Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

advice wanted on a .223

• 07-04-2009 9:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭

AS i said in a previos thread I'm thinking of purchasing my first .223 rifle..... a friend has a remy 700 and recently changed the stock on it and swears by it....... has any one got some advice about what model would suit......i'd like to be able to shot long range with it.. and price is an issue....seemingly theres a reccession going on.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,108 ✭✭✭clivej

andyone wrote: »
    AS i said in a previos thread I'm thinking of purchasing my first .223 rifle..... a friend has a remy 700 and recently changed the stock on it and swears by it....... has any one got some advice about what model would suit......i'd like to be able to shot long range with it.. and price is an issue....seemingly theres a reccession going on.....

Sort out what type of shooting you want to do. If it's long range try a Savage good to shoot out of the box. There's one in Stakelums @€;1650
    http://www.savagearms.com/12FTR.htm

If it's a bit of target and hunting then this is what i have. A CZ varmint 223 with kevlar stock. It will shoot around 1" (and a bit more) @200m best is 20mm. Now with a Bushnell 6-24x50 on top and an ASE NightStar moderator on the way.

DSCF0885.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

clivej wrote: »
    Sort out what type of shooting you want to do. If it's long range try a Savage good to shoot out of the box. There's one in Stakelums @€;1650
    http://www.savagearms.com/12FTR.htm

If it's a bit of target and hunting then this is what i have. A CZ varmint 223 with kevlar stock. It will shoot around 1" (and a bit more) @200m best is 20mm. Now with a Bushnell 6-24x50 on top and an ASE NightStar moderator on the way.

DSCF0885.jpg

Clive!!!!!You didnt think I was going to let you show of your CZ Varmint without me did ya?

Andyone....Here is my CZ with the laminated stock(just between you and I..It kicks ass over the Kevlar stock) but dont tell Clive that:;););)
    048.jpg
    056.jpg

And they are a couple of hundred squid cheaper

Andy my first 223 was a rem 700 sps.(sythetic stock...plastic) It shot well..But the trigger was horrible(100-300 euro for anew trigger depending on what you want) the stock was CAT...not free floated and flimsy (300-400 euro for a decent stock)

I had it for a year then sold it on(i never bought the extras to get it up to what I wanted ie: the stock and trigger)

I bought the cz varmint cause it has a fully adjustable trigger(pull weight,and travel and also has a set/hair trigger for target work) and both the kavlar and lamineted stock are rock solid....
    As you can probably tell both Clive and I are very fond of our CZ`s

Good luck with your decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭gofaster_s13

Personally I think Remington have been trading on their name for too long and their quality control has slipped to totally unacceptable levels, there are lots of aftermarket goodies for the Remingtons to make them shoot well but why spend money trying to make a gun shoot well when you can buy one that shoots well out of the box ie Tikka's, CZ's etc. First figure out what you want to shoot with the gun and then try and get a few shots out of someone elses guns to get a feel for them also beware the current trend for heavy barrell varmint rifles(bought one myself) these are not a nice gun to be lugging around fields and tend not to be very pointable from standing they are more suited to shooting from prone or shooting prairie dogs from mobile shooting benches(which is what they were originally designed for afaik)

dwighet wrote: »
    Clive!!!!!You didnt think I was going to let you show of your CZ Varmint without me did ya?

Andyone....Here is my CZ with the laminated stock(just between you and I..It kicks ass over the Kevlar stock) but dont tell Clive that:;););)
    048.jpg
    056.jpg

And they are a couple of hundred squid cheaper

Well what can I say trumpted with an ACE by Dwighet. That laminated customised stock is the business and sits in the hand snuggly. I'm hoping to get a stock like that with my soon to be Sako 75 varmint in 308.

Now all together DROOL...................................

Well what can I say trumpted with an ACE by Dwighet. That laminated customised stock is the business and sits in the hand snuggly. I'm hoping to get a stock like that with my soon to be Sako 75 varmint in 308.

Now all together DROOL...................................
    will ya let me shoot you sako....pleeeeeaaaase..old mate

Pretty Please might work :P

Are they your pink jocks in the press behind the varmint??????????

Pretty Please might work :P

Are they your pink jocks in the press behind the varmint??????????

PRETTY PLEASE!!!!! you must be joking

and as far as my pink jocks...It takes a brave man to wear pink jocks...I was wearing them when I beat you in the fox shoot a few weeks ago....

PRETTY PLEASE!!!!! you must be joking

and as far as my pink jocks...It takes a brave man to wear pink jocks...I was wearing them when I beat you in the fox shoot a few weeks ago....

Fish Slapped now you know why he was lifting his leg while laying prone. :D

And AndyOne the OP only wanted advice on a new 223. See what fun these forums are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭andyone

don't know now..... should i spend my dollars on a new gun or pink underwear....lol

Andy....
    You dont have to spend a cent...
    I will post you my pink jocks,stains and all with the springs im sending you...

ah your alright there skip.... the stains might make the parcel to heavy..... and the local postie has a bad back as it is....tell me do you remember how much you spent on your .223..... it's the dogs.... i have to say its impressive

That's what I want to know. You kept that very quite Dwighet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭fish slapped

:D Pink Jocks and skid marks, Yep now I know I'm on boards.ie :D

Clive if I rermember right it was you with your leg in the air :eek: so did ye swap jocks when you thought I wasn't looking :o Iwas looking ;):D:D:D and now I know why ye both have high powered scopes!!!!!!!

But there were 3 CZ's in the top 5 that day, so I think that says a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭k_d

thats a lovely stock dwight, where you pick it up?

k_d wrote: »
    thats a lovely stock dwight, where you pick it up?

The stock is standard...thats how i bought it..John Greene did his magic with the venting in the forend and carved in the finger slots and took alot of the thickness out of the palm area..also bedded it,threaded it and gave it a 11 degree target crown.I think I spent around 500 but also included my cz 550 6.5x55 crowned and threaded

Seeing as this thread has turned into .223 porn I thought I'd show the CZ owners what a real gun looks like:D
    Tikka T3 super varmint
    3427194042_091928a1ff.jpg?v=0

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭CZ.

thats lovely am thinking of getting 1 in 204

I like..........there a good looking piece of kit...

A mate of mine has the t3 tactical in 223......very accurate gun...one hole stuff!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭MRJ

CZ. wrote: »
    thats lovely am thinking of getting 1 in 204
    Well cz why would you choose the .204 over the .223.

main reson is its a lot flatter. ammo cost is not important as it will be used for foxs only

how much is a box of rounds for the .204 compared to the .223. Am thinking of upgradeing my .22wmr

think 204 is around 25 euro for 20 were is the 223 12 euro for 20 heard that 223 ammo is not the best do 204 is a good bit faster and heard of people that it shots flater than 22.250

CZ...... where are you getting your .223 rounds for 12 euro...... what make are they.....

american eagle some places are 13 euro a BOX look up carlow county sports these rounds are not the best my mate was using them and he now uses remington but some people find them ok

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 shottie

You are totally right on that one ! Remington rifles i saw in .223 were crude enough weapons, the bolt/ receiver is not the highest quality in these rifles, i personally prefer European rifles by far, Anschutz make great rifles in .22 lr magnum and hornet but not in .223 yet, Weihruach is the same, Tikka and Sako are the nicest rifles i have seen in .233 calibre, Browning or Ruger would be interesting also. but i doubt there are many of em about in .223 calibre here in Ireland. Dont get me wrong about Remington rifles the US marine corps use, customises off the shelf model 700,s for sniper duty in Iraq. Anyway it takes a good shooter and good gun and perfect conditions to shoot 1 inch groups at 100 yards consistantly.

I'm using Federal V-Shok @28 a box. Tried the others the but groups weren't good enough for me.

With these I'll get sub 1" @200m when I do my bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭ianoo

/IMG]
    2009040901.jpg
    my new 223
    a remington 700
    no worries about accuracy here best group so far was 1/2 inch at 100 yrds using remington 50 grainers

ian

The 223 seems to be the perfect foxing calibre i have a hornet myself . Is there much difference in the ammo price between the hornet and 223. it would be good if we could hand load our own ammo make it cheaper and better? I know from the UK magazines that the 22-50 is dedicated long range foxing calibre, it was always a deer calibre here, i wonder has that changed?

Nice looking rifle ! What type of scope have you on it ?

Hey go faster what type of scope on the Tikka ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭foxshooter243

shottie wrote: »
    The 223 seems to be the perfect foxing calibre i have a hornet myself . Is there much difference in the ammo price between the hornet and 223. it would be good if we could hand load our own ammo make it cheaper and better? I know from the UK magazines that the 22-50 is dedicated long range foxing calibre, it was always a deer calibre here, i wonder has that changed?

Shottie, i dont know about your area , but up here in Donegal we can use 22-250 for fox only-and some lads have 243 for fox only too...so if you fancy one go for it..

Here we go 223 V 204 , wheres Bunny shooter???:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭kakashka

You are totally right on that one ! Remington rifles i saw in .223 were crude enough weapons, the bolt/ receiver is not the highest quality in these rifles, i personally prefer European rifles by far, Anschutz make great rifles in .22 lr magnum and hornet but not in .223 yet, Weihruach is the same, Tikka and Sako are the nicest rifles i have seen in .233 calibre, Browning or Ruger would be interesting also. but i doubt there are many of em about in .223 calibre here in Ireland. Dont get me wrong about Remington rifles the US marine corps use, customises off the shelf model 700,s for sniper duty in Iraq. Anyway it takes a good shooter and good gun and perfect conditions to shoot 1 inch groups at 100 yards consistantly.
    Anschutz 1770,.223

Sorry lads but could we refer to our rifles as firearms and not "weapons" as the walls have ears and we don't want to leave ourselves open to any silly quotes .

Hey go faster what type of scope on the Tikka ??

Nikon Monarch 6-24x50 with the BDC ret:D

CZ. wrote: »
    think 204 is around 25 euro for 20 were is the 223 12 euro for 20 heard that 223 ammo is not the best do 204 is a good bit faster and heard of people that it shots flater than 22.250
    Yeah a very fast round almost 4000fps found plenty of info on http://www.204ruger.com/ though the site might be a bit biased.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Here we go 223 V 204 , wheres Bunny shooter???:rolleyes:

I is here :pac: .204 kicks .223 ass :p

.223 kicks .17 ass:D:D:D

Hey Go faster! I bought a Nikon Monarch online from opticswarehouse.co.uk last week, its a 4 X 16 X50 sidefocus. i didnt receive it yet , cant wait to get it, i had a hawk night eye scope on the gun 6.5 X 20 X 50 was not holding its zero, i has a weaver grand slam on it at the the mo, 3X9X40 i had it on my anschutz .22lr before. When i get this Nikon scope i will see what the gun is like, if it dont hold the line, i will give the old hornet the high road!!! Any opinions of Nikon scopes?

Anshutz 1770 should be a very good rifle!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭bigred

Ardee Sports are the wholesalers - give them a call, then add about 10% for dealer markup. Let us know cos this rifle could be a Tikka dealbreaker

All i know is that I'm happy enough with my CZ in .223

IMG_0155.jpg

CZ varmint in .223 @ 200meters w/ federal 40gr ballistic tips 3 shot group 1/4" c/c :D

IMG_0156.jpg

clicking up to Zero @ 200 meters. :D

Thanks to Clive J for the targets.
    FS

Good target or WOT. :D

Who says those CZ varmints can't shoot, fair play FS that's good shooting in my book.

:p:p PITY you couldn't do that on the Fox shoot a couple of weeks ago :p:p

I think the deer shoot is on next week. Are you going to enter for it??

Those targets are in the Hunting tips section.

Problem there was I left the scope on a low setting after the fox @ 100 for shooting the 200 meter target, I kept it low for the fox,still couldn't keep with you !!!

Theres always next time ;):D

well guys, thank you one and all for your advice, it looks like the money will be spent on a cz527 M1 american .223 with a syntetic stock(which has the standard barrell).... local gun dealer is listing it at €725 for the straight gun.... all i have to do now is find a couple of hundred euro for a deposit...... and take it from there.....decided on the cz because you's are all raving about them, and i all ready have a .17 cz452 and can't fault it... decided on the .223 cause the ammo is cheaper than the .204...and with some number crunching will get me out far enough for the time being..... and decided on the standard barrell because as much as i like my shooting i think that i would get tired of carring the extra weight after a while.... and the foxes are only concerned with the bullet and not the barrel any way....... will let ye all know when i get it...:):):)

Good choice Andy you won't be sorry they are a lovely gun to shoot and now your next decision is what scope to put on it??:D
    Whats your budget for a scope and what mag do you want?? we may be able to help ;):D

I would recommend Millet mounts as they are made for the CZ action and I've seen a lot of lads trying different mounts and flapping about with the cheaper options before settling on the millet. Would you agree Clive??;)

The other thing is a harris bipod and the mandatory lightforce scope mounted lamp.
    Ammo?
    Sling?
    Bore guide ?
    Moderator?
    Laser range finder?
    spare mag.'s
    jeep?

Gosh where to stop???:eek::eek::eek:

I would second the Millet mounts for the 527 because thats what I use as well :D