Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your most annoying catchphrase?

• 13-04-2009 7:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭

I mean the one that you get shunned for by your friends??

Mine would have to be 'TAXI!' after someone makes an ass of themselves, mostly in a drunken state (Aodan83 can vouch for this). Its eventually lost its original hilarity :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

If you post you know what, you'll be banned. Fair warning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭Vain

"your about as useful as a cock flavored lollipop" tis a good one:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 654 ✭✭✭sillyputty

I say 'Apparently' waaaaay too much apparently i sound pretentious when i do

Also 'table for one' - i even used it in a post on this very forum today apparently

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭SRFC90

'Ye bollix.'

I tend to associate people with animals too. They don't like that.

"Shut up Kelly ye f*ckin' swan dope!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭demakinz

"why wouldnt ya for jaysus sake and ya getting it for nothing" use it for all dole related arguments....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Anybody who uses 110% in a sentence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

"I dont believe in artificial contriception"
    Never goes down well when nekkid

"Lovely"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭wylo

javaboy wrote: »
    what ? now im curious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭Captain-America

"It's good! But it's not right."

Two thumbs up for anyone who gets that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Oh My God :mad: Unconstructive, irrelevant and pointless so don't say it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

"YA RAT!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭wylo

when people say the letters OMG in real life

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭brow_601

Aidric wrote: »
    Anybody who uses 110% in a sentence.

I agree 110%

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

I use the words "just" and "evidently" way too much, and I'm not even entirely sure why. Regardless they're not really catch phrases..

Ermm..

I say "for fúck's sake" way too much. And call people dorks a lot.

Maybe I don't really have a catch phrase. I should fix that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 183 ✭✭Lilyblue

"Meh" drives me mad! I use OMG too much :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

We get it,we're not that stupid......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭ZzubZzub

Roy Walker?! :p

I hate same difference. If it's different, how the hell is it the same?
    My friends get fed up when I say "I've got a semi" when I'm happy bout something!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

Cleeo wrote: »
    Roy Walker?! :p

I hate same difference. If it's different, how the hell is it the same?
    My friends get fed up when I say "I've got a semi" when I'm happy bout something!

If its the same,how the hell is it different!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

You know what.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

allegedly i say "in all fairness" a lot, and apparently it annoys people.

a friend of mine says "basically" all the time and it drives me mad, it sounds condescending and patronising, even though i know thats not how she means it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,120 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

No wayyy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

You know what.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 nk12

'Like'.... and i was like and she was like do you know what i mean like???
    aaaaaaaaaaagh! lol:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 183 ✭✭Lilyblue

I know this guy who says something that sounds like " and goes and says" after every single sentence eg: "He is a really funny guy and goes and says" :mad:

Oh its simular to "in all in anyways"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

another one that bugs me is "i must say"

my friend uses it all the time - "i must say it's cold outside" "i must say i wasnt expecting you to ring" "i must say blah blah blah"

AAAAAAAAAAARRRRRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭Vain

javaboy wrote: »

Post something funny:confused::confused:

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,996 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Referees seem to hate it when I say "You haven't a fcuking clue what you're doing" during matches :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

i tend to say "aaaaah ****e" when the slightest thing goes wrong, so that's at least 10 times a day:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭Birdie086

Asking the taxi driver is it a busy night or not. I know it really p*isses em off but I just can seem to myself from asking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 180 ✭✭Ciaran B

To tell you the truth... Do you normally lie to me?

To be honest with you....
    As opposed to your usual dishonestly?

Also Cuala buala.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,996 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Ciaran B wrote: »
    Also Cuala buala.

I knew a girl who used to say that all the time. She was hot though, so it was ok :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭thebigcheese22

Birdie086 wrote: »
    Asking the taxi driver is it a busy night or not. I know it really p*isses em off but I just can seem to myself from asking

Yeah I know that dilemma. What else are ya gonna say like?

'So...How did you get this ****ty job in the first place?'

'Damn blacks taking all the taxis! Why I awda...'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

I use same difference :D

One's that bug me are "says you" no said you! No offence but... followed by offence , you know it doesn't give you the all clear to say what you want.

Oh the friend that over uses the groups latest in joke and ruins it. We used to say "You tell me" in a mick mccarthy accent until a mate just kept saying it randomly.

Lately I have started saying "I'll tell you something". And then just stop. If it get's brought up I'll say it's just a turn-of-phrase.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭Good Karma

I hate the phrase 'cheers big ears'.

I use to smoke years ago and when I'd go out for dinner and the waiter would ask what seating arrangements I wanted, i would say.....cringe......'smoking please....but not on fire'!
    :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

"Hang tight"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Tzetze

"No, you can't put it there!" :(

"At the end of the day...." :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭Jesus Juice

I tend to say ''Ah fuckin' hell'' a lot a-la Father Ted!Doesn't go down well in school a lot!

Also one that really wrecks me is ''Yup,yup 7up!:rolleyes:
    I hate it so much!

I tend to say ''Ah fuckin' hell'' a lot a-la Father Ted!Doesn't go down well in school a lot!

One of my college buddies does that quote to perfection :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭Jesus Juice

An File wrote: »
    One of my college buddies does that quote to perfection :D
    Its pleasing when you say it at the right time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,413 ✭✭✭✭Basq

I've been using the phrase "you pay peanuts..." more and more but I never EVER EVER complete it. I refuse to!

I just leave it hanging at "you pay peanuts..." and walk away! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

"and he turned around and said"

Do you normally talk to the back of people's heads?

Or were you talking to a ballerina?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭misty floyd

Funny catch phrase clip: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Izet8zN1vmE

I hate 'do you know that kind of way?'

The 110% thing drives me crazy. Football players say it all the time.

'come here to me'.............wtf. I'm right here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭blaze1

My old boss used to say for everything

"its not rocket science"

as for me, everyone is mate, even the mother in law hahahahah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

I hate 'do you know that kind of way?'

Any time someone says that (usually accompanied by a head tilt, a raising of the voice pitch and a narrowing of the eyes) I stab them in said eyes with the nearest sharp object

If its the same,how the hell is it different!

Is it something like the difference between 4 and 6 is 2
    and the difference between 8 and 10 is 2

So they are both the same difference?

I always thought of it this way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭useful_contacts

Lilyblue wrote: »
    "Meh" drives me mad! I use OMG too much :o

guilty here- say meh constantly. iv im not in the mood to do something or im 2 lazy i just say "meh"

drives everyone nuts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,970 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

I very often say "Exactly like Father Biggley" when agreeing with someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Zangetsu

"Ah sure since its Christmas..."

And

"Only on Tuesdays".

Dunno where they came from but they annoy me at times too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭O.A.P

Ciaran B wrote: »
    To tell you the truth... Do you normally lie to me?

To be honest with you.... As opposed to your usual dishonestly?

I agree with you, when I hear this I always think so you lie to me normaly but this time Im being straight