Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Films you cried during but really shouldn't have.

• 17-04-2009 10:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 333 ✭✭

This came up in conversation one day between a few mates of mine, some of the notables were;

Gladiator.

Transformers.

Remember the Titans.

Top Gun.

Anyone have any embarrassing confessions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Slightly off topic, not a film, but sports results have often made me cry.

police academy 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Actually had a lump in my throat after Slum Dog! I expected to hate it after all the hype but loved it. The Notebook is another one..ive seen it 4 times and still bawl!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

E.T.
    I was 6 or 7.
    Wasn't happy when Donnie died, but it didn't make me cry.
    I'm fairly emotionless when it comes to that sort of stuff.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Mean Girls :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭corkkaz

Armagedden

A walk to remember

remember the titans

and all d soaps im a sap :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭jollygood

dead poets society. even my dad cried!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

police academy 4

The last one whatever number it was had me in tears as well.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 696 ✭✭✭XxXciaraxXx

Ya I cried at Transformers aswell! I cried yesterday when my sister showed me a youtube clip of Christian The Lion!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,924 ✭✭✭Nforce

Marley n' Me......aw c'mon ,how could you not.....

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 696 ✭✭✭XxXciaraxXx

Oh and the Goonies!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

shawshank always spills the tears:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 333 ✭✭CoachBoone

The Notebook hardly counts as one your really shouldnt have cried during. I dont know a single girl that hasnt cried during it. As for the lads, I guess you could be forgiven...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

CoachBoone wrote: »
    Gladiator.

Have only in my life cried watching one film, Schindler's List, wasn't actually crying, don't know what it was really,shock and awe or something just had tears running down and hadn't noticed or made a sound.

That was until recently.Went to the cinema to see Gladiator at the time it came out, have the DVD and watched it a load of times over the last few years.... was watching about 2 weeks and started crying, really bawling. No idea why.

I cant even think of Bambi without misting up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

i saw marley and me with a hangover.i cried like a girl.
    lion king-who didnt?

+1 to the guy who said sports results make me cry.its out of pride and happiness.some of the video montages of the grand slam got a lump in my throat and on reeling in the years when they show italia 90-it shows an old man in his 70's/80's id say watchin it in the rds.hes standing up applauding and in floods of tears-always gets me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭ahara

Red Dawn

Seeing those brave young men mow down those commie sons of bitches made me sad that we never got the chance to enjoy World War 3

Hold up.

Bambi doesnt count. Neither does the Lion King. You'd have to be inhuman to not cry when Mufasa dies. Jesus Christ.

The Notebook hardly counts as one your really shouldnt have cried during. I dont know a single girl that hasnt cried during it. As for the lads, I guess you could be forgiven...

Female and didnt cry at it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭Leprachaun

I tend to get steamy not when watching emotional bits but actually when dramatic revolutions are made,especially when they're completely unexpected.

EDIT: I also hate when people's dogs die in movies,but for some reason I don't care when the people die. :P

corkkaz wrote: »

Blackheart

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭GirlInterrupted

You are made of stone!

I cried during I Am Legend.

When Will Smith had to dispatch his dog, I was utterly devastated.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭marko91

slumdog millionaire makes me sad how the girl he loves is forced into sex with his brother and when shes older he scares her face:eek:GREAT MOVIE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

I didnt cry as such but I nearly did watching The bridges of Madison county .

I was urging Meryl Streep at the end to ' go go girl .....jump outta the car ' :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

I laughed during Titanic. Twice actually.

First time when the guy fell from the top of the ship when it was
    sinking
    and hit the propeller.

Second time when Jack
    sank
    and it looked like he was waving goodbye to the posh English bird. Cue a swift dig in the ribs from my aunt who was bawling crying.

You are made of stone!

I cried during I Am Legend.

When Will Smith had to dispatch his dog, I was utterly devastated.:(

Yup I am Legend. Jesus, that was a tough one. A dog, an innocent friendly zombie fighting dog.

Speaking of Will Smith, Pursuit of Happiness got me, but I suppose thats kinda warranted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

I cried during the movie on Wed night on RTÉ 1 called Crash when the little lation girl runs out and jumps into her fathers arms with his magical cloak around her to save him from the persian guy who shoot the gun only for it to be blanks he is firing.

ha not made of stone at all. i am the biggest sap ever but i didnt cry at the notebook. that part in i am legend had me crying too :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Nforce wrote: »
    Marley n' Me......aw c'mon ,how could you not.....
    I know what happens in the end so i know i cant watch that in the cinema without roarin cryin and askin the person behind/in front/behind me how much they love their dogs and end up a snivellin mess! (my dog is 13 and goin through chemo) :o

I bet u a tenner..chug down a few glasses of vino, dark room, bad day...and you'll cry!!!! If not....eh....wheres the Hard Hearted Forum??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

netwhizkid wrote: »
    I cried during the movie on Wed night on RTÉ 1 called Crash when the little lation girl runs out and jumps into her fathers arms with his magical cloak around her to save him from the persian guy who shoot the gun only for it to be blanks he is firing.

That was a very very close run thing with me, heart was in my mouth. Great film though.

anniehoo wrote: »
    I bet u a tenner..chug down a few glasses of vino, dark room, bad day...and you'll cry!!!! If not....eh....wheres the Hard Hearted Forum??

a bad day would make anyone cry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,264 ✭✭✭JBoyle4eva

I cried at Crash....but for some reason, I cried when the Asian child is blankly staring at a shop of TVs....made me feel sad at the time for some reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭Birdie086

My bladder is VERY close to my eyes, I've been known to cry watching Eastenders, sad I know. I'm always the first to bawl my eyes out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

bigkev49 wrote: »
    I laughed during Titanic

I havent been able to take that film seriously once. Went to see it in the cinema, all was grand, enjoying it like everyone else until some howaya shouted out 'Oh my god it's gonna f***in' hit da' huuuge oicecube'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

For me, it's more about the music in a film.

I could watch a death scene in a movie and feel nothing if there was no music.

Cue the music with the same scene and I fill up, this tends to happen more if I am already feeling down.

But it is more to do with the accompanying music than the actual scene for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭Darkbloom

Monsters Inc - the end scene!

also Wall-E.

Never cried at Titanic or The Notebook though, hmmm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Hold up.

Bambi doesnt count. Neither does the Lion King. You'd have to be inhuman to not cry when Mufasa dies. Jesus Christ.

I guess I'm a monster then.

I don't cry watching films, because I'm a man and they suspend my disbelief enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭jigglywoo

Aliens Vs Monsters 3D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 482 ✭✭Mont

Ya i cried during Crash as well though not the film ye are on about - im talking about David Cronenbergs version where people had sex with people in horrific car-accidents

Also Predator (god i loved that little fella)

Saw IV as well - tear jerking stuff

Actually serious:
    The Matrix
    Let the Right One In
    Little Miss Sunshine
    Lots of underdog sports movies eg Friday Night Lights etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 530 ✭✭✭Placid_Casual

I got a bit teary watching Amelie on TV one Christmas.

I might qualify that by saying I was at a low ebb in my life and i'd had a few.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

I could watch a death scene in a movie and feel nothing if there was no music.

Cue the music with the same scene and I fill up, this tends to happen more if I am already feeling down.

But it is more to do with the accompanying music than the actual scene for me.
    Yes i find that music added to a scene, especially with strings can be the difference in feeling or making a connection to the film .

Raging bull is one that springs to mind, when the violent boxing scene is slowed down and a classical (well known) piece of music is introduced .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

i cried during "Burn after reading" due to the fact i spent 10 quid to see it. Epic load of bollocks. Walked out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

JBoyle4eva wrote: »
    I cried at Crash....but for some reason, I cried when the Asian child is blankly staring at a shop of TVs....made me feel sad at the time for some reason.

Probably just a feeling of alienation and isolation the image elicited.

I often find that photos of night landscapes or brightly lit city streets deserted touches creates a sort of emptiness inside me.

Yeah, this happened me at the end of
    Big Fish. It's an emotional scene but then Pearl Jam's "Man of the Hour" comes on and a few tears roll down my cheek. Was in the cinema at the time so became pretty self concious of it.

Same with Donnie Darko. I felt no emotional attachment to the characters in that film but Gary Jules' version of Mad World really struck a chord with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

I hate seeing any film where an animal dies like the previously mentioned parts in I Am Legend & Marley & Me. Although that doesnt just apply to films. I couldnt even watch Animal Hospital :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,461 ✭✭✭Queen-Mise

i laughed all the way through titanic. Pure crap.

Forest gump when the girl is dying and when she is throwing rocks at the fathers house.

Cant think of any films where i cried, when i shouldnt have, except the ones where its cries of laughter. For example csi - i know its a tv show, but i cant help but laugh at the poses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭**Caroline**

The end of the movie Juno

...I KNOW!:rolleyes: Although in my defence, I was pregnant watching it (hormone city). That's my excuse anyways! lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 618 ✭✭✭pipsqueak

lamb , liam neeson

first and last!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

Titantic had me in bits back in the days:(

Was close to tears in I am Legend when the dog was about to die.

I remember a film as a kid when these 3 dogs run away. Was crying for hours after that:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭Aisling(",)

Babe pig in the city

it had me in floods

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

Had a lump in my throat at the end of Crash i must admit.

Not a movie but when Dr. Mark Greene died in ER I burst into tears in front of the girlfriend. She nearly broke out a defibrillator.