Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How many people here have been involved in a crash?

• 14-04-2009 12:15am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭

How many people here have been involved in a crash?
    and where?
    I'll add a poll later!

How many people here have been involved in a crash? 106 votes

no
    0% 0 votes
    yes(was a passenger)
    42% 45 votes
    yes(was a driver was my own fault)
    32% 34 votes
    yes(was a driver wasn't my own fault)
    25% 27 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

Driving from Dublin to Cork ....I had the front left tyre blow-out on me just over 5yrs ago.....front of car was smashed in, back of car was smashed in.... I had a cut above my right eye.

luckily a passing ambulance (transporting a patient from one hospital to another) ....anyway passing ambulance decided to bring me to hospital - concussed....I managed to text a number of people "crashed car...on way to hospital now"

Caused a bit of panic amongst family members and my boss as I didnt tell anyone where along the route the car was crashed or what hospital I was going to, and from what I was told my boss phoned and I said just "talk to the ambulance guy."

car was written off (Ford Fiesta - my first car - that I actually owned)

FREAKY PART - my parents were away on hols at the time and that night, my mum woke up in tears thinking about her mother - whom passed away two years previous.(not exact day 'cos that would be too wierd)

Ps. the cheek of the hospital bill to give me a bill for the ambulance..... I remembered that there was already someone in it ...and when I said it they halved the bill straight away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Poll needs a 50/50 blame option. I'm not answering till then.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Driving towards Portarlington one sunday morning about 2 years ago, driving past an old church driving way to fast, lost control of the car, front left hand side of my car hit a wall, spun me around 360. Absolutely terrified off crashing again. Lesson learnt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭but43r

3 weeks ago on castleblayney road, man ran into back of my car and forced me into a pole, my car was written off (99 Renault Laguna) Nobody was injured :)

Years ago when I was still living in Latvia my dad wanted to teach my cousin to drive. We took a small road out in forest where there was no cars around. My cousin crashed the car after 4 min of driving (1990 Audi 80) it was written off too. Lucky enough nobody was injured...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭ecdl07

I was a passenger in a car happened at the dunkettle interchange in Cork!!!!!!!!!!!There wasn't to much damage done to our car! The other one wasn't so lucky!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

On the morning of the first of April 2008 I was standing on a footpath talking to a friend when a drunk student in a honda civic smached into the back of a taxi and spun onto the path and knocked me, my mate and another girl down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭ecdl07

Seaneh wrote: »
    On the morning of the first of April 2008 I was standing on a footpath talking to a friend when a drunk student in a honda civic smached into the back of a taxi and spun onto the path and knocked me, my mate and another girl down.

were ye ok?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

Should be a multiple choice poll as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭hobochris

I had a run of bad luck last year.. I had a girl hit me(she was coming up the wrong side of the road at a junction) I was turning from a major road to minor road, she hit the drivers side... her fault.

Then while my car was being fixed I was going from blanchardstown to my gfs house, tallaght, coming up to the tollbridge in the left most lane(didn't have any change for the car only lane), a truck in the middle lane decided He wanted to get into my lane, so without indicating and Im guessing without a mirror check he swerves accross. His trailler wheels went over the side of the car and over the bonnet. only a few inches away from me. I was able to walk away the car was ****ed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭tfitzgerald

last year i was driving out by the castletroy park hotel a joyrider aka little sh1t in a stolen car crossed the road and hit me head on. did me a nice bit of damage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Just a fender bender from behind when I was a passenger, wouldn't consider that a crash.

Why are results hidden?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,449 ✭✭✭MarkN

Does this count? :D

Walked away from it too so I feel pretty lucky somedays when my hand isn't killing me (main bit of my injury).

One thing I will say about crashes that are serious enough, they make you appreciate that the things we love (cars) can turn on you in a second.

side1-1.jpg
    cayman1.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭Lobelia Overhill

I was driving along the road, there were cars parked bumper to bumper either side (poss a funeral in town?) anyhoos, I'm passing a junction [to my right] when a car comes out and bashes into me. The other driver didn't even look in my direction, just pulled out. I saw the car, and assumed they were sneaking out as they couldn't see properly, so I kept going (I was only doing 20mph).

Other driver sits there and looks at me WTF?! so I got out of the car. They shrank back in their seat and squeaked "that man waved at me to come out"

Right, so that means you don't need to look?

I no longer pay any attention to anyone waving at me to pull out from a junction, and for some reason I'm paranoid about cars coming at me from my left ... I don't bother about anything on my right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Jeapy

I was hit head on by a drunk driver. I was stationary and she drove over on my side of the road, hit the front right of the car, kept driving and took the side of the car with her too. She didn't even stop (it was in the middle of a town on a Sunday evening), and abandoned her car around the corner. She payed for it, but never even apologised! My car damage cost 1,500-2,000 alone! Still annoyed about it 4 years later!
    The Gardai took a whole 15 mins to come to the scene from the station which is no more than 300-400metres away. They charged her with (I think) dangerous driving, drink driving, leaving the scene of an accident and not reporting an accident....then dropped all charges about 2 weeks later even though there were independent witnesses (good oul smoking ban!) :eek:.

Was in two accidents within 2 months (as a passenger) along the exact same straight stretch of road! Both times, another car pulled out onto the main road without looking, hitting the back passenger side.
    Nobody hurt in any of the 3 incidents though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,924 ✭✭✭Nforce

4 write offs......no injuries ,though.None that were my fault, however I've been driving like Miss Daisy ever since as I was lucky to escape the last crash alive....never mind without any injury.
    Almost had another one this morning when a tailgater nearly ran up the arse of my car. That chap wasn't as lucky though as the van driver behind him wasn't paying attention (on his mobile phone:mad:) and ran up his arse instead:rolleyes:.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

When I first got my full licence my da put me on his policy - That was around Feb 2005....

In April 2005 I was taking a left turn on a back road, there was mud on the road from a building site near by & it was raining that morning, and a Dublin Bus stopped at the junction coming from the direction I was turning towards......

Anyway, I turned the wheel, but the car just kept skidding right, and I slammed the driver side of the car into the driver side of the bus. Bus didn't budge, car was a write-off. No passengers on board at the time thank god (multiple claims!). Myself and the GF were able to walk away from it. Bus driver was sound, he reported it to D.B. and they had someone from their head office there within minutes (who said that he had informed the Gardaí - but he hadn't at the time) meanwhile he was hassling me trying to get me to accept all responsibility. Gardaí turned up after we put a call in to report it. They were satisfied that it was an accident due to mud on a wet road at the corner....

I've always hated the same road since. I drive on it probably only once a month on average, but always remember what happened and how lucky we were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,010 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Biker ran a red light, ploughed the side of my mom's car. Wrote off the car, wrote off the bike and he ended up into the steel fencing around the traffic island with serious injury's. He tried to claim in was green later.

This is with my mom being the 4th or 5th car going through the junction, him doing at least 60mph and a petrol station camera having captured the whole thing. Was a funny video, I must go looking for it.

Biker ran into the side of my car about six months ago, he was overtaking at speed around a blind corner far out on the wrong side of the road. I was turning right. Totally his fault but he was in a rush because his wife was in hospital in labour. So left it alone and he went on his way as the damage was minimal.

Haven't hit anything on my bike yet, four months and counting. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 757 ✭✭✭milod

Bendy road, loose chippings...

I hate front wheel drive cars, but at least it was a rental!

There were five of us in the car - nobody hurt apart from a few sore shoulders from the seat belts and one passenger with ringing ears after the side airbag went off.

DSC01253.JPG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭felim

I can't pick two of the answers. I've been involved in a crash where it wasn't my fault and one where it was.

The one where it wasn't my fault, I was hit by a dump truck while stopped and pulled in. That was about two years ago

The one where it was my fault, I was just in too much of a hurry (late picking up my GF for her college graduation ball) and pulled out in front of an oncoming car, misjudging their speed. Both cars written off and a severe lesson learned. That was 10 years ago and it was a pretty ****e night overall, we eventually got to the ball where an hour in there was a power cut and the whole thing was cancelled...ended up in our local night spot, her in her dress, me in my tux. We got some weird looks that night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭anthony4335

only been in accident that caused damage and it was not my fault, A truck ran a red light at a traffic junstion and forced me off the road and into a pole. He kept going can still see his face looking back at me, that was 1994. Have had a fair few near misses as well, some my own fault, especially in my earlier days of driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

completely my fault, was in a hurray, took some back roads near blach, I didn't know very well,
    There was a sharp 90 degree bend, and a load of bulding material, pebbles and gravel on the road,
    lost control on the corner, managed to bring her back under my control and brought the car to a stop, I was on the opposite side of the road parrell to the ditch,
    then when I was stopped, and going thank god.. the ground under the two wheels at the ditch gave way and the car dropped down on its side 5 feet, a tree root mangaled the roof and destroyed the pillars....
    brand new Astra design, only 4 weeks old.... written off (BER) .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭Farls

Road near my own house in Cavan, drunk driver came round left hand bend completely on my side of the road. I swerved to his side to avoid him but too late and head on collision occurred. Both of us in jeeps, both written off, smell of drink of the lad nearly knocked me out. Very lucky I wasn't driving a car. Currently going through the courts as he fled the scene amungst other things :mad: Lot more too it but not for a public forum! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

Funnily a few of the accidents here seem to be caused by building debris and loose chippings. steviecakes when you collided with the Dublin Bus did Dublin Bus claim off your insurance, because from the sounds of the accident both of you and Dublin Bus should have been claiming off the scumbag builders and developers who left the road like a pigsty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

netwhizkid wrote: »
    Funnily a few of the accidents here seem to be caused by building debris and loose chippings. steviecakes when you collided with the Dublin Bus did Dublin Bus claim off your insurance, because from the sounds of the accident both of you and Dublin Bus should have been claiming off the scumbag builders and developers who left the road like a pigsty.

Everyone would rather blame anything but themselves...... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

Everyone would rather blame anything but themselves...... ;)

exactly, in my case road crap from builders or not, I was driving incorrectly for the road conditions...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

I skidded and hit a wall......is that classed as a crash:confused:
    or are you looking for crashes involving two vehicles??

btw why is the poll hidden??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭triple-M

me and 4 other lads squashed into a fiesta goin on a spin back in 07 tearin it down the backroads took a corner too fast and ended up upside down in a ditch had to be cut out by the fb as the doors were crushed shut and nobody could move yet alone try and break a window:rolleyes:memories

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭NiSmO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,192 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Far too many... run off the road; rammed in to; rear ended - think my old car was invisble or something; was in one with my mam where a Dublin Bus came on to the wrong side of the road and ripped the side off the car.

The "rammed" one originally went down as 100% my fault, is currently changed to 50%/50% and probably likely to get flipped to being blamed on the other driver as it appears there was something VERY dodgy going on in the insurance firm. Not going in to much detail as its still ongoing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭nogoodnamesleft

Rear ended by a provisional driver driving unaccompanied who I suspect was also on the phone at the time. Was stationary at the time car written off, 2k damage car in front, 1 k damaged to car infront of that. 100% blame to the learner. Shoulder has to have surgery as well as occassional back and neck pain. Guards should have sought a conviction for driving without due car and attention IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

Was hit sideways on a million years ago - driver coming out of a side road on my right apparently didn't feel like stopping. Shunted me sideways into a wall, my drivers door was crushed in a bit. It was all relatively low speed, but the thing that irks me to this day was the fact that he immediately jumped out of his car (leaving me trapped inside mine as his engine is now at my right knee) then starts taking down my details from the front of the car. No "how are ya?" or anything - I can understand not saying "sorry", as that could be taken to be admitting liability. His wife was sitting in the passenger seat, and I remember the two of us just looking at each other with our mouths open for what seemed like forever (was probably only a minute). She eventually got out of the car and wobbled over to me and spoke to me (nicely). I'd say he was in the bad books at home for a while :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,475 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

3 crashes on motorbikes as passenger..very scary..not hurt though lucky enough..the one serious one I had a gear bag and as I was sailing through the air had the foresight to throw it in front of my head when i landed.(no helmet..20 years ago )

1 in a car..mate the fcukin idiot did a chicken run across a main road...car (4 of us) was hit by a nissan micra doing 60...
    Got out of the car roaring "I can't see...I can't see"
    Uncle hands me my glasses which had knocked off with the force of the impact...how no one was hurt again was beyong me..thank christ it was a micra and not a bloody truck.

and why's the fcukin poll results hidden?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭NewApproach

None thank God *touches wood*, however I've only been driving for about 2 years.

Can we see the results please? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

yes, whats the story with the poll results

will they be revealed at the finish date or wha??

calling all mods

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

Havnt been in a crash yet, not driving long though

Not a good driver by any means until youve been in a crash that was your fault imo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,664 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Lol
    Where would I start :rolleyes:

ok
    16,,Took the fathers car for a spin. Mk1 Cortina.too fast on a corner...Landed on its side. Result ... Sore Ar$e when I told the father :D

18 .. Bike....Yamaha 350... 75mph....Suddenly out of nowhere a Yellow AA escort van crossed the road in front of me....WALLOP.... Over the roof...Result... Lots of stitches on right leg ...

18 .. Morris 1300 GT... Again..around a bend too fast.. Ball joint popped out.. No steering.... Cross the road and in through a ditch... Bye Bye car...Result... Empthy pocket to replace car..

22... Back of a bike Pi$$ed :D... Mark 2 Cortina shot out of a crossroads infront of us.. Guy driving bike slammed back braked and we slid into the car sideways.. result.. unconcous.. Off to hospital .. Crutches for 3 weeks as internal bleeding in one leg.. ( I can still remember the pain of it ) :o

24.. Mk1 Granada... 2 days short of one month after taking out finance on it.. met up with the wrong buddy.. Got twisted and foolishly drove home.. result... 3 years paying for a dead Granada and 12 months off the road with a £350 fine :(

33.. ( one week before my son was born )Opel Ascona 1.8 sri... Something happens with the rear brakes when I hit them to stop.. both rear wheels locked up at 60mph in the wet... result... Car written off.. another to pay for while not having it..

33 .. (Day my son was born one week after the Ascona )
    Buddy loaned me a Vauxhall Astra as he knew i had no way of getting my wife to the Hospital on the day.. as it happened I got her there.. Went home to collect my Mother to bring her to the hospital to see my son.. Stopped in traffic and the next thing all I remember was a wallop from behind .....result
    Buddys Astra written off.. :eek:

35... Driving for a Curior (sp) greasy road in Scotland... BMW stopped suddenly.. Artic in front of me stopped suddenly.. I was almost stopped when the load I was carrying slid forward and gave my van an extra bit of momentum.. result... 2k worth of damage to the Van.. Dealer told my employer not to say a word to me because at that i time I was putting up more mileage than our local patrol car..:D

36... Driving an Opel Ascona 2.0i past an entrance one day and a woman came out the side road without looking....Wham... in my door... Result..knocked me out of comission for six months as i twisted my spine...and a long drawn out court case to get he to pay for it..

45... Driving a Nissan Primera... Stopped at a juction of a road leading to a main road.. BANG... Attacked from behind again... Woman in a Megane.. Result.. Back of Primera in $hite... I asked her if she would pay to fix my car.. Guess what her reply was???
    Ha.. I will of course .. IF YOU FIX MINE AS WELL..!!! :eek:
    LOL

Another drawn out period of waiting to get paid when she finally after 2 years admitted to it.. :cool:

Most recent was in my Cordoba 1.4tdi where I skidded across a flower bed in my local Shops car park.. result.. Burst one tyre and damaged the sidewall in the other..

Fingers crossed I am finished by now :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭Vain

Vectra, id say you should take the bus from now on:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

Vain wrote: »

I reckon we should build a special padded room for him :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,664 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Vain wrote: »
    Thoie wrote: »
    I reckon we should build a special padded room for him :D

LOL
    I reckon I should stay at home :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,192 ✭✭✭✭L1011

I'm not even sure I'd want to to be on the same bus as vectra! Although I'll probably have figured like that myself after 29 years of driving 60,000km a year...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,890 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

I've been knocked down 3 times?

Does that count?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭satcie101

Was driving from Roscommon to Dublin at night, just came over the brow of the hill and in front of me was a car which had reversed out on the road. It all happened in a split second, braked but knew i would hit the car, swerved to right hand side but hit the back corner of her car and landed on the other side of road. Thank god there was no oncoming traffic.

It was a retired primary school who had drove on to the grass verge thinking it was the road to the cemetry (which was 400meters earlier) and reversed back out on to the road.

When the guard came she said she was only out a little bit, and he said well why is all the debris on the broken line?

What kills me was my car was wrote off (it was a micra) and she drove away without her bumper :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,700 ✭✭✭✭holly1

Been driving about 32years and never had or caused an accident(Im a woman driver too),I hope I havent jinked myself now!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,118 ✭✭✭afatbollix

been in 2 as a passagner... first one we were doing about 60mph and over a bump th edriver lost it.. went stright into a tree dead stop.. shouldent of got out but i did... i wont if i ever feel like i did while i sat there.. dack was ****ed for ages after that...

th eother was a nice roll... about 60 mph again went over a crest too fast and she just went wide into a soft ditch it rolled twice and ended on its roof.. got her back on her wheels and drove on.. not much worng with the car.. £200 had all the parts i needed to fix it.. but alot of hours in the garage... i have pics and a video of one ill post later.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

fryup wrote: »
    yes, whats the story with the poll results

will they be revealed at the finish date or wha??

calling all mods
    Sorted!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭eire-kp

I was in my fathers jeep when i was 16 going round a corner at about 30 mph ther was a line of traffic on the other side and a 88 micra just pulled straight out from the opposite lane we went straight in to it. I can still see the mirca lifting in to the air! The girl driving was alright thank god. The side of the micra went in about 2 foot the jeep was sound..

Last summer 5 of us were coming home from a night out. The driver lost the car on corner at about 60mph went sideways into a sign the base of it fliped up and sent the car (avensis) up in to air landed on its roof and back upright.
    We all walked out with just a few cuts and bruises,i still dont know how no one was seriously hurt.

Then two weeks later i was driveing down a back road to a job i was at and some lunatic comes round a corner way to fast, goes straight on and ploughs into my car and takes the whole drivers side quarter panel of my car. Theres been a few others aswell!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,582 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

Came of a motorbike on ice, nothing more than a few scratches to myself and the bike even though we slammed into a garden wall.

Some crazy woman in front of me proceeds halfway around a bend to the right before putting on the indicator and turning left into a shop while I was going straight on (the bend is the major road, the turn off going straight is the minor, the shop is right at the junction). Broke my toe, wrote off the bike. Her insurance company pays for my bike, says nothing about the injuries and that's that. I was lucky to get anything because I was behind her and should have kept my distance. At least 75% my fault because of this, but free bike? :P

6 months later I was back driving bikes, around the same area I was driving through a housing estate taking a shortcut to the petrol station. There's a van in front of me who turns off to the left, pulls a U-Turn at the turn-off and just comes straight out without ever looking in my direction. I slam into the driver's door hard, smashing the window with my head/helmet, giving him a minor cut before somersaulting through the air with all the grace of a gorilla on ecstasy (I'm not a small bloke). Ended up in a heap on the other side of the road, legs broken (chip on my right femur, practically disintegrated left femur) a cut right across bottom of the kneecap that was down to the bone that resulted in hefty bloodloss and a broken right wrist. I spent 2 weeks in hospital, mostly because I was millilitres away from a transfusion and when I stood up I passed out for the first week :D

The guy got done for dangerous driving, reduced to careless driving, a 200 euro fine and a slap on the wrist. Meanwhile I'm going for more surgery to correct a left limb deformity because of the accident and still can't feel from my knee to just above my ankle on the front of my left leg. Then I took some time off driving and gave up the bikes. One second slower and I could well have slammed into the drivers door and broke my neck or something so I'm glad to be alive.

And back in June '06 I got my car. I've scraped the whole side of it off a solid gate in Day 2, no injuries.

I've been hit by another car in a field at Hi-Fi Ireland in August 2006, again no injuries.

I've been hit by a truck who waved me into his lane while we were stopped in traffic in November '06, once again no injuries but some body work had to be done on the car.

And then in Feb 2007 some crazy racer cyclist without a helmet crossed my path on a roundabout (I was in the left hand lane and was going straight through, while he was coming up the road I wanted to go down and was going to my left/his right/3rd exit). He never moved out after the second exit so I proceeded onto the roundabout only to have him cross my car. I hit him with the center of the front of my car (around the badge because there's a dent). His bike was carbon fiber and broke into bits, one bit smashing the windscreen while he went flying into the air and landed hard. He busted up his teeth pretty bad and had a lot of dental work done. He also managed to take six weeks of work for a broken knee despite walking pretty much unaided to the ambulance. I'm dubious about that injury to be honest, I know the pain he should have been in and shock certainly doesn't overcome it :P Anyways, I was found to be at fault and they paid a whooping €48k to the cyclist and settled before getting to court. He had more medical expenses than I did despite me spending two weeks in hospital and having 4 surgeries and apparently his father worked for Hibernian so I dunno *shrugs*.

Needless to say I'm hyper paranoid about cyclists now, especially on roundabouts - which are the easiest things in the world to use if you know the rules of the road :/

Full license in May '07, Moved to Axa and happy out since *crosses fingers and touches wood*

So yeah, multiple options please...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Mazda 626.
    Coming home from the pub after a few Rock Shandys.
    Late summers evening with the sun low in the sky so there was terrible glare.

Came around a corner and got blinded so slowed down.
    Looked down and started rooting around for sunglasses. Straight into a wall, car a write-off.
    No injuries or anyone else involved.

The person across the road said three people had hit that wall that year, it kinda juts out at a corner.
    But I'll hold my hands up, my own fault and nobody elses

in wexford in 2003, my husband driving, at a junction turning onto a major road. As he left the junction the car which had been coming relatively slowly from the right pulls into hard shoulder to allow an articulated truck to overtake, truck driver puts foot down, smashes our car into oblivion on the (his) wrong side of the road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

None thankfully touch wood but I've had some close ones.