Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What to do about neighbour burning rubbish

• 05-04-2009 9:59am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭

Anyone figured out how to approach a relatively ok neighbour whose only fault is to burn all his rubbish on days when the wind is blowing towards our house and vegetable garden - don't want to fall out with them but maybe have no choice. This has been going on since we moved in 8 years ago, but getting worse - we're also the blow-ins! Also the remains of the burning is of concern - large piles of ash which is sitting right beside a stream - surely continuously polluting the water. Any non violent suggestions would be appreciated.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 6,376 Mod ✭✭✭✭Macha

Contact your local authority:
    So, where the problem relates to matters like littering, backyard burning, water pollution, noise, dust and smells you should be contacting the local authority, unless the business has an EPA licence.

http://epa.ie/whatwedo/enforce/report/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭PaulHardwick

Anyone figured out how to approach a relatively ok neighbour whose only fault is to burn all his rubbish on days when the wind is blowing towards our house and vegetable garden - don't want to fall out with them but maybe have no choice. This has been going on since we moved in 8 years ago, but getting worse - we're also the blow-ins! Also the remains of the burning is of concern - large piles of ash which is sitting right beside a stream - surely continuously polluting the water. Any non violent suggestions would be appreciated.

mind your own business.
    taconnol wrote: »
    Contact your local authority:

http://epa.ie/whatwedo/enforce/report/

This is what is called "touting".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

This is what is called "touting".
    On the contrary, that's what little kids in the school playground call it. Adults call it "social responsibility", something we could do with a lot more of if you ask me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,150 ✭✭✭homer911

Does Paul Hardwick live next door to Henry Porter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,104 ✭✭✭✭djpbarry

mind your own business.
    So if your neighbour was burning tyres in his garden, you'd be ok with that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

I don't know with what you take issue OP,his burning rubbish from the off or the days that he choses to burn it.
    I would approach him and explain that the smoke is annoying,could he find another way to dispose of his rubbish.
    That failing,I'd probably report it.
    You've every right that he has, even though you're a blow in;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 224 ✭✭Cheeble

I'm trying to think of similar situations. These come to mind:

Afghanistan/Pakistan
    Iraq/Iran
    Palestine/Israel
    China/Nepal
    Germany/Poland
    Greece/Turkey A (Troy)
    Greece/Turkey B (Cyprus)

I could go on....

If only they hadn't burned the rubbish on washing day, everything would have been cosy.

Cheeble-eers

djpbarry wrote: »
    So if your neighbour was burning tyres in his garden, you'd be ok with that?

If they own the land, they can do whatever they want.

Yer man is on about his vegetable garden, ash polluting rivers and so on. He has posted in the green issues forum. Therefore, at the risk of drawing conclusions, I would suggest that he has bought into this "the world is falling apart, humanity is the enemy" type of outlook.

His neighbour is doing something he has probably done for many years. You cannot move into an area and then ram your "moral high ground" stuff down another persons throat.

Could I suggest he puts his money where his morals are, offer to take the mans rubbish and dispose of it himself.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 6,376 Mod ✭✭✭✭Macha

Sorry what country do you live in?
    Yer man is on about his vegetable garden, ash polluting rivers and so on. He has posted in the green issues forum. Therefore, at the risk of drawing conclusions, I would suggest that he has bought into this "the world is falling apart, humanity is the enemy" type of outlook.
    Oh the irony...
    His neighbour is doing something he has probably done for many years. You cannot move into an area and then ram your "moral high ground" stuff down another persons throat.
    So just because you've been doing something for years you should be allowed to keep doing it? And just because someone new moves into the area they're not allowed to say anything?

What you can do is move into an area and then report people for not complying with the law, unless of course you subscribe to the "local shop for local people" mentality:

Could I suggest he puts his money where his morals are, offer to take the mans rubbish and dispose of it himself.
    What a completely stupid suggestion.

Sorry what country do you live in?

I'd like to think it is one where ordinary people do not "tout" on eachother.

So just because you've been doing something for years you should be allowed to keep doing it? And just because someone new moves into the area they're not allowed to say anything?

Yes to both, and strongly so in the second case.

What you can do is move into an area and then report people for not complying with the law,

I hate to break the news, this type of carry on will cause severe problems.

What a completely stupid suggestion.

I have said my bit. I am not getting drawn into an argument with a brainwashed "greenie".

Claude os, aperi oculos

I'd like to think it is one where ordinary people do not "tout" on eachother.
    I like to think of it as a country where people do not create dioxins in their backyards that are then spread around their neighbourhood, rather beside the other issues of affecting anyone in the area with respiratory illnesses (Ireland having quite a high rate of these, internationally-speaking), anyone wishing to hang out laundry, use their own back-yard or even open a window...all for the sake of avoiding a few waste charges.

But oh lord, yes. Touting is so much worse.
    Pathetic opinions. You don't get to flout the law just because you happen to be living in the same place for a few years.
    Like what? Local authorities and the EPA deal with complaints constantly and I don't see an army amassing on the horizon.
    I have said my bit. I am not getting drawn into an argument with a brainwashed "greenie".
    In other words, you'd like to pontificate without having to deal with any pesky "responses". From where you're standing the whole world must be full of "greenies".
    Claude os, aperi oculos
    Ooh some latin. How learned of you. How about caveant lectores stulti huius verba?

Cheeble wrote: »
    I'm trying to think of similar situations. These come to mind:

Afghanistan/Pakistan
    Iraq/Iran
    Palestine/Israel
    China/Nepal
    Germany/Poland
    Greece/Turkey A (Troy)
    Greece/Turkey B (Cyprus)

I could go on....

If only they hadn't burned the rubbish on washing day, everything would have been cosy.

Cheeble-eers
    Please note: your point could have been made without the lashings of sarcasm.

Ta.

I am not getting drawn into an argument with a brainwashed "greenie".
    I suggest that you keep the smart/personal comments to yourself.

Ta.

I see. Right, well I'm off to encourage your neighbours to spread untreated human waste around their gardens - hope you don't mind.
    If somebody is continuously burning their waste in their garden and it is producing toxic fumes their neighbours have every right to complain. There are reasons why we have laws in this country.
    His neighbour is doing something he has probably done for many years.
    So if your neighbour is throwing his rubbish over his wall into your garden, that's perfectly acceptable once he's been at it for a few years?
    You cannot move into an area and then ram your "moral high ground" stuff down another persons throat.
    If laws are being broken then yes, you can.
    You better have a reasonable explanation for that statement, otherwise I'm going to assume you're trolling?
    For any law-breakers, yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭henryporter

Wow. I'm glad to see my query has resulted in the broad range of answers ranging from helpful to a display of why I had to ask the question in the first place. I thought the forum was meant to be place where some level of intelligent debate would prosper (and knowing a bit of latin doesn't really qualify for that). Thanks to all who made a suggestion. At least now I know that I now my neighbour isn't half as bad as Mr. Hardwick who appears to be stalking the green issues forum looking to slag off anyone trying to ask a simple question. Perhaps you could direct me to a more appropriate forum - 'muppet neighbours' maybe?

Please note: your point could have been made without the lashings of sarcasm.

Ta.

There wasn't any in there when I wrote it, maybe it was the way you chose to read it?

My point is one of sympathy with the OP.
    I see. Right, well I'm off to encourage your neighbours to spread untreated human waste around their gardens - hope you don't mind.

Please note: your point could have been made without the lashings of sarcasm (and hypocrisy).

Cheeble-eers

My point is one of sympathy with the OP.
    It certainly didn't read like that.
    Please note: your point could have been made without the lashings of sarcasm (and hypocrisy).
    I was countering the poster’s facetiousness with my own to illustrate a point. Your post, on the other hand, was clearly an attempt at ridicule (or at least that’s how it read) – I was being kind in using the term ‘sarcasm’.

Anyways, let’s not get into a discussion on moderation. Back on topic please.

I see. Right, well I'm off to encourage your neighbours to spread untreated human waste around their gardens - hope you don't mind..

My neighbous are not easily led.
    If somebody is continuously burning their waste in their garden and it is producing toxic fumes their neighbours have every right to complain. There are reasons why we have laws in this country..

And why not talk to the "criminal" before you go all they way to the EPA?
    So if your neighbour is throwing his rubbish over his wall into your garden, that's perfectly acceptable once he's been at it for a few years?

Note in an earlier post I said that, in my opinion the person can do whatever they want on their OWN property. If they dumped anything on my property, I would quickly rectify that issue.
    If laws are being broken then yes, you can.|

No, but you can choose to move out.
    You better have a reasonable explanation for that statement, otherwise I'm going to assume you're trolling?.

You see in country areas people tend to look after eachother. They do not go running like children to the teacher whenever anything occurs. Look into the history of the Highland people. You can't have some blow in ringing the cops and the EPA because someone is burning some rubbish.

And why is the man burning the rubbish???? Because those same authorities will not collect it, thats why.

For any law-breakers, yes.

A different type of law applies in country areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,430 ✭✭✭bladespin

Don't get as worked up as some posters here would, just ask him not to burn on windy days.
    If you start listing issues you'll only end up with a serious problem.

Stay nice, he may even get rid of a bit of rubbish for you while he's at it.

Seriously lads such a hullabaloo over burning a bit of rubbish, dioxins and all that guff, it's stuff like that that turns the majority right off when we try to make a green effort.

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

And why not talk to the "criminal" before you go all they way to the EPA?
    Read the first line of the OP.
    No, but you can choose to move out.
    :rolleyes: So if your neighbour is breaking the law and in doing so is negatively impacting on your quality of life, there's nothing you can do about it?
    You see in country areas people tend to look after eachother.
    Why do you assume he's in the country (not that it makes any difference)?
    And why is the man burning the rubbish???? Because those same authorities will not collect it, thats why.
    How do you know?

The issue other than flumes of black smoke coming my way is also the fact that between my house and the neighbour is my vegetable patch - maybe I should wait until the carrots grow this summer and get dioxin levels checked! Seriously though, I'm surprised at the number of individuals who don't see much wrong with backyard burning, and who in fact see it as some kind of constitutional right. The idea of refuse collection is that (theoretically anyway) the waste is collected and disposed of in a controlled manner which avoids contamination of air and groundwater. The advances made in our ability to recycle as much waste as possible at no cost whatsover, together with tax credits for waste charges is surely some incentive to deal with waste responsibly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭D'Peoples Voice

mind your own business. This is what is called "touting".
    They do not go running like children to the teacher whenever anything occurs.

Yeah, you have a point, we should never tout,
    when the hospitals were given childrens organs away for medical research without the parents consent, staff in the know, were right not to tell, because they would have been touting, to hell with the pain and lies the parents have to live with, and the fact that they can never forgive themselves for allowing this to happen, the main thing is people didn't tout on each other.

When there was widespread child abuse in Magdalene Laundries, people were right to say nothing, and let people's lives be ruined for life, after all saying anything would have been touting on others.

When there was widespread abuse by the priests in Ferns, people were correct to keep their mouth shut and just keep moving the priests around to other parishes to abuse more kids. Telling the Gardai would just have been touting on people.

and kids ask how these things were allowed to happen. I think Paul Hardwick, you kind of attitude personifies all that was and still wrong about Ireland.

Yeah, you have a point, we should never tout,
    when the hospitals were given childrens organs away for medical research without the parents consent, staff in the know, were right not to tell, because they would have been touting, to hell with the pain and lies the parents have to live with, and the fact that they can never forgive themselves for allowing this to happen, the main thing is people didn't tout on each other.

When there was widespread child abuse in Magdalene Laundries, people were right to say nothing, and let people's lives be ruined for life, after all saying anything would have been touting on others.

When there was widespread abuse by the priests in Ferns, people were correct to keep their mouth shut and just keep moving the priests around to other parishes to abuse more kids. Telling the Gardai would just have been touting on people.

and kids ask how these things were allowed to happen. I think Paul Hardwick, you kind of attitude personifies all that was and still wrong about Ireland.

Classic.

I think you should stop twisting my argument.

VITAL DISTINCTION

1) Touting on a fellow citizen to an "authority".

2) Touting on an "authority" to protect fellow citizens.

Of course I agree with the second course of action when applicable.

• Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 28,830 Mod ✭✭✭✭oscarBravo

So, basically, you have a problem with authority.

Seriously though, I'm surprised at the number of individuals who don't see much wrong with backyard burning, and who in fact see it as some kind of constitutional right.

Look the reality is this.

You burn your own rubbish, or you pay some company to take it away and burn it. Lets get over all this "green business" agenda.

How many of these recycling companies have shut down lately as prices for recycled produce has plummeted?? How many are now trying to alter existing contracts with councils. Eh? What happened to their big proposals?? Well, you know what. They were only in it for the money, nothing else.

oscarBravo wrote: »
    So, basically, you have a problem with authority.

That is neither here nor there.

• Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 28,830 Mod ✭✭✭✭oscarBravo

You burn your own rubbish, or you pay some company to take it away and burn it. Lets get over all this "green business" agenda.
    Let me get this straight: because you believe that a company will break the law, you advocate cutting out the middleman and breaking the law yourself?
    It wouldn't be, would it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,313 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

A different type of law applies in country areas.

This genuinely made me 'Laugh Out Loud'

Paul Hardwick, some of the comments you have made are so obviously trolling it isn't even funny. Burning rubbish in your back garden is illegal and should be treated as such. There are plenty of reasons why its illegal and all have been proven factually, so unless you have some evidence to the contrary most of your points are invalid.

An illegal activity is illegal no matter who does it, or how long they do it. Who lived there first has no relevance to the argument.

You burn your own rubbish, or you pay some company to take it away and burn it.
    News to me. How many waste management companies burn the waste that they collect? Oh and I don’t know anyone who pays for recycling domestic waste.
    How many of these recycling companies have shut down lately as prices for recycled produce has plummeted??
    I don't know, how many? And I thought you said they were all burning the waste, not recycling it?
    How many are now trying to alter existing contracts with councils. Eh?
    You tell us.
    Well, you know what. They were only in it for the money, nothing else.
    Never! :rolleyes:

Of course they were in it for the money - waste management is big business. You think that's going to come as a shock to anyone?

oscarBravo wrote: »
    Let me get this straight: because you believe that a company will break the law, you advocate cutting out the middleman and breaking the law yourself?

Companies are not breaking the law by burning rubbish. Ever heard of an incineration plant???

They can legally make a profit doing something that will get the average person locked up. Makes sense??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,313 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Companies are not breaking the law by burning rubbish. Ever heard of an incineration plant???

They can legally make a profit doing something that will get the average person locked up. Makes sense??
    Incinereation in incineration plants is done under controlled supervised conditions. Equating this to burning rubbish in a back garden is idiotic at best

News to me. How many waste management companies burn the waste that they collect?

I don't know. I'd imagine they dont shout this information from the roof tops.
    Oh and I don’t know anyone who pays for recycling domestic waste.
    I don't know, how many? And I thought you said they were all burning the waste, not recycling it??

I pay to have mine recycled. In Fingal you now pay €110 every six months for the green and brown bins. I also pay €8 every week to have my black bin collected.

And for those with memory issues, when the tages were intorduced the slogan was "you only pay for what you throw away". Yeah right, that lasted all of 12 months.

You tell us.?

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/earth/businessandecology/recycling/3534357/Councils-scrapping-recycling-services-in-wake-of-down-turn.html

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1090229/Councils-scrap-paper-recycling-banks-following-slump-value-waste-materials.html

Never! :rolleyes:
    Of course they were in it for the money - waste management is big business. You think that's going to come as a shock to anyone?

I bet it comes as quite a shock to these green nutters.

Incinereation in incineration plants is done under controlled supervised conditions.

Point of note. Burning something is not a complicated process.
    Equating this to burning rubbish in a back garden is idiotic at best

You got that right. These people burn tonnes of the stuff before "possibly" infecting local rivers/water basins with masses of "toxins".

hblock21 wrote: »
    Lad, thats the UK!

Why not get some newspaper quotes from Iraq while you're at it!

http://www.letsrecycle.com/do/ecco.py/view_item?listid=37&listcatid=354&listitemid=10602

Govt considers burning recycled materials & creating waste mountains
    See statements below - this sounds very serious for Irelands Waste Collection Infrastructure

Thursday, 30 October 2008

Govt considers burning recycled materials & creating waste mountains - Phil Hogan

Recycling policy & industry in tatters after international collapse in demand for recycling products

Fine Gael's Environment Spokesman, Phil Hogan TD, today (Thursday) revealed that the Government is actively considering sending materials marked for recycling abroad to be burned. Other options being considered by the Government are the creation of waste mountains until the Department of Environment and Local Authorities can figure out what to do. The situation has arisen due to the collapse in international demand for raw recycled materials.

"It appears that the Government's complete inability to prepare Ireland for a slowing world economy has spilled over into the country's recycling industry. The Government has failed to anticipate or prepare for the collapse in demand for recycled materials as the world economy slows down. Now we have a situation where there isn't adequate storage capacity for processed recycled materials in advance of their export abroad to be used in new products.

"Fine Gael Senator Paudie Coffey raised this issue with the Minister of State at the Department of Environment in the Seanad last night and it was then that he made the astonishing admission that the Government is considering sending recycled materials abroad to be burned. In the meantime the Government has to move quickly to increase storage capacity on a massive scale to put these recycled materials somewhere.

"This situation has thrown the Government's entire National Waste Strategy into chaos as all recycling targets and strategies will become meaningless if we can't export or re-use our recycling materials.

"I call on the Minister for the Environment, John Gormley TD, to outline his plan of action to deal with this issue."

Happy Now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭hblock21

No, I'm still amazed at your above comments!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭Flaccus

Have been reading this thread with interest. Isn't the legalities of burning rubbish governed by your local council ? I know where I live it's always been ok to burn branches, hedge clippings etc...in your back garden. However my neighbour at one point was burning all sorts of rubbish including plastic, and the ash, dust, fumes etc.. on windy days would spread into my/neighbours gardens, land on clothes out on washing lines, top of cars in driveways etc... This was before recycling was the norm, and the council collected rubbish for free. I asked him nicely if he wouldn't mind not burning seeing as it was causing a problem for everyone. He stopped no problem. Maybe the OP should try the same tactic and if no joy then report this person.

As for people on this thread saying that a person should be allowed do what they want on their own land, should mind their own business if someone is burning rubbish which is affecting them, and they shouldn't tout on their neighbour, I really think this must be trolling as I can't believe anyone with even an ounce of intelligence would subscribe to such views.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Dubh Geannain

Say Henry. Without being too specific, what part of the country are you in?

I know it's a one in a million chance but you're problem sounds very familiar to me, but there's certain things that ring a bell.

There's an estate near where I'm from, but don't live anymore, that would be about 8-10 years old. I know a guy (personally) beside that estate that burns his rubbish (no bulls***). There's also a river nearby.

I've had words with him before about it and although he recycles everything that's recyclable he doesn't pay the bin charges since he used to be able to simply bring his rubbish to the town dump which has been close the last number of years.

So my question is, does your current location have a closed down dump as well?

If so PM me, I could be able to have words with the Lug again for ya ;)

If not you really should have a queit word in his ear, before getting local authorities involved. Since you're growing vegtables next door, maybe even give him a few as a peace offering.

Edit: I noticed Mullingar isn't too far away for ya. http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055522667
    The plot thickens....

Say Henry. Without being too specific, what part of the country are you in?

I hope it is the same man.

If not we may have a duo of "eco terrorists" out there. You pal is just right, he recylces what he can, he burns what other people must be paid to burn.

Sensible chap.

How many waste management companies burn the waste that they collect?
    I don’t know.
    So you’re just guessing that they do because it suits your argument to do so?
    I pay to have mine recycled. In Fingal you now pay €110 every six months for the green and brown bins.
    No, you don’t. You pay an annual fixed waste management charge of €110 per annum (upon which you can claim tax relief). The green and brown bins are lifted as often as you like for no charge.

You think it would be better if everyone in Fingal decided to burn their waste in their gardens?
    That would be the UK. But anyway, it's not terribly relevant to the subject of neighbours burning waste.
    I bet it comes as quite a shock to these green nutters.
    “These green nutters” being who exactly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭MaxFlower

He's here, he's there, he's everywhere. Backyard Buuuuuurner.
    He sends his plumes high into the sky
    No one knows when or why
    He flouts the law, has no integrity
    Cause he has a problem with authority.
    Live and let live he cries
    Waste managements he does despise
    For he has lived in the locale for years
    No law enforcer does he fear.
    So if you have a bag of crap.
    Chuck it in his garden for this nice chap
    He has a match, he has some fuel
    He'll burn the **** out of it - the tool. :p

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Yes this is correctly, you can do whatever you want WITHIN the law.

Burning outside without a license breaks the law, this is very well known

If I move next door to you remind me to play loud music 24/7 to keep you awake, after all its my land I can do what I want

your clueless
    :rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭HPT

Get Real! :rolleyes:

Didn't think my query was going to be so incendiary if you'll excuse the pun! For what its worth I think I'll talk to the chap and see what comes of it. Chances are, as it seems to be in the way of the countryside, that the offender will be offended.

Good luck anyway. If you succeed, you will have tackled one of man's most enduring problems: how to get on with his neighbour.

Cheeble-eers.

Scanned 090407 14:55 Norton Anti-sarcasm for Windows v7.1 build 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭Fairdues

staker wrote: »
    I don't know with what you take issue OP,his burning rubbish from the off or the days that he choses to burn it.
    I would approach him and explain that the smoke is annoying,could he find another way to dispose of his rubbish.
    That failing,I'd probably report it.
    You've every right that he has, even though you're a blow in;)

I agree with most of your points but it's a bit more than a case of the smoke being annoying. Backyard burning is an extremely serious situation which some people just don't seem to have grasped. The dioxins etc etc are extremely dangerous for all of us, especially those of us with children.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 300 ✭✭thethedev

Tell them they might get in trouble for it, then remind them that if they build a shed with a chimney on it and burn it in there it'll be fine becasue for some reason thats not illegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭slattsteen

Anyone know what the law on this is now ? ive spoken to my neighbour twice ,says he'll no longer burn plastic but has'nt kept his word:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

The law on backyard burning has been tightened up and it is now illegal to burn any rubbish in your home, including in your fireplace.