Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

i just learned a lesson about the internet.

• 10-04-2009 10:34am

lesson? pretty much never ever post anything online.. there's a thread on 4chan right now where a guy said something about his sister. and uploaded a picture of her.

he didn't change the filename, which was just a load of numbers. from there, somehow, another user found her facebook and thus her name and posted it. then her myspace is found, email addresses, various profiles on different websites. OP panics obviously.

so now she is getting bombarded with messages and screenshots off what her brother said, all from the filename of a picture and in 30 mins. they've also found his profiles and are gonna message all his friends what he said :eek:

there was another thread on 4chan a while back where a guy was pretending to be a girl on facebook chatting to a guy.. pretty heavy conversation. anyways, they figure out who is his wife is on his facebook and post her screenshots of the conversation and also to his friends..

kind of makes me wonder just how much we let slip about ourselves on boards.ie and what other users could potentially do.. don't know why i'm posting this really, just amazing to watch a guy get ruined my an anonymous imageboard.

so yea, don't post anything incriminating online, you never know how easy it could back to your real life..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

A more apt lesson would be to avoid 4chan at all costs. A lesson that I can't seem to learn.

Rules 1&2 btw =p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

Facebook is different than boards though. In that people seem to put their whole lives up on that thing. It all seems a bit mental to me.
    It is like people are constantly looking for some sort of justification of their choices, actions etc.

Example:
    Finding out that a couple who you know broke up by seeing them both changes their status from "In Relationship" to "Single". That is just.....very weird.

Edit: What I always find odd is that I bet a lot of the people who protest over things like Identity Cards, Google Streetview and other "privacy invasions" are probably telling everyone and their neighbour what they are doing nearly every minute of every day on some of those social networking websites.

Wagon wrote: »
    No man, it's just don't post anything on 4Chan. Give me a link there, this looks interesting.

pm sent

djk1000 wrote: »
    I'd like to see this, link please?
    elmolesto wrote: »
    This looks interesting. Link?

pm's will be sent.

i can't link such blatent pron obviously.. and thread will 404 anyway soon.

pm's will be sent.

i can't link such blatent pron obviously.. and thread will 404 anyway soon.

He posted pornographic pics of his sister!?!?! :pac:

Noopti wrote: »
    He posted pornographic pics of his sister!?!?! :pac:

4chan is just covered in porn man.. :P

this is the most covert thread on boards. pm's everywhere :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 231 ✭✭mandysmithers

That's scary!! How did they get on to her facebook page though? I can't ever see anyone's page beyond their profile pic, when they're a friend of one of my friends. I'm hoping that that's all anyone can see about me! I don't want anyone but my direct friends to be able to get onto my page. I've gone into the privacy settings and set them to the highest level, so that should be enough - yes?

4chan is just covered in porn man.. :P

this is the most covert thread on boards. pm's everywhere :cool:

Ahh.....thanks for the explanation.
    I've gone into the privacy settings and set them to the highest level, so that should be enough - yes?

I will be outside your front door in roughly 25 minutes. See you then.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Anybody who posts a link to 4chan will be banned. Take any requests to PM.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

Ah that wasn't his sister!:( It was just some random girl he likes and wants to...well, you know the rest.

Ah that wasn't his sister!:( It was just some random girl he likes and wants to...

Court?

That's scary!! How did they get on to her facebook page though? I can't ever see anyone's page beyond their profile pic, when they're a friend of one of my friends. I'm hoping that that's all anyone can see about me! I don't want anyone but my direct friends to be able to get onto my page. I've gone into the privacy settings and set them to the highest level, so that should be enough - yes?

when you ask someone to be a friend, you can send a message with it.. so that's where you can add links to screenshots etc. you can also see that persons friends without being their friend.

also, the little pic that you can see before you become someone's friend can be blown up by changing the filename in the link for the image...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

There is no way someone would be stupid enough to post something like that on 4chan. I don't buy it.

Zillah wrote: »
    There is no way someone would be stupid enough to post something like that on 4chan. I don't buy it.

well apart from that, it's mad that even if that's just a random girl, how much was found about her ina few minutes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 899 ✭✭✭djk1000

That was ****ed up..... the guy that started that is screwed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

It's like a depraved perverted version of the Jigsaw Girl thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 740 ✭✭✭junior_apollo

Ya wasnt actually his sister though according to the thread... but turns out the OP did have a sister so perhaps he was guising that as that poor girl..

Either way he gonna be ruined now... haha...

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Y'all posting in a troll thread.

ya Ads.. it definitely is worrying that in a matter of minutes so much information can be attained... kinda scary infact..

Haha.. i love that they bombarded his profile in the end.. totally turned it around on him.. brilliant stuff

This sounds like that episode of South Park where Cartman was some sort of detective or something and he was cross referencing various social networking sites to solve the case.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

its 404'd now lads but was hilarious.

Ah that wasn't his sister!:( It was just some random girl he likes and wants to..

Seeing as how it's 4chan, I'm going to go with rape.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

From now on please take ALL LINK REQUESTS TO PM.
    No more "Link please" requests on thread. Keep to topic folks.

i'll try send out links by pm.. unless some people i've sent them too already could help send them

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

i'll try send out links by pm.. unless some people i've sent them too already could help send them

Its 404'd already mate so no point in PM'ing the link.

Cheers for the laugh. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

got a reply from a mod saying it was ok to post this.. completely unrelated to original story but still about a sister on 4chan.

NSFW
    http://img16.imageshack.us/img16/9196/1239230883227.jpg

just one of things none of us ever want to happen :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Scien wrote: »
    Aye, it's something i try to be conscious about, possibly why i've never posted my pic on boards.
    d'internet is a scary place sometimes... anyone remember a guy called Nick Sitko? :D
    Google remembers.
    http://www.google.ie/search?q=Nick+Sitko&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&aq=t&rls=org.mozilla:en-GB:official&client=firefox-a

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

I'm just surprised Run_to_da_Hills hasn't come charging in here waving a big "I told ye" stick tbh. Maybe they finally got to him.

http://img10.imageshack.us/img10/9606/1236708648937.gif

another similar story and not safe for work.

got a reply from a mod saying it was ok to post this.. completely unrelated to original story but still about a sister on 4chan.

NSFW
    http://img16.imageshack.us/img16/9196/1239230883227.jpg

just one of things none of us ever want to happen :P

haha... brilliant stuff...

Jaysus that one is a bit bad alright... make you wonder what people do be thinking when posting this stuff (well we can guess what he was thinking)...

But even if they are trolling - ya could still get done for things like that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,963 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

Jaysus that one is a bit bad alright... make you wonder what people do be thinking when posting this stuff (well we can guess what he was thinking)...

the story of Dusty... link not safe for work but is a legitimate website with no nudes.

http://encyclopediadramatica.com/Dusty

read about this guy in the irish times.. posts video on youtube of him hurting cat, 4chan gets it, finds who he is and he gets arrested.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

the story of Dusty... link not safe for work but is a legitimate website with no nudes.

http://encyclopediadramatica.com/Dusty

read about this guy in the irish times.. posts video on youtube of him hurting cat, 4chan gets it, finds who he is and he gets arrested.

Lol. I was on while that was happening. It was epic!

same.. :pac: ya gotta love when 15 year old americans come out of their shells and become detectives.

just thinking here, if the people i work with knew i was into 4chan.. :rolleyes:

that's not an invite for ye to find them and tell them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Anon are a force to be reckoned with. Check this out. M00t's currently ranked no 1, with over 12 million votes! lmao

the only reason the others have so many is cause they've been voting them down :pac:

it's perfect that he wins. it's about "most influential people" which fits the mass rigging of the vote..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

There is a screen cap from 4chan about a guy posting about his niece's friend and how she fancies him. She was 16 and he was married. Apparently she even had a picture of him in her locker. He is asking anon should he have sex with her as she is cute.

Anyway, Anon asks for a picture of her and posts a pic of his niece and this girl. Anon asks which one is his niece. Guy states which girl it is and anon asks why she has a tiger on her t-shirt. The guy says its because its from state and its the mascot for some local school.

Anon then figures out which school it is, emails the principal saying there is a 16-year old student who has a picture of a friends uncle in her locker and is thinking about having sex with him. They also sent on a screen cap of the guys messages on 4chan to the principal.

The screencap is easily available but i'm not linking it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Ass

Anyone who posts on 4chan is a complete retard. It's not cool, you're not some kind of internet superstar because you actively shit post on some animé forum for neck beards and you're not posting on some super secretive message board that only a few select people know about.

4chan at this stage is like chuck norris jokes. It was funny once, but once the humor seeped out to the rest of the world the humor dried up and now anyone who posts there is a giant faggot lacking any form of dignity.

There is a screen cap from 4chan about a guy posting about his niece's friend and how she fancies him. She was 16 and he was married. Apparently she even had a picture of him in her locker. He is asking anon should he have sex with her as she is cute.

Anyway, Anon asks for a picture of her and posts a pic of his niece and this girl. Anon asks which one is his niece. Guy states which girl it is and anon asks why she has a tiger on her t-shirt. The guy says its because its from state and its the mascot for some local school.

Anon then figures out which school it is, emails the principal saying there is a 16-year old student who has a picture of a friends uncle in her locker and is thinking about having sex with him. They also sent on a screen cap of the guys messages on 4chan to the principal.

The screencap is easily available but i'm not linking it.

already linked above :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭A-Trak

Cracked did a decent eneough piece on the t'interweb catching folk out

8 Awesome Cases of Internet Vigilantism

Its fairly SFW, and while you're on the site read about the 20 Japenese Robots that probably want to kill you. Comedy gold.

What's 4chan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

What's 4chan?

This:
    Ass wrote: »
    Anyone who posts on 4chan is a complete retard. It's not cool, you're not some kind of internet superstar because you actively shit post on some animé forum for neck beards and you're not posting on some super secretive message board that only a few select people know about.

4chan at this stage is like chuck norris jokes. It was funny once, but once the humor seeped out to the rest of the world the humor dried up and now anyone who posts there is a giant faggot lacking any form of dignity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭Jesus Juice

I always thought the swearing filter on Boards was annoying but looking at 4chan now I'm glad its there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

already linked above :rolleyes:

Ah didn't see it. Must've scrolled past it by mistake.

Also there is a rule on the lolocaust of posting stuff thats there on other parts of the forum. It can lead to permaban from lolocaust. So thats why no linking from me.

Terry wrote: »
    This:

Ok, that's someone's opinion on it. So it's an internet forum, but what makes it so different to any other forum?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,109 ✭✭✭ThE_IVIAcIVIAIV

i've been on it before but its kinda sick because they post nudes of girls and some that look under 18... jailbait or whatever

• Closed Accounts Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Ass

Ok, that's someone's opinion on it. So it's an internet forum, but what makes it so different to any other forum?
    All the pedo shit.

it's not a member site. it's all anonymous posting and is very rarely moderated.

it's not for everyone.. but between the layers and layers of shíte that's on it, you can find some pretty funny stuff.

a typical 4chan thread