Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Saturday Spin, 25th April

• 23-04-2009 3:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭

10am from Dundrum, route TBD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

Me me me me!!! I am in for a sat spin.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Too late for me, but might see some of ye at the randonee on Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭unionman

Too late for me, but might see some of ye at the randonee on Sunday.

Yep, still on my dance card.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

unionman wrote: »
    Yep, still on my dance card.

I look forward to our waltz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

I might be on for an earlier one if anyone is so inclined. 10 am starts don't get me home till after 4 or even 5 if we do a long route.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,509 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Giving up a surfing weekend for cycling, mainly due to it being cheaper but also because I want to get more kms before the wicklow 200.

I am easy when it comes to start times, 9 or 10am, just be sure to finalise it and print it in big letters! I often get confused as to what has actually been arranged.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

For the folks looking for early spin, I would be up for early one.

For the folks on for late spin, enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭The tax man

jesse2.jpg

This weekend I shall be mostly working.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,660 ✭✭✭Gavin

Back in Naas so it's awkward to get to Dundrum. Pick a route and I could meet yee somewhere along the way perhaps... ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

Possible Sandyford -> right turn just after roundabout up to Jonnie Foxes, Right there and down to viewpoint, the up towards Glencree, over Sally Gap, and decide from there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,423 ✭✭✭pburns

Good luck with the weather lads:(..
    http://www.rte.ie/weather/index.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭MadHatter

pburns wrote: »

Indeed. Caught the RTE forecast last night and they predicted a fouler for Saturday, with Leinster getting the worst of it.

pburns wrote: »

Did i forget to mention the Wimp list was back?

pburns -> wimp list

Is it wiped clean from last year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

pburns -> wimp list
    You should get onto Wimpy Burger to get sponsorship for the list :)

kenmc wrote: »
    You should get onto Wimpy Burger to get sponsorship for the list :)

i think I only ever saw one wimpy over here in Clonskeagh ...

Think there's one in ashford.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 257 ✭✭63587614

Hi guys, novice cyclist here. I just bought a Dawes 200 and I want to get out and build up some milage for the Ring of Kerry.

I also live in the Dundrum area, across form Tiernans school to be exact on Ballinteer road.

Also guys I need help with the fitting of my bike. I feel it's not working with me. I think I need to raise the saddle for more power but when I do that I'm stretching to reach the drop down bars and breaks.

At first I thought it was a matter of adjusting to racer but I want to get the most from the NEW bike. Definitely not comfortable and I know I will especially feel it during long cycle.

Advice will be greatly appreciatiated, can you raise the handle bars on a Dawes 200, model with gears on the frame as opposed to handle bars.

Also, where's best route to cycle for a first timer. I would like to get up the mountains but not totally sure how to get there, I do not want to arrive out on the motorway and be bombarded with cars.

Cheers guys, apologies for rant.

@ 63587614

Dawes 200 is steel, right?

You can go to Joe Daly since you're in Dundrum, I am sure they'd help you with your position. As for a beginners route, along the coast is always nice :)

to get to the mountains, there's several ways. easiest for you is to go up past superquinn to St Johns GAA clubhouse by marley park, take a left there up to taylors three rock pub, stay left at that fork, cross over the motorway and then you can go right at lamb doyles pub up towards johnny foxes.

Dawes Giro 200 Bike (2009)

Frame: Alloy road geometry
    Fork: Steel unicrown
    Cranks: Shimano FC-A050 52-39T 170mm crank
    Bottom Bracket: Sealed cartridge
    Pedals: Black resin
    Front Derailleur: Shimano FR-A050
    Rear Derailleur: Shimano RD-A050
    Shifters: Shimano SL-SY20A 14 speed
    Cassette: Shimano MF-HG37 13-28T
    Chain: KMC Z51
    Front Hub: Quando 32H Alloy black
    Rear Hub: Quando 32H alloy black
    Rims: Double wall alloy
    Tyres: Kenda K-196 700x26c
    Brakes: Alloy single pivot caliper
    Brake Levers: Road lever
    Handlebar: Alloy road bar
    Headset: Ahead 1.1/8”
    Stem: Steel A-head
    Grips: Velo black cork
    Saddle: Dawes Road
    Seat Post: Alloy 27.2mmx300mm
    Weight: 11.2kg

The size I bought is 53 cm. I'm 5 '8.

Yes I would definitely check out Joe Daly, find them very helpful but I bought the bike in Tralee. Feel bad going in there after buying the bike else where.

I think the handle bars are fixed but not totally sure unless I mess around with Alan keys etc to find out if I can raise them.

When you say the coast, do you mean head down towards Dun Laoighre. Ya sounds good.

63587614 wrote: »

When you say the coast, do you mean head down towards Dun Laoighre. Ya sounds good.

From Dundrum to killiney, bray and all ... that could be a good start to test your position.

Ok not totally sure how to follow that route but I will google map it and try to plan the cycle.

Thanks for advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭rottenhat

Hug the coast and make sure you get Vico Road in - nice climb, great view.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 385 ✭✭emty

Should be on for tomorrow.Am just back from the Sallly Gap and it was quite wet and cold up there.Will be wearing marino socks tomorrow :).
    Speaking of wool,there was a lot of spooked sheep around,must be rustlers in the area.Kind of heartbreaking the way they run away from you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,660 ✭✭✭Gavin

emty wrote: »
    Speaking of wool,there was a lot of spooked sheep around,must be rustlers in the area.Kind of heartbreaking the way they run away from you.

Ah don't let it get to you emty, you'll catch that special one someday

Asking for that comeback in fairness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

Should be on for tomorrow.Am just back from the Sallly Gap and it was quite wet and cold up there.Will be wearing marino socks tomorrow :).

Is it full length tights and rain jacket cold, or shorts/leg warmers with base layer/jersey and gilet?

Merino socks go without question, although will more than likely wear the sealskinz tomorrow (and I really dont like wearing them).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭scottreynolds

Wellingtons, Gumboots in my part of the world, are a cracking way to stop them running away. Cycling shoes don't work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 385 ✭✭emty

ROK ON wrote: »
    Is it full length tights and rain jacket cold, or shorts/leg warmers with base layer/jersey and gilet?

Merino socks go without question, although will more than likely wear the sealskinz tomorrow (and I really dont like wearing them).
    Well,I will put it this way:the only danger any of the sheep I met were in from me was of being skinned to use as an extra layer :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭rottenhat

ROK ON wrote: »
    Is it full length tights and rain jacket cold, or shorts/leg warmers with base layer/jersey and gilet?(and I really dont like wearing them).

I was up around Glencree yesterday evening and full length tights and rain jacket didn't seem like enough. It's grand going uphill but as soon as you start descending it's bloody freezing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭The_Claw

I was half-thinking of doing that randonée Sunday, but a spin tomorrow would be just as good I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

Also guys I need help with the fitting of my bike. I feel it's not working with me. I think I need to raise the saddle for more power but when I do that I'm stretching to reach the drop down bars and breaks.

I started about a year ago and needed the saddle up very high, but have gradually lowered it as my legs got stronger.

I also have reach problems. I put on a very short stem and turned it upside down to raise them a bit. But in the last few weeks have put on a slightly longer (only 5mm longer) stem and it points down. I'm still very un-aerodynamic.
    Also, where's best route to cycle for a first timer. I would like to get up the mountains but not totally sure how to get there, I do not want to arrive out on the motorway and be bombarded with cars.

Join a boards spin, my first spin lasted well over double what I thought I would capable of and yes thought I was going to die a few times, but I didn't. People wait and there's no shame in turning back if you're tired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,230 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

I started about a year ago and needed the saddle up very high, but have gradually lowered it as my legs got stronger.

I also have reach problems. I put on a very short stem and turned it upside down to raise them a bit. But in the last few weeks have put on a slightly longer (only 5mm longer) stem and it points down. I'm still very un-aerodynamic

The saddle should be as high as possible whilst keeping smoothness at decent rpms (90-100) throughout the pedal cycle particularly at the bottom of the stroke. This is difficult to determine yourself - helps if someone watches you on a static trainer.

Issued at 24 April 2009 - 15:30
    Heavy rain warning
    Spells of heavy rain expected this evening, overnight and on Saturday with some local flooding. 25 - 40 mm rain possible with parts of Leinster and Munster most at risk

http://www.met.ie/forecasts/warnings.asp

and also some 'light wind' as Tonto would say:
    nat01_wind.png?1553

Issued at 24 April 2009 - 15:30
    Heavy rain warning
    Spells of heavy rain expected this evening, overnight and on Saturday with some local flooding. 25 - 40 mm rain possible with parts of Leinster and Munster most at risk

http://www.met.ie/forecasts/warnings.asp

and also some 'light wind' as Tonto would say:
    nat01_wind.png?1553

I hope you're not thinking of pulling out. The wimp list awaits just over there --->>>

Weather supposed to pick up for Sunday, will be keeping my powder dry for the Orwell spin.

MadHatter wrote: »
    I hope you're not thinking of pulling out. The wimp list awaits just over there --->>>

Weather supposed to pick up for Sunday, will be keeping my powder dry for the Orwell spin.

You don't get on the wimp list if you get in your gear and at least TRY to cycle even if you end up in Eddie Rockets in full aqua sapone kit at the top of the Dundrum shopping centre.

I have a sneaking suspicion you make these rules up as you go along.

Please tell me the Eddie Rockets thing didn't happen.

MadHatter wrote: »
    Please tell me the Eddie Rockets thing didn't happen.

If you like: 'it never happened'

Hmm...might hold off until the morning so, not a fan of wet weather cycling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,230 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    Hmm...might hold off until the morning so, not a fan of wet weather cycling.

Must....resist....

Lumen wrote: »
    Must....resist....

screw it...

is it cos you will get yer hair wet?

Lumen wrote: »
    Must....resist....

I think we all know what happens anyway, Dirk's hair get all frizzy with the humidity.

Oh for crying out loud, no it's because of the lack of grip between wheel and road!

I am going to have to have someone check my posts before I hit "submit".

excellent :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭StudentC

So based on that list, I'm going home now to detach my pump from my frame, and I really shouldn't have spent all that time yesterday evening working out a way to attach it there.....

StudentC wrote: »
    So based on that list, I'm going home now to detach my pump from my frame, and I really shouldn't have spent all that time yesterday evening working out a way to attach it there.....

It's ok ... n00bs don't need to be 100% euro right away ;) You can keep your pump ( I have one too )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 445 ✭✭LDB

Gonna stay local tomorrow and head out to the Randonne on Sunday
    Don't put me on the wimp list as I will do laps of Howth :P

LDB wrote: »
    Don't put me on the wimp list as I will do laps of Howth :P

Me too!