Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Some thanks from Joe Public...

• 03-04-2009 12:17PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭

Can you recall and incident where you went "above and beyond" your call of duty to help out a member of the public and got diddly squat thanks for it from the person you helped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭Paulzx

Our thanks is our paycheck at the end of the week. If you expect any more you are sorely mistaken. Any person working in any job that deals with the public will probably agree with me.

Thanks are a bonus but not the norm and i certainly don't worry about wether people appreciate a good job done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

jetsonx wrote: »
    Can you recall and incident where you went "above and beyond" your call of duty to help out a member of the public and got diddly squat thanks for it from the person you helped.

As above. Any thanks though just makes all the cr#p we deal with worth it.

Honestly it is nice when some says thanks.....and means it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭TomRooney

in my view there should never be such a thing as above and beyond the call of duty there is no such thing, if you are employed by the state then the state becomes part of your responsibility and the people whitin the state become your responsibility, Gardai get paid relatively well, they have good job security.

thanks is nice, but it is not part of a garda`s remit to look for thanks in any way shape or form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

TomRooney wrote: »
    in my view there should never be such a thing as above and beyond the call of duty there is no such thing, if you are employed by the state then the state becomes part of your responsibility and the people whitin the state become your responsibility, Gardai get paid relatively well, they have good job security.

thanks is nice, but it is not part of a garda`s remit to look for thanks in any way shape or form.

Well I have experienced Gardai going helping me out in a work situ when they didn't have to... at all. That was above and beyond 'call of duty'..

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,813 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Yeah as eroo said, what about when Gardai do something that's not within their remit? For example, changing flat tyres?

happyhappy wrote: »

and finally, what has 'job security' got to do with getting thanks from anyone.

I hope this isnt going to turn into another public vs private sector thread, because it could be a good one without that arguement

• Closed Accounts Posts: 627 ✭✭✭mcguiver

Most days we all go beyond the call of duty. That could be giving money to stranded tourists who've been robbed, feeding homeless people, oreven using our discretion not to give that ticket etc. because the person is decent, made a silly mistake etc.
    Unfortunately many, as in any career, dont even get the basic right and give bad service.

To stay on topic, many years ago I went in an ambulance with a mental health patient. The ambulance crew ....understandably, were refusing to take the patient without him being restarained as he was a regular patient who was known for being violent. I negotiated with them to let me stay in the back with the patient unrestrained.I had calmed him down, and I knew handcuffs would agitate him again. We went off to hospital, no problems. Here I sat through the night waiting for the patient to see a doctor. Eventually I got home 14 hours late. Shower, grub, and straight back to a court case.

Anyway, years later I'm walking the beat and the patient walks up to me. He tells me he is on medication that controls his illness, he has a job, house, partner, studying at night etc. life is looking good for him. He tells me that if it wasnt for my manner dealing with him he would never have got the treatment he needed. That story really reminded me that what we do can make a change. Like any job dealing with the public, we forget the 99% of decent people and go home complaining about the 1% who treat us badly.

(works both ways, no-one goes to the pub and tells the story of the 99 checkpoints they were waved through by polite, proffessional Garda!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

I hope this isnt going to turn into another public vs private sector thread, because it could be a good one without that arguement

It'd be quite hilarious if it did, since young Tom claims to be or at least have been a member of the DF.

psni wrote: »
    Yeah as eroo said, what about when Gardai do something that's not within their remit? For example, changing flat tyres?

thats something i have never seen or heard of it happening anyone either.

mcguiver wrote: »
    Most days we all go beyond the call of duty. That could be giving money to stranded tourists who've been robbed, feeding homeless people, oreven using our discretion not to give that ticket etc. because the person is decent, made a silly mistake etc.
    Unfortunately many, as in any career, dont even get the basic right and give bad service.

To stay on topic, many years ago I went in an ambulance with a mental health patient. The ambulance crew ....understandably, were refusing to take the patient without him being restarained as he was a regular patient who was known for being violent. I negotiated with them to let me stay in the back with the patient unrestrained.I had calmed him down, and I knew handcuffs would agitate him again. We went off to hospital, no problems. Here I sat through the night waiting for the patient to see a doctor. Eventually I got home 14 hours late. Shower, grub, and straight back to a court case.

Anyway, years later I'm walking the beat and the patient walks up to me. He tells me he is on medication that controls his illness, he has a job, house, partner, studying at night etc. life is looking good for him. He tells me that if it wasnt for my manner dealing with him he would never have got the treatment he needed. That story really reminded me that what we do can make a change. Like any job dealing with the public, we forget the 99% of decent people and go home complaining about the 1% who treat us badly.

(works both ways, no-one goes to the pub and tells the story of the 99 checkpoints they were waved through by polite, proffessional Garda!)

ok i may have been to qiuck to make a judgement on this one, there are obviously (now) times when an individual may go beyond the call of duty, and in those circumstances of course thanks would be deserved, but i dont think looking for thanks should ever be the motivation behind such actions.

as for being waved through a checkpoint, there would be no reason for a garda to do anything else considering everything was in order, tax insurance etc, in my experiance the proffesional courteous gardai are few and far between and when i meet one i always make a point of acknowledging the fact, by telling people or telling the garda.

unfortunitley in my opinion some members of the gardai forget they are not the Law, they are administrators of the Law, and subject to the Law aswell just like the rest of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,321 ✭✭✭Daz1214

do you work in the emergency services tom?

Poccington wrote: »
    It'd be quite hilarious if it did, since young Tom claims to be or at least have been a member of the DF.

thanks for the compliment Poccington, i was starting to feel old. that has cheered me up.

do you work in the emergency services tom?

i am not a member of an gardai siochana, or the ambulance/fire service.

tom, i get confused by what you say sometimes!!

you are now acknowledging that sometimes gardai do go beyond the call of duty and that thanks is deserved even though 2 days ago you argued strongly against it.

but you then go on to have an off topic general swipe at gardai saying the usual that gardai are not the law or above the law, just like the rest of us. you claim to be in the df, so i am wondering what your agenda is posting in this pecular way??

is it against the law to change ones mind or view...? your view of logic confuses me.

also i would say it was an exaegeration on your behalf to say i argued strongly for anything.

i dont have any particular agenda per say, and i was not taking a "swipe" at anyone, just giving an opinion that is whitin the confines of the Law is it not...?

Just because YOU haven't seen it or heard of it happening, doesn't mean it hasn't happened.

eroo wrote: »
    Just because YOU haven't seen it or heard of it happening, doesn't mean it hasn't happened.

you actualy wasted 2 minutes of your life to type that response..:rolleyes:

It was more like 30-32 seconds

why did you argue the point in the first place then , if you are going to just change your mind. i reckon you had nothing to back up your agruement in the first place so that is why. that's my logic and i don't think it is confusing lad!:)

and by the way you don't have to keep refering to 'it is against the law' or i am not breaking the law' and comments like that, this is an es discussion forum, breaking the law or staying within the law when posting comments has nothing to do with anything! :D

becaiuse i held that view in the first place, then through discourse i changed my mind, is that not the way things work...?

i suppose you think everyone is like you, stubbornly ignorant and afraid to open your mind to other possibilitys.

as for the LAD comment, do me a favour and refrain from using condecending language in reference to me.

i am not a member of an gardai siochana, or the ambulance/fire service.

Ever been in trouble with Gardaí?? Just wondering, i sense some hostility with the thought of the Gardaí acually getting thanked once in a while. (and as a matter of fact i've changed quite a few flat tyres for other people!)

how is it possible to be in trouble with the gardai..?
    are they not supposed to be an impartial force whos purpose is to administer the Law impartialy.

I have never been convicted or chraged with any crime, if that is what you meant.

fair play to you for changing the tyres, i have no real hostility towards members of AGS, its just that in my experiance i have met more bad gardai than good ones.
    maybe the force has changed recently, but when i was growing up it was made up of mostly ignorant fellas and girls from the back arse of nowhere who largly had the attitude that every Dub was a scum bag. maybe that has all changed now but who knows...?

one thing is quite clear, there is a serious level of mistrust of the gardai from the majority of working class youth in Dublin.

i'm not going to even respond to that! lad is a friendly comment by the way!

well i felt you were badgering me a bit in regards me changing my view so got a bit defensive, i apologise if i took you up wrong.

are they not supposed to be an impartial force whos purpose is to administer the Law impartialy.
    Generally, if your in trouble with the Gardai they are administering the law.

I have never been convicted or chraged with any crime, if that is what you meant.

fair play to you for changing the tyres, i have no real hostility towards members of AGS, its just that in my experiance i have met more bad gardai than good ones.
    maybe the force has changed recently, but when i was growing up it was made up of mostly ignorant fellas and girls from the back arse of nowhere who largly had the attitude that every Dub was a scum bag. maybe that has all changed now but who knows...?

one thing is quite clear, there is a serious level of mistrust of the gardai from the majority of working class youth in Dublin.

In my years in the service to the state yes it has changed. The most of the members joining are some of the best in the field, AGS has more out of service degrees than any other police service (relative to amount of members of course)

Most members try there dam hardest each and everyday that we go to work and we put our life on the line every seemingly ordinary minute of every work day (its not an off the cuff remark, i've been there and experienced it once!)

Yes some members are complete plonkers. Isnt there a few from every walk of like.....lets see like inner city working youth dublin that are complete plonkers. Listen to your own words and dont dare paint us all with the same brush. Were human after all. You might have just met plonkers but a assure you, the vast majority of the states policing service (service, i dont see us as a police force) are hard working people.

And on a lighter note....lad......that is a term of affection in the peoples republic of cork and i dont think anythink bad was ment by it:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

Ok folks
    This is thread is gone slightly off topic so lets move it back on track again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭paul larry

time to give it up tommy boy.......ur just diggin'!!!!!!!!!!!

and on topic, i would have alwys found thank ucards to be soppy, until i got one myself a few weeks ago. not often we get respect from the good folk of donegal, but when i got a thank u card from a lady it made my day and my month!!!!!!!!! some good in everyone!!!!!!!!!!:rolleyes:

It is always nice when a person thanks you for a job done or problem solved or even form signed. I do the same to my mechanic or doctor or shop assistant.

When we do get a thanks for helping someone through a serious or life threatening incident is even better.

Take two senior members in my station who attended to a serious RTA where 2 children were taken to hospital. Their mother was pregnant to almost full term who initially felt ok after the collision but she began to bleed after the ambo had left. Unfortunately there was no other ambo available in time for the woman so the two members put her into the patrol car and blue lighted it to the hospital abandoning the collision scene on a main road. In the end she gave birth to a healthy baby and her 2 children quickly recovered. The two members were almost reduced to tears when the woman came to the station to say thanks with her 3 kids.

Now that is satifying and no wage in the world would overtake that feeling

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

I once got a mass card and a nice letter from a mother whose son's body I was involved in the identification of.
    It still breaks my heart to this day, her son, same age as myself, had gone off the rails, become a drug addict, contracted HIV, and while homeless in the city had fallen in the river, and she found the time in her grief to thank me for all I had done.

All I did was make sure his remains went to the morgue, and that his family were notified.

Definitely the hardest past of our job is notifying the people of the death of a loved one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,321 ✭✭✭Daz1214

thankfully its not somethin we have to do to often on the ambulances but its never nice when we do do it..

ive had a couple of thank you cards in the past and a family has come in to visit me in the fire station to say thanks as well so its nice when it happens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭vasch_ro

I have done it a few times , most recently on the M50 in difficult circumstances and way out of my division, but there was a woman in need and we could not have passed her by, helped another woman in Enniskerry region as well I was in plain clothes on the day and she tried to give me 50 euro !!
    I always feel concious about representing the force in a positive way, going that little step futher if practicable and just generally helping people if i can,
    as I said earlier ,I didn't join to get rich. Sometimes going beyond the call of duty is just to listen...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭BeardyGit

Seen it myself on more than one occasion. I've only ever shown (un)common respect to the Gardaí and it has only ever been reflected as a positive experience. The number of people with a chip on their shoulders when it comes to dealing with the altogether normal men and women of the Gardaí's rank and file is altogether puzzling. Can't understand the attitude.

With regard to the original topic, can't see how the Gardaí should be treated any differently to other people who deal with members of the public on a daily basis. I was taught to say thanks, and the uniform/profession of the recipient is irrelevant. A simple and polite expression of gratitude is sufficient I would imagine for all members of An Garda Siochana, along with their colleagues in other services, no?

Surely common sense, good manners and a bit of decency is all it takes - Why the need for a song and dance? If everyone were to show these things, I think they'd see the person as opposed to the uniform. A little "thanks" and basic respect for another person is all it takes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

TheNog wrote: »
    Definitely the hardest past of our job is notifying the people of the death of a loved one.

That's just it. I didn't do the notifying. He was from NI, I just passed on the message to the RUC in Donegall Pass. By the time his relatives came to identify him, the shock of their grief had mostly passed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

If I went into a café and the owner gave me a cup of tea and/or a top-up on the house to go with my hang sangwidges, he'd be going "above and beyond" what's expected of a retailer.

If I didn't thank him i'd be considered a rude, ungrateful pig.

Why wouldn't any person expect some thanks for doing something. Several times, i've been offered money by (usually older, poorer) people for signing forms, starting cars, changing wheels etc. I've never accepted but the gesture means a lot.

Sometimes people say "thanks" in different ways.

I know one woman who leaves in apple tarts evey christmas to the station because she had a son who died young and she likes to treat the young lads who can't be with their families at that time of year.

Nothing asked or given, just a little gesture that makes an old lady happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,698 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

deadwood wrote: »
    If I didn't thank him i'd be considered a rude, ungrateful pig.
    Reported for trolling.... :)

ps I opened this thread as you were the last poster, and I was hoping for a bit of comic content. Disappointed, hence this post.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭livvy

In a climate where having a job is a bonus i don't think i'd expect much thanks from joe public for doing a fairly secure job. My paycheck is all the thanks i need.

livvy wrote: »
    In a climate where having a job is a bonus i don't think i'd expect much thanks from joe public for doing a fairly secure job. My paycheck is all the thanks i need.

What is wrong with people these days you think its okay to think like that.

Would you say the same to EMTs who brought you to hospital after a traffic collision or to a firefighter for putting out your chimney fire??

To me that just smacks of not giving a crap about anyone else so long as you get your own way.

Disgusts me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭livvy

At the moment thats how i feel. A lot of my friends have lost jobs and I do feel grateful for having a secure one. I don't know how that disgusts you. I think you may be taking my comment out of context

Maybe I have.

Sorry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

I'm glad I have a job. It's just that i'm meant to feel guilty about it now.

I chose my job. I could have done several others with better pay, conditions etc. I knew i'd have a secure pension (which really isn't the first thing on any young persons mind starting a career, is it?). The governmant had a long-running campaign encouraging workers to sort out their pensions. I wonder how many actually did?

Should I feel guilty because I took advantage of the SSIA scheme?

Should I feel guilty because I have good medical cover which I pay €60 a week for?

I'm just glad I look like a sexy mother [EMAIL="f@#$er"]f@#$er[/EMAIL] in uniform and have a pile of students paying the mortgages in my portfolio of shoebox apartments in flatland.

Woo hoo. Public Service ROCKS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭Onikage

Well, you're a mixed bag of nuts but I respect you for doing a job most people wouldn't so I'm dedicating this 999th post to ye.

Sincerely, Joe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

Good manners cost you nothing as my mother always said!

I have met plenty of members from the AGS who would give you their time to help you with the simplest things,like giving directions or even their mobile to make a call.On one or two occasions they have even stopped a taxi for me,and have had a good laugh at the same time,the usual pig jokes;)They usually come back with the bogger ones!:pac:

I know when I work I dont mind a thanks.At least you know people appreacate your effort.

Lads and lasses, i never said there were no decent people in AGS, there are a few, and possibly the force is getting better, but by and large they have a lot of work to do before they gain the full confidence and trust of the majority of people in Ireland.

there are many incidences i have witnessed were the Gards have not done there job, and in fact abused there power.

one would be in the coolock area, were i seen a scumbag joyrider skidding around in a car right in front of a garda patrol car, the gardai made no effort to apprehend the little scroat, and instead sat in there car untill the scumbag had drove the car into the ground and ran off, they then after it was all over walked over to the car to inspect it.

another time i and a friend were on our way back from the local, we had about 5 pints and were just strolling down the road on our way home, we were walking past this unmarked garda car when a plain clothes garda just jumped out from the passenger side and boxed me right in the ear shouting get in the car you dublin scum bag, then the other plain clothes garda jumped out and grabbed my friend, and pushed him into the car.

the garda in the passenger side turned round and started punching the head off my mate, then after a minute done the same to me, we asked what was it all about and they just said "are you trying to get smart" and done the same again. they brought us to the station and locked us up untill 6 am, when we were leaving the garda sgt got us to sign a form im not sure what it was, i asked could i make a complaint and the reply was "do you want to go back in the cell" "if you know whats good for you, you will go home now" so in my youthful naivity (19y) i let it go, i never told my parents because realy who would believe it.

so maybe i was unlucky in the experiance i have had with AGS, but i doubt i am the only one. i am just relating my experiances as they happened and am not trying to tar the whole force with the same brush, but to deny this sort of thing goes on is just living in denial.

just for clarity, i have no criminal history nor am i associated with any criminal elements, we were completly innocent and had done absolutely nothing but walk home.

The 'Lugs Brannigan' methods are and have been on the way out for quite some time. Nowadays Gardai can't really get away with it. You have the Ombudsman, the option to make a Formal Complaint and even such a thing as Judges looking for any signs of ill treatment of prisoners.

Most often, false complaints are made simply to throw a spanner in the works.. I'm not saying you are making any false claims either btw. An example would be one of the scrotes who was involved in the murder of Det.Gda.Jerry McCabe. He claimed ill treament while in custody. Medical checks etc proved otherwise.

Anyways this is off topic, but my point is you can't judge an entire organisation on the personality/actions of a few of it's members.

Lads and lasses, i never said there were no decent people in AGS, there are a few, and possibly the force is getting better, but by and large they have a lot of work to do before they gain the full confidence and trust of the majority of people in Ireland.

there are many incidences i have witnessed were the Gards have not done there job, and in fact abused there power.

one would be in the coolock area, were i seen a scumbag joyrider skidding around in a car right in front of a garda patrol car, the gardai made no effort to apprehend the little scroat, and instead sat in there car untill the scumbag had drove the car into the ground and ran off, they then after it was all over walked over to the car to inspect it.

another time i and a friend were on our way back from the local, we had about 5 pints and were just strolling down the road on our way home, we were walking past this unmarked garda car when a plain clothes garda just jumped out from the passenger side and boxed me right in the ear shouting get in the car you dublin scum bag, then the other plain clothes garda jumped out and grabbed my friend, and pushed him into the car.

the garda in the passenger side turned round and started punching the head off my mate, then after a minute done the same to me, we asked what was it all about and they just said "are you trying to get smart" and done the same again. they brought us to the station and locked us up untill 6 am, when we were leaving the garda sgt got us to sign a form im not sure what it was, i asked could i make a complaint and the reply was "do you want to go back in the cell" "if you know whats good for you, you will go home now" so in my youthful naivity (19y) i let it go, i never told my parents because realy who would believe it.

so maybe i was unlucky in the experiance i have had with AGS, but i doubt i am the only one. i am just relating my experiances as they happened and am not trying to tar the whole force with the same brush, but to deny this sort of thing goes on is just living in denial.

just for clarity, i have no criminal history nor am i associated with any criminal elements, we were completly innocent and had done absolutely nothing but walk home.

Hey tom
    First thing...the joyriders, we have no power what so ever to stop a vehicle like that. Vehicle contact between a patrol car and a suspect car is totally forbiden and can lead to the member being investigated. This is the code we must follow (believe me you are preaching to the choir on that one, I'd like nothing more than to pit or ram a car to stop it and drag the little fcekers out by their ears!!!). The only thing we have is the stinger and that can only be used for certain offences and must be authorised by an inspector (and in all the times i've asked for permission to use it, it has never been granted)

One the second thing I'm sure I can speak not just for a few members but 95% of all members of AGS when i say sorry for those acts!! That was a long time ago im sure. Thing have changed for the better and that sh1t is long gone. So believe me when i say we are not at all as bad as you remember (although every human can have a bad day, yes even gardaí:eek:). Really hope you take something from this. Were good guys really!!
    eroo wrote: »
    The 'Lugs Brannigan' methods are and have been on the way out for quite some time. Nowadays Gardai can't really get away with it. You have the Ombudsman, the option to make a Formal Complaint and even such a thing as Judges looking for any signs of ill treatment of prisoners.

Most often, false complaints are made simply to throw a spanner in the works.. I'm not saying you are making any false claims either btw. An example would be one of the scrotes who was involved in the murder of Det.Gda.Jerry McCabe. He claimed ill treament while in custody. Medical checks etc proved otherwise.

Anyways this is off topic, but my point is you can't judge an entire organisation on the personality/actions of a few of it's members.

Well said eroo!