Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mispronunciations

• 06-04-2009 3:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭

I know there are annoying mispronunciations that have been touched on in other threads but not sure if there has been one thread dedicated to them? If there is already one, I apologise!

I was inspired to post after listening to James Short read the sports news on 2fm all afternoon. "Brian Kerr has been announced as the new manager of the Faro Irelands today"....the first time I heard it I thought just a simple mistake...but he has said the exact same thing on every sports bulletin since 1 o'clock!

Gerry Ryan has a long list of pronunciations that annoy me too, especially "paydofeel" (paedophile) and AA Roadwatch are also heavy offenders.

Are there any mispronounced words on the radio that annoy you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭Seniorpeazel

One word that many people dont pronounce is specific... why do they insist on using the word "pacific" instead?!?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

People who pronounce "O" as "U" or "U" as "OO"

Biggest offenders

Brenda Donohue= Budget/Boodget=done/Doon. How that woman got on radio is a mystery to me.

Des Cahill=Donegal/Dunnigal Run=Roon Bunker/Boonker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭Stylo

Most RTE newsreaders are to blame for this one - GORE-DEE instead of the way it is feckin well written - GARDAI

S

:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭pierrot

The weatherman accidentally spoonerising "scattered showers" was a classic; shattered scours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Duck's hoop

According to certain traffic info people there's a small town in Galway called 'Gurt' - not on any map I've perused.

And some place known as 'Kurk' in the far south, again hitherto ignored cartographically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Malice

Stylo wrote: »
    Most RTE newsreaders are to blame for this one - GORE-DEE instead of the way it is feckin well written - GARDAI

S

:mad:
    Actually it should be written as "Gardaí" and the pronounciation you've written is close to how it should be pronounced as far as I know. How would you pronounce it?

One that bugs me is on traffic reports, the word "roundabout" becomes "rindabite".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭Tillerman08

And when did "sixth" become sickth????? Drives me mad!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭jclare56

my favourite is on spin 1038 where they mis pronouce eccles st as ecc-les st on the traffic....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭flower tattoo

ray d'arcy pronouncing modern as mod-ren, it makes my teeth clench :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

Matt Cooper, take a bow:

Saherday, noos, bewpa, teaATEer and Eyetalians.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭2fivers

I live in fear of rynda-bites. I hear them mentioned frequently by AA roadwatch presenters. They sound like nasty things altogether.

I sometimes drive through Dublin, but as they primarily cause trouble in the sithesyde district, I try to avoid this mythical area in case I meet one. I wouldn't know how to handle it.

I do find George Hook's verbal hyphenisation of compound words somewhat quaint and endearing though (Block-buster Ex-trordinary hyphen-ated etc.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭Agonist

It like chalk on a blackboard when poeple say CONtribute and DIStribute. Joe Duffy is a guily party here.
    I heard a guy on an online Christian station talking about the LHC. He pronounced it "the large hadron corridor" :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Duck's hoop

A guy I know was recently going on about some talking head, on TFM I think, giving out about bad pronounciation.

Anyone know if this is true?

Brilliant if it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

2fivers wrote: »
    I live in fear of rynda-bites.

Ha ha, rynda-bites. Always make me laugh.

Fergal D'arcy on i102104 constantly pronounces sandwich as sangwige. Don't know if the plonker does it intentionally, but it's very annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Keedowah

Portugal / Porticle
    Italian / Eyetalian
    Potatoes / Padaetos

Are pretty common ones that grind my gears....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

Whats the story with 2FM's advert for the up coming Spandooo Ballet concert, how did pass quality control?

I heard that the other day and thought it was a joke! It just sounds awful for some reason.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

Not technically a mispronounciation, but VEH-hickle istead of VEE-hickle for the word 'vehicle' just drives me mad

Oh and people who put emphasis on the word suit: they say syoot not soot

Not technically a mispronounciation, but VEH-hickle istead of VEE-hickle for the word 'vehicle' just drives me mad

Oh and people who put emphasis on the word suit: they say syoot not soot

Yeah, I hate this. We've got tishyoo, issyoo, even sexyooality, sounds so sleazy. Pat Kenny's a great man for this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Pat Kenny pronouncing Courtesy as 'Court-asy' instead of Curtesy . . .

Jerry Ryan pronouncing Thailand as 'Thigh-Land' instead of Tieland . . .

Everyother Irish Radio presenter talking about 'Port-icle' instead of Portugal !!!

Why is it so hard for them, and why is this allowed to happen?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

AAah you can take the man out of Dublin, but you can't take the Dub out of the man.

The Dub ALWAYS shortens the long vowels and lengthens the long ones

So Fás becomes "Foss" salt becomes "solt" four becomes fahher etc etc

On the other hand "murder" becomes "Mooorder. Burgler become Booorgler, book becomes boook and so on.

Fuppin Dub has a lot to answer for.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭NUTLEY BOY

And when did "sixth" become sickth????? Drives me mad!!!!!!!!!!

Blame the Beeb Beeb Ceeb for that one..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭NUTLEY BOY

Sharon ni Blondie on RTE news seems to pronounce "police" as pleece (as in fleece).

Samantha Libreri say she works for RTE "noos" (as in cow moos).

Gerry Ryan cannot pronounce "defibrilator". He seems to be stuck on "defibulator".

A defibulator is a machine yet to be invented for interviewing politicians. It will give them an electric shock every time that they lie.

Camelot wrote: »
    Jerry Ryan pronouncing Thailand as 'Thigh-Land' instead of Tieland . . .
    :confused: Is "Thighland" not the way the name of the country is supposed to be pronounced? I've never heard it pronounced as "Tieland".

malice_ wrote: »
    :confused: Is "Thighland" not the way the name of the country is supposed to be pronounced? I've never heard it pronounced as "Tieland".

The Thames river is pronounced 'Tems' likewise

malice_ wrote: »

The 'H' in Thailand is 100% silent, likewise with 'Thai' people or a Thai takeaway > pronounced 'Tie'.

Sadly, some people in the Irish media are not aware of this :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭maxim

One that has me screaming at the radio /tv every tennis season is Wimbelton for Wimbledon arrgh!! can't someone tell them!!

Also the 'Just a minute' quiz on 2FM used to be great for howlers, especially mispronouciations in the question! Hard to answer a question when you can't understand it!

Agonist wrote: »
    The Thames river is pronounced 'Tems' likewise
    I never knew that either :o.
    The 'H' in Thailand is 100% silent, likewise with 'Thai' people or a Thai takeaway > pronounced 'Tie'.

I guess you learn something new every day :). To be honest I'd say most people aren't aware of the pronunciation though, not just people in the media.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭2fivers

NUTLEY BOY wrote: »
    Blame the Beeb Beeb Ceeb for that one..

Naah.. Whatever about their presenters, The beeb organisation itself is quite adamant that they consider sick-th to be incorrect.

And perhaps its the fear of that a lurking Gay Byrne may be tuning in ready to pounce (He gave Ray D'arcy a right bolllicking on air one day over his diction) but many local radio presenters are overdoing the TH's when speaking, resulting in (as mentioned above) lots of references to THigh-land, THigh food, the River THames and people called THomas.

Speaking as midlander, I'm not sure which is worse, a flat bog timbre with no TH's, or one with too many in the wrong places....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,319 ✭✭✭Trick of the Tail

I hate "adverTIZEment" - its correctly pronounced "adVERtisment".

I once had to correct a sports 'journalist' for pronouncing the horse racing venue Towcester as "Toe-sester" instead of the correct "Toaster" !

TA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Emma Mcnamarra elongates every vowel into a bank holiday weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,293 ✭✭✭Fuzzy Clam

When Ken Doherty was at the top of his game many years back, a NI tv newsreader described him as hailing from "Rain-lay" in Dublin (Ranelagh to the rest of us).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

PortlaoisEH, Goreth and Gore-dai, are three that always make me grimace at whatever muppet is saying them. Do they have some special lessons in miss-pronunciation that you must do in media studies? They all say them the exact same wrong way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,293 ✭✭✭Fuzzy Clam

jor el wrote: »
    PortlaoisEH,
    Where they drive PorchEHs;)

The British commentators insist on pronouncing Pete Doherty as Pete DoCherty or Pete Dooherty (as in Homers doh!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 cowengate

cant remember which local station,but sports reporter said "barcelona 4 brian munich 0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 880 ✭✭✭ifconfig

Emma Mcnamarra elongates every vowel into a bank holiday weekend.

Vowel elongation and substitution has become shockingly commonplace on even the national broadcaster. EMcN makes an art form of it but Mur-ee-ahm O'Kawlo-hawn , Siun ni gearailt (when speaking as Bearla) and many others (mostly female presenters and the occasional camp male ones) seem to afflict this on us on a daily basis. I think this pronunciation gained currency in wine bars and cappucino joints as far north as Castleknock and as far south as Foxrock ;)

Sav-ahn par-sahnt dah-crease in the mantly enflation. A sal-action of
    am-ah-nant ah-nal-asts have end-e-cated that the sat-u-ation is das-amp-rawving at a stoh-gerring rate.

Bend the vowels any more and you could patent this as a weak encryption cypher with the public key disclosed along with every purchase of a Prada handbag or Dolce & Gabbana sunglasses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭Molberts

Correct :) This is a pet peeve of mine :(

The "Th" rule is as follows:

Silent "h" for a person, place or thing.

So the man is called "Tomas", the river is pronounced "temes" and that's a bunch of "tyme" you have in your hand there ;)

/rant.

I'm just so glad I don't have to read sports, I would spend all day every day learning how to pronounce the players names :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭Poochie05

Molberts wrote: »
    I'm just so glad I don't have to read sports, I would spend all day every day learning how to pronounce the players names :o

In fairness to Moykal McMullin on Today FM he always seems to make a special effort to find out the correct pronunciations of players names and foreign football teams.

One that's doing my head in at the moment in the breathless one on AA Roadwatch with her Clonshaw ryndabout.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭Echelle

Back to the THames, Thailand and, THomas issue. There is also a thinking out there that Height is spelled Heigth.. it is no...so the correct way to say it is HITE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭ilovecars

Ray Darcey says A PEAR ANTLY for apparently
    Ann Doyle drives me mad with sex you al sexual

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭bmaxi

Echelle wrote: »
    Back to the THames, Thailand and, THomas issue. There is also a thinking out there that Height is spelled Heigth.. it is no...so the correct way to say it is HITE.

This is a badge of recognition among the D 4 set, every word that has a hard "t" sound must have an "h" added. This is to distinguish them from the great unwashed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,429 ✭✭✭brettmirl

Ann Doyle says "sexual" in a very odd way.

The newsreaders on Q102 are constantly getting sports teams/players names wrong, like Ajax.

One of the sports readers on RTE, think it's Darren Frehill, pronounces Chicago as ChicaRgo. Annoys the livin' ****e outta me!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,738 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Correct :) This is a pet peeve of mine :(

So the man is called "Tomas", the river is pronounced "temes" and that's a bunch of "tyme" you have in your hand there ;)

/rant.

And re-learning how to pronounce Thomond Park, Ian Thorpe and Theo Walcott ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭pipeliner

i believe back when where in the world was on a man answered a question with ballivor Pronounced bal-i-vor but teresa lowe would not give him the point because the correct pronunciation according to her is bally vore.

My father, a proud meath man nearly put his fist through the telly

As far as I am aware the above words do not have a silent H.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭Leaderbored

I'm just so glad I don't have to read sports, I would spend all day every day learning how to pronounce the players names
    As far as I am aware the above words do not have a silent H.

I would think you've missed how Mr P Rooney was sarcastically pointing out that no such "Th" rule as detailed above "for a person, place or thing" exists by using the "sports reporter" theme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,319 ✭✭✭Trick of the Tail

Joan Larkin on 4fm apparently thinks Thailand is pronounced 'Thigh-Land'.

Which, of course, its not.

A.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,559 ✭✭✭plodder

Hope it's ok to dig up this old thread....

Damien O'Reilly was talking to the "emirates" professor of meteorology at Maynooth, on Country wide this morning. Imagine, a professor sponsored by an airline....!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭zoobizoo

What's with people pronouncing 'his` as `he's`?
    It's getting really common on Radio 1