Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lions Squad Announcement: SSN 1:30pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭steelbar

Can't wait!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

Will this be broadcast online?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭chupacabra

Noopti wrote: »
    Will this be broadcast online?

On setanta ireland only. If you are a member of eircom then you can watch setanta ireland for free at http://setanta-video.eircom.net/eircom/channels/Live.aspx

You may have to refresh that domain again after the "check system" page.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

chupacabra wrote: »
    On setanta ireland only. If you are a member of eircom then you can watch setanta ireland for free at http://setanta-video.eircom.net/eircom/channels/Live.aspx

I am an eircom customer......at home, which I presume is why I am getting an error when trying to watch in work. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭budhabob

just in regards to this, has the setanta sports on eircom resumed? there was a previous thread on this saying it had been cancelled?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Shane Williams rumoured not to have made it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 823 ✭✭✭MG

buck65 wrote: »

He would have made it last year - hard to justify his inclusion this year, plenty of good wingers around.

budhabob wrote: »
    just in regards to this, has the setanta sports on eircom resumed? there was a previous thread on this saying it had been cancelled?

It never stopped. They just removed all reference of it from their site, and took the link down to watch it live. Trying to conserve bandwidth i think.

But ive been using it all year now, for all the irish ML games and the Premier League matches too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭budhabob

But ive been using it all year now, for all the irish ML games and the Premier League matches too.

Ah feck it, and theres me searching everywhere for weblinks. crap! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Stealdo

I'd be delighted if he was left out. Nothing against him as such but always thought his ability when not 100% on his game was outweighed by his short comings.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

Im too late for the prediction thread so im predicting earls and halfpenny.

Ok lads, squad announcement coming up. I dont ive ever been as apprehensive about a "press release" before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Dubh Geannain

It's on Newstalk too I think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Auvers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭conf101

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

The excitement!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

christ I am dying to know !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

will yous get on with it

I have a good feeling about this year !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,686 ✭✭✭EdgarAllenPoo

I hope that guy doesn't give the team talks, they'll fall asleep before they get on the pitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭jamieh

He's in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Jeez....loads of Irish!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭jamieh

G'wan Quinny :D

No Bull!? :(

Lots of surprises!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 312 ✭✭Cuchulain

Earls and O Leary :eek:

Quinny & Ferris too

13 Irish

Quinny and O'Leary? That's a shock, no Irish props.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭themont85

No Jones!

POC the captain. Well done Paul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭damoz

anyone have the full list?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Good to see Earls in there.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭Hennybug

13.35 Squad named:

Backs: Lee Byrne, Rob Kearney, Shane Williams, Lee Halfpenney, Ugo Monye, Luke Fitzgerald, Tommy Bowe, Tom Shanklin, Jamie Roberts, Brian O'Driscoll, Keith Earls, Riki Flutey, Ronan O'Gara, Stephen Jones, Mike Phillips, Harry Ellis, Tomas O'Leary

Forwards: Jamie Heaslip, Andy Powell, David Wallace, Stephen Ferris, Alan Quinlan, Joe Worsley, Martyn Williams, Alu-Wyn Jones, Paul O'Connell, Donncha O'Callaghan, Simon Shaw, Nathan Hines, Gethin Jenkins, Adam Jones, Andrew Sherdian, Phil Vikcery, Euan Murray, Jerry Flannery, Lee Mears, Matthew Rees

themont85 wrote: »
    No Jones!

Alan Wyn & Stephen Jones were mentioned I think

I hope Earls makes a good showing. Are my maths right, only 2 Scottish players? Not a surprise really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭themont85

Apologies no R Jones! Big suprise even if he wasn't playing well.

Most dissapointed for Armitage, Darcy, Jones, Hayes.

No Ryan Jones though.

Surprised that Croft or Armitage wasnt there.

Think he mean's Ryan Jones, thats quite the shock alright.

Hennybug wrote: »
    13.35 Squad named:

Backs: Lee Byrne, Rob Kearney, Shane Williams, Lee Halfpenney, Ugo Monye, Luke Fitzgerald, Tommy Bowe, Tom Shanklin, Jamie Roberts, Brian O'Driscoll, Keith Earls, Riki Flutey, Ronan O'Gara, Stephen Jones, Mike Phillips, Harry Ellis, Tomas O'Leary

Forwards: Jamie Heaslip, Andy Powell, David Wallace, Stephen Ferris, Alan Quinlan, Joe Worsley, Martyn Williams, Alu-Wyn Jones, Paul O'Connell, Donncha O'Callaghan, Simon Shaw, Nathan Hines, Gethin Jenkins, Adam Jones, Andrew Sherdian, Phil Vikcery, Euan Murray, Jerry Flannery, Lee Mears, Matthew Rees

I didnt want to see Flutey. Vickery is past it. No room for the Bull :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭LightningBolt

Armitage very unlucky to miss out in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭Evil_Clown

Hennybug wrote: »
    13.35 Squad named:

No Ryan Jones and no Blair players that would have been certainties a few months back, really goin on current form for his picks

Sad that the Bull missed out, would have been nice reward and his last chance at a Lions test place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Paul is having a good old chuckle at Gatland...... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

Hilarious moment in the press conf when Gatland questioned on recent spat with POC..O'Connell just sitting there grinning like a chesire cat...definitely a rub between the two...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭madds

Did you see the look on POC's face when Gatland said he was really looking forward to playing with the Irish guys, "guys of real quality". POC was looking down at his feet laughing.

Need some more time to look through the names, but initial my reaction is that its a good squad picked on form.

14 Irish players in total, g'wan ya good thing.

Apart from the fact that the players will only have been together for a short period of time I can seriously see them either getting a clean sweep or at least winning two out of the three tests.

Backrow option are immense, only trouble I could see is in the front row.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭spoon

Amazed to see Quinlan got into the squad! Happy for the guy though, there was a cheer in my office when his name was announced anyway!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,420 ✭✭✭✭athtrasna

13 Irish

14!!

Kearney
    Bowe
    Fitzgerald
    O'Driscoll
    O'Gara
    O'Leary
    Earls

Heaslip
    Ferris
    Wallace
    Quinlan
    O'Callaghan
    O'Connell
    Flannery

Yippee!!

Mind you there'll be 8 very tired Munster lads getting on that plane on the 24th of May :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭Rattlehead_ie

Fair play Earls

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

Powell ahead of jones and worsley ahead of croft? I wonder if worsley wasnt a wasps player would he have been picked. very harsh on armitage also and darcy must be very dissapointed a couple of below par performances and out the door.

On the other hand great for Ireland and big opportunity for o gara with only two 10s.