Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jimmy McGee

• 15-04-2009 4:01pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭

He was probrably a good, competent, commentator years ago but I swear to god I fell asleep during the Bayern - Barca highlights on RTE last night. Ive nothin against the guy but fuppin hell that was just annoying. He should have given up years ago. He does not seem to know any of the players names either which is interesting except Messi - everyone else it took him a good few seconds to pronounce who was on the ball. It was just boring to watch. And don't get me started on the goals - there was just no sense of emotion there at all. It's like the guy just woke from the grave and went into the studio....it was that bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

I am pretty sure at one stage he mixed up Yaya Toure with Daniel Alves... I'm struggling to think of two players who look less similar... Maybe Crouch and Defoe...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

There was a thread on this a while back and I'll repeat what I said then - he the single WORST commentator around. Boring as fuck and his knowledge of the modern game is awful. Should've retired years ago.

Memory Man me arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,363 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Jaysus lads he is in his mid 70s and has survived brain cancer, give the man a break.

He was the voice of sport when I was growing up and for that I will always have a fondness for Jimmy.

It's not that big a problem in fairness, he is given the odd highlights match and boxing match, tis hardly a big deal.

The likes of Jimmy should be respected and not mocked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

The guy is a gem. The Bernard Dunne world title fight he forgot to mention Dunne was knocked down twice in 30secs. This whilst actually still blabbering on about Dunne being brilliant whilst being knocked on his arse ! I laughed so hard. Honest to god anyone listening on the radio and no actually watching on RTE wouldnt have had a clue Dunne was put on his arse !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,571 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Neil3030 wrote: »
    I am pretty sure at one stage he mixed up Yaya Toure with Daniel Alves...

Noticed that aswell. He also referred to Keita as Toure for the entire game

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

The man is a Legend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭simonw

He's brilliant. That said, i wouldn't like him to commentate on a game I was really interested in... I love all his little asides about random stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,082 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

He is a legend, but should stick to boxing these days.

I just DVR'd the full match on Setanta and watched it after the Chelsea/Pool match instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Retire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭Tom65

It's good craic when they stick him on the World Cup matches no one really watches, he can be fairly entertaining. But when it's a serious football match your after, he's not the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Zonda999

Tom65 wrote: »
    It's good craic when they stick him on the World Cup matches no one really watches, he can be fairly entertaining. .

Completely agree!

In these scenarios, he knows none of the players or anyrthing and just sort of commentates in general. Quite entertaining to be fair!:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Not sure why anyone who rates him would want his declining years played out on tv to be honest. He's past it like Murray Walker was by the end - both institutions but at some point its time to call it day, while you still have some dignity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Fair enough he was a great commentator back in the day but how RTE can't replace him with someone who understands the modern game is beyond me.

I'm sure he's a lovely chap on a personal level but as a professional football commentator he just doesn't cut it. He's always stating the obvious too. Who is he trying to be? Andy Gray?

Remember watching the Euro's last year and he was commentating on an entire match. After 20 minutes of him yammering away, only then does he bring in Mark Kinsella, his commentary partner.

RTE need to get new commentators. Also replace George Hamilton..... Was wrecking my head last night during the Liverpool match.... Pronouncing Lucas like Lew-cash..... Arrgh.

I suppose Jimmy isn't as bad as Dion Dublin commentating on Sky Sports the odd time. "When I was playing yeah, I always done hit the ball wiv my right innit?" *shudders*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,602 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

I noticed that after Keita's goal he had no clue how to pronounce the name and just stayed silent while he presumably went through his notes which i LOLed at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

I'll put the same quote here as i did in a previous thread about Jimmy Magee. This is by Gogglebok from the Euro 2008 finals and is quite possibly my favourite post on Boards

gogglebok wrote: »
    Jimmy Magee maykes the odd mistake, but it doesn't taint the essence of the man. Other pundits commentate on the match. Jimmy commentates on the cosmos, and lets the match unfurl behind him. Yesterday he gave us a little discourse on hot dogs on trays, and how they seem quintessentially American even in a European's hand.

"As we sit there's a fly buzzing out his melodies near the window. The shafts of sunlight falling on its back lend it a shimmering beauty, Mark, that truly belies its reputation as a noisome pest, the carrion crow of the insect world. Houseflies are bigger here than at home, Mark, did you notice that? I wonder is it a matter of nutrition, or is there some Darwinian principle of selection at work."

"Holland have scored, Jimmy."

"So they have, my boy, so they have."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,789 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

God I can't stand him.

George Hamiliton is also a plank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Zonda999

That_Guy wrote: »
    Also replace George Hamilton..... Was wrecking my head last night during the Liverpool match.... Pronouncing Lucas like Lew-cash..... Arrgh.

Indeed, WTF is with that, he does a similiar thing with Dirk Kuyt. That said, i genuinely dont know how to pronounce "kuyt", all the commentators seem to say it differently:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

RTE need to get new commentators. Also replace George Hamilton..... Was wrecking my head last night during the Liverpool match.... Pronouncing Lucas like Lew-cash..... Arrgh.
    LUCAS

Usage: English, Dutch, French, Portuguese, Spanish

Pronounced: LOO-kəs (English), LUY-kahs (Dutch), loo-KA (French), LOO-kəsh (Portuguese)

Zonda999 wrote: »
    Indeed, WTF is with that, he does a similiar thing with Dirk Kuyt. That said, i genuinely dont know how to pronounce "kuyt", all the commentators seem to say it differently:rolleyes:

I pronounce Kuyt like kite. I know a lot of commentators pronounce it like K-out.

eirebhoy wrote: »
    LUCAS

Usage: English, Dutch, French, Portuguese, Spanish

Pronounced: LOO-kəs (English), LUY-kahs (Dutch), loo-KA (French), LOO-kəsh (Portuguese)

Ah come on now. I don't think George Hamilton went into that much research.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,024 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

darkman2 wrote: »
    He was probrably a good, competent, commentator years ago but I swear to god I fell asleep during the Bayern - Barca highlights on RTE last night. Ive nothin against the guy but fuppin hell that was just annoying. He should have given up years ago. He does not seem to know any of the players names either which is interesting except Messi - everyone else it took him a good few seconds to pronounce who was on the ball. It was just boring to watch. And don't get me started on the goals - there was just no sense of emotion there at all. It's like the guy just woke from the grave and went into the studio....it was that bad.

He was absolutely terrible, I was thinking the exact same thing while listening to that.

Ah come on now. I don't think George Hamilton went into that much research.
    Seriously? He must spend more time checking up the pronunciation of names than the rest of the world's commentators combined. :D You can be certain that Hamilton checked up the proper pronunciation of Lucas.

Fair play to him if he does do that but I just wish he hadn't opted for the most annoying way to pronounce it even if it is the proper way to pronounce it. I was praying for Rafa to take him off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

I pronounce Kuyt like kite. I know a lot of commentators pronounce it like K-out.

I speak Dutch having lived in Holland for a few years and I can tell you that the 'kite' pronunciation is completely wrong.
    The 'k-out' one is more correct but the 'ui' sound in Dutch is unique to the language and the sound does not exist in English. It's like 'ow' but the last sound is really strung out....I remember it took me a long time to learn it!

I know a lot of you will be fascinated by this but these are the issues that keep me awake at night.:D

BTW: Who is Jimmy McGee? I've never heard of him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Jimmy has had his day, a legend in his pomp but increasingly his commentaries are bordering on the bizarre.

Aidric wrote: »
    Jimmy has had his day, a legend in his pomp but increasingly his commentaries are bordering on the bizarre.

I reckon RTE slip something in his tea for comedic effect.

They should make that 'something' cyinide and do us all a favour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

monkey9 wrote: »
    They should make that 'something' cyinide and do us all a favour.
    LOL

terrible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Magee_pic000757_display.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

Gimme Jimmy over that Ger Canning any day. Canning should be allowed near soccer commentating the same way Gary Glitter should be allowed near a creche

I thought Giles was funny commenting on Jimmy last night, something like "I think he just makes them up as he goes along Bill". :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭brayblue24

I didn't hear Jimmy last night so as such I have nothing to contribute to this thread other than to say I think its the wittiest I have ever seen on Boards. I say this wishing him no ill will as I know he has suffered personally, but.... Keep 'em comin:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

He's a decent commentator when he tries (or learns the names of the players).

Give him a break he is no spring chicken but he is still better than having Marty Morrisey commentating :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

All i can say is his metaphors are hilarious - I wish I could think of some right now but he makes them up on the spot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

Jaysus lads, will you give him a break.

He is fekin old and had a brain tumor or whatnot removed, and he lost a son to a horrible disease

He has more than served his duty for RTE Over the years he might be shoving on a bit but he doesn't need all this slagging as he has nothing to prove to anyone at this stage.

cant get any clips from 'that' maradona goal unfortunately

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-rW-lK9F6TU

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭chupacabra

Jimmy's a legend. Should maybe start thinking of retirement now, but i for one love his commentary. Dont take things too seriously.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Why are you lads even bothered. RTE is ****e FULL STOP. Jimmy is probably the best they've got. At least he's entertaining.

I thought Giles was funny commenting on Jimmy last night, something like "I think he just makes them up as he goes along Bill". :D

That was actually a great quote that Jimmy said in fairness, attributing it to Shankly. Giles said he didn't remember Shankly ever saying that and that's when he said "I think he just makes them up as he goes along Bill".

The quote Jimmy was referring to was describing a team with a couple of fantastic players in it. "It takes eight players to carry the piano and three to play it!" Brilliant, who ever thought of it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,206 ✭✭✭gustavo

Fair play to him if he does do that but I just wish he hadn't opted for the most annoying way to pronounce it even if it is the proper way to pronounce it. I was praying for Rafa to take him off.

LOL like those crazy Irish with their Kyo instead of Kee o ,

gustavo wrote: »
    LOL like those crazy Irish with their Kyo instead of Kee o ,

Or when Sky try to pronounce Keith Fahey's surname. I've heard it pronounced Fa-hay, Fay, Foy, Fee, everything but it's proper pronounciation. I mean, how hard is to say? Really!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

Give him a break he is no spring chicken but he is still better than having Marty Morrisey commentating :pac:

"The man who brought sex to the GAA" - Pat Spillane

Yeah, but with farmyard animals!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,129 ✭✭✭NabyLadistheman

Legend of a man. Past it now as far as commentating goes.

monkey9 wrote: »
    Yeah, but with farmyard animals!

Durrty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,727 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Danger Here is a legend.

The only real question is how to preserve him in ice so his iconic voice can continue to commentate on Ireland game's until the end of time.

noodler wrote: »
    Danger Here is a legend.

The only real question is how to preserve him in ice so his iconic voice can continue to commentate on Ireland game's until the end of time.

If you're that desperate you could just splice together a whole load of commentary from years gone by.

Seems like a lot of hassle though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,727 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Stuff like

"And its come through here.....McAteer!!!!!!!!!!!!! Amsterdam Revisited, theres been agony this afternoon-now...theres ecstacy!"

OR

Interupting Beglin who is giving Staunton the MOTM in Ibrachi to say "and (but?) heres Robbie Keane.....YYYESSSS!!!!....That is no more than Ireland deserve.

Of his simple YES! when Keane put away the Spanish peno.

You couldn't splice that together! Christ he could be replaced with F****** Darragh Maloney when he leaves...

We should get this guy to do our commentary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭Rekop dog

Who else would that jeff kenna's great uncle was part of an very underated ireland team in the 1930's. Jimmy is untouchable imo.