Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Phase 4 Pay??

• 16-04-2009 10:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 386 ✭✭

Im going to be attested in afew weeks lads and fingers crossed im on the way to that but I was just windering if someone can tell me how much we will get (net) per week on phase 4 with the increased levy etc. This place is mad for the rumours and if what I hear is correct then Im in trouble!! There is a ready reckoner on the GRA site but it doesnt say what your net amount would be. Assuming I have no loans etc.

An approx figure would be great and no guesses please..:)

Cheers

T

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭cpstears

You might try sticking this out in the main emergency services area not just recruitment more likely to get a phase 4 to read it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 386 ✭✭tunner

cpstears wrote: »
    You might try sticking this out in the main emergency services area not just recruitment more likely to get a phase 4 to read it.

Dont have a lue how to do that mate...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

tunner wrote: »
    Im going to be attested in afew weeks lads and fingers crossed im on the way to that but I was just windering if someone can tell me how much we will get (net) per week on phase 4 with the increased levy etc. This place is mad for the rumours and if what I hear is correct then Im in trouble!! There is a ready reckoner on the GRA site but it doesnt say what your net amount would be. Assuming I have no loans etc.

Cheers

T

With everything taken off your wages incl levies, medical aid etc etc about €400 a week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

Typical.

Not even out of the traps and he's whinging about the levy.

Money grabbing guards.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 DeltaHotel26

TheNog wrote: »
    With everything taken off your wages incl levies, medical aid etc etc about €400 a week

Wow, if you were working minimum wage you wouldn't make much less than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

tunner wrote: »

Cheers

T
    deadwood wrote: »
    Typical.

Not even out of the traps and he's whinging about the levy.

Money grabbing guards.:D

I'll get there before you dw

Raw_Peanuts_in_Shell.jpg

Seriously though think its safe to say of nog says 400 then thats what it is now.

Wow, if you were working minimum wage you wouldn't make much less than that.

Preaching to the choir

I hear guys at work complaining about how good public servants have it. Wonder if they'd still like to trade places.

The wages do get better to be fair and honest but not that much. A Garda or any non ranking or higher public servant will never make a fortune from the job. They will get along but in the boom times we had the same wage when a lot were getting increases left right and centre.

Still though considering what's involved in the job it appears quite low. I suppose there are a lot of people out there who want to be Gardai, so like any job if there's surplus supply wages will be lower.

Nobody joins AGS to get rich. Normally its just the job that attracts people (nobody thinks of the pension at 20 yrs, although the media would report it differently:rolleyes:)

Here is a link to the pay scale. Hope you can get access to it. Its the second box and shows years served etc. before tax of course

http://www.gra.cc/payscales.shtml

I'll get there before you dw

Raw_Peanuts_in_Shell.jpg
    What are you saying?
    You pay peanuts and you'll get monkeys?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,450 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

Nobody joins AGS to get rich. Normally its just the job that attracts people (nobody thinks of the pension at 20 yrs, although the media would report it differently:rolleyes:)

Here is a link to the pay scale. Hope you can get access to it. Its the second box and shows years served etc. before tax of course

You mean I wont be buying the villa in spain after 5 years service??????
    Bad form, looks like i'll just have to buy a tent and head to west Kerry

What are you saying?
    You pay peanuts and you'll get monkeys?!

Ou ou ou ou ou.........gorrillas sometimes!!:p

Interesting reading, would clear up a lot of misconceptions doing the rounds at the moment if people read that. I totally agree that it is a love for the job itself that attracts recruits. That shouldn't allow those in charge to short change those on the front line. Wages don't have to be high, just sufficient to adequately compensate people for the job they do.

As with the first comment you quoted...preaching to the choir!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭Whitewater-AGS

Dont forget once a month you'll get your big cheque which on phase four after loans and medical aid ect ect worked out about €700

For information of AGS spouses/partners. "Big Cheque" is a euphamism for....the cheque we get....that all the other monthly expenses are taken out of....or something.

Phew. Mrs DW needs a new iron, wants an electric one. Can't be throwing money away, Whitewater!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭Whitewater-AGS

For information of AGS spouses/partners. "Big Cheque" is a euphamism for....the cheque we get....that all the other monthly expenses are taken out of....or something.

Phew. Mrs DW needs a new iron, wants an electric one. Can't be throwing money away, Whitewater!

Didn't mean to let the cat out of the bag on you deadwood:p
    Does Mrs DW know about all those sub cheques;)
    Ooops........................

I'm making it sound alot better than it actually is before the anti PS nazis start!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 gdamedic

Works out at about €603 before tax and all the deductions for a normal wk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭daithip

Forget about joining, have a few kids and let the state pay:D. Check out this letter to the Indo during the week, makes you think???

http://www.independent.ie/opinion/letters/now-golfing-pays-better-than-work-1708412.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭gerire

Phase 3.5-4 pay:
    Salary 519 + allowances and rent
    Deds Tax, med aid, pension, "Pension related" PRSI

Leaves the average 3.5er with 400 not including their loans

Why are guards only too happy to discuss their salaries, detuctions, overtime etc in public? Whether it's in the pub or on the internet, the guard is the only one in the room telling all and sundry about how much/little they earn!

What always was and ever will be I guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭jt123456

Do you get these as soon as you start phase 4?

jt123456 wrote: »
    Do you get these as soon as you start phase 4?

Yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 441 ✭✭Murphy(Cork)

Yes

After probation isn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 booms mcd

no, you have to apply on completion of probation. nice wee bump.

After probation isn't it?

Woops.....dont tell finance!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 441 ✭✭Murphy(Cork)

Woops.....dont tell finance!!

I'm on hold at the moment ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭DrIndy

TBH - working in the emergency services or in hospitals is only for a certain group of people who can handle the stress and even revel in it.

No amount of money would make me do my job if I hated it - but the caveat is that because we love our jobs, we don't need huge financial renumeration to make us go out and get on with it.

DrIndy wrote: »
    ...but the caveat is that because we love our jobs, we don't need huge financial renumeration to make us go out and get on with it.
    Easy for you to say, Doctor!:D