Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car Makes you despise...

• 23-04-2009 10:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,639 ✭✭✭✭

Has to be Nissan for me. They are such dull as ditchwater cars imo. And I'm not talking about the stuff we don't see much of here like the Skyline or any of their sportier models. I'm talking about the likes of the Tiida and Note/Micra, Primera.
    Pottering along at 45/50mph hugging the white line, oblivious to the 30 cars built up behind,braking at oncoming traffic....more often than not it's a bloody Nissan!! And they're not even that reliable anymore it seems which is surely the only reason you'd buy one. I thought when Renault took them overe they might inject some flair...things seem worse now...although the Quashqui seems to have struck a chord..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Yore Car!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Rovers, FIATS, anyone who owns one doesnt have a clue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,686 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Ssangyong. Ugly cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭peanuthead

mfitzy wrote: »
    Has to be Nissan for me. ..

ALMERA..... nuff said

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

mickdw wrote: »
    Ssangyong. Ugly cars.

Totally forgot about those, horrible horrible things.

Diahatsu anybody?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

FearDark wrote: »

Doesnt have a clue about what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭cop41

SKODA !!!

Whats a Skoda with a sunroof ? .....

A SKIP!!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭CarCity

Has to be Nissan for me. They are such dull as ditchwater cars imo. And I'm not talking about the stuff we don't see much of here like the Skyline or any of their sportier models. I'm talking about the likes of the Tiida and Note/Micra, Primera.
    Pottering along at 45/50mph hugging the white line, oblivious to the 30 cars built up behind,braking at oncoming traffic....more often than not it's a bloody Nissan!! And they're not even that reliable anymore it seems which is surely the only reason you'd buy one. I thought when Renault took them overe they might inject some flair...things seem worse now...although the Quashqui seems to have struck a chord..

Nissan were fantastic till the Almera and remodelled Primera sent them on a downward hill.

The Primeras of the mid to late 1990's were brilliant.

For me the Toyota's lately are disappointing but I think that's because they are using Lexus as their marque brand and just making Toyota's now to appeal to the widest audience possible. I saw an 09 Avensis today and was shocked by how dated it looked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,639 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Totally forgot about those, horrible horrible things.

Diahatsu anybody?

I actually like them!! Kinda quirky and different and very reliable at the same time. The Sirion is a good little car I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

VW

From technically obsolete for 40 years via booooring for another 30 to pretentious for the last 10 or so ...that's their history. Nothing even remotely exciting ever came from VW (with the one exception of the original GTI). The only real plus was that at least the booooring cars were of good quality, but that has changed as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

I love the high end Audis but i hate the A4 and there drivers who think they are driving rocket ships.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,639 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Thing was the Almera sold by the dozen here. Irish buyers are a notoriously conservativew bunch with car buying.

True but it seems to be a bit of a boy racer's car now.

Could be an interesting thread!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Cosmo K

Opel! For being just plain boring, and don't try to convince me, that the 3 dr Astra is a good looking car, its not. Hate their interiors, that stupid greyish looking dashboard/radio, the fact that you have to change half the engine every 36k mls, not to mention that horrible 1L 3 cyl engine they use in the Corsa...my 20€ electric hand mixer develops more torque then that engine.......aaaarggghh could go on forever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

CarCity wrote: »

The Primeras of the mid to late 1990's were brilliant.

I think we might need to qualify "brilliant". It was reliable, that doesnt necessarily mean brilliant. Theres a lot more to a car than reliability, certainly if you want one to be singled out as brilliant.

Personally I dont like Opels. They made it worse with the last generation of cars where everythign was square, I hated that.

Stekelly wrote: »
    I think we might need to qualify "brilliant". It was reliable, that doesnt necessarily mean brilliant. Theres a lot more to a car than reliability, certainly if you want one to be singled out as brilliant.

Well I had a 97 2.0l diesel and the handling and torque were fantastic for the money. Couple of things went on it but nothing expensive. I guess I mean that relatively for the price I paid it was a brillant car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

peasant wrote: »
    VW

From technically obsolete for 40 years via booooring for another 30 to pretentious for the last 10 or so ...that's their history. Nothing even remotely exciting ever came from VW (with the one exception of the original GTI). The only real plus was that at least the booooring cars were of good quality, but that has changed as well.

I can see your point but to be fair the gti's mk1 mk5 and mk6 are fair cars.
    The VR6 is worth a mention, as is the Phaeton.
    But most importantly the Beetle was fairly ground breaking at least.

Anyway - I hate most Toyotas and Nissans although I agree both have produced some good sports cars the rest are horrible white goods ****e for those who think good = reliable only. (95% Irish motorists)

I'd rather try drive my fridge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

I don't really hate any, only one car. The horrid Tiida. Makes me sick when I see it.

tiida.jpg

Also BMW's are losing that special thing they once had for me.. don't get me wrong, they are nice cars - just FAR too many of them on the road here. Apparently we have a higher per capita ratio of ownership than even the Germans!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭stiff kitten

jeeps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

CarCity wrote: »
    Also BMW's are losing that special thing they once had for me.. don't get me wrong, they are nice cars - just FAR too many of them on the road here. Apparently we have a higher per capita ratio of ownership than even the Germans!!
    Surely that only matters if you're trying to impress other people?

I'm with Cosmo K, Opels make my skin crawl.

Anan1 wrote: »
    Surely that only matters if you're trying to impress other people?

I don't think it's about impressing people, just nice to have a car with a bit of personality. For me it's about beautiful cars which say something about yourself. Each to their own - someone on boards today commented about Irish people choosing cars almost exclusively on reliabilty and it's a sad fact that someone would pay 15k - 23k on a new Yaris (which is a lot of money) rather than a good second hand Jag or Merc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 646 ✭✭✭Johnboy Mac

In general todays Toyota's, Nissan's, Opel's ,VW's, Audi's & Fiat's bar the odd exception just don't do anything for me. Nor the vast majority of 4x4's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭skyhighflyer

SAAB.

Now met me explain, I'm actually a SAAB fan (and owner). But Jaysus lads, if ye thought that by sticking bits of plastic chrome on the 9-3 and 9-5 you were going to fool Joe Public into thinking it was a new model then count it as a massive failure. Ruining an iconic brand with this kind of carry-on as well as that Biopower nonsense was never going to end well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Opel , Renault, Rover, Ssanyong, Dihatsu, Suzuki, Tata, Land Rover, Ford

All for either unreliable or utterly boring/ugly cars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Has to be Nissan for me. ......I thought when Renault took them overe they might inject some flair...things seem worse now...

Thanks to Renault, they might have been boring but pre-renault nissans were better cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭coolbeans

SAABs; I said it before and I'll say it again if I wanted an Opel Vectra I'd buy an Opel Vectra and not that upturned basin on wheels looking 9-3. Used to love them but but chronic lack of investment since 1992/3 has just killed the brand. Aircraft heritage my arse!

I was gonna mention Ssangyong. Describing them as dog ugly is an insult to dogs, not to mention ugly girls but they're growing on me in an 'I like ET' kind of way. I'm glad they're still around all things considered; the Actyon for instance could never be described as bland and it adds to the character of an increasingly dull automotive landscape. :p F%&k me they're ugly though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

jeeps

Yep have to agree with you on that, Jeep/Chrysler is a make I truly despise.
    Parts are ridiculously expensive and quality is shyte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

No make in particular stands out to me, but what does stand out is the massive amounts of boring cars on our roads. At least if you go to England, you see a nice sports car every few miles, a supercar every few miles more, high specced Audis, BMWs and Mercedes, even your average car has a nice high spec, nice wheels, xenons, sport kits.

Over here its nothing but bogger yokes to get you from A to B. Seas upon seas of Golfs and A4s, low spec 3 and 5 series BMWs, Meganes, Focus' and Micras, Polos and Passats. It makes driving over here so boring, I mean you don't have to be into cars to have a nice one, why buy a 2009 with hubcaps and blanked out buttons on the dash?

It annoys me that car manufacturers cant come out with beautiful cars too, I mean all theyre doing is facelifting models, the "new" Golf, the "new" Saab 95, the "new" Passat CC, I mean come on!? Why are the really attractive cars €200k+ Aston Martins? Why can't Renault or Fiat or Nissan come out with a "beautiful" car for €20k? The closest so far in my opinion is the Scirocco, but that will still set you back €35k and the interior is rubbish.

Loads of cars look the same here, I mean a Laguna, A4/A6, Passat, Primera all drive past you, you dont bat an eyelid! Sure they dont look exactly the same, but theres absolutely no originality at all. Car design has taken a serious dive in recent years, its pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,187 ✭✭✭keefg

BMW

There....I said it! :D

Well, to be fair, it's not the car I dislike, it's the (stereotypical) buyer they attract.
    :eek::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭RichyX

FIATS, anyone who owns one doesnt have a clue.

Stop talking sh*te.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Davidth88

All 4 x 4 unless they are mud covered and being used for the purpose they were designed for.

THEY ARE NOT DESIGNED TO CART LITTLE JOHHNY TO SCHOOL !!

( slight rant there )

I don't have a make I really dislike although for some reason I have never wanted a Ford , totally irrational considering the new Mondeo is a great car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭Mr.David

BMW 318ci - get over yourself you muppet
    Nissan Tida - why oh why?!
    Bentley - All of them - They've completely lost what made them special they are now boring wa**er cars
    Peugeot - Gone to the dogs, where has the fun gone? Ugly too
    Koennigseg - I know its fast its just soul-less
    Toyota Auris - FFS, just get a focus you plank

Davidth88 wrote: »
    All 4 x 4 unless they are mud covered and being used for the purpose they were designed for.

THEY ARE NOT DESIGNED TO CART LITTLE JOHHNY TO SCHOOL !!

Well, most of them are designed exactly around bringing little Johnny to school......but I know what you mean all the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

I completely agree on the Rover bit but FIAT's? IMHO, anyone driving a modern FIAT is probably one of the more clued in people on the roads:pac:

EPM wrote: »
    I completely agree on the Rover bit but FIAT's? IMHO, anyone driving a modern FIAT is probably one of the more clued in people on the roads:pac:

Previous posters username "feardark" says it all....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Sean Quagmire

yep, the new FIAT range has some of the best looking cars out today.

Lads there is a car I see most mornings on my way to work the driver must work close to me. Now the car he drives is the without doubt the ugliest thing ever built. I drove up behind it one day to see the badge and i cant remember what it was. all i know was there was a little sticker beside the name saying 'by Renault'. I have never seen something so ugly and its not even an old car maybe 2/3 years??

yep, the new FIAT range has some of the best looking cars out today.

Lads there is a car I see most mornings on my way to work the driver must work close to me. Now the car he drives is the without doubt the ugliest thing ever built. I drove up behind it one day to see the badge and i cant remember what it was. all i know was there was a little sticker beside the name saying 'by Renault'. I have never seen something so ugly and its not even an old car maybe 2/3 years??

Was it a Dacia?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,663 ✭✭✭stealthyspeeder

Mr.David wrote: »
    Koennigseg - I know its fast its just soul-less

Yea they piss me off too, what with their speed, acceleration and handling, how dare they not spend money on image and marketing like Ferrarri! who do they think they are! Every time im in a Koennisgseg, I just feel soulless and empty!:rolleyes: feck it, add Gumpert to that list, that Appollo of theirs makes me so annoyed for the same reasons!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Sean Quagmire

I seem to remember the word Proton on the car..but doing a quick search and Proton make fairly nice looking cars just not in Ireland. This thing was wretched. like a big navy coloured box with wheels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

cop41 wrote: »
    SKODA !!!

Whats a Skoda with a sunroof ? .....

A SKIP!!! :D

The 80s have called looking for you, they're looking for their jokes and dated views back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

For some reason i have an inferior complex about Opel,

Maybe its due to the fact that i used to get car-sick on long journeys in my dad's opel as a kid.:o the memorys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

feck it, add Gumpert to that list, that Appollo of theirs makes me so annoyed for the same reasons!

That Apollo yoke is as ugly as a Ssang Yong. There, I said it :eek:

I have to echo what someone said earlier about Nissan. Every time I see a Tiida, Almera or Micra on the road I just think "Why?". Hateful blandmobiles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,423 ✭✭✭pburns

Audi.
    BMW, despite the ever-growing obsession with niche models and Bangleised styling at least still make dynamically excellent RWD saloons and coupes to the classic formula.

But Audi... regular FWD models (very average to drive according to the mags) account for the vast majority of models sold in the real world and only recently have they stopped using the 1.9TDI tractor engine. Would BMW put that pile of junk in a 3-series? In a million years?

Stodgy, podgey and with an over- inflated notion about their wealth and sex appeal - that's not just the cars it's the drivers too - upwardly mobile culchies and wannabe rugger bugger/huggers with a designer label obsession.

I don't hate them - I pity the fools! :D

Actually upper-end models are OK - Quattros, R8, A8. It's the lower-end wannabe stuff that's crap...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Stevie Dakota

There are plenty that leave me cold, but only one I despise, to the extent that I want to do harm to the driver...

HUMMER

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

HUMMER
    www.fuh2.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭Zube

Why are the really attractive cars €200k+ Aston Martins? Why can't Renault or Fiat or Nissan come out with a "beautiful" car for €20k?

Some makers are making an effort to design good looking cars.

The Fiat 500 starts at 14K. The Bravo also looks good from 20K (although I don't think it actually is good). I like the current Honda Civic, starting at 25K, in a sort of 80s Flash Gordon way. The new Scirocco is 28K. The Alfa 147 is long in the tooth, but still gorgeous from 30K. The Renault Laguna Coupé starts at 36K. The Passat CC looks the way every Passat should from 40K. The Audi TT is great looking at 43K. The Jag XF is lovely at 64K.

Peugeot will have the RC-Z coupé out soon, priced at around 35K, maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

EPM wrote: »
    Was it a Dacia?

I never really heard of Dacia before, but there is some one living near the Ennis Road driving one, and it is such a horrible looking car... My god
    There are plenty that leave me cold, but only one I despise, to the extent that I want to do harm to the driver...

HUMMER

Hah! Ignorance to the joys of a Hummer. I got a spin in one, and as I was coming off the Parkway roundabout in Limerick, some middle aged man undertook us, leveled becide us, and then proceeded to blow kisses at us. Ah yes, great fun...

(Oh ya, and the 1mpg is a rare site too:P)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

Actually If I think about it... there isn't a marque out there that doesn't have something in its line up that I don't like.... and likewise I like something in every marques line up as well, from BMW's M5, Nissan's GT-R, Opels VXR, VW Phaeton, Fiats Panda( yeah don't laugh I like it) and so on....

but one car I fecking hate with a passion....... The Fecking MICRA

I never really heard of Dacia before, but there is some one living near the Ennis Road driving one, and it is such a horrible looking car... My god

There's a few about Cork with hungarian or polish plates - rotten pieces of schnot! It was just the by Renault thing I thought it might be one