Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone tried a PS3 vinyl skin

• 09-04-2009 1:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭

http://www.decalgirl.com/browse.cfm/2,232.htm

Just wondering if anyone has tried one of the PS3 skins above, and if they are easy to install without getting trapped airbubbles, creases etc... Considering the PS3 plastic casing attracts dust like crazy, and scratches easily when cleaning, even using the finest microfibre cloth, this might be a good solution.

Right now I'm sick of having to on a daily basis :
    - use compressed air on my PS3 to help clear heavy dust off the black surfaces
    - follow with a a damp spec savers mutithread microfibre cloth to soften/wipe off the remaining dust
    - a 2nd dry spec saver cloth to dry it
    - ostrich anti-static feather duster to finish off

I still get the odd very fine micro scratch, so I have to keep a lamp on it during my daily cleaning regime to keep an eye on things. It would be easier I suppose to go back and recover it in cling film or put it back in the original box and cut holes out the back. But that's a bit extreme I think. Hopefully the decal being vinyl will prevent all this maintenance, except maybe for the top and bottom areas which I suppose I'll still have to cover in cling film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Get a life flanno and stop taking the piss.
    This crap is why I blocked you at work :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭Flaccus

No need to insult me. Alot of people are annoyed about this black piano finish and how easy it is to scratch. I just wanted to hear from people who had tried these vinyl decals and gave my reasons why. There seems to be a lot of sites in the US and some in the UK selling them. Decalgirl seems to be the best quality around. I'm usually terrible at installing anything with an adhesive backing..even phone protectors I screw up. Hopefully the PS3 decals are easy to install. From what I've seen on YouTube they go on and off handy enough. I wonder why there aren't popular over here and why Gamestop don't carry them. Alot of them look pretty cool I think, though there are a fair few cheesy ones.

The reason they don't sell them here is to our low population and the number of gimps per 1000.
    We've have a way lower number than the UK ie ..just fcuking you..

They sell plenty of faceplates, covers for the 360. So I don't see why not for the PS3. Please stop getting personal. Just because you think you know me, doesn't give you the right to insult me on a public forum.

Get a life flanno and stop taking the piss.
    This crap is why I blocked you at work :pac:

You can avoid putting ****ty cheap lookin vinyls on ur ps3 if you install an electroststic dust extractor system in your room. that way you will never have to do anymore dusting.

OR

you can just be a real man and ignore it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭Stuxnet

agreed, clean your house, you wont have a problem

I suggest a vacuum for your bedroom to eliminate dust.
    I suggest turning it on with you in there (just so you can check to make sure)

muhahahahahahaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭Bill-e

haha.

Does it really matter if a bit of dust builds up on it? really?

I stand mine on it's side and it doesn't get too dusty.

Do you really clean it every day? Have you got OCD? you may require medical assessment.

Bobby - are you saying I have a dirty house ? I have hardwood floors, keep my room immaculate, but as the room is on the side of the house where the sun is most prominent, dust is absolutely unavoidable. I dust the room on a daily basis too. The PS3 still attracts dust, no matter how clean the house is. It's the piano black finish which makes it very noticeable you see. The problem I am having is the cleaning of the dust leaves the PS3 prone to scatching. Easily confirmed by examining the finish under very bright sunlight or a halogen lamp / torch. The only sure fire solution to avoid this so far is keep the PS3 in the box and cut holes out the back or wrap it in cling film. Have done both and neither really appeal to me. Hence why I was asking if anyone has tried these vinyls.

EvilWonka - are you saying I am not a real man as I can't ignore this issue. By the way, I did investigate what you are talking about. Anything effective is prohibitely expensive.
    http://www.indiamart.com/powertechindia/pollution-control-equipment.html#ventilation-system

Bill-e - yes it's less noticeable on it's side. Unfortunately I keep mine in a horizontal position as I have it in a TV rack along with my amplifier.

So that's 3 people throwing insults around and 1 person saying I should possibly seek medical advice. Thanks alot lads :mad:

Told you u were the only one here ;)

Well no-one has answered me yet "Anyone tried a PS3 vinyl skin"

I did a poll...

99.9% of Normal Irish people say "get a fcukin life u saddo"

0.1% say "God made me do it...oh and tell him to use a soft fibre cloth"

I did a poll...

99.9% of Normal Irish people say "get a fcukin life u saddo"

0.1% say "God made me do it...oh and tell him to use a soft fibre cloth"

Please stay off this thread if all you are going to do is throw insults around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭ferrigan101

Flaccus wrote: »
    Well no-one has answered me yet "Anyone tried a PS3 vinyl skin"

Are you being serious about your cleaning regieme? Wtf? Do you have time to play the damn thing?

To answer your question though, no.
    Happy? :-)

Please stay off this thread if all you are going to do is throw insults around.

Don't throw insults around..it'll scratch the ps3.

It only takes about 10 minutes a day to clean the thing to my satisfaction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭limericklad87

The only sure fire solution to avoid this so far is keep the PS3 in the box and cut holes out the back or wrap it in cling film. Have done both and neither really appeal to me.

you must be taking the pi**..... you actually wrapped your PS3 in cling film.....
    do you even play it at all for fear of placing fingerprints on the control pads. :rolleyes:

its a game console... its going to attract dust regardless of what you do due to static electricity......

maybe you should just sell your PS3 and then get a nice picture of one and hang it on the wall.... sounds to me like you spend more time cleaning than playing it.....

Like I said it takes only 10 minutes to clean it when I get home every evening. Quick blow of the dust off the surface with air duster, wipe down with wet mf, then dry mf, and a quick dust with ostrich brush. Have to pay attention allright to fingerprints...I use latex gloves when cleaning, and have cotton gloves for the gamepads so they don't leave prints when playing. Also putting it back onto shelf after cleaning, I have to be careful I insert the hdmi cable perfectly as it's easy to leave microscratches around the edge of the hdmi port. Cling film was much simpler I suppose. edit...Something which crossed my mind just now was enclosing the PS3 in a mini-atx acryllic chassis, like the ones which were popular a few years back. Of course this presents it's own challenge...perspex scratches almost as easy as the PS3 finish, which is why I avoid PC side windows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,686 ✭✭✭Kersmash

Jaysus lads I think ye're being a bit harsh here. If he gets satisfaction from having a clean PS3, let him. It's not as if it's effecting ye in any major way ffs. It may be a bit OTT but leave him to it.

seriously your a week to late for this to be an aprils fool joke.....

your telling me that you wear gloves while playing your PS3...... :eek:

whats your approx age just as a matter of curiosity

I fail to see what age has anything to do with it. Old enough to have had a mortage for more than 15/20 years anyway. And yes, I use gloves when playing my consoles, whether it's wii, 360 or ps3. Same with PC.

Kersmash - thanks. I agree. The dust on the PS3 drives me nuts. Cleaning it off can scratch it which annoys me even more. Lots of threads on avforums about it.

I just wish Sony had made it with a matt finish like the Xbox 360. I suppose my aversion to scratches, on the PS3 is a carryover to my car detailing days where micro scratches/marring,spiderwebbing,swirlmarks used drive me nuts till I learned how to use a buffer.

would the vinyl have much of an effect.....or would it just collect dust in the same way

Jesus lads..ignore him..he's always trolling on forums with this crap..
    and always gets told to get a life..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,045 ✭✭✭Rev. Kitchen

I wait untill it gets really dusty then i wipe it with my hand.

They are specially treated by Decalgirl to resist dust much more and easy to clean without leaving scratches. Plus because it's a matt finish you wouldn't even notice it, even if there was significant dust buildup. The important thing for me is to be able to clean it with a quick wipe without fear of scratching like I do the 360. Unforunately there is no decals for the top air vent, underneath the ps3, or the bottom hard drive bay. So I guess these will have to get the cling film treatment.

This is not a decalgirl vinyl but the coolest I have seen
    http://cgi.ebay.ie/Skin-sticker-for-Sony-Playstation-3-PS3-Star-Wars-53_W0QQitemZ330300907577QQcmdZViewItemQQptZUK_VideoGames_VideoGameAccessories_VideoGameAccessories_JN?hash=item330300907577&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=72%3A1301%7C66%3A2%7C65%3A12%7C39%3A1%7C240%3A1318#ebayphotohosting

I'm not the only one with PS3 cleaning "issues" :
    http://www.avforums.com/forums/ps3/500143-how-hell-do-i-clean-ps3-exterior-without-scratching.html

I wait untill it gets really dusty then i wipe it with my hand.

The effect of rubbing the dust with your hand will cause some of the dust to scratch the laquear on the finish. Take a torch or else bring your PS3 outside, and you will notice very fine micro-marring on the finish as a result. Piano black bezels on LCD TV's suffer from the same issue. Fortunately I cling filmed the sides of my tv in time so don't have an issue with it.

And MR, this is the ONLY site I have posted asking about vinyls..ever. You should stop trolling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭Homer

OP maybe you should try get a bloody girlfriend??

and let her clean it?? Sorted!! :D

Homer wrote: »
    OP maybe you should try get a bloody girlfriend??

and let her clean it?? Sorted!! :D

after paying her for sex he'd have no money left for cleaning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭donmeister

Okay so your either a troll or a guy with OCD....................wearing gloves while playing a games console? That has to be a first!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭Aldebaran

I wipe the dust off my ps3 with my sleeve, like a real man.

TrollSpray.jpg

The effect of rubbing the dust with your hand will cause some of the dust to scratch the laquear on the finish. Take a torch or else bring your PS3 outside, and you will notice very fine micro-marring on the finish as a result. Piano black bezels on LCD TV's suffer from the same issue. Fortunately I cling filmed the sides of my tv in time so don't have an issue with it.

Tip. leave your Ps3 inside and you wont be able to see them problem solved.

Id love to see your house with everything covered in clingfilm. What happens if your cling film gets scratched ??

If i was you id be more worried about all this dust in your house where do you live in a saw mill ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭donmeister

You need to take a deep breath and accept that dust happens........:eek:

The effect of rubbing the dust with your hand will cause some of the dust to scratch the laquear on the finish.

ya i heard about that razor sharp dust doing the rounds......its deadly..... thats why i don't let my dog outside until he's completely cling filmed

What about the dust you cant see ? the visable stuff is just the larger particle think of all the micro dust creating micro dust scratches, what about the dust on the inside??

you're lying !!

say it ain't so.........

I'm getting a mental image of what you look like..

hold on it's coming through now..

nearly there...

ah yes....

0630-top10-bubble.jpg

I guess noone is taking this seriously.

But yeah, I use a hoover attachment for the dust on the inside. Once a week.

And donmeiser/homer...I'm not trolling, and also I think diagnosing people with disorders is against the rules even if you are a gp/shrink. I got gloves as they offer a more comfortable gameplay, plus the PS3 controller is easily a minefield for germs and bacteria, If anyobody needs a link for the white gloves, just ask!

homer - you've given me some ideas. thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭iggy

heatedgloves.jpg

after paying her for sex he'd have no money left for cleaning.

I find that comment distasteful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,761 ✭✭✭GothPunk

Yay Jake Gyllenhaal! :D

Flaccus are you sure that those vinyl skins use a glue that's safe for use with the PS3? I can't find anything about it but if you left them for a long time and with the heat of the PS3, would you not be worried that if you ever decide to remove the vinyl it'll leave weird residue on the PS3?
    But yeah, I use a hoover attachment for the dust on the inside. Once a week.
    I also vacuum my PS3 every other week. Sony actually recommend that you do to prolong the life of the console (or something like that).

iggy wrote: »
    heatedgloves.jpg

couldn't possibly be. For one thing, turning that 360 on it's side like that is going to mark the amp or whatever it's sitting on. Also I wouldn't have cables hanging out the front like that. That brown washer or whatever it is on the desk would do my head in as well. And to top it off, those gloves would make your hands sweaty. I use thin white cotton gloves with airfholes for playing games or typing on pc. And latex/surgeon gloves for handling the consoles or inside of pc.

it was clearly a joke....... no no wait

it really was a picture of you......

:rolleyes::rolleyes:

GothPunk wrote: »
    Yay Jake Gyllenhaal! :D

Flaccus are you sure that those vinyl skins use a glue that's safe for use with the PS3? I can't find anything about it but if you left them for a long time and with the heat of the PS3, would you not be worried that if you ever decide to remove the vinyl it'll leave weird residue on the PS3?

I also vacuum my PS3 every other week. Sony actually recommend that you do to prolong the life of the console (or something like that).

They advertise no residue is left behind. But I am not 100% sure if the surface of the PS3 would stand up to scrutiny under a 1000w halogen after removing the vinyl after a couple weeks of gaming. Even my new TV had subtle marring on the LCD surface albeit only under a halogen. Eventually cleaned it properly with some monster iclean but cleaning an LCD screen is very labour intensive as liquid (even water) always dries unevenly leaving patches/streaks, and as for dust around the edges....forget it.

Anyway, I have bought 2 vinyls so I am probably going to pick up a 2nd hand PS3 to try the 1st one out on. If it leaves any residue after I remove the vinly then it's a nogo for my new PS3 and I will have to look into alternative solutions, like a PS3 chrome plate. Unfortunately the plate I do have arrived with very slight scratches (again only visible under heavy sunlight).
    http://www.consoleshop.com/product.php?productid=16782&cat=256

it was clearly a joke....... no no wait

it really was a picture of you......

:rolleyes::rolleyes:

sorry I forgot to ad the smiley.

those ps3 skins don't seem like the easiest to put on. could easily make a mistake.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VAXPFk_lZVU&feature=related

how much will all this set you back
    2 vinyls incl shipping
    2nd hand ps3
    chrome plate

Bought the chrome plate a year ago..about a tenner.
    2 vinyls...4 euro each.
    2nd hand PS3..not sure. might just skip that, and apply the vinyl to the chrome plate which I wont be using anyway. should give me an idea of the stickiness of the glue / residue etc..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Cunny-Funt

Like I said it takes only 10 minutes to clean it when I get home every evening. Quick blow of the dust off the surface with air duster, wipe down with wet mf, then dry mf, and a quick dust with ostrich brush. Have to pay attention allright to fingerprints...I use latex gloves when cleaning, and have cotton gloves for the gamepads so they don't leave prints when playing. Also putting it back onto shelf after cleaning, I have to be careful I insert the hdmi cable perfectly as it's easy to leave microscratches around the edge of the hdmi port. Cling film was much simpler I suppose. edit...Something which crossed my mind just now was enclosing the PS3 in a mini-atx acryllic chassis, like the ones which were popular a few years back. Of course this presents it's own challenge...perspex scratches almost as easy as the PS3 finish, which is why I avoid PC side windows.

:eek::eek::eek:
    I fail to see what age has anything to do with it. Old enough to have had a mortage for more than 15/20 years anyway. And yes, I use gloves when playing my consoles, whether it's wii, 360 or ps3. Same with PC.
    The dust on the PS3 drives me nuts. .

:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:
    I got gloves as they offer a more comfortable gameplay, plus the PS3 controller is easily a minefield for germs and bacteria, If anyobody needs a link for the white gloves, just ask!

shocked-smiley.jpg
    couldn't possibly be. For one thing, turning that 360 on it's side like that is going to mark the amp or whatever it's sitting on. Also I wouldn't have cables hanging out the front like that. That brown washer or whatever it is on the desk would do my head in as well. And to top it off, those gloves would make your hands sweaty. I use thin white cotton gloves with airfholes for playing games or typing on pc. And latex/surgeon gloves for handling the consoles or inside of pc.

Oh my ****ing god man. If you're not trolling you seriously need to go see a psychologist. Wearing gloves due to fear of germs and getting things scratched is seriously not normal. Get yourself help man, the sooner it gets diagnosed the sooner your on the road to better mental health.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rn1OYlYzgm8

Jesus...

Thanks for the medical advice, but I can do without it. What's normal to one person, may not be to the next.

And a touch of humour..here is how NOT to remove scratches from your PS3
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rySxAHwJJLg&feature=related

Seems noone has tried these vinyls :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭iggy

ironclad_tac_ops_gloves_reviews_146575_175.jpg