Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Khan to challenge for world title

• 08-04-2009 1:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭

Amir Khan will get his first chance at a world title on 27 June when he fights WBA light-welterweight champion Andreas Kotelnik in Britain.
    The 22-year-old from Bolton defeated Mexican legend Marco Antonio Barrera in their lightweight contest in Manchester last month.
    But he will move up a division to take on Kotelnik, who is from the Ukraine but based in Germany.

"To fight for the world title in only my 22nd fight is fantastic," said Khan.
    "This is the best news that I could have received. Frank (Warren, promoter) has done a great job getting the world title fight for me in Britain and now I have to go out win it.

"I've seen Kotelnik a few times and I've always been impressed by him but once my trainer Freddie Roach works out the game plan to beat him it's my job to execute it on the night as I did effectively against Barrera."

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/boxing/7989987.stm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Funny he says now he has been impressed with him now? On Buncey he said he was the worst world champion ever?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZF8y5xK88l0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,358 ✭✭✭✭walshb

This guy is scheduled to defend against
    Ortiz on June 27th?

Again, Ordinary World Title?

Who the hell is the REAL champ for the WBA?

The WBA listings have NO super champ listed at 140 lbs, at least
    I can't see a name!

This guy lost a close fight to Witter, who I don't rate at all.
    Khan has a chance to bag another sham 'world title'?

This guy seems to be the REAL champ for the WBA, so why then
    does boxrec show him winning the Ordinary version?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭sligobhoy67

Johner wrote: »
    Funny he says now he has been impressed with him now? On Buncey he said he was the worst world champion ever?

Yip, I remember him sayin that as well. Funny thing is I was at the fight in wales when he won the title I thought that Gavin Rees was the worst world title holder I'd ever seen.

Kotelnik is nothing spectacular but he is solid and has great amatuer pedigree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

If Khan does not KO him early he is in for a tough night - I am still far from convince Khan can go the distance with a top fighter (not that this guy is elite but he's pretty good and durable!)

We can say what we like about Amir's potential and strengths and weaknesses, but we have to give credit to him for really stepping up a class, moving a weight higher
    and challenging a guy who boxrec rate number 6 overall, that includes
    Pac and Hatton in the ratings!

This is a bold and brave move and Khan has the tools, does he have the real real
    grit to win this.

Andriy isn't a mega puncher, so Khan can do this!

walshb wrote: »
    We can say what we like about Amir's potential and strengths and weaknesses, but we have to give credit to him for really stepping up a class, moving a weight higher
    and challenging a guy who boxrec rate number 6 overall, that includes
    Pac and Hatton in the ratings!

This is a bold and brave move and Khan has the tools, does he have the real real
    grit to win this.

Andriy isn't a mega puncher, so Khan can do this!

its sickens me to think that you could be right.

I dont know what it is but I really really dont want Khan to ever be a world champion. I dont know what it is but I've wanted him to be beaten in every fight since the Limpicks.

What is your intense dislike for him?

I find him an ordinary and decent skin. His talent
    is undeniable, offensively he is awesome. He has
    the weak chin which also makes
    for excitement.

As for personally, I can't see a problem with him.

Is it Warren's association with him?

for excitement.

I just get all cynical when his name is brought up, possibly it the incessant Sports Network spin, possibly its that he fought blown up SF after blown up SF, possibly its because he talks absolute bollocks and makes ridiculous excuses for any negative aspect of his career.

for excitement.

Today - "I've seen Kotelnik a few times and I've always been impressed by him but once my trainer Freddie Roach works out the game plan to beat him it's my job to execute it on the night, as I did effectively against Barrera."

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/boxing/7989987.stm

Couple of weeks ago - Question - "Who is the worst world champion?" Khans reply "Andreas Kotelnik"

Okay, but you have said you wanted him to lose for a long time now.
    This occurred a while back.

Hey, he was asked a question and gave his answer as to
    who he thought was the worst champ.

He also said he could beat the guy. Now, if he wins, he will
    be exonerated. He loses, he will be a laughing stock!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭duagre

I'm some what surprised they are getting this to the UK.
    Must be paying a fair bit for it.

Well I started to turn on him back in 2007 - the spin started to twist my head and the opponents began to follow a pattern - low KO% and genrally had operated in a lower division.

as for his comments on Kotelnik - how can you be impressed everytime you see a fighter AND think that he is the worst world champion out there??

Its not that specific comment that annoys me about him but that is a good exmple of that **** that he comes out with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

TKO made the point that Khan will be forced to progress pretty fast after signing the Sky deal. PPV numbers are key to his financial success.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Victor McDade

Johner wrote: »

That's brilliant!

This is a perfectly hand-picked fight for Warren's cash cow, Khan picks up an easy title, BskyB will be able to justify another PPV fight night and everyone makes a lot of money. Kotelnik's never been a heavy hitter which Khan desperately needs to avoid. I hope I'm wrong but I can't see any other outcome to this bout. It'll take a lot more before Khan can rightfully say he's one of the best in the world at either weight

I don't think it will be an easy win. Andriy is not the best of the best, but he
    is very strong and technical and durable.

A tad slow, but a proven chin. He has never
    been stopped in 30 or so fights.

I see Khan being way too fast and cruising
    to a points win if he can avoid getting taken out or tiring. Khan's stamina
    shouldn't be an issue.

If his body is rock hard and his chin holds out against this
    less than dynamite hitter, he will win!

Oh, for the record, Khan, like others, does not in any way deserve this
    shot. He has done nothing at 140 lbs to earn it.

I am glad he got it and would like to see
    him win and move on. He is good for boxing and his style
    is so exciting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 764 ✭✭✭horsebox09

I have to say,im suprised about this. just because amir khan beat a 35 year old,over the hill FEATHERWEIGHT due to a forced stoppage he gets a title shot??

horsebox09 wrote: »
    I have to say,im suprised about this. just because amir khan beat a 35 year old,over the hill FEATHERWEIGHT due to a forced stoppage he gets a title shot??

Hey, welcome to the world of pro boxing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭alanceltic

Im in the camp that wants to see khan KO'd, i would love it actually. I have nothing against the lad but as you alluded to the w_anky warren factor weighs heavy on me and i think that khan has been slightly poisoned by his manager with a few of his comments and has bought into his own hype machine. In saying all that if i was betting my hard earned crust i would be putting it on a Khan KO but I would be happy to be proved wrong.

I don't get it lads. He's a fantastic fighter and we want him KOd?

He's a decent lad, I don't see what is unlikable about him. Yes, hype surrounds him, but that's boxing. Jeez, hype surrounded Dunne too.
    Dunne was and is still a very likable guy.

Hype surrounds many fighters before it's merited. Warren is a businessman.
    Okay, dislike him or Don King or Arum etc, but don't associate all that
    dislike onto their fighters.

Khan has yet to irritate me like say some other fighters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,440 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I don't want him Ko'd but he doesn't deserve to be anywhere near a title shot. It just shows that money talks in boxing.

There are so many talented boxers at light welterweight and this happens. He is a no hoper at this weight. Our own Paul McCloskey is far more deserving of this shot, and I'm not saying he deserves one, or is ready for one yet.

This just disgusts me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

Amir Khan will challenge for the WBA title on the 27th of June, when he fights Andreas Kotelnik

source; boxingscene

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,401 ✭✭✭✭Anti

And hes gonna get his ass knocked the **** out. He is no where near ready for a title fight, hes best to go back fighting has-beens tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭akindoc

Khan is really in trouble here in this fight I think.

Don't get me wrong, he'll probably win but this will be possibly his second hardest fight to date (if you call the prescott experience a fight).

He's in with a pure boxer here who has a very solid style and a good good chin. Not only that, but Kotelnik knows how to cover up and weather a storm and also knows how to pick his punches and isn't afraid to throw them, although he can be negative at times. He also came on in the fights against Witter and Rees.

I believe Khan has excellent stamina and a good speed advantage so I can see what his tactics will be. The problem is, he just looks very amatuerish to me in his style. They way he fires his punches from distance and then backs off and then repeats the process... it just looks very amatuerish to me. Of course Ian Darke and Jim Watt almost have an orgasm when he does this but to me it's not really that effective and makes me wonder if Kotelnik will simply outbox him and pick him apart as he is coming in like that.

Good fight.

Well, his 'amateurish' style has seen him pretty much dominate all
    his men. I see what you are saying about him. I think it's that he is so
    rangey and at times, he looks like he's lacking fluidity and composure.
    He looks very stiff and tense. That's just his body and style. I still maintain that he will be very difficult to outpoint.

I think he has shown more versatility since the Prescott bout, especially on the inside. He is throwing better hooks and body shots than previously!

Andriy has one real strength, his defense looks solid and as you said Akin, he covers up so well. Will Khan's shots land flush enough times?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭akindoc

Well, his 'amateurish' style has seen him pretty much dominate all
    his men. I see what you are saying about him. I think it's that he is so
    rangey and at times, he looks like he's lacking fluidity and composure.
    He looks very stiff and tense. That's just his body and style. I still maintain that he will be very difficult to outpoint.

I think he has shown more versatility since the Prescott bout, especially on the inside. He is throwing better hooks and body shots than previously!

Andriy has one real strength, his defense looks solid and as you said Akin, he covers up so well. Will Khan's shots land flush enough times?

Khans style has been effective up to now and the question is whether it will be as he fights higher levels of opponent. It's a question mark but I'd like to think that Freddy Roach would round him out and smoothen his style which I think is what will happen. A little bit more relaxed and composed as you said, would make him much better imo. I like Khan but the problem is, I despise the Sky Box Office arrangement and unfortunately would like to see that terminated. In other words, I'd like to see Khan scrambling around on the canvas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭foams

I don't get it lads. He's a fantastic fighter and we want him KOd?

He's a decent lad, I don't see what is unlikable about him. .

Well i feel alot of it is his own doing. its like why Fraudly Harrison was, and
    is so disliked, arriving on the pro scene after great amateur success
    and stating you would be a legend prior to achieving anything.
    Look at Darren Sutherland compared to James Degale , Suthlerland
    is understated and just gets on with learning his trade while
    Degale wont shut up about what he's about to achive.

Well, I don't see Darren or James doing much. Khan is a far better
    boxer than either of those two.

Hey, he may talk a little, big deal. It's not like
    he's an unlikable guy. He's a nice fella

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,001 ✭✭✭Big Ears

This guy is scheduled to defend against
    Ortiz on June 27th?

Again, Ordinary World Title?

Who the hell is the REAL champ for the WBA?

The WBA listings have NO super champ listed at 140 lbs, at least
    I can't see a name!

This guy lost a close fight to Witter, who I don't rate at all.
    Khan has a chance to bag another sham 'world title'?

This guy seems to be the REAL champ for the WBA, so why then
    does boxrec show him winning the Ordinary version?

Why would there be a Super Champ ?

Were you not around all those times in the past when I talked about what a WBA Super-Champion is ? or has the Dunne matter just made you forgot it.

A Super-Champion only exists when the Ordinary champion goes and beats another title holder(WBC, IBF or WBO) in the division and then he becomes a Super-Champion.

Kotelnik never beat another champion hence why he is the Ordinary Champion.

The WBA view Kotelnik as having the same title as Dunne, only at a higher weight.

Anyway, Kotelnik's pretty good technically, he's nice and tall at the weight, always comes in shape, isn't that big a puncher(immaterial he doesn't need to be) and is just down right tricky.

I thought Gavin Rees actually put up a very good showing for such a small and limited fighter at the weight. He gave Kotelnik some real problems early on before he started putting his shots together and hurting Rees.

Some might think this is great matchmaking from Warren, i'd say it's great matchmaking from Klaus-Peter-Kohl. He makes his fighter a lot of money, a fighter that is not that attractive to sell in Germany, and he'll probably get to come home with the belt and a severely enhanced reputation, and respect Worldwide.

Khan might beat Kotelnik in a 6 rounder, unfortunatley for his World title fights go for 12, and he'll be going to the canvas in this one a few times before getting stopped.

I can't believe I'm gonna say this, but I actually think Khan is being rushed here and it's not good for his career.

Well, I don't see Darren or James doing much. Khan is a far better
    boxer than either of those two.

Hey, he may talk a little, big deal. It's not like
    he's an unlikable guy. He's a nice fella
    So are you happy to see him get this shot ahead of Paul McCloskey?

Ahead of Witter and Olusegun who it seems nobody wants to fight.

Again its thoroughly undeserved and just sickens me.

eagle eye wrote: »

Olusegun's team are at fault for him fighting no one, he's no as much in the 'who needs him' bracket as you might think and McCloskey was more than ready to take on Olusegun until the Witter fight came about.

Olusegun will be mandatory for the winner, and if it's McCloskey he'll defend against him, Witter would probably go straight to a World title shot if he beats Paul.

Witter's team have had an offer turned down by Olusegun's camp, but the opposite has also happened aswell. There's no reason why they couldn't have got Olusegun some better opponents though, they were trying to get fights way too big for him before he proved himself and as a result they didn't happen.

If he had been more willing to travel or had been willing to set up camp in America for a while he'd have got his chances to prove himself by now.

Big Ears wrote: »
    Olusegun's team are at fault for him fighting no one, he's no as much in the 'who needs him' bracket as you might think and McCloskey was more than ready to take on Olusegun until the Witter fight came about.

Olusegun will be mandatory for the winner, and if it's McCloskey he'll defend against him, Witter would probably go straight to a World title shot if he beats Paul.

Witter's team have had an offer turned down by Olusegun's camp, but the opposite has also happened aswell. There's no reason why they couldn't have got Olusegun some better opponents though, they were trying to get fights way too big for him before he proved himself and as a result they didn't happen.

If he had been more willing to travel or had been willing to set up camp in America for a while he'd have got his chances to prove himself by now.
    I'm aware of the mickey mousing going on all right. My point is that these guys are all much more deserving of a shot than Khan. And I'm only talking about fighters based or boxing in Britain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭joepenguin

Ah Kahn is fairly deserving. He beat the wba number 3 at lightweight so im sure that holds some weight at 140. of course they are more deserving but there you go. I dont think he's ready, I hope im wrong on that but he is a worthy challenger, again as a voluntary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

akindoc wrote: »
    The problem is, he just looks very amatuerish to me in his style. They way he fires his punches from distance and then backs off and then repeats the process... it just looks very amatuerish to me..

This is the only way a boxer with a chin like khan can fight, if he stands and mixes he will get knocked out, pretty much by anyone.

He makes the most of what he's got and is exciting to a degree, if he wins the title he wont hold it for long because the minute he faces a puncher he's gone.

Talent wise he could of been amazing but his weakneses will prevent this ever happening.

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

Big Ears wrote: »
    Why would there be a Super Champ ?

Were you not around all those times in the past when I talked about what a WBA Super-Champion is ? or has the Dunne matter just made you forgot it.

A Super-Champion only exists when the Ordinary champion goes and beats another title holder(WBC, IBF or WBO) in the division and then he becomes a Super-Champion.

Kotelnik never beat another champion hence why he is the Ordinary Champion.

The WBA view Kotelnik as having the same title as Dunne, only at a higher weight.

Big, the use of the word Ordinary is what confused me.

The WBA may view the two scenarios the same but anyone with a little cop on will see that the WBA has two champs at 122 and one at 140 lbs.
    That's it in a nutshell and if Andriy beats another title holder, he gets super
    champ and the WBA can install another imposter.

Now, if Andriy was to win the IBF or WBC belt and Khan and someome else fought for the 'ordinary belt,' would you say this was legit? I wouldn't.
    That scenaro is the same as Dunne. Let's be precise. The Andriy and Caballero scenarios are different and the
    WBA created the silly difference. Both are the real champs, but to say Andriy and Dunne are
    no different is misleading

I view Caballero as the same as Andriy. Both are the real WBA champs and if someone stepped in and took a version of Andriy's belt (after Andriy won another belt), I wouldn't call
    that person the champ

eagle eye wrote: »

Eagle, I think I made myself clear on the whole 'deserving' issue.
    Khan does not deserve the shot ahead of any rated
    fighter at 140 lbs.

I am still glad he is getting a shot as I like him
    as a fighter

Big, the use of the word Ordinary is what confused me.

The WBA may view the two scenarios the same but anyone with a little cop on will see that the WBA has two champs at 122 and one at 140 lbs.
    That's it in a nutshell and if Andriy beats another title holder, he gets super
    champ and the WBA can install another imposter.

Now, if Andriy was to win the IBF or WBC belt and Khan and someome else fought for the 'ordinary belt,' would you say this was legit? I wouldn't.
    That scenaro is the same as Dunne. Let's be precise. The Andriy and Caballero scenarios are different and the
    WBA created the silly difference. Both are the real champs, but to say Andriy and Dunne are
    no different is misleading

I view Caballero as the same as Andriy. Both are the real WBA champs and if someone stepped in and took a version of Andriy's belt (after Andriy won another belt), I wouldn't call
    that person the champ

First of all just bumping this because these is a fair bit of Kahn talk going on in other threads.

Anyway. When Hatton moved up to welter to fight for the wba regular belt against Collazo he vacated his super title and mbaye and some other guy fought for that, mbaye won and dropped the belt to rees who lost it to kotelink. To me a belt is only as good as its lineage and this isnt the best duration wise or other. I put ordinary titles in the same brackets as vacant title, they are pretty much the same thing.

In Dunnes case for example if he defended his belt against Vasquez who has no belt really, then the wba regular becomes a whole lot more important than the wba super, or if he defended against Maruez or even ponce de leon. Thats all hypothetical but basically Kahn is fighting for a belt which was vacated 3 years ago with a less than impressive lineage.

I agree though he is only 22 but I cant agree about him wanting to fight the best out there. He said himself that Marquez is out of his league at the mo. I believe Kahn will step it up some day when the time is right.

I have always been of the opinion that he is been brought along at just the right pace and continues to be brought along. Limond KOd him if we call a spade a spade, Prescott did and Gomez nearly folded him over and scored a flash knockdown. So why do people want to see him in with the big boys?

If he can get a belt and make a few good voluntaries thats good enough for me. He has a long future ahead of him and he can make up for the lack of chin in time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭mikethemouth

this is another hand picked opponent from warren. i think khan will take this and dodge the best all his career.

Mike, he's the WBA champion. Far from hand picked. He may be the easiest
    option from the current belt holders at 140 lbs, but it's not like he's a
    tomato can and he probably will start as favorite!

Hey, Bradley is the only other champ as far as I know?

Witter and Devon Alexander fight for the vacant WBC
    belt that was taken from Bradley

Mike, he's the WBA champion. Far from hand picked. He may be the easiest
    option from the current belt holders at 140 lbs, but it's not like he's a
    tomato can and he probably will start as favorite!

Hey, Bradley is the only other champ as far as I know?

really surprised you rate this guy mate

hes prob the worst boxer out there that is a belt holder beating rees

jaysus even junior witter took this guy

its so obvious its a hand picked opponent . hes slow, boxes in straight lines and most importantly not a heavy puncher !!!!

khan will win this belt but for me this does not make he a credible world champ ( not by a long shot )

really surprised you rate this guy mate

hes prob the worst boxer out there that is a belt holder beating rees

jaysus even junior witter took this guy

its so obvious its a hand picked opponent

khan will win this belt but for me this does not make he a credible world champ .

Mike, I didn't say I rated Kotelnik. I said he was the WBA champion and though not great, he is still fighting in his natural weight. He will start the favorite I would imagine.
    He's not useless and has good skill, stamina and is very strong and durable.
    Khan if he can take the punch and the pace should have the skills and speed to
    win.

Actually, Khan is the favorite at 8/13 and Kotelnik at 5/4
    Paddy Power!

I also will not be leaping with amazement should Khan
    win and will not be claiming him as the best in the world at 140

But, he is still so young and it's a step forward as far as I can see.

Mike, I didn't say I rated Kotelnik. I said he was the WBA champion and though not great, he is still fighting in his natural weight. He will start the favorite I would imagine.
    He's not useless and has good skill, stamina and is very strong and durable.
    Khan if he can take the punch and the pace should have the skills and speed to
    win.

Actually, Khan is the favorite at 8/13 and Kotelnik at 5/4
    Paddy Power!

I also will not be leaping with amazement should Khan
    win and will not be claiming him as the best in the world at 140

But, he is still so young and it's a step forward as far as I can see.

mate i realise your khan fan and to an extent i like the kid but this story sickens me

its a complete sham and represents everything that is wrong about boxing. warren is a disgrace for years

there are a number of proven fighters who are far more deserving of this title shot against this mug (course Khan is favourite ...this guy is a terrible world champ...)

Mike, and nobody disagrees that Khan does not deserve the shot.
    This is PRO boxing and money talks.

It aint' right, but I am glad
    Khan is at least moving along in the right direction and upping the test.
    Kotelnik will be the best he has faced to date.

MAB was small and washed up.

I really do not believe that Khan will want to sit back
    if he wins. He will at some stage have to face even
    better than Kotelnik. That will be sooner than most
    think!

Mike, and nobody disagrees that Khan does not deserve the shot.
    This is PRO boxing and money talks.

It aint' right, but I am glad
    Khan is at least moving along in the right direction and upping the test.
    Kotelnik will be the best he has faced to date.

MAB was small and washed up.

I really do not believe that Khan will want to sit back
    if he wins. He will at some stage have to face even
    better than Kotelnik. That will be sooner than most
    think!

No i agree with you mate. Boxing has been doing so well over last 12 months with the best guys competing for titles (exceptions obviously have occured but by in large its been a great 12 months with regard to quality fighting quality).

your right about pro boxing etc ..its just a little sickening.

i agree with you that this is his toughest test since prescott.

i do think think khan is talented and strong for his size.

not sure i agree with you though about khan will fight bigger names in the near future- i cant see that happening while warren is in charge. time will tell i guess

No i agree with you mate. Boxing has been doing so well over last 12 months with the best guys competing for titles (exceptions obviously have occured but by in large its been a great 12 months with regard to quality fighting quality).

your right about pro boxing etc ..its just a little sickening.

i agree with you that this is his toughest test since prescott.

i do think think khan is talented and strong for his size.

not sure i agree with you though about khan will fight bigger names in the near future- i cant see that happening while warren is in charge. time will tell i guess

The way I see it Mike is that IF Khan wins, I don't see how he can fight lesser fighters than Kotelnik?

He will have to make mandatories won't he? At least at some stage,
    or be stripped! It won't be a case of winning the belt and then for the
    next 2-3 years he meets guys rated outside the top ten. That I don't think
    will happen, even if Warren wanted it that way!

The way I see it Mike is that IF Khan wins, I don't see how he can fight lesser fighters than Kotelnik?

Well I was about to go on a mild rant of how the WBA rankings are pretty poor(particularly) at Light-Welterweight and with Warren's sway Khan could probably go quite some time without a mandatory and then when he does have to defend one they won't be great. This is all besides me actually fancying Kotelnik to win btw :P

Then I saw this http://www.boxrec.com/list_bouts.php?human_id=257790&cat=boxer
    Victor Ortiz v Marcos Maidana for the interim WBA title, interim of what I'm not sure because it's not like the current champion is away so they can't have a champion in the 'interim' but that's nothing new to boxing and nothing new to the WBA as they seem determined to have a minimum of 2 champions at each weight and 3 if they can get away with it.

Point is I don't fancy Khan to win, but if he does can anyone see him coping with Victor Ortiz, or Maidana if he causes the upset ?

Both those guys can really really punch, and there isn't a chance in hell of Khan standing up to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 177 ✭✭Dub973

for excitement.

once again I completely disagree with you. Amir Kahn is an overated boxer with no defense. His fast hands are all he has and they don't seem to be working at the moment. He was exposed in the fight were he was absolutely destroyed and this is his last shot at the big time

He always has the get out of jail card by going back down to lightweight for a fight should he ever get cornered to fight someone real good. Or take on a faded legend and give up the belt claiming to fight the bigger name.

As for defences I see a few shady entrants been made from 10-15 that he could fight. And thats just the wba's top 15. But it think thats perfect for him at the mo till he's ready to step it up a notch.

Dub973 wrote: »
    once again I completely disagree with you. Amir Kahn is an overated boxer with no defense. His fast hands are all he has and they don't seem to be working at the moment. He was exposed in the fight were he was absolutely destroyed and this is his last shot at the big time

How can you completely disagree with the quoted text you gave from me?

Did I say anything incorrect. Do you know Khan personally or something?
    If so, what is to dislike about HIM the person?

I said his chin is weak, we all know this. I said his offense and speed were
    very good, they are.

And I agree, this is maybe his last shot at the big time and if he loses
    badly, I see no way back!

joepenguin wrote: »
    He always has the get out of jail card by going back down to lightweight for a fight should he ever get cornered to fight someone real good. Or take on a faded legend and give up the belt claiming to fight the bigger name.

As for defences I see a few shady entrants been made from 10-15 that he could fight. And thats just the wba's top 15. But it think thats perfect for him at the mo till he's ready to step it up a notch.

joe, lets be real; Khan's time at LW are limited. He will outgrow this divison very very soon.
    He probably has already if the truth be known. In a lot of his bouts, Khan was above the weight and now he is maturing, I see him leaving it behind!

Jeez, it seems no matter what he does, folks are slating him.
    Okay, if he was 26/27/28 and 7-8 years into the game and had
    faced nobody, I could understand, but why slate him when he hasn't even
    done the things you are slating him for:rolleyes:

In three to four years if he still is around and at the top, then we
    can slate him if he is hand picking. Feck sake, let the guy
    have his chance first. That's all I am saying and even though
    I think he's a fine talent, I agree with Big and make Kotelnik the favorite!