Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tour of Ireland Sportive

• 06-04-2009 7:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭

Anyone signed up to do this but can't? Looking for a place. Emailed the organisers a couple of weeks ago regarding late entries but no reply- anyone have any contact details? I know they have a forum but last post there was January and no replies...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭scottreynolds

blorg wrote: »
    Anyone signed up to do this but can't? Looking for a place. Emailed the organisers a couple of weeks ago regarding late entries but no reply- anyone have any contact details? I know they have a forum but last post there was January and no replies...

PM Sent with contact details.... Good to see your aboard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

Cool, have spoken to him and he reckons they can fit me in :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Esroh

Are there many more from here signed up. I mad enough to go back again this year

Yes, let's turn this thread into a "who is doing this from Boards" thread, plans, training progress, etc. Thanks for both your PMs.

I'm doing it... Been training for a few months. trying to not only get through it but enjoy it. Training for me is peaking now with back to back 100 mile rides. Can't wait for it to be over at this stage -- need a break from training.

trying to not only get through it but enjoy it.
    This was my motto 08 and is still for this year. 2nd half of day 3 is thru my home roads and that will be the toughest bit for me:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

what dates, and how much?

Link is http://www.tourofireland.eu/ I assume.

what dates, and how much?
    7th-11th May. 5 stages, just under 1,000km. €800 including all accomodation etc. Lisburn-Dublin.

mapAward2.png
    The registration fee of €800 is all inclusive package which covers 5 night’s hotel accommodation with breakfast, evening meals, medical and mechanical support, stage transfers, feed stations and riders insurance as detailed below. (Please note the hotel accommodation is for the 6th, 7th, 8th, 9th and 10th May 2009)

You should seriously consider doing it Tiny if you want to do the Race Around Ireland, PBP, etc., would be very good preparation (and I think very reasonably priced considering all you get.)

From what I read of previous years it was a great experience and the gardai basically enforced a rolling road closure. Split into I think three groups, you can decide on the day which one you want to start with so you can take it as hard or easy as you like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭smithslist

I'm signed up and goin to start training for it after i finish Gorey 3-day this wend.

This has groups to suit all levels.The front lads averages 20mph+ last year.Jamie Burows ex USPostal was the fastest last year.He was amazed with the road closures and city finishes.He now rides Grand Fondos in Italy for a bike maker team
    We came into Galway over 2+1/2 hours after them and got a full escort in from the Airport to the Cathederal at 4 o clock when the town was mobbed. Same the next day into Kilkenny.
    Hotels and on road food was top class and back up was great.
    I am a leisure cyclist and it sets you up perfectly for all the Sportives in summer. So any racinghead who wants a solid hard week training camp has one in the front group

Esroh wrote: »
    This was my motto 08 and is still for this year. 2nd half of day 3 is thru my home roads and that will be the toughest bit for me:D

Its one of the toughest sportives around I could find for amateurs. There's not really many 5 day sportives like this one. For me this challenge was just t get me back onto the bike. Several people said it was great last year but very long - especially the 3 day. This year days 3 and 4 will be very long I have no doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

Would be very interested, but there's no way I can afford 800 quid for it this year, what with the Marmotte and everything... maybe in 2010

Cool, have spoken to him and he reckons they can fit me in :)
    smithslist wrote: »
    I'm signed up and goin to start training for it after i finish Gorey 3-day this wend.
    Esroh wrote:
    So any racinghead who wants a solid hard week training camp has one in the front group

I particularly enjoy reading things line this. Oh I decided to do it today and Oh I guess I'll start training for it next week :eek:.

I've been slogging my guts out for the bext part of 6 months, with a 2 month break, training for this. It really goes to show what a huge variety of abilities we all have here. Perhaps I am talentless... in all seriousness though it will be great fun for all.

A training week for those people racing -- they would want to be doing so pretty hard racing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

A training week for those people racing -- they would want to be doing so pretty hard racing.

It had been mentioned by one of the motorbike police at a meeting on the eve of the event that some guys might be using it as training for the Rás. He may have just been speculating. I didn't actually hear of anyone in particular who was though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭zzzzzzzz

I particularly enjoy reading things line this. Oh I decided to do it today and Oh I guess I'll start training for it next week :eek:.

I've been slogging my guts out for the bext part of 6 months, with a 2 month break, training for this. It really goes to show what a huge variety of abilities we all have here. Perhaps I am talentless... in all seriousness though it will be great fun for all.

In fairness, it's not like anyone that's decided to do it has not been on the bike for the last 6 months. The difference is you've got a specific training plan based around the tour of ireland. other people have still been training.

smithslist will have the gorey 3 day in his legs ffs!

In fairness, it's not like anyone that's decided to do it has not been on the bike for the last 6 months. The difference is you've got a specific training plan based around the tour of ireland. other people have still been training.

smithslist will have the gorey 3 day in his legs ffs!

I know I know..... Still funny though. It supposed to be the hardest thing I have ever done ;) so people need to treat it with reverence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭honkjelly

Will be back for more pain this year. Not looking forward to the Silvermines and will definitely not be getting complacent when I get to the top of the wicklow gap on day 5. The ups and downs around Blessington were physical and mental torture. Ahhh the memories...:)

honkjelly wrote: »
    Will be back for more pain this year. Not looking forward to the Silvermines and will definitely not be getting complacent when I get to the top of the wicklow gap on day 5. The ups and downs around Blessington were physical and mental torture. Ahhh the memories...:)

yeah Blessington is tough enough for a normal spin, but after 5 days in the saddle i can imagine.

Wat front and back gear's where you using for the tour?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 253 ✭✭Tackleberry

The website has been very poor for information and updates, specifically on the route details - could someone who's done it before maybe plot the route for day 4 and maybe even day 5? Much appreciated - are the first 3 days relatively flat? I know nothing about the Silvermines so it'd be good to get the lowdown on it, and what mountains its taking in on day 5. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭LCD

I've signed up for this and is a good crew from Dundalk going to it. Yeah is a distinct lack of info on the website and is only a month away!!

Few guys I know did it the last 2 years and had great things to say about it.

There's a post on the website from a random punter asking if its still on - got me thinkin...wouldn't be that unrealistic to think it's strugglin? From the registration list there's only 120 odd signed up, think thats less than half last years number?

Poor form that we're 4 weeks away and they haven't got in contact with us...fingers crossed!

There's a post on the website from a random punter asking if its still on - got me thinkin...wouldn't be that unrealistic to think it's strugglin? From the registration list there's only 120 odd signed up, think thats less than half last years number?

Poor form that we're 4 weeks away and they haven't got in contact with us...fingers crossed!

It was the same deal last year. The pack only arrived close to the event.

Raam wrote: »
    It was the same deal last year. The pack only arrived close to the event.

true enough, maybe it was the cost (economy) and distance that produced less people interested.

Its goin to be harder now wit less wheels to sit on ;)

yeah Blessington is tough enough for a normal spin, but after 5 days in the saddle i can imagine.

Wat front and back gear's where you using for the tour?

Was using my granny gear most of the time! I still have no idea of gearing ratios to be honest - whatever the standard gearing on a compact is?? TOI organisers sent out a booklet last year with the maps and climbing profiles of each stage (like the ones on the site for stage 1 & 2 this year). I'm sure they will put the info up for days 3,4 and 5 on the website before it starts. Will only get worried about it not happening if the TOI markings around Larragh don't get a lick of paint before May.

Silvermines was a brutal climb on day 3rd last year. In the DVD of the race there is a clip of Joe Barr laughing at the state of people as they reached the top and then saying that he remembered "getting sore legs on this hill as a racer many years ago and I always vowed if I ever got the opportunity I was going to hurt someone elses legs - and I did and it was really good"

Yeah that one was a right killer. I was very glad of the 27 that day. Blokes were turning to jelly with their 25s on that one. The descent down the other side wasn't much better! Off set camber with slippery pine needles all over the shop.

What gearing did you have on front last year with your 27 Raam- standard or compact? In terms of tiredness up climbs I am guessing it is far worse than the end of the Wicklow 200 in days 3/4/5 given the miles already in the legs?

I had 53/39 with 12/27. The back to back days were tough. The pace always heated up in the last 10km, which was fun :)

Where you using your 27 much or any of the sprockets 1 or two below that? I dont have sprockets that high and planned not to change my block for the tour.

Will have to decide between the standard or compact . I am OK on the standard for one day in Wicklow but planning on the compact for the Marmotte :) 27 on the back is a given.

Where you using your 27 much or any of the sprockets 1 or two below that? I dont have sprockets that high and planned not to change my block for the tour.

The 27 is for the steep stuff like that hill mentioned earlier. You would get by on a 25, but you won't look pretty doing it ;) It might be handy to have the extra teeth for event... use em if you need em, if you don't, well no great loss.

Some chap asked me what I was running when we got to the top of the hill at Silvermines where there was a food stop and we were required to wait. 27, I told him. He scoffed at it. I didn't have the heart to ask him if he enjoyed arriving up the hill 10 minutes after I did.

I am still a relative newbie but last year I was so green I did not know any better than to do it on the same gearing Little did I know that hills in the West were only little drags compared to everywhere else. Was seeing stars on Gullion. Would have walked faster in Silvermines and Wicklow it was just slowly slowly get to the top.:D We also speeded up at the end of each day and lived out our own sprint finishes;)

Some chap asked me what I was running when we got to the top of the hill at Silvermines where there was a food stop and we were required to wait. 27, I told him. He scoffed at it. I didn't have the heart to ask him if he enjoyed arriving up the hill 10 minutes after I did.
    Classic stuff. Mind with you I don't think it was entirely down to the 27 ;)

I remember sheepishly putting my bike together in Lisburn as I was surrounded by all the bling bikes and this guy was walking round checking out the bikes.He took one look at me and just smirked.Did I enjoy it passing him out on Trek 1000 going up the Dam on Fri.
    He was not smirking then

Classic stuff. Mind with you I don't think it was entirely down to the 27 ;)

Raam, you are nasty. I finally figured out the look yo had the other day while lying back on the bridge at the bottom of Slieve Mann. I though you were ust happy to see us, but you were laughing.

So, I was planning 12-25 and compact merely cause that what I have. I could go 12-27 at the back. 12-25 get me up anything in Wicklow, so for those of your with experience, would that do. I'm not a light weight climber.

I finally figured out what was holding me back on a climb yesterday, I'm sure my brake cables are too long and causing extra drag. ;)

Raam, you are nasty. I finally figured out the look yo had the other day while lying back on the bridge at the bottom of Slieve Mann. I though you were ust happy to see us, but you were laughing.

So, I was planning 12-25 and compact merely cause that what I have. I could go 12-27 at the back. 12-25 get me up anything in Wicklow, so for those of your with experience, would that do. I'm not a light weight climber.

I was just happy to see you.

I think you would be fine with the compact and 25. With a 39 chainring... the 27 might be something to consider

I was just happy to see you.

I think you would be fine with the compact and 25. With a 39 chainring... the 27 might be something to consider

I'd already asked you, I was wanting a response from a normal climber :D

A new cassette is cheap, why not get a 12-27, you don't have to use the 27 but you have it if you do want it...

Well it's a start, jaysus I'm scared...

http://www.rte.ie/sport/cycling/2009/0409/kellogs.html

Noticed today the route page on site changed.List of towns nolonger there so they must be confirming route now:eek:

routes and profiles for the 5 days are up on the site now: http://www.tourofireland.eu/theRoute.htm

Oh -- It changed slightly. The last day is shorter. I can't remember all the other distances. The third day at 245 km looks very very very long. Its likely to be 9-10 hours maybe more including breaks. :eek:

Day 3
    The last Climb the Runners call the 'Hell of the West' in the Connemara marathon.Also the prevailing winds Usually mean that you have a headwind for the stretch along the Lakes as the wind finds its way between the Mountains.

Also see no Silvermines this time:D

How's everyones training holding up. I'm tired this week and all my energy and power seems to be going. Last long rides this weekend then next week is shorter rides as high pace to keep the lega active... roll on Sunday 3pm.

If you are tired, maybe you should not go for such a long ride this weekend.

Thats certainly the sensible thing to do...... but I'll be fine tomorrow.... long ride yesterday evening.

If I feel crap Saturday I'll just meander around the northside instead of blasting done and doing Shay Eliiot etc......

All I keep telling myself is the 'end is neigh'

I am still recovering with my knee although managed ~350km spread between Saturday, Monday and Tuesday, all up the mountains. So hopefully will be in some sort of shape. If you are feeling very tired you are probably best off resting I would think. Ask your coach, see what she says.

Ask your coach, see what she says.

She'll say... take it easy but ride anyway. Then she'll look at yesterdays ride and hassle me for going to hard..... Female coaches :D

God it never feels like you've done enough when I read these posts!! We're just doing 100 milers down the coast road to arklow and back through aughrim and laragh, very lumpy but feel its a good solid trek, decent averages, but back-to-back jobbies - no thanks, I'll leave that for the event itself!

Happened to drive the three major climbs in Wicklow this afternoon and they look like fcukin torture, mate had his bike so he had a go at the Shay Elliott, seemed to fly up it but thats with very fresh legs. As much as I hate climbing those three climbs are simply stunning, why do we have to ruin them with our pain!

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

She'll say... take it easy but ride anyway. Then she'll look at yesterdays ride and hassle me for going to hard..... Female coaches :D

What does she look at? Power files?