Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Crazy Urban Myths/Superstitions You've Heard

• 04-04-2009 4:20am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭

So I was out in a bar a couple months ago with some friends and an American lady who had kind of invited herself along. Being in Bolivia we were able to smoke inside, and finding that I had no lighter handy I leaned in to light my cigarette from the candle in the centre of the table. The lady who was with us screamed in horror and dragged me away from the candle. Can't remember what I said but it was something like "Wtf?!" She explained, in dead serious tones, that every time you light a cigarette from a candle a sailor somewhere dies. I shit you not.

When I tried to explain that this made no sense she went on to explain in melodramatic tones, with a hand on her heart, that I could only understand if I had ever lost someone at sea.

(To pre-empt the smart asses: I once heard this thing about this Jewish guy who came back from the dead and can walk on water lol so clever. I don't care if you want to mock mainstream religion, this thread is for the more bizarre and obscure silly things you've encountered)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭RATM

Urban Myth: "We should bear in mind that the fundamentals of the Irish economy remain strong"
    Brian Cowen, 26th January, 2008.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭FrostyJack

Does swans breaking people's arms count?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

RATM wrote: »
    Urban Myth: "We should bear in mind that the fundamentals of the Irish economy remain strong"

No, thats just a plain faced lie.

At least when Bertie lied to us we didn't care because he's just a teddy bear, Brian Cowen is an ugly cnut. Therefore he has no permission to lie to us!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭Simi

RATM wrote: »

Congratulations you just ruined a perfectly good thread. Sigh...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 375 ✭✭im_invisible

Zillah wrote: »
    every time you light a cigarette from a candle a sailor somewhere dies.
    heard this, not sure where from
    Can't remember what I said but it was something like "Wtf?!"
    how did you pronounce that? wootef :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,314 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

There must've been a lot of lighting fags off candles last night because I dumped a load of semen on a young ones face.

Wait! Did you say semen or sailors?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Simi wrote: »
    Congratulations you just ruined a perfectly good thread. Sigh...

His was pretty good considering it's after hours. For context, please see the post immediately prior to this one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I've always heard that swans are defensive creatures who attack you if you strayed too close. High probability of losing an eye

But for all the years I've heard this I've never heard of any incident, not even of a child straying too close

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

There must've been a lot of lighting fags off candles last night because I dumped a load of semen on a young ones face.

Wait! Did you say semen or sailors?

How young exactly????

(I'd post a Chris Hansen pic but this is AH so I can't!!!)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

If you find yourself in the unfortunate situation of being forced to withdraw cash against your will at an ATM, simply type in your PIN backwards to alert the Gardai.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Re: Swans attacking, i've been attacked by one before. Nowhere near strong enough to break bones though, though they do have these little bastardy spikes on the back of their legs.
    I think the whole walking under a ladder thing is hilarious, went under one in town before and i heard people gasp.. Sad times.

Suppose you lost you car keys and they are home but you're stranded somewhere.
    And these are those remote control car keys.

You could call the husband/wife and home on the mobile, they could press the remote control for the spare sets of car keys and it would travel over the mobile phone network and the signal could open your car.

I've probably explained it badly but it's a well known one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,015 ✭✭✭Paddy Samurai

So I was out in a bar a couple months ago with some friends and an American lady who had kind of invited herself along. Being in Bolivia we were able to smoke inside, and finding that I had no lighter handy I leaned in to light my cigarette from the candle in the centre of the table. The lady who was with us screamed in horror and dragged me away from the candle. Can't remember what I said but it was something like "Wtf?!" She explained, in dead serious tones, that every time you light a cigarette from a candle a sailor somewhere dies. I shit you not.

When I tried to explain that this made no sense she went on to explain in melodramatic tones, with a hand on her heart, that I could only understand if I had ever lost someone at sea.

(To pre-empt the smart asses: I once heard this thing about this Jewish guy who came back from the dead and can walk on water lol so clever. I don't care if you want to mock
    mainstream religion, this thread is for the more bizarre and obscure silly things you've encountered)

I was in the Blackforrest a few years ago.Walking along this track i came accross this Old Hag in a broken down hut.
    She told me a spell for making people vanish ,poof!...up in smoke,gone,just like that!................not like that!..............like that!.
    What you do is key in a user Id backwards 3 times ,while bollock naked ,covered in mustard and shouting "Out vile devil!"

So here goes.....................halliz,hillaz,hillaz

Eh..........did it work?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

psni wrote: »
    If you find yourself in the unfortunate situation of being forced to withdraw cash against your will at an ATM, simply type in your PIN backwards to alert the Gardai.

Oh no! My PIN is a palindrome!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

mikemac wrote: »
    I've always heard that swans are defensive creatures who attack you if you strayed too close. High probability of losing an eye

But for all the years I've heard this I've never heard of any incident, not even of a child straying too close

Ahh yes, the 'Polish Question'......

Apparently some of the native tribes of south america believe that if you sleep with a venomous snake in your jocks in increases your sexual potency.
    Has anyone tried this?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

When I was in secondary school I remember some people firmly believe that Slim Fast milkshakes had worms in them that would live in your stomach and eat the food and that's how it helps you lose weight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

My missus told me this one as a true story...just like hundreds of missuses all over europe have done the same at some point.

Her friend's friend was over on holidays some place in europe and hooked up with this guy...long story short she comes home, finds a rash on her face...(lazily copies and pastes for the rest)

A few days later she gets a call from the doc sayn she has to go in, he cant tell her on the phone. When she gets there he says she needs to wait til the police get there before he can tell her, So she waits and when they arrive she's told she's got this disease that can only be caught from being 'intimate' with a corpse.

Anyway the police ask if there is anyone she's been with rrecently that might be that way inclined... (notice how nothing is asked about her being the necrophile, or any further inspection of her is needed), she pulls out the card, police raid the guy's place and find two bodies.

I do remember saying to my girlfriend...there's no way that's true. I swear, she says...haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

mikemac wrote: »
    Suppose you lost you car keys and they are home but you're stranded somewhere.
    And these are those remote control car keys.

You could call the husband/wife and home on the mobile, they could press the remote control for the spare sets of car keys and it would travel over the mobile phone network and the signal could open your car.

I've probably explained it badly but it's a well known one

I've never really got that - now you're in your car, but you're still stranded unless the missus at home can also give you instructions on how to hotwire it over the phone. Maybe it would be more useful if you'd locked the keys in the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

My missus told me this one as a true story...just like hundreds of missuses all over europe have done the same at some point.

Her friend's friend was over on holidays some place in europe and hooked up with this guy...long story short she comes home, finds a rash on her face...(lazily copies and pastes for the rest)

A few days later she gets a call from the doc sayn she has to go in, he cant tell her on the phone. When she gets there he says she needs to wait til the police get there before he can tell her, So she waits and when they arrive she's told she's got this disease that can only be caught from being 'intimate' with a corpse.

Anyway the police ask if there is anyone she's been with rrecently that might be that way inclined... (notice how nothing is asked about her being the necrophile, or any further inspection of her is needed), she pulls out the card, police raid the guy's place and find two bodies.

I do remember saying to my girlfriend...there's no way that's true. I swear, she says...haha

Ye that's been proved to be fake by snopes

Thoie wrote: »
    Maybe it would be more useful if you'd locked the keys in the car.

True

You've explained it better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭Spore

Damn, it's a lie!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

Thats cool, I didnt know that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Cunny-Funt

Can't remember what I said but it was something like "Wtf?!" She explained, in dead serious tones, that every time you light a cigarette from a candle a sailor somewhere dies. I shit you not.

Please tell me you told her she was an idiot and proceeded to light multiple smokes from candles at every table?

I mean, what age was she?

Silly americans...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭deco05ie

what if your pin is a palindrome?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 633 ✭✭✭dublinario

deco05ie wrote: »
    what if your pin is a palindrome?

That triggers the apocalypse, unfortunately. It's a glitch in the system, and quite a destructive one at that.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,599 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

So I was out in a bar a couple months ago with some friends and an American lady who had kind of invited herself along. Being in Bolivia we were able to smoke inside, and finding that I had no lighter handy I leaned in to light my cigarette from the candle in the centre of the table. The lady who was with us screamed in horror and dragged me away from the candle. Can't remember what I said but it was something like "Wtf?!" She explained, in dead serious tones, that every time you light a cigarette from a candle a sailor somewhere dies
    Talk about chinese whispers
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Three_on_a_Match_(superstition)

The superstition goes that if three soldiers lit their cigarettes from the same match, the man who was third on the match would be shot. Since then it has been considered bad luck for three people to share a light from the same match.

The belief was that when the first soldier lit his cigarette, the sniper would see the light; when the second soldier lit his cigarette from the same match, the sniper would take aim and note if the soldier was friendly or foe; when the third soldier lit his cigarette from the same match, the sniper would fire.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,599 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I was in the Blackforrest a few years ago.Walking along this track i came accross this Old Hag in a broken down hut.
    She told me a spell for making people vanish ,poof!...up in smoke,gone,just like that!................not like that!..............like that!.
    What you do is key in a user Id backwards 3 times ,while bollock naked ,covered in mustard and shouting "Out vile devil!"

So here goes.....................halliz,hillaz,hillaz

Eh..........did it work?.
    No. You spelled it wrong.

Oh no! My PIN is a palindrome!
    It's 8008, isn't it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Well my mate recently pointed out to me that "we only use 10% of our brain", and put it to me that, if we used that other 90%, we could perform all sorts of crazy mental feats.

I had to break it to him that that is in fact a bullsh*t myth...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Cunny-Funt wrote: »
    Please tell me you told her she was an idiot and proceeded to light multiple smokes from candles at every table?

I mean, what age was she?

Silly americans...

She was 35 or so. We had a conversation where I basically tried to get her to understand that there was no reason to believe this and that believing these sorts of stories leaves her open to anything anyone feels like making up. She was so into it, with such real upset, that I couldn't bring myself to be anything more than a little baffled. Plus we were quite off our faces at the time.

I do take a slight relish lighting smokes from candles these days though.
    The belief was that when the first soldier lit his cigarette, the sniper would see the light; when the second soldier lit his cigarette from the same match, the sniper would take aim and note if the soldier was friendly or foe; when the third soldier lit his cigarette from the same match, the sniper would fire.

Haha, that's pretty awesome thanks to the plausibility. It makes perfect sense, the longer you hold a lit match the greater the chances that a sniper will take a shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭Zapho

www.snopes.com for all your urban legend needs. Be warned though, I wasted a lot of working days reading this site....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭Aisling(",)

I've heard that if a lad is em pleasuring a woman by hand and if she sneezes the muscles contract so much that his fingers will be broken.

they'd have to be some freaky strong muscles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Davie_m

if the wind changes while pulling a funny face, it will stay like that :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

I've heard that if a lad is em pleasuring a woman by hand and if she sneezes the muscles contract so much that his fingers will be broken.

they'd have to be some freaky strong muscles

Aisling with the aid of my googus i'd be willing to risk it trying to find out whether this myth is true or not...
    i'll also bring a huge tub a pepper with me for the occassion...
    All in the Name of science of course!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

Homeopathy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭Kipperhell

A bird flying into your house means somebody in your family will die.

The wife's family are all very superstitious and get freaked out by some strange things

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

If a black cat crosses your path it's bad luck

Zapho wrote: »
    www.snopes.com for all your urban legend needs. Be warned though, I wasted a lot of working days reading this site....

That it's unlucky to be superstitious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

i often heard that out economy was the envy of Europe and perhaps the World. I know it's not true because we weren't invited to the G20 Summit.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

the magpie thing.

one for good two for bad yadda yadda..

fcukers are all over UCD, I must be due a golden good luck triplet by now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

the magpie thing.

one for good two for bad yadda yadda..

fcukers are all over UCD, I must be due a golden good luck triplet by now.

Actually you were. I was sent to deliver a unique master crafted crystal bowl worth over 3grand to you. However whilst walking to your house I saw a magpie. Continuing to walk I (superstisiously) looked up to say hello to him when I tripped over a black cat and smashed your crystal.
    :( Sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,963 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

ShooterSF wrote: »
    Actually you were. I was sent to deliver a unique master crafted crystal bowl worth over 3grand to you. However whilst walking to your house I saw a magpie. Continuing to walk I (superstisiously) looked up to say hello to him when I tripped over a black cat and smashed your crystal.
    :( Sorry.

I hear thats also bad luck, here, I've a few spare magpies, you can have them, I'll be down to a silver orphan but heck, you need em more than I do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

"It is easier for a rich man
    to get through the eye of a needle,
    than it is for a camel t.......

ehhh :o

.....than is is for a camel to" :pac:

*discreetly gets coat*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭Jack Sheehan

JEWS DID 9/11.

Trinny. wrote: »
    No. You spelled it wrong.

Damn mustard! .........,nearly went half blind trying out that spell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭dresden8

-Phuqer- wrote: »
    If a bird shíts on you it's good luck.

I've been shat on 7 times so far. You'd be surprised how few times I've won the lotto.

Every time somebody tells me that, I feel like kicking them in the nuts and while they're rolling around on the floor clutching their nads in agony, I'll **** on their heads and see how lucky they feel.

Not much I'd suspect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭Valmont

I can't believe no one has mentioned the number one bull**** urban myth of all time:

That everyone eats something like 8 spiders a year while they are asleep.

And before anyone tries to defend this, I want to see a quantitative piece of research from a peer reviewed journal explaining the phenomenon. How in the hell could such a "fact" be established in the first place?! I'm so angry because this was said to me again today for the one millionth time.