Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Thank you

• 24-04-2009 10:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,402 ✭✭✭✭

To all who contributed to a thread that we obviously had to pull tonight for legal reasons. You know who you are and what this is about :)

The three cloned muppets on the thread and another cloned muppet on a thread in a non-motors forum have been permanently banned from motors.

Feel free to post here, but you can't name names...

Lotus Elan turbo for sale:

https://www.adverts.ie/vehicles/lotus-elan-turbo/35456469

My ads on adverts.ie:

https://www.adverts.ie/member/5856/ads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,620 ✭✭✭Graham_B18C

...what happened?!

I was out!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

No idea what this is about but eh..good on whoever :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭Fey!

Would this be anything to do with protests?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭Dartz

If it is what I think it was... I kept meaning to read that topic. But something always came up. Now I can't because it's gone. And the security guard says it will never come again

:(

Story of my life really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,544 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Woohoo, score!

great detective work fellas!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

What did I miss? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Stephen wrote: »
    What did I miss? :(

Everything.

Only thread of the month...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Dartz wrote: »
    Story of my life really.

Talk to Joe maybe? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭ninkynonk

a flip sake! i read the first few posts but wasnt up to much- then i noticed there was loads of talk going on but never got back to it.... :(
    will there be a time we find out what happened?

ninkynonk wrote: »
    will there be a time we find out what happened?

Did anyone tape it? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Please please please show me the thread? :P :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

It was the Freemasons... :D:D:D

SV wrote: »
    Please please please show me the thread? :P :D

I saved it, I could show it to you, but there's a recession on, cutbacks, bannings, etc. Sorry!

To be honest, if the person involved just came on and was open about their position and wanted to discuss it, I don't think there would have been a problem. Talk about someone digging a hole for yourself...

For those that missed it here's the omnubus edition

Poster 1 (first post) asks did anyone see a certain protest
    they then go on to explain a situtation on behalf of the person who was protesting
    they seem very well up to speed on what happened and show huge understanding of the situation from the protesters point of view.

They then sign up again under a different names and converse with each other (probably from the same IP?)

A certain username gets mentioned, user denies any underhandedness

I point out that said username has a previous thread about their car, the model, year and origin of which exactly matches the car involved in the protest.

I went out and missed the rest.

Ah I had a look at that thread the other day, some crap about two really nice guys and the poster stayed with em for an hour an all that?

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I went out and missed the rest.

I bet you feel horribly unfulfilled now.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Silly OP. Should've been honest, would've looked much better. Fair play to the modsies.

So whats the deal now? Do we love the garage in question again or what?:)

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,143 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

there was no garage
    there was no thread
    it was all a dream

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

kbannon wrote: »
    there was no garage
    there was no thread
    it was all a dream

Ah, the old Jedi mind trick. Well I'm convinced! :D

Some of the posts that were made I'll tell ye they'd put Sherlock Holmes to shame!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

there was no garage
    there was no thread
    it was all a dream

What infact happened, was the Service Providers had a massive problem in their servers causing everyone to hallunciate and see the "thread". Coupled with the massive contamination of the boardsies water supplies, it led to mayhem. It was all an illusion.

Heh. With a line like that, i should be in sales........oh. Wait.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

I heard yer man on the radio today. Sounded a right divvy tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,264 ✭✭✭BlackWizard

Google cache wont work :(

http://www.google.ie/search?hl=en&client=firefox-a&rls=org.mozilla%3Aen-US%3Aofficial&hs=bn&q=site%3Awww.boards.ie+boards.ie+protest&btnG=Search&meta=

but I was reading it and decided to stay out. From the beginning I think a reputable poster was onto it..

What happened the other thread about a certain garage trying to come back after closing?

If that had been a busier garage with maybe a more solid reputation built up over a number of years, I'd say you'd be seeing the legal exocets heading for Montrose at first light... I'm surprised that the caller got airtime to be honest...

usually they won't touch stuff like that.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    usually they won't touch stuff like that.

Well they did on this occasion and I'd say they might come to regret it yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,479 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

there was no garage
    there was no thread
    it was all a dream

No it's not as Bobby Ewing is not in the shower. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

bazz26 wrote: »
    No it's not as Bobby Ewing is not in the shower. :p

It was really, as he's in my shower. He's surprisingly wrinkly by now - I can't tell if he's just been in there too long, or if it's just that he's 60 now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭lafors

So was I right unkel/kbannon?? Just a yes/no answer will do ;)
    Who was it again who asked me to apologise for saying they were the same people? I think they owe me an apology :P Only joking ;)

I finished at work at 7pm and didn't see how it played out?
    How do you know if users are cloned? is it really by IP address?

Edit, ah crap my post count has dropped since you deleted the thread :(
    I was getting nearer 1000 ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 146 ✭✭seasam

lafors wrote: »
    So was I right unkel/kbannon?? Just a yes/no answer will do ;)
    Who was it again who asked me to apologise for saying they were the same people? I think they owe me an apology :P Only joking ;)

I finished at work at 7pm and didn't see how it played out?

Edit, ah crap my post count has dropped since you deleted the thread :(
    I was getting nearer 1000 ;)

It was me !! Sorry Lafors, it was certainly a very strange thread :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭lafors

seasam wrote: »
    It was me !! Sorry Lafors, it was certainly a very strange thread :confused:

I'm only kidding seasam :)
    No apology necessary!
    PM me, and tell me if you know what happened in the end, I obviously missed the good bit :)

did this all end up on the radio yesterday??:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,600 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Sock Muppet? I resemble that remark, Sir! You will be hearing from my lawyers, Sue, Grabbit & Runn. :D

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,205 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

lafors wrote: »

Yes and no. Same IP address could be a clue that a user is cloned, however more and more organisations are now using PAT which mean hundreds of computers may only have one public IP. So 2 boards users within the same organisation could be 2 different people, but look to be the same because they have the same public source IP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

There's an ould send message button next to my name... Any of ye who saw said thread, ye might happen to click on it and tell me the details:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,497 ✭✭✭quarryman

There's an ould send message button next to my name... Any of ye who saw said thread, ye might happen to click on it and tell me the details:P

ditto. I have no idea what this is about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Topper Harley

Yeah, eh me three.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,450 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

4!!! Please, :o

if any of you guys above get anything could you forward it to me too?:)

And me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,264 ✭✭✭BlackWizard

I found it on an old cache of a search engine :D

Who wants it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Who wants it?

*coughs*

eh hem!

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,143 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

As the original thread was removed, it is not to be resurrected on here!

meeee!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Who wants it?

Go on so...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭king_of_inismac

If you would be so kind, good sir! :)