room and slow down, you never know how young the horse is or how nervous it is. Horses like alot of things are afraid of the unknown and can spook easily.A good idea would be to look at the person riding it, if he or she is relaxed looking then the horse is more than likely ok but I'd still take it easy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,238 ✭✭✭Junior

I normally sound my foghorn, then leave off the blunderpuss and cycle past them shouting yeee haw...

I find it gives them fair warning ...

[/end tonuge in cheek]

If you want to make sure the horse isn't spooked:
    1146736_cd58bf589c.jpg?v=1102026052
    Stoker (cyclist at the back) should be equipped with coconuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

Hello

Do folks have much experience of the interaction of the above?

I don't cycle but I horseride and sometimes I wonder if those on racers realise how silent they can be. I was out on Wednesday and two cyclists past me with no warning or whistle, thankfully my mare is extremely good to hack but is she wasn't the second cyclist could have been kicked. Another time I had a man on a bike (still in shirt and trousers, POB?) pass me on the small space on the outside of the horse and the road. He came worringly close to my Nag's hindquarters:eek:

Up in the forestry I have had better experiences.

When I'm out hacking I am dressed in hi-viz both on the horse and myself and I regularly glance behind. I just feel that if a bike is silent than it is prudent to call out 'bike' and not pass too fast/close.

I've found that most horseriders I've encountered don't really know what they are doing and don't seem in control of their horses. As such I always give a very wide berth at a very slow pace.

Perhaps its more prudent for horse riders to only venture out onto proper roads when they are competent enough to control their horses?

tunney wrote: »
    I've found that most horseriders I've encountered don't really know what they are doing and don't seem in control of their horses. As such I always give a very wide berth at a very slow pace.

Perhaps its more prudent for horse riders to only venture out onto proper roads when they are competent enough to control their horses?

+1, I mean, they don't pay road tax, why should they be allowed clog up our highways when there's loads of fields for them to run about in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

+1, I mean, they don't pay road tax, why should they be allowed clog up our highways when there's loads of perfectly good fields for them to run about in
    fixed

You know guys, horseriding is something where you have kids learning, etc... If by 'proper' roads you mean an inexperienced rider not riding down the N11, sure, but on country roads?

I too get the feeling that a lot of these sort of comments sound remarkably like that motorist who wrote into the Times suggesting that bikes are toys and should not be on public roads.

I've never had a major problem with horses and I have passed enough of them. The attitude of the riders is generally positive although as with any category of road user you do get a small minority who seem to have the idea that they alone have a right to be there.

The roads are a public amenity and we need to share them... Insofar as that bikes have a historic right to the roads, well horses predate them :)

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

I think there's a bit of leg pulling going on.

I found this thread interesting. Never knew before there was an etiquette/proceedure for passing horses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

They're animals. No matter how well you can control them, you still can't account for an unexpected reaction. I'm not a horse-rider, I've never had any contact with horses ever!

I am a cyclist who encounters horses from time to time on the road. I didn't know initially, but other cyclists with more experience have told me to slow right down, maybe even stop and let them pass you on the other side of the road. Coming from behind, give a bit of a shout of warning and LOADS of space.

Having said that, horse-riders can't expect all other road-users to know that horses get spooked so easily.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭Lobelia Overhill

No, and if they were wearing blinkers, all the more reason for you to make a noise as you approach ... IMO cyclists should ring a bell (several rings) as they approach a blind corner, regardless of what might be ahead of them, if there is a horse, then it'll hear you, and be less likely to bolt or kick as predators don't run up behind a horse shouting.

Horses are by nature a prey animal, it's a genetic instinct for them to flee (or occasionally fight) something that approaches them from behind and is lower to the ground than they are. Hundreds of years of domestication hasn't breed the flight or fight reaction out of them, and they will spook/shy at something silently appearing behind them. Riding a horse isn't about having total domination over the animal so that it only does what you tell it to do, it's a partnership of trust, the horse trusts you that when you get on it's back you're not going to eat it, and you trust the horse to comply with the aids you give it (ie go this way at such and such a speed), but you are never 100% in control of a horse, most of them are too well mannered/trained to do anything dangerous, but there's always going to be one!

Very true, once upon a time you could take a test to prove you were fit to ride a horse on the roads, but I dunno what happened to that.
    I had a pony *coff coff* years ago and I was a competent enough rider, however the pony had a history of abuse with it's previous owner, and when I took her out on the road, at any given point she'd suddenly start galloping (which you are not supposed to do on the roads) and I'd have to hang on for grim death till she stopped. There didn't need to be anything anywhere near her, she'd just take off like she was at Punchestown heading for the line! No amount of pulling on the reins would stop or slow her down. Thankfully it was a very quiet country road, so the risks were minimalised, but eventually I had to stop taking her out on the roads - my nerves couldn't take it any more!

el tonto wrote: »
    I think there's a bit of leg pulling going on.

I found this thread interesting. Never knew before there was an etiquette/proceedure for passing horses.

My tongue is firmly in cheek above...

+1 on the interest, I too didn't know that a shout is appreciated, and would have assumed that it would spook the horse more than anything. Thankfully we have the resident Jockey to set us straight

No, and if they were wearing blinkers, all the more reason for you to make a noise as you approach ... IMO cyclists should ring a bell (several rings) as they approach a blind corner, regardless of what might be ahead of them

That conjures up a fantastic vision of 1300 Wicklow 200 participants creating a fantastic melodious cortege guaranteed to spook most car drivers let alone horses :D

Imagine the early morning discussions in houses with young kids "No it is not Santa, its May"
    "does May bring presents too?"

IMO cyclists should ring a bell (several rings) as they approach a blind corner, regardless of what might be ahead of them

That's gas :) Can you get bells made from carbon fibre anywhere? Will they ring OK?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭rottenhat

Raam wrote: »
    Can you get bells made from carbon fibre anywhere? Will they ring OK?

I'd expect more of a dull clunk.

rottenhat wrote: »
    I'd expect more of a dull clunk.

They could have an aluminium ringing surface like those carbom wheels with the alu braking surface...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭rottenhat

They could have an aluminium ringing surface like those carbom wheels with the alu braking surface...

I'm not sure that would be expensive enough - perhaps sterling silver?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

aluminium...

pff
    rottenhat wrote: »
    sterling silver?

ha!

TITANIUM!

78529.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭Lobelia Overhill

That's gas :) Can you get bells made from carbon fibre anywhere? Will they ring OK?

I dunno, I'm just saying you need to let any horses know you're approaching, else you might get a kick in the teeth!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

I dunno, I'm just saying you need to let any horses know you're approaching, else you might get a kick in the teeth!
    There ye have it lads, straight from the horses mouth so to speak - we all need to invest in aero wheels to get a good ould whistle going as we tear up behind the horses. Can't say they didn't hear us coming that way :D

The more we discuss this the more obvious it becomes that what we need is a sprightly chap to run in front of our bicycles with a red flag to warn of our impending arrival. periodially he should probably also sound three blasts on his hunting horn. to give advance notice of our arrival at junctions.

In the event that more that one cyclist should meet on trhe road, then the afore mentioned sprightly chaps should settler the matter of precedence by means of a short duel - after first serving tea. It is important therefore that you select your sprightly chap with both speed and skill at arms in mind.

If we implemented a similar regime for horses then everything woulds be sorted very quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,220 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

kenmc wrote: »
    There ye have it lads, straight from the horses mouth so to speak - we all need to invest in aero wheels to get a good ould whistle going as we tear up behind the horses. Can't say they didn't hear us coming that way :D

(Duly added to the "list of justifications for carbon wheels")

In the event that more that one cyclist should meet on trhe road, then the afore mentioned sprightly chaps should settler the matter of precedence by means of a short duel - after first serving tea. It is important therefore that you select your sprightly chap with both speed and skill at arms in mind.

I can't believe you didn't mention cake!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

There are often ladies on horses out for a jaunt by Crone woods on Sunday mornings.
    They look very nice in all their gear (ladies, not horses). Not Euro, but nice nontheless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

When in France a few years back, my wife's friend cooked us a mixed meat stew for dinner. One of the meats was horse. I liked that stew.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

I was thinking about this thread yesterday and I was reminded of the thread where a cyclist was done by a garda for not being in control of his vehicle on a public road (no hands on handlebars).

I was thinking of that thread myself the other day, but then remembered that I didn't have a helmet on, so stopped. I always wear a helmet -does anyone else?

Only when I'm jay-walking.

what about when red-light jumping? or avoiding paying road tax?

OK, if I'm riding with no hands, red light jumping, listening to my ipod, paying no road taxes, not using the cycle lane, passing horsies closely, clipping wing mirrors, buzzing pedestrians and it's a Wednesday... then and ONLY then, do I wear my helmet.