Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Will anyone beat Kilkenny this year?

• 05-04-2009 7:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭

delete this post mods, i meant to add a poll but posted without adding one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

everyone in football:p
    nobody in hurling:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Dubs will beat them next week.

Waterford already beat them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭CyberDave

I think you could modify this question to ask if anybody will beat Kilkenny in the next three years :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

Did you take too many happy pills again today Pride Fighter;)

In fairness Waterford are very hit and miss and it wasn't exactly a full strength KK team that day

Browney7 wrote: »
    Did you take too many happy pills again today Pride Fighter;)

In fairness Waterford are very hit and miss and it wasn't exactly a full strength KK team that day

No happy pills Browney. Your second sentence is the reason I think the Dubs will win. KK will field and understrength team as they are in the league final already, nothing to play for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭taidghbaby

No happy pills Browney. Your second sentence is the reason I think the Dubs will win. KK will field and understrength team as they are in the league final already, nothing to play for.
    KK don't have an understrength team :(:mad::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭teednab-el

Sadly I dont think any team will beat them for the next 3-5 years. They are just unbelievable. This team are set up nicely to break any record set previously in the GAA and there will be nothing to stop them on the way. Expect record thrashings in most games. Hopefully I will be wrong but very unlikely.

In 2007, Galway came very close to beating them but slipped up in the last few minutes. That was a missed opportunity and the closest anyone will get to them for a long time. I suppose Cork gave them a good game in 2006 also but were not good enough.

I still think it will be someone like Galway that will eventually beat them but in order for them to do that they will have to put out their Portumana team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭Benhonan

Ah come on lads lighten up! Look KK will get the 5-in-a-row, which is what they deserve, then Joe Canning will lead Galway to beat them, and hopefully some degree of normality will be restored. At least it'll shut up the Cork crowd for a while...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

CyberDave wrote: »
    I think you could modify this question to ask if anybody will beat Kilkenny in the next three years :)

Agree I think they may win 7-8 in a row really do. Nobody will touch them for least few years at this rate..

All credit too them there a benchmark of highest quality but nobody is close to them at present.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Amazing to watch them, never seen such a superior team in any team sport, maybe the American basketballers when Jordan played for them!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭Erin Go Brath

Dubs havent a snowballs chance in hell of winning that one.

Kilkenny were only pissing about when they played Waterford. Subsequent results have shown that.

Nobody will beat KK between now and the end of the year.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

KK are unbeatable at the moment - and they have the underage structure to keep winning All Ireland titles for at least the next five years, no county is close to them in regards the underage structures

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

KK are unbeatable at the moment - and they have the underage structure to keep winning All Ireland titles for at least the next five years, no county is close to them in regards the underage structures

I beg to differ Tipperary's underage teams have been superior in the last few years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭ADTR

No one can stop Kilkenny winning another All Ireland this year. They just have so much strength in depth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

Question: Will anyone beat Kilkenny this year?
    Answer: No

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

Maybe ye are all visitors from Soccer forum.;)

I have a bet on only €20 for K.K to do 5 in a row but. K.K showed a style yesterday at times which I didnt like. Showboating. I dont think Cody would be to happy with some of it either. But when they opened up it was amazing. Awsome. I think they can be beaten and despite what they done to Tipp a few weeks ago they could be the ones to do it. As for next week Dont write off the Dubs. While K.K will probably win the Dubs I hope will give them a good game. Its called hope:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

D_Red_Army wrote: »
    Question: Will anyone beat Kilkenny this year?
    Answer: No

And that about sums it up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭Annuv

aidan24326 wrote: »
    And that about sums it up.

Kilkenny are the best team in the country, and in my opinion the best hurling team there ever has been when you consider that the standard of hurling these days is superior to previous decades.

However, every team no matter how good can be caught on a bad day and every team has certain weaknesses. They may be hard to find but they are there.

As a Kilkenny man, I find this talk of them being unbeatable (they were even referred to as Gods in todays indo FFS) very uncomfortable. It is only April, a lot can happen in the next few months

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Galway and Tipp are just as strong underage. Dublin have improved underage at an exceptional rate. Cork's underage 'structure' is far far behind the above counties, but we still put out decent teams thanks to sheer numbers and tradition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Annuv wrote: »
    Kilkenny are the best team in the country, and in my opinion the best hurling team there ever has been when you consider that the standard of hurling these days is superior to previous decades.

However, every team no matter how good can be caught on a bad day and every team has certain weaknesses. They may be hard to find but they are there.

As a Kilkenny man, I find this talk of them being unbeatable (they were even referred to as Gods in todays indo FFS) very uncomfortable. It is only April, a lot can happen in the next few months

Yes I'm sure as a KK man you're wary of all this 'unbeatable' talk, as history has shown us (in every team sport, not just hurling) that no team is unbeatable and it only takes one off-day or one day where the opposition play the game of their lives and you're gone.

But the fact remains that Kilkenny aren't just winning games, they're hammering teams out of sight. They've beaten Cork by 27 pts, Galway by 11(at a canter), Tipp by 17. This isn't Laois or Antrim we're talking about, these are among the best teams in the country, the main challengers, and Kilkenny are brushing them aside with embarrassing ease. This has been the trend now for the past 2/3 yrs. Maybe they will be caught on an off-day, but that seems wishful thinking for the rest of us. Right now there doesn't seem to be much to prevent KK winning the next 2 or 3 All-Irelands, as Cody seems an absolute master at keeping them motivated and ensuring that Kilkenny's fiercest opponents are usually the second 15 they come up against in training.

Orizio wrote: »
    Galway and Tipp are just as strong underage. Dublin have improved underage at an exceptional rate. Cork's underage 'structure' is far far behind the above counties, but we still put out decent teams thanks to sheer numbers and tradition.

Galway and Tipp can certainly challenge KK at underage alright, four of the last 5 minors between them, with Galway robbed by Kilkenny last year. But in Galway's case, we've been consistently producing top class underage teams for the last 15 yrs or more, and there's no sign of it translsting into senior success. Tipp could be the team to challenge in a couple of years as they have the tradition of success at senior level that we lack, but that game in Nowlan Park a few weeks ago would suggest that even Tipp have some way to go before they will be at Kilkenny's level.

As for Dublin, they're improving at a rate of knots but in all honesty they're still behind the main challengers (Galway, Tipp etc) never mind Kilkenny. Dublin need to take a big championship scalp (maybe Galway this year??), as good league results will mean little once the real stuff kicks off in Summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

Kilkenny are unbeatable for the next two or three years at least..
    lets just face the facts..
    Sad to see some great dedicated hurlers not win an all-ireland medal on the other teams..

Yes I'm sure as a KK man you're wary of all this 'unbeatable' talk, as history has shown us (in every team sport, not just hurling) that no team is unbeatable and it only takes one off-day or one day where the opposition play the game of their lives and you're gone.

But the fact remains that Kilkenny aren't just winning games, they're hammering teams out of sight. They've beaten Cork by 27 pts, Galway by 11(at a canter), Tipp by 17. This isn't Laois or Antrim we're talking about, these are among the best teams in the country, the main challengers, and Kilkenny are brushing them aside with embarrassing ease. This has been the trend now for the past 2/3 yrs. Maybe they will be caught on an off-day, but that seems wishful thinking for the rest of us. Right now there doesn't seem to be much to prevent KK winning the next 2 or 3 All-Irelands, as Cody seems an absolute master at keeping them motivated and ensuring that Kilkenny's fiercest opponents are usually the second 15 they come up against in training.

Galway and Tipp can certainly challenge KK at underage alright, four of the last 5 minors between them, with Galway robbed by Kilkenny last year. But in Galway's case, we've been consistently producing top class underage teams for the last 15 yrs or more, and there's no sign of it translsting into senior success. Tipp could be the team to challenge in a couple of years as they have the tradition of success at senior level that we lack, but that game in Nowlan Park a few weeks ago would suggest that even Tipp have some way to go before they will be at Kilkenny's level.

As for Dublin, they're improving at a rate of knots but in all honesty they're still behind the main challengers (Galway, Tipp etc) never mind Kilkenny. Dublin need to take a big championship scalp (maybe Galway this year??), as good league results will mean little once the real stuff kicks off in Summer.

It begs the question then as to why, when Galway and Tipp have every bit a good of underage structure as KK, they are so far behind them at adult level.

Orizio wrote: »
    It begs the question then as to why, when Galway and Tipp have every bit a good of underage structure as KK, they are so far behind them at adult level.
    hunger
    mentality
    drive
    determination
    manager

another 40 reasons too probably!!

lets face it - KK are the standard bearers, and unlike a lot of teams when they get to the top they have no interest in taking the foot off the pedal!!

I also think that the plaudits (well deserved imo) that were lavished on the Cork team that won two in a row, and talk of their professional and how they were leading hurling to "all new" unchartered waters really grated the KK team, management and KK GAA as a whole!! I'd say they have used that as motivation!!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

the difference between Galway's success and KK success at underage is the way that the lads are brought from underage into the senior ranks. KK have sheer bloodymindness at senior level, something which is shown in the Galway club games, but not together as a team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

I definitely believe it's Kilkennys mentality that sets them apart from everyone else.

I watched an interview with Eddie Brennan a few weeks ago and it was absolutely fascinating to hear talk about the AI final last year. They treated every play as if the entire Championship depended on it. They never bothered looking at the score or how long was left in the match. Every hook, every pass, every piece of marking, ever score, they committed themselves to 100%. It never once entered their mind to take their foot off the pedal, regardless of how far they were ahead.

And, once every point or goal was scored, the very first thing that came into each players mind was simply two words..."Next ball".

Even in training, they simply let loose on each other. There's no such thing as a light training session where they live.

You simply can't teach that type of mentality to any inter-county team. It has to be drilled into each player year after year after year. That's what Brian Codys been doing the last 9 years, and you can see the benefits of it now.

That's why it's pretty shortsighted of managers like Davy Fitz to suddenly say "thats what I want to see from my players this year". That type of hunger needs to be instilled in the up and coming younger players on the panel, so that when they get their chance to shine, they show the management what they're really capable of.

That to an extent is a reason why Kilkenny have so much strength in depth. Look at TJ Reid. When they were 18 points up with 15 mins to go in the final last year, this guy came on and absolutely tore us apart. Scored 4 points from play altogether, and all we could do was watch on. He now should be pretty certain of a place on the starting 15 for the Cats this year.

And not a single county in Ireland can compete with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,258 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

the kilkenny team will be beaten this year!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

THE KILKENNY FOOTBALL TEAM THAT IS!!! LOL

come on no-one will even get close that kilkenny team are awesome:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

Dublin will beat them in the next league game FACT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭yahoo_moe

Maybe they will be caught on an off-day, but that seems wishful thinking for the rest of us.
    Listen, I think the current team is great too - but the fact is, they can absolutely be caught on an off day.

And as someone said, they've already been beaten this year. (And I don't buy the argument that a 'Mickey Mouse' team played against Waterford either:
    1. P.J. Ryan
    2. John Dalton, 3. J.J. Delaney, 4.Jackie Tyrrell,
    5.TommyWalsh, 6. Brian Hogan, 7. James Ryall,

8. John Tennyson, 9. Michael Rice,

10. Eddie Brennan, 11. Willie O’Dwyer, 12. Eoin Larkin,
    13. Michael Grace,14. Richie Power, 15. Aidan Fogarty

A lot of good hurlers there, especially when people are banging on about the depth of their squad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭ceegee

yahoo_moe wrote: »
    Listen, I think the current team is great too - but the fact is, they can absolutely be caught on an off day.

And as someone said, they've already been beaten this year. (And I don't buy the argument that a 'Mickey Mouse' team played against Waterford either:

A lot of good hurlers there, especially when people are banging on about the depth of their squad.

Its a strong team alright but you cant discount the quality and experience of those missin from it: Kavanagh, Hickey, Lyng, Cha, Sheff and Gorta. Plus JJ at fullback rather than wingback.

Throw in a few yellow cards and an undeserved red and you're missing the guts of last years starting team.

As a Kilkenny man, Id be happy enough that our team was still competitive with so many missing, the odd loss like that keeps people on their toes, better to get it out of the way early in the year.

I cant see anyone else winning the All-Ireland this year, best chance of an upset could be if we get Galway in Leinster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 548 ✭✭✭p.oconnor

Kilkenny are the best team by a country mile, but while there is 15 v 15 anything is possible, they are just human after all ............thats why we love sport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭bricky10

With a little bit of luck and the skill of Joe Canning, Galway MIGHT beat them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

p.oconnor wrote: »
    Kilkenny are the best team by a country mile, but while there is 15 v 15 anything is possible, they are just human after all ............thats why we love sport.

That's where you're wrong :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 548 ✭✭✭p.oconnor

Ha ha well myself as a Corkman can only hope the result last Sunday was more Corks rustyness than the Cats class,but it seems alot more the latter and after all those cork lads have alot to prove and pay back after the support they got.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 870 ✭✭✭overmantle

I'd be inclined to agree. They do say that it's not a good thing to be seen as being invincible though and it might just be a small chance of a hiccup at some stage along the line. In 2009, still say it's Kilkenny's for the taking though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 870 ✭✭✭overmantle

Daysha wrote: »
    That's where you're wrong :p

Just wondering if you mean that KK Players are NOT human? Perhaps superhuman??

overmantle wrote: »
    Just wondering if you mean that KK Players are NOT human? Perhaps superhuman??

Yeah superman wears KK underpants.......so i heard anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

I beg to differ Tipperary's underage teams have been superior in the last few years

Kilkennys youngsters seem to make the jump a bit better, probably because they "jump" into a team of All-Stars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

If anyone is to beat KK this year they will need at least one attribute:

"Good first touch"

Thats where KK really stand out,rarely do you see them poking the ball and making several attempts to lift,likewise high balls,low balss coming in to them,usually it's one, at most two touches, to control and clear or score.

In my opinion that is the big difference between them and the other top teams.

Watch for it next time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

If anyone is to beat KK this year they will need at least one attribute:

"Good first touch"

Thats where KK really stand out,rarely do you see them poking the ball and making several attempts to lift,likewise high balls,low balss coming in to them,usually it's one, at most two touches, to control and clear or score.

In my opinion that is the big difference between them and the other top teams.

Watch for it next time.

Totally agree with you.As a friend of mine on and off here would say...it is the "BASICS" that will cost teams a win.Particularly against Kilkenny,Tipp,an on form Waterford and Limerick.This is where my own county Dublin have slipped upin previous years along with some bad shooting but this seems to be slowly being rectified.

However,this Kilkenny team is class in every department.Picking points off easily and getting goals.Plus their fitness is also something that is understated compared to their skill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭FatherTed

Portumna

Dubs havent a snowballs chance in hell of winning that one.

Kilkenny were only pissing about when they played Waterford. Subsequent results have shown that.

Nobody will beat KK between now and the end of the year.

I beg your pardon, the Dubs only lost by 2 points and should have won the match.

I think the key was staying in the match early - Dublin were only pegged back to level after half an hour played which meant that Kilkenny had no chance to put the game out of sight quickly.

Possibly a missed opportunity but hopefully we can push on from this - the last couple of years have seen some good league performances followed by some uncertain Championship efforts (particularly not beating Wexford in the drawn game last year). This year's been excellent so far though and if we keep getting results, the belief will improve too and we'll be in a good cycle.

Guess we'll just have to wait and beat Kilkenny in Leinster :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

this is the reason im actually looking forward to the leinster championship this year..
    with dublin fired up and galway and antrim in the leinster championship this year...
    anything could really happen..
    I'm not doubting kilkenny one bit though, after the dublin match, brian cody is gonna be working hard to make the KK team even more superhuman..!:eek::(

Bring On Munsters '09!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Scamp321

Tipperary could beat them this year and dont rule out cork just yet they can come around in the championship and be very dangerous:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Scamp321

Dubs dont have a hope in hell of beating Kilkenny in championship. Kilkenny will be far to skilled and strong not to mention they can play real hurling dubs are just fooling them selves with d league it dose not mean a thing.

Scamp321 wrote: »
    Dubs dont have a hope in hell of beating Kilkenny in championship. Kilkenny will be far to skilled and strong not to mention they can play real hurling dubs are just fooling them selves with d league it dose not mean a thing.

In football I'd agree but that is such bullshit regarding hurling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Iv read this quote over ten times and I still cant even begin to understsand where your coming from??

While I feel Scamps dissmissiveness of Dublin is a little OTT and harsh I must say I agree with he's sentiment to some extent just look at some of the threads started here in the last few weeks - lads get a grip its the feckin league!

just look at some of the threads started here in the last few weeks - lads get a grip its the feckin league!
    Some of the 'crisis' threads here have absolutely been OTT (I've had to avoid them for the sake of my sanity) but if people are going to laud Kilkenny for hammering Cork, and then dismiss their defeat to Waterford and their struggle against Dublin as "only the league", it's a complete double standard.

I'm not saying Dublin will get that close to them if they meet in Leinster - but they might. Kilkenny tried hard the other day with a lot of good players on the pitch and the same goes for the Waterford match. So they're not unbeatable - but they are the best team in the country by a distance.

What certain Dublin fans have to realise is that there are at least half a dozen players to come back into the Kilkenny team that beat them. Come championship with a full team the likes of Dotsy O'Callaghan won't be able to run riot as he did on Sunday.

The good news for the Dublin lads is that they are the second best team in Leinster, have a good manager, a young team and with Munster looking weak and Galway as erratic as ever, they should go far in the All-Ireland this year.