Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Midlands Poker Open 2009 Athlone 28/29/30 August (20k ME/5K SE guaranteed, FREEZOUT)

• 23-04-2009 4:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 596 ✭✭✭

winstonslogo1.gif
    brings you
    The Midlands Poker Open 2009
    In association with
    bigslickeventframe10ai2.jpg
    with
    ladbrokespoker
    and the
    lathlonesprings1.jpg

This is a €20,000 Guaranteed 2 day event

Super Satellite – Friday 28th August
    Athlone Springs Hotel
    Reg 7:30 PM
    Start 8:00 PM
    Buy In €30 + €5, 1 Rebuy OR Add On @ €30
    1 Seat for every €250 collected
    Starting Stack 4,000 – Rebuy 4,000 – Add-on 5,000
    20 Minute Clock
    Blinds @ , 50/100, 75/150, 100/200, 150/300, 200/400, 300/600 … 15000/30000
    Limited to 200 Runners

€250 The Midlands Poker Open 2009
    €20,000 Guaranteed
    Athlone Springs Hotel
    Saturday 29th August
    Reg 3:00 PM
    Start 4.00 PM
    Buy In €220 + €30
    Starting Stack 15,000
    45 Minute Clock
    Blinds @25/25 , 25/50, 50/100, 75/150, 100/200, 150/300, 200/400, 300/600 … 15000/30000
    Limited to 200 Runners

€100 Ladbrokes Irish Poker Tour
    €10,000 Guaranteed
    Athlone Springs Hotel
    Sunday 30th August
    Reg 2:00 PM
    Start 3.00 PM
    Buy In €100 + €20
    Rebuy/Top Up €50
    Starting Stack 10,000
    25 Minute Clock
    Blinds @ 50/100, 75/150, 100/200, 150/300, 200/400, 300/600 … 15000/30000
    Limited to 150 Runners

Structures

Event 2

MAIN EVENT €20,000 GUARANTEED
    NO LIMIT HOLD’EM FREEZEOUT

28th August
    2 DAY EVENT

BUY IN: 220 Euro + 30 Euro Registration fee

REGISTRATION 3:00PM
    START Day 1 4:00PM
    START Day 2 2:00PM

Chips
    Starting Chips 15,000

LEVEL DURATION SMALL BLIND BIG BLIND ANTE

1 45 Minutes 25 25 0
    2 45 Minutes 25 50 0
    3 45 Minutes 50 100 0
    4 45 Minutes 75 150 0
    BREAK ONE HOUR (DINNER)
    4 45 Minutes 100 200 0
    5 45 Minutes 150 300 0
    6 45 Minutes 150 300 25
    7 45 Minutes 200 400 25
    8 45 Minutes 300 600 50
    9 45 Minutes 400 800 50
    10 45 Minutes 500 1000 100
    11 45 Minutes 600 1200 100
    12 45 Minutes 800 1500 200
    13 45 Minutes 1000 2000 200
    14 45 Minutes 1200 2400 300
    15 45 Minutes 1500 3000 300
    16 45 Minutes 2000 4000 500
    17 45 Minutes 3000 6000 500
    18 45 Minutes 4000 8000 1000
    19 45 Minutes 5000 10000 1000
    20 45 Minutes 6000 12000 1000
    21 45 Minutes 8000 15000 1000
    22 45 Minutes 10000 20000 2000
    23 45 Minutes 12000 24000 2000
    24 45 Minutes 15000 30000 2000
    25 45 Minutes 20000 40000 3000
    26 45 Minutes 25000 50000 5000
    Final table will be 9 Handed .
    All levels are timed as above in the schedule of play.
    A dinner break will follow level 3.
    There will be a break at the end of every 2nd level.

Event 3

SIDE EVENT €5,000 GUARANTEED
    Ladbrokes Irish Poker Tour
    NO LIMIT HOLD’EM FREEZEOUT

1 REBUY 1 TOP UP ALLOWED

30th August
    1 DAY EVENT

BUY IN: 100 Euro + 20 Euro Registration fee

REGISTRATION/SATS 2:00PM
    START Day 3:00PM

Chips
    Starting Chips 10,000
    Rebuy Chips 10,000
    Top Up Chips 15,000

LEVEL DURATION SMALL BLIND BIG BLIND ANTE

1 25 Minutes 50 100 0
    2 25 Minutes 100 200 0
    3 25 Minutes 150 300 0
    4 25 Minutes 200 400 0
    5 25 Minutes 300 600 0
    6 25 Minutes 400 800 0
    7 25 Minutes 500 1000 100
    8 25 Minutes 500 1000 100
    9 25 Minutes 600 1200 100
    10 25 Minutes 800 1500 200
    11 25 Minutes 1000 2000 200
    12 25 Minutes 1200 2400 300
    13 25 Minutes 1500 3000 300
    14 25 Minutes 2000 4000 500
    15 25 Minutes 3000 6000 500
    16 25 Minutes 4000 8000 1000
    17 25 Minutes 5000 10000 1000
    18 25 Minutes 6000 12000 1000
    19 25 Minutes 8000 15000 1000
    20 25 Minutes 10000 20000 2000
    21 25 Minutes 15000 30000 2000
    22 25 Minutes 20000 40000 3000
    23 25 Minutes 25000 50000 5000
    Final table will be 9 Handed .
    All levels are timed as above in the schedule of play.
    default.jpg

Charter
    1. Who is running the event - Winstons Poker + Big Slick Events.
    2. The purpose of the event - Commercial.
    3. Date and Location of event - Athlone Springs Hotel, Co, Westmeath.
    4. Registration and Start time of event - as above all events
    5. Any prerequisites - None
    6. How can tickets be purchased & is there a maximum number - Limited to 200 players, tickets can be purchased from myself or Neill
    7. Type of Tournament - Holde'm Freezeout main event, Rebuy/Add on side event
    8. Cost of entry and any subsequent rebuys/top-ups etc - €220 main event, €100 side event
    9. Cost of registration - €30 main event, €20 side event
    10. % of entry fee/rebuys/top-up going into Prize fund - 100%
    10a. Is any money from the prize fund held back for future tournaments, if so, how much - None
    11. Any guaranteed prize pool - €20,000 main event + €10,000 side event
    12. If applicable, Number of re-buys allowed and over what time frame/blind levels. - N/A
    13. Starting Chips - 15k main event + 10k side event
    14. Rebuy and Top-up chip amounts. - side event, as above
    15. Blind levels - Structure Above
    16. Blind timeframes - 45 Minutes main event + 25 mins side event
    17. Places being paid and if any prizes are other than cash - 10%
    18. Are there going to be dealers - and their level of skill - Yes very efficient
    19. Will there be a documented list of rules - Yes
    20. Is there a tournament director - Patrick Kelly + Neill Kelly
    21. How are disputes handled - who has final say - TD has the final say
    Cash Games
    All games, Hold'em/Omaha etc.
    No matter what your game is or your budget there will be a full range of cash tables available.
    Rake @ 5% - with a €20 cap.

Accommodation
    Bookings 09064 44444 or online here e-mail info@athlonespringshotel.com

Athlone Springs Hotel, a Luxury Four Star “Lifestyle Hotel” in the heart of Ireland. Standing on the West edge of Athlone Town tucked away in its own oasis. Enjoying Cutting-Edge design that has been translated to its Conference facilities and a State-of-the-Art Leisure Complex. Dine in the splendor of our split-level restaurant, enjoy a swim or a luxury spa treatment in our Zen Club Leisureplex and Health Spa. For more information click here
    A special cheep rate is on offer for poker players, rates are as follows:
    €119.00 per person sharing for 2 nights bed and breakfast based on double/twin occupancy.
    The rate for a three night stay would be €169.00 per person sharing bed and breakfast based on double/twin occupancy.
    Also, players should note that this hotel is block booked for the Poker weekend, i would strongly recommend to book early and quote "POKER", don't say i did not warn you.

For More Information Please Contact
    Paddy Kelly - 087 6270165 winstonspt@eircom.net or go to to http://winstonspt.com/ to find out more about the M.P.O and other Ladbrokes poker events.

Neill Kelly - 087 2828744 info@bigslickevents.net or go to http://www.bigslickevents.net/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭DAMO72

Looks great Paddy, It should be a sell out with the gaurantee . I will run a few sats for it . Goodluck m8

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 THE ANIMAL

looks like a good poker weekend and a great venue aswell
    and the guaranteed prize pool makes it all the sweeter
    count me in for at least 4 tickets i'll let ya know if i need more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Four of a kind

Great festival planned. I'll def run sats for this nearer the time. Any chance of getting some flyers sent down to me?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 596 ✭✭✭winstons pt

THE ANIMAL wrote: »
    looks like a good poker weekend and a great venue aswell
    and the guaranteed prize pool makes it all the sweeter
    count me in for at least 4 tickets i'll let ya know if i need more

No prob D, tnx m8, tak soon;)

Great festival planned. I'll def run sats for this nearer the time. Any chance of getting some flyers sent down to me?

Np prob with flyers just send me post address in a pm

well paddy ive a few friends comin over from england to play in the mpo
    was wondering what the story with booking rooms and stuff will i go through you or contact the hotel myself? and will ya keep me a few tickets for them?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 230 ✭✭spoofingjam

WOW that's a savage structure for the main event. Keep me a seat please

well paddy ive a few friends comin over from england to play in the mpo
    was wondering what the story with booking rooms and stuff will i go through you or contact the hotel myself? and will ya keep me a few tickets for them?:D

H i D, yes im not surprised that there are lads coming from England as it is a long weekend on these dates (28th/29th/30th/ August, in England) so we will be expecting a few more of are English players coming over for the weekend, you would be better to get in touch with the hotel yourself and quote "Poker" for the special rates, this is only a new hotel and very modern and stylish, BUT they have only 65 rooms and im afraid they wont be able to accommodate everyone but they will be dealing with another hotel close by for the same rates, so i would book now, you can ring them on 09064 44444 or e-mail info@athlonespringshotel.com or go to there web site here you should take a look, its a really nice hotel and the ballroom were all the poker action will be is fantastic, so tell your mates to tell there mates in England they better book NOW, don't say i did not warn ya.
    Regards Paddy (Winstons Poker)

WOW that's a savage structure for the main event. Keep me a seat please

No Probs, if a good structure is your ting, the very same structure and same Guaranteed prize money will be in The Gleneagle Munster Open 2009 May 22-24, Gleneagle Hotel ,Killarney, give Neill a call on 087 2828744

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 BIGBLIND

Looks great, will there be any sats for this?

BIGBLIND wrote: »
    Looks great, will there be any sats for this?

Hi BIGBLIND, first let me welcome you to boards.ie, yes i have got some interest from card rooms, casino's and poker organizers about running satellites for this, i am sure they will be starting shortly (prob after WSOP), so watch this space!!!!
    if any one else is interested in running satellites for this, please feel free to call me, Paddy @ Winstons Poker 087-6270165 or e-mail winstonspt@eircom.net

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭BIG-SLICK-POKER

Online sat details to come after munster open

Neill

And just to let everyone know this is an Irish Poker Ranking event ;)

[FONT=Arial, sans-serif]Thanks, i don't know if you remember me, my name is Derek from Mullingar, i played last year when it was out in Rhode, it was a great game have to say, and you put a lot of work into it, fair play, why Athlone this year??[/FONT]

And just to let everyone know this is an Irish Poker Ranking event ;)

Even bigger than that its a European Ranking event

Neill

[FONT=Arial, sans-serif]Thanks, i don't know if you remember me, my name is Derek from Mullingar, i played last year when it was out in Rhode, it was a great game have to say, and you put a lot of work into it, fair play, why Athlone this year??[/FONT]

Hi Derek, sorry mate but i am no good at remembering names but prob know your face, the reason for Athlone this year is that last year was just a stepping stone for me and i just wanted to get the name (The Midlands Poker Open) out there, and yes i did put a lot of work into it and when it came to the day i was rushed of my feet and short stacked staffed, lol

Online sats will start from June

Neill

Hi Derek, sorry mate but i am no good at remembering names but prob know your face, the reason for Athlone this year is that last year was just a stepping stone for me and i just wanted to get the name (The Midlands Poker Open) out there, and yes i did put a lot of work into it and when it came to the day i was rushed of my feet and short stacked staffed, lol

OK thanks, great event name winston and i hope to make it this year :D

well paddy there was a bounty in last years event on Roy(the boy)Brindley is there gonna be a bounty on Eddie walsh (last years winner) this time round?

Yea i was thinking about that:rolleyes:, i really hope Eddie can make it this year he automatically got his ticket last year when he won so he can defend his title, and so will this years winner:), and yes its like a sole surviver, just another perk for the winner cos we aim to please;), i think i have a picture from last year, i will look and post soon, but yes if Eddie plays there will be a bounty on his head, sorry Eddie:o

We will be giving away 4 seats at each Ipt event for this Gig . 4 In Killarney is next .

We should get out 40+ seats for this on the tour but ill take 30 to start . Any other names u have pop them up Pat

Anyone who is intending on playin Regsiter here

Regards

Neill

Lets Start the List anyhow

1. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    2. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    3. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    4. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    5. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    6. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    7. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    8. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    9. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    10. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    11. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    12. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    13. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    14. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    15. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    16. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    17. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    18. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    19. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    20. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    21. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    22. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    23. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    24. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    25. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    26. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    27. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    28. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    29. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    30. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    31. Roy Brindley
    32. Eddie Walsh
    33. Sylvester Geoghan

picture.php?albumid=594&pictureid=3023

Heres Eddie being presented by Colm Killeen of “Killeens of Rhode” with the crystal chip trophy last year at "The Midlands Poker Open".
    If you would like to see some more pictures from last year just let me know and i will see what i can find.
    Regards, Paddy at Winstons Poker

Lets Start the List anyhow

1. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    2. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    3. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    4. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    5. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    6. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    7. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    8. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    9. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    10. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    11. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    12. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    13. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    14. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    15. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    16. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    17. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    18. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    19. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    20. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    21. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    22. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    23. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    24. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    25. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    26. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    27. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    28. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    29. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    30. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    31. Roy Brindley
    32. Eddie Walsh
    33. Sylvester Geoghan

I think i have one of Vesty somewere, mmmmmmmm now let me see, were did i put the bin:eek: lol, only joking Vesty:D

picture.php?albumid=594&pictureid=3051

Vesty (in the red jacket) takes out Greg Farrely from Edenderry at the final table last year
    Would you like to see more??????????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭cardrooms

I've added this event to the tournament section of the cardrooms.ie website. If you have a banner i can add it to the site too.

I have being getting some calls and e-mails about satellite's for this game, so satellite's will be running shortly land based and on Ladbrokespoker.com, anyone else interested in running satellite's for this please let me know here or send me a PM, this is just an example of what will be on offer for satellite packages:

2 nights stay at the Athlone Springs Hotel for 2 people + B&B + 1 Entry to the Main Event = Value €488
    Any extra Main Event entries required will be €250 each.

3 nights stay at the Athlone Springs Hotel for 2 people + B&B + 1 Entry to the Main Event = Value €588
    Any extra Main Event entries required will be €250 each.
    You can ring the Hotel on 09064-44444, but hurry.

Anyone else who just wants to go directly to the Main Event can just post there names here on the list.
    Regards Paddy @ Winstons Poker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭big_iain

Even bigger than that its a European Ranking event

Neill

It would be interesting to know who cares more about Irish rankings than euro rankings.

Euro rankings certainly give you a bigger field from across the water though.

Either way i'm in. Put me on the list. Gonna kick some euro butt.

1. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    2. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    3. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    4. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    5. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    6. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    7. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    8. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    9. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    10. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    11. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    12. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    13. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    14. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    15. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    16. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    17. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    18. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    19. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    20. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    21. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    22. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    23. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    24. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    25. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    26. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    27. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    28. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    29. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    30. Ladbrokes Ipt Seats
    31. Roy Brindley
    32. Eddie Walsh
    33. Sylvester Geoghan
    34. Iain Cheyne

Registration is Now open on the Big Slick Site

Myself and Paddy are Confident this will sell out so register Early

http://www.bigslickevents.net/registration/

picture.php?albumid=594&pictureid=3051

Vesty (in the red jacket) takes out Greg Farrely from Edenderry at the final table last year
    Would you like to see more??????????

Any more pic's paddy, i think i was sitting at a table behind roy the boy

midlandsopen.jpg

Register

John Corry

Register

Seamus Rabbitte
    Ronan Gilligan

Any more pic's paddy, i think i was sitting at a table behind roy the boy

Don't be fooled by the pictures, it may look dark but its just my cheep cam, there was extra lighting put in

Are you here
    Roy the boy in center of table, wine top, seat 4

picture.php?albumid=594&pictureid=3049

or here

picture.php?albumid=594&pictureid=3050

Eddie with his crystal chip and the moneys

picture.php?albumid=594&pictureid=3022

Are you here

picture.php?albumid=594&pictureid=3048

It could be a case of "where is Wally" LOL

But it all has to end sometime

picture.php?albumid=594&pictureid=3053

Register

Liam Gibney

Joe Rice

4 Seats tonight from Dublin

Names to follow

Just some of the club's who i have contacted and who will be doing satellites for this Event, (shortly or nearer the time) there will be more to follow so watch this space and you will find one near you.
    If anyone else is interested in running satellites for this please send me a pm or just add to the list.
    087-6270165
    The Westbury Club
    Rebel Card Club
    Platinum Poker
    Wad Events
    Harbour Royale
    Banditz Poker Room

Hi Paddy ,

I hope to add the Follwing to the Sat List

Big Slick Waterford
    Jp Poker
    Cue Club Events
    Eglington Casino
    Atlantis Carlow
    Quay Casino Wexford
    Dungarvan Poker .
    Macau Casino Cork

All going well we might get 200 players for

Regards

Neill

Hi Paddy ,

I hope to add the Follwing to the Sat List

Big Slick Waterford
    Jp Poker
    Cue Club Events
    Eglington Casino
    Atlantis Carlow
    Quay Casino Wexford
    Dungarvan Poker .
    Macau Casino Cork

All going well we might get 200 players for

Regards

Neill

Thats great Neill, i am still waiting on a few reply's from other clubs/casinos, but the feed back is very positive and with on-line sat's starting in July, i know in my mind that this will be a FULL HOUSE
    Register on line now at http://www.bigslickevents.net/registration/

Paddy if u have any names to register let me know , I know there will be alot of interest from your players from last year as it went so well.

Here is the list i have so far

Name
    1. Damien Kent
    2. Roy Brindley
    3. Eddie Walsh
    4. John Weafer
    5. Sylvester Geoghan
    6. Iain Cheyne
    7. Marios Dimandi
    8. John Corry
    9. Seamus Rabbitte
    10. Ronan Gilligan