Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

LE CHÉILE AC 5K RUNNER

• 21-04-2009 7:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭

Does anyone know the LE CHÉILE AC 5K RUNNER race?

I'd like to know if it is a fun run or a race for serious guys if you know what I mean.

thx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

I would imagine it welcomes all kinds of ability but theres a guy from the club who will no doubt fill you in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭lecheile

Jeff Bond wrote: »
    Does anyone know the LE CHÉILE AC 5K RUNNER race?

I'd like to know if it is a fun run or a race for serious guys if you know what I mean.

thx

Hi Jeff - just to confirm that its a AAI approved, IAAF certified 5k course. Its a new (and faster) course this year so not able to give you comparable times for this circuit. To give you an idea, last year's race was won in 16:49 by Eric Keogh (Dunore) and Eric's mother brought home the field a little while later. So to answer your question there is a wide range of abilities.

If your interest is in running a serious race, this year our David McCarthy will be setting the pace and we expect a much bigger turnout to last year. If your interest is in running a fun run, disregard the previous sentence :).

If you have any specific questions of want more detail PM me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Drexl Spivey

lecheile wrote: »
    Hi Jeff - just to confirm that its a AAI approved, IAAF certified 5k course. Its a new (and faster) course this year so not able to give you comparable times for this circuit. To give you an idea, last year's race was won in 16:49 by Eric Keogh (Dunore) and Eric's mother brought home the field a little while later. So to answer your question there is a wide range of abilities.

If your interest is in running a serious race, this year our David McCarthy will be setting the pace and we expect a much bigger turnout to last year. If your interest is in running a fun run, disregard the previous sentence :).

If you have any specific questions of want more detail PM me.

Oh thanks for that.

I just want people to arrive after me! ;o) so if everyine is in the 16-22mn I wont enter the race.

But if the race is open to every ability like bigger races such as adidas or bupa in the phoenix park, then i am up for it.

Cheers

Oh thanks for that.

I just want people to arrive after me! ;o) so if everyine is in the 16-22mn I wont enter the race.

But if the race is open to every ability like bigger races such as adidas or bupa in the phoenix park, then i am up for it.

Cheers
    Glad to hear that you are going to run Jeff and feel free to bring some friends along. Have a look at the bhaa races (www.bhaa.ie) as there is always a broad range of runners competing so you are likely to be very comfortable in the middle of the pack.

As an aside, it can be a challange promoting races like this and make them appealing to both experienced runners and people who may be afraid of embarrassing themselves, but in our case and the majority of other races, all are welcome and all categories are typically well represented.

See yo uin a few weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭Stupid_Private

As an aside, it can be a challange promoting races like this and make them appealing to both experienced runners and people who may be afraid of embarrassing themselves, but in our case and the majority of other races, all are welcome and all categories are typically well represented.

All experienced runners should be aware that a race organised by a club will have a competitive element. It's attracting people who are worried they're not of a certain standard that I'd see the issue being. One thing I noted before the cupids dash race recently. They did no great marketing that I can think of but managed to drum together 700+ to compete in the Phoenix Park. My club also ran a 5k in the Phoenix Park on New Years day and didn't get over 300. A lunch time start should get higher numbers even with the day that's in it.

The cupids dash did market there's on the ads on facebook. You can target the ads specifically at people in ireland with running/jogging/racing/etc mentioned in their profiles. The ads cost about 10c a click or something like that - well worth it though if you're hitting the right people.

All experienced runners should be aware that a race organised by a club will have a competitive element. It's attracting people who are worried they're not of a certain standard that I'd see the issue being. One thing I noted before the cupids dash race recently. They did no great marketing that I can think of but managed to drum together 700+ to compete in the Phoenix Park. My club also ran a 5k in the Phoenix Park on New Years day and didn't get over 300. A lunch time start should get higher numbers even with the day that's in it.

The cupids dash did market there's on the ads on facebook. You can target the ads specifically at people in ireland with running/jogging/racing/etc mentioned in their profiles. The ads cost about 10c a click or something like that - well worth it though if you're hitting the right people.
    That's good advice re facebook SP - thanks. Funnily enough I remember looking at the Cupid's dash race and once I got over the floating hearts that chased my mouse around the screen - I nearly choked at the price they were charging. I'm shocked to hear that they got 700+ out.

Regarding the social runner we have been trying to encourage women preparing for the women's marathon to attend given that the distance and timing of our event are ideal. Here's hoping...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭W.B. Yeats

Le Cheile

Don't mean to be deliberately dull-
    I'm thinking of doing your 5k and would be hoping for a time of something around 26min.
    What was the slowest runner around in last year?

That's good advice re facebook SP - thanks. Funnily enough I remember looking at the Cupid's dash race and once I got over the floating hearts that chased my mouse around the screen - I nearly choked at the price they were charging. I'm shocked to hear that they got 700+ out.

I was out with my camera that day and bar the top 5-10 runners the standard wasn't great(sorry Robinph :D), alot of club runners seemed to stay away, so how they got 700 is def a credit to the marketers and there was a great buzz within the runners doing it and you might see me run it next year if it gives me a chance at a top 20 finish :D not really

W.B. Yeats wrote: »
    Le Cheile

Don't mean to be deliberately dull-
    I'm thinking of doing your 5k and would be hoping for a time of something around 26min.
    What was the slowest runner around in last year?

Perfectly valid question WB...in last year's race the last runners came home in at over 38 minutes.

There will be runners in this year's events that will be still running when you are well finished and your heart rate is back to normal. And if not, I promise to go around again :D

That's it! I have entered the race! :o)

Thanks for the info.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,147 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Woddle wrote: »
    I was out with my camera that day and bar the top 5-10 runners the standard wasn't great(sorry Robinph :D), alot of club runners seemed to stay away, so how they got 700 is def a credit to the marketers and there was a great buzz within the runners doing it and you might see me run it next year if it gives me a chance at a top 20 finish :D not really

Personally I'd have said that it was once you got below ... erm ... let say 17th place ( that's just a random number I picked ) the standard wasn't that great. ;):D

But, I do agree. There is no way that I should have been coming in 17th in a field of 700+ runners in any other race. Although I did come 27th out of 1,500 in a marathon before, but that again was due to it being and unusual mix of the standard of entrants which you would not normally get.

In any race though there will always be someone slower than you, and faster than you, well except for two people.

That's it! I have entered the race! :o)

Thanks for the info.
    Well done Jeff - see you in a couple of weeks. And please feel free to bring along any of your friends be the fast or slow ;-)

robinph wrote: »
    Personally I'd have said that it was once you got below ... erm ... let say 17th place ( that's just a random number I picked ) the standard wasn't that great. ;):D

But, I do agree. There is no way that I should have been coming in 17th in a field of 700+ runners in any other race. Although I did come 27th out of 1,500 in a marathon before, but that again was due to it being and unusual mix of the standard of entrants which you would not normally get.

In any race though there will always be someone slower than you, and faster than you, well except for two people.
    I think you are being unkind to yourself robinph...Its a well known international fact that to finish within the top 2.5% (say 17th out of 700) of any race, can be considered an elite performance. If you are going to be running LeCheile 5k, will you be looking for appearance money? ;-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 redcloud

I know what you mean Jeff, I am planning a sub 30 minute, challenge me if you dare....

SP - just took up your suggestion and set up a facebook ad for our race. Its really a simple process and apparently there are 6900+ people registered on facebook aged over 16 in ireland who are interested in running, jogging or athletics. A simple three step process where you set the amount you are willing to spend and voila, you are advertising on facebook.

All I need now is 10% of them to show up on the 9th and we'll be laughing. (btw if they do, that's a pint I own you ;-) )

I received a couple of PMs re best way to get to Leixlip, so reckon it worth providing some detail here.

Leixlip is 13 miles west of Dublin city centre (a lovely distance and not a bad route for running home from work :)).

Leixlip is well served by both bus and train.

Trains (Maynooth / Longford line) leaves from Pearse station and you get off at the Lexilip Louisa Bridge (2nd Leixlip stop). The Leixlip Amenities Centre is located 300m from the train station. Go out of the station and turn right, you will be on the final approach of the race (nice gentle downhill) to the centre and the finish on the grass running track. Timetable here

Bus - the 66 bus (Maynooth) stop right outside the Amenities Centre. Bus leaves from Pearse Street. Timetable here

If there are any other questions, Please ask :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭woundedknee

Hi LeCheile,
    When does the online registration close? I'm trying to encourage a few mini marathon runners to enter.

runnerbean wrote: »
    Hi LeCheile,
    When does the online registration close? I'm trying to encourage a few mini marathon runners to enter.
    Runnerbean - online registration will be possible until Wednesday 6th May. Registration will also be possible on the morning of the race.

It will be a good race to prep for the mini marathon in terms of distance and timing before the race. The more the merrier.....thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭gmurran

Has anyone run the Le Cheile 5K before. Website says it's a good course for PB. It's on this coming Saturday in Leixlip.

Been a few months since I did a 5K

http://lecheileac.blogspot.com/

Anyone interested in running Leixlip 5k on Saturday -

Online booking for €10 can be completed here.

Alternatively registration on the morning will be possible for €12.

gmurran wrote: »
    Has anyone run the Le Cheile 5K before. Website says it's a good course for PB. It's on this coming Saturday in Leixlip.

Been a few months since I did a 5K

http://lecheileac.blogspot.com/

gmurran - I have just sent you a PM

Thanks did you click submit nothing came through.

Mods.....had posted to older thread before I saw this thread started (not an attempt to blatantly plug the race :o) - merge if you think appropriate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭GoHardOrGoHome

Anyone interested in running Leixlip 5k on Saturday -

Online booking for €10 can be completed here.

Alternatively registration on the morning will be possible for €12.

I just registered last night Le Cheile. Also have two friends definitely doing it and another potential two people. I was talking to WoundedKnee about it yesterday. Pity he'll miss it.

I'll look out for you there.

I just registered last night Le Cheile. Also have two friends definitely doing it and another potential two people. I was talking to WoundedKnee about it yesterday. Pity he'll miss it.

I'll look out for you there.

Thanks GoHardOrGoHome - you'll recognise me as the guy who is togged out to run but appears to be warming up by accepting registrations, directing stewards, and making sure that the kettles are boiling :D

I'm hoping to be there with the camera but again it will depend on herself giving me permission and if I'm to be honest, I've had a good run up to now :D

yes, new course this year with a start outside the Amenities centre in Lexilip and a finish on the 400m grass track behind the centre.

Course route attached.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭kennyb3

Woddle wrote: »
    I'm hoping to be there with the camera but again it will depend on herself giving me permission and if I'm to be honest, I've had a good run up to now :D
    will you let me know if you ll be there in advance. perhaps i could give you my membership fee and get one of the boards singlets off you as i plan on doing few races in next few weeks

yes, new course this year with a start outside the Amenities centre in Lexilip and a finish on the 400m grass track behind the centre.

Course route attached.

Just signed up online
    Looking forward to the race now, here's hoping that I'll be able to make a PB

W.B. Yeats wrote: »
    Just signed up online
    Looking forward to the race now, here's hoping that I'll be able to make a PB
    Thanks WB - see you on sat - if you wish to declare target time, I might be able to find a pacer for you.

Thanks for that but I don't think I could inflict my goals on anyone.
    This will only be my 3rd 5k so there's still plenty of room for improvement
    First one was 31.12
    Second one was 27.19
    I'm hoping for this one to be around 25min.

Maybe I'm crazy but I'm hoping to get to 20 min by the end of the summer. I'm only training 6 weeks or so from a completely standing start (about 4 yrs of sitting on my fat arse) and want to keep on improving as I get fitter.

All signed up and had a good study of the course I'll be aiming for a new PB on Saturday. 16:37 is my current but think I can go sub 16 on a good course. Cant wait.

gmurran wrote: »
    All signed up and had a good study of the course I'll be aiming for a new PB on Saturday. 16:37 is my current but think I can go sub 16 on a good course. Cant wait.
    that's the spirit gmurran - all we're short now is a fine, bright, calm morning like we have this morning - roll on Saturday!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 5k runner

Hi I have also signed up for this race. I signed up through runireland.com
    I received a confirmation email back, so was just wondering if I need to bring a printed version of the email with me or will I just need to give my name on the morning?

5k runner wrote: »
    Hi I have also signed up for this race. I signed up through runireland.com
    I received a confirmation email back, so was just wondering if I need to bring a printed version of the email with me or will I just need to give my name on the morning?
    Thanks 5k Runner - given that you have registered on-line you will have a number waiting for you with your name wirtten on the back (job for me this evening :) )

On the morning of the race you will be directed to the 'fast-track' registration line which unlike the Ryan Air model will have actually cost you less. Please feel free to walk past the long line of people registering on the morning and smile!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 5k runner

Hey thats great, really looking forward to it now, have only been back running a couple of weeks after a year out from the sport. So my first 5k is prob goin to be painful! Ah well it has to be done, lets hope we get a nice sunny day for it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭kennyb3

This is my first ever race so i have a few questions:

1. What time should i get there having booked online (do i need to bring anything to show this with me?) to receive my number as mentioned above? any advice actually re what to do when i get there would be appreciated.

2. how many are expected to run and hoping for about 22mins should i line up in about mid field or further back?

3. How is it timed? chipped?

4. Do i need to do anything after bar warm down stretch and head home?

Also does anyone have any advice re driving to it? like which exit off M50 and where to go from there. also are there parking facilities in the amenity centre?

God im a bit nervous already!

And just to let you all know i ll be wearing holland shorts black ones but with illumious orange trim so i should be easy to spot. come and introduce yourself, be nice to meet some faces to go with names!!

Thanks,

Brian

kennyb3 wrote: »
    1. What time should i get there having booked online (do i need to bring anything to show this with me?) to receive my number as mentioned above? any advice actually re what to do when i get there would be appreciated.

There will be a number waiting for you with your name on it in the pre-registered line. I suggest that you give yourself 45+ minutes before the start of the race to collect number, get warmed up and familiarise yourself with the last 800m of the run. There are changing facilities and showering facilities available in the centre.
    2. how many are expected to run and hoping for about 22mins should i line up in about mid field or further back?

Its a difficult one to judge re final numbers. This year is a first for a number of reasons - new course, first time registering online, first time advertising through facebook and first time holding the race at this time of the year. I hope to be very pleasently surprised with the turnout on the nice sunny day on saturday. The challenge in trying to get an event like this established is that is can take the same effort to arrange for 50 or 500. At 22minutes I expect that you will very comfortable in the middle of the pack - just make sure that as you are running the you keep WB Yeats in your rear view mirror :)
    3. How is it timed? chipped?

I'm afraid that the budget for the event does not stretch to chipped timing but you will be issued with an accurate time for an accurately measured 5k course that will be recorded with and published by the AAI as a matter of public record and achievement!
    4. Do i need to do anything after bar warm down stretch and head home?

You can join us for a cup of tea (and a homemade bun!) and a chat, and regale those gathered about the mix of emotions felt from your waking after a poor nights sleep (nerves having kicked in the night before) to the joy of having passed the line in a very respectable 22 minutes for your first 5k race.
    Also does anyone have any advice re driving to it? like which exit off M50 and where to go from there. also are there parking facilities in the amenity centre?
    Take the N4/M4 exit off the M50 and follow road to 'Leixlip West / Celbridge West' exit (Junction 6). Heading towards Leixlip West. Go straight through next roundabout, and take the second exit at the next roundabout (this stretch between the roundabouts is part of the race route) - you will pass Lidl supermarket on the right and the Leixlip Amenities Centre is on the Right (thanks BombSquad) at the traffic lights. There is plenty of parking at the centre. Google Maps location here.
    God im a bit nervous already!

Glad to hear it. Otherwise you are not taking it seriously ;)
    And just to let you all know i ll be wearing holland shorts black ones but with illumious orange trim so i should be easy to spot. come and introduce yourself, be nice to meet some faces to go with names!!

I'll look out for the trim and will certainly introduce myself.

See you on Saturday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭BombSquad

you will pass Lidl supermarket on the right and the Leixlip Amenities Centre is on the left at the traffice lights.

Think you mean on the right at the lights... If you get this far though you won't miss it! :)

BombSquad wrote: »
    Think you mean on the right at the lights... If you get this far though you won't miss it! :)
    thanks Bomb Squad - you are of course correct - its a very obvious right at the lights....will edit and correct.

This is my first ever race so i have a few questions:

Thanks,

Brian

:eek:Jaysus, first 5k and looking for 22min....
    Seems like some us started from a lot further back in the fitness stakes!

Hope you enjoy it and I'll say hello if I see you

WBY

Its a difficult one to judge re final numbers. This year is a first for a number of reasons - new course, first time registering online, first time advertising through facebook and first time holding the race at this time of the year. I hope to be very pleasently surprised with the turnout on the nice sunny day on saturday. The challenge in trying to get an event like this established is that is can take the same effort to arrange for 50 or 500. At 22minutes I expect that you will very comfortable in the middle of the pack - just make sure that as you are running the you keep WB Yeats in your rear view mirror :)

Ha ha very funny laugh at the unfit man:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭AJCOT

Entry tomorrow morning is still O.K I take it?

AJCOT wrote: »
    Entry tomorrow morning is still O.K I take it?
    yes ajcot - you can register in the morning - leave yourself plenty of time, if half the people turn up who expressed interest - we may have a queue!

That was great!

Looking forward to going back next year!

Will the results be published on the website?

Agree it was a fantastic race. Well organised and an enjoyable course. Can you do anything about the wind next year?

Recent injuries came back with a vengance today and I got left chasing after the first climb. My 2nd and 3rd kilometres were around 3.20 so I knew I wasn't going to be catching up.

The grass finish was a good challenge. I'll be back next year and will be recommending it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Great race, nice scone afterwards too :)

Will be back next year.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,147 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Good race, nice cakes aftrerwards. Could have done with a bit less of a breeze though when trying to get up the hill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭AJCOT

Good race, well organised & friendly atmosphere.Grass finish was very enjoyable. Well done to all concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,500 ✭✭✭jlang

I set off far too fast (again) and paid the price with interest. Thank goodness for Laura Moriarty's election posters smiling down at me. A new PB just under 20 minutes but I feel I should have been nearer 19.

+1 on the cakes!