Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny rabbit shooting.

• 22-04-2009 9:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭

Kilkenny rabbits big and bold.
    Dwighet and myself went out for a few bunny's at the weekend. Great day to hunt it was good and sunny. Got to the farm at 12.30 and left around 6pm. This is the second time we have been to this farm and as you can see there's plenty of hunting to get done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭fish slapped

Love the way Dwighet got you scratching your arse :D:D:D:D!!!

As the rule says "we're men and if it itches it gets scratched!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

good one clive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

Love the way Dwight got you scratching your arse :D:D:D:D!!!

I told him not to sit in the nettles

Between that and the way he was waving the leg in the air at the fox shoot I think his underpants must be made of nettles! :D

clivej wrote: »
    Underpants????????

It's OK Dwighet will make you up a pair from the rabbit skins. ;)
    MMMMH! lovely and warm :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭kermitpwee

That video didn't do much for shooting imo. Very few of the rabbits were killed in a humane manner. I would suggest that the op learns how to shoot accurately so that he can kill his chosen target cleanly before he shoots rabbits again. I appreciate that there can be some movement in rabbits after they are shot but the standard of shooting in this video was very poor imo. laughing at wounded animals was also very poor form.

kermitpwee wrote: »
    That video didn't do much for shooting imo. Very few of the rabbits were killed in a humane manner. I would suggest that the op learns how to shoot accurately so that he can kill his chosen target cleanly before he shoots rabbits again. I appreciate that there can be some movement in rabbits after they are shot but the standard of shooting in this video was very poor imo. laughing at wounded animals was also very poor form.

I`ll be the judge of what I laugh at my friend..
    I knew it wouldnt be long till some nit pickers came out of the wood work...
    Have a nice day.Try and laugh once in awhile..Its good for the body...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭gofaster_s13

Hate to be a nit picker as well but the opening shot of the rabbit thrashing around after being shot will not help the shooting cause in any way, any non shooters/hunters looking would be horrified at the way the rabbit was dispatched:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

Have a nice day pwee.
    I'll not get drawn out into taking your bait, see Sparks I'm learning.
    I see Kermit that you don't post in this section often so lets see some of your shooting or would that be asking to much. As you see a 22lr was used and not a centre fire rifle as is used in most of the videos on YT. As you will know (or not) if rabbits are hunted with a centre fire round there's not much left to collect up after.
    We eat what we kill and these amimals are dispatched as quickly as possible.

cj

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Just because a rabbit is twitching like the first one in the video doesn't mean it is suffering. This is involuntary convulsions AFTER death.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

Hate to be a nit picker as well but the opening shot of the rabbit thrashing around after being shot will not help the shooting cause in any way, any non shooters/hunters looking would be horrified at the way the rabbit was dispatched:(

To be fair, the opening shot appeared to me, to be a head shot. Which is as humane as it can get. Maybe one of the lads could confirm this?

I've shot many rabbits in the head & seen this type of reaction.

Looks like it was a good day out fellas...... hope you brought the flask... :D

Trojan911 wrote: »
    To be fair, the opening shot appeared to me, to be a head shot. Which is as humane as it can get. Maybe one of the lads could confirm this?

The point I'm trying to make is the video looks bad to a non shooting/hunting person, the video makes it LOOK like the rabbit is suffering and then to have the hunter laughing at it really adds fuel to the fire, its publicity that the hunting community could do without.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭BryanL

I think if anyone posts pictures or video's of hunting on the net, they should consider what benefits or not it has for Irish hunting.
    As a video presentation of what rabbit shooting is for the general public on an open board i wouldn't think it's ideal.
    Bryan

The point I'm trying to make is the video looks bad to a non shooting/hunting person, the video makes it LOOK like the rabbit is suffering and then to have the hunter laughing at it really adds fuel to the fire, its publicity that the hunting community could do without.

I hear you, but that is, unfortunately, down to their own ignorance of hunting.

They choose to watch the clip which clearly displays the words "Rabbit Shooting".

Just to add to Bryans post...

I have looked through You Tube on shooting clips in the past and actually wondered how some people managed to get a licence. Some shooters come across as shockingly immature and childish, which to me, = dangerous.

I hear you, but that is, unfortunately, down to their own ignorance of hunting.

They choose to watch the clip which clearly displays the words "Rabbit Shooting".

If you were given the task of promoting hunting in Ireland would you use that video ?

Thanks trojan911....Twas a head shot indeed....
    Theres nowt better than a couple of old mates getting out in the countryside popping a few bunnies and having a good laugh...
    There was no flask but were off to do the same this weekend(weather permitting) so a flask will be packed in the kit bag(iced tea of course:rolleyes::rolleyes:)
    Thanks again for te positve comment.

If you were given the task of promoting hunting in Ireland would you use that video ?

In short, yes. I would use clips from that video and combine them with others to run a presentation.

You would use the opening shot of the rabbit thrashing around after being shot to promote hunting in Ireland:eek::eek:

Every shot was either to the head or heart/lungs. I have shot rabbits with thier heads shot off and still they hop around, like a headless chicken.

As too promoting shooting perhaps it's not the best vid to promote the sport but then it was not made to do that. It's a video of a couple of pals on an afternoons hunting and I would say that what you see is somewhat typical of rabbit hunting.

You would use the opening shot of the rabbit thrashing around after being shot to promote hunting in Ireland:eek::eek:

Re read my post. Stop using leading questions. ;)

Every shot was either to the head or heart/lungs. I have shot rabbits with thier heads shot off and still they hop around, like a headless chicken.

As too promoting shooting perhaps it's not the best vid to promote the sport but then it was not made to do that. It's a video of a couple of pals on an afternoons hunting and I would say that what you see is somewhat typical of rabbit hunting.

Surely you mean a "headless rabbit"..... :D

The video is not promotional material i.e. it is not put together professionally the quality wouldn't make the grade either (albeit great for this site/ You Tube etc), but one or two clips could be included in a promo demo.

Re read my post. Stop using leading questions. ;)

I was talking from the start about the video as a whole and not just pieces of it.

I appreciate what the video was about an enjoyable day out and I too have witnessed shots like that however we already have had a major political party come out and say they want a ban on blood sports and a video of a rabbit thrashing around after being shot is not really the best thing to promote hunting on a public forum

The video is not promotional material .

But it has been posted on a public forum and therefore is considered publicity.

"considered publicity" but the video is not promotional material nor intended to be.

BryanL & GoFaster
    Would you have me delete the video and post?

All you have to do is use the "Report Post" icon to alert a Mod to the offensive post if that is what you believe it to be, then they may/maynot delete the complete post as they see fit to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭andyone

the men in the videos are shooting vermin.... which i'm sure the famer in question is only glad to get rid of off his land..... there using .22 subsonics..... for a clean a kill as possible..... because they eat there kills... and there is little enough to eat on them as it is, with outblowing the little creatures to bits..... with heavy calibers....next you'll have them out with .50bmg just to make sure the rabbit which would nearly be twice the size of the bullet is dead....... don't think so..... would you prefere if the farmer put mixo down......

personally after watching this video, i was wishing the lad's had of sent me the co-ordinates for the farm so i could have pointed my110mm howizter in their general direction and got all the bunnies humanely with one shot..........LMAO

I don't find the video offensive, I'm just worried about the negative impact it could have when viewed on a public forum by people who have never hunted.

Andy I see that you did OK with the vermin control/rabbits over the last few days. 5 for the pot :D

ya thanks the farmer fecking hates them.... eating away at his crops as they do........ one of them was 160yds(paces) he also danced and dreamed about being chased by dogs.... but was well dead by the time i got to him..... you just gotta love the ....

.17 hmr........

dwighet wrote: »
    I`ll be the judge of what I laugh at my friend..
    I knew it wouldnt be long till some nit pickers came out of the wood work...
    Have a nice day.Try and laugh once in awhile..Its good for the body...

Not trying to nit pick at all, its been 10 years since i shot rabbits so maybe I have forgotten how much they move around after been shot. If more experienced posters can say that they do move around as much as in your video then I will accept that im in the wrong.

Clive if you say that they were head or heart/lungs shots then thats fine with me. Video can be misleading as it did not look that way to me. Having taken into account what you have said I retract my negative comments and apologoise for any offence caused to you and your buddy.

Kermit all OK here with me I'm used to negitive comments as I do tend to get under some peoples skin BUT thankfully not everyones. :eek:

Your OK by me. ;)

ah guys.... i'm selling my guns and buying a patato peeler...lmao i hear you dont need a licence for one...... the wife can peel a spud at 50 yds....

Not trying to nit pick at all, its been 10 years since i shot rabbits so maybe I have forgotten how much they move around after been shot. If more experienced posters can say that they do move around as much as in your video then I will accept that im in the wrong.

No problem at all....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭k_d

If more experienced posters can say that they do move around as much as in your video then I will accept that im in the wrong.

Its the internet, how can you tell who has more experience? Aer you judgeing by the number of posts? Because if they have alot of posts they must be very experienced.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 460 ✭✭milkerman

Hunting rabbits for the pot = Killing rabbits for the pot.
    I have shot rabbits for the last 30 years with Air rifle, .22 rifle & shotgun. I found the cleanest quickest kills were carried out with the rifle & air rifle. I quickly learned though NEVER to shoot a rabbit beside the entrance to a burrow. It must be a reflex reaction that can cause some rabbits with a massive head wound to still manage to kick back into the burrow.
    The fact is that a great many creatures will kick or thrash about even after death -a la headless chickens. If you cant live with this then dont hunt.
    I looked at Hugh Fernley Wittingwhateverhisnameis' programme about producing organic pork. It showed Mr Piggy being electrically stunned prior to having its throat cut - and guess what? The pig kicked and spasmed for a time. If you cant live with that then become a vegetarian. There was nothing inhumane about it, it is just the way it is.
    Now if we want to talk about cruelty or an inappropriate way to kill an animal could we ever forget about myxo? I walk around empty fields lately. Those same fields last September were filled with rabbits in flitters from the disease. As far as I can make out the whole population appears to have been wiped out- now that is cruel.

milkerman wrote: »
    Hunting rabbits for the pot = Killing rabbits for the pot.
    I have shot rabbits for the last 30 years with Air rifle, .22 rifle & shotgun. I found the cleanest quickest kills were carried out with the rifle & air rifle. I quickly learned though NEVER to shoot a rabbit beside the entrance to a burrow. It must be a reflex reaction that can cause some rabbits with a massive head wound to still manage to kick back into the burrow.
    The fact is that a great many creatures will kick or thrash about even after death -a la headless chickens. If you cant live with this then dont hunt.
    I looked at Hugh Fernley Wittingwhateverhisnameis' programme about producing organic pork. It showed Mr Piggy being electrically stunned prior to having its throat cut - and guess what? The pig kicked and spasmed for a time. If you cant live with that then become a vegetarian. There was nothing inhumane about it, it is just the way it is.
    Now if we want to talk about cruelty or an inappropriate way to kill an animal could we ever forget about myxo? I walk around empty fields lately. Those same fields last September were filled with rabbits in flitters from the disease. As far as I can make out the whole population appears to have been wiped out- now that is cruel.

Well said Milkerman,well said!!!;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭dave999

"considered publicity" but the video is not promotional material nor intended to be.

BryanL & GoFaster
    Would you have me delete the video and post?

All you have to do is use the "Report Post" icon to alert a Mod to the offensive post if that is what you believe it to be, then they may/maynot delete the complete post as they see fit to do.

I'm so gald I did'nt post my Hawk on the hunt video, if I read some of the posts so far.

Having had a great 2008 season with 70+ rabbits, 12 Crows, 4 Ducks and to far many rats, I was thinking about showing the hunting forum what Falconry is all about. I'm to sensitive to take the adverse comments, but not senitive enough to 'despatch' a bunny with a Hawk attached!

In case anyones interested, all the catch goes towards the food for the birds we re-hab AND our plate!

dave999 wrote: »
    I'm so gald I did'nt post my Hawk on the hunt video, if I read some of the posts so far.

Having had a great 2008 season with 70+ rabbits, 12 Crows, 4 Ducks and to far many rats, I was thinking about showing the hunting forum what Falconry is all about. I'm to sensitive to take the adverse comments, but not senitive enough to 'despatch' a bunny with a Hawk attached!

In case anyones interested, all the catch goes towards the food for the birds we re-hab AND our plate!

I would love to see a Hawk in action...... Please, by all means, throw them up for viewing....

I 2nd that indeed..Do show it..Im sure there are many here that would love to see it..

dwighet wrote: »
    I 2nd that indeed..Do show it..Im sure there are many here that would love to see it..

I'd love to show it, but there are just to many mamby pamby's out there to freely take the content and use it for anti hunting purposes. I'll see if there is another way I can put the short vid up that I can let you guys share the excitement (oh... and a bit of gore!).
    David

Post it, nobody can complain about a hawk doing what it naturally does.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭greenpeter

Ah gives us a look

Me too ;)

It is hunting same as shooting is it not?

Just start a new thread and post your footage I for one would love to see it ;)

its funny the way people make there minds up on some thing the know little or nothing about .
    the head shot rabbit was dead before it landed on its back .

a mortally wounded rabbit shot heart/lung can run 20,30 feet with a .22

the same as a deer heart/lung they can run any thing up 200 yards dead on there feet .

any rabbits close to cover or burrow i like to head shoot or not shoot at all .

we as hunters have a duty to ensure all we shoot at is kill swiftly, but with best intentions this does not always happen .
    this way the rabbit was shot again .
    i do get as much out of stalking and shooting rabbits as any other field sport i participate in .

fair play to the lads for sharing with us a typical evenings rabbit shooting ,the fields of ireland would be a lesser place with out "WABBITS "

Reckon shooting bunnies with a 22lr is way more humane than hiting a small defenseless white ball with a club anyday :D Maybe you should stick to the golf :p

jwshooter wrote: »
    fair play to the lads for sharing with us a typical evenings rabbit shooting ,the fields of ireland would be a lesser place with out "WABBITS "

JW I agree, watching the lads video was great, shame some people get the mood on to slag it off. Wabbits are mainstay of many hunting sports and get full endorsment from the farming community. Good on ya lads (shame I do not have the b***icks to share my video - may have an impact on my Charity status!!).

David

JW I agree, watching the lads video was great, shame some people get the mood on to slag it off. Wabbits are mainstay of many hunting sports and get full endorsment from the farming community. Good on ya lads (shame I do not have the b***icks to share my video - may have an impact on my Charity status!!).

David

you dont have to put ur big head it it dave, we just want to see the birds

YEAH DAVE.... EDIT YOUR VIDEO AND PUT IT UP... WE WOULD ALL LOVE TO SEE IT.... to see nature doing what it does best.... it doesnt have to be bloody.... it doesn't have to have the company van in it or some dude wearing a t-shirt which has falcons'r'us printed on it... boards.ie can be as personal or not as you want it to be....... i shant be coaxing you any more......... grow a pair and post it....

Dave get a video together and post it up I would love to see this type of hunting. Now that's getting back to nature.

andyone wrote: »
    YEAH DAVE.... EDIT YOUR VIDEO AND PUT IT UP... WE WOULD ALL LOVE TO SEE IT.... to see nature doing what it does best.... it doesnt have to be bloody.... it doesn't have to have the company van in it or some dude wearing a t-shirt which has falcons'r'us printed on it... boards.ie can be as personal or not as you want it to be....... i shant be coaxing you any more......... grow a pair and post it....

Fek it, you lot are on a roll! I'll do my best to grow a pair ('ladies' front bollix or 'gentlemens' lower bollix - either way!), I'm editing out my mates bird whacking out a duck from some lady's pond around here, as we may get some 'feedback' (shame its the funniest thing I have ever seen, Dave cr**ping himself wading in to a pond, trying to avoid owner and recovering that nights dinner!).

Maybe I'll sell it to 'worst ever sporting disasters' and cop a few zero's (as me Grandad calls Euro's). David