Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Any cider at Oktoberfest?

• 02-04-2009 3:20am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭alo1587

Silly question i know but, do they sell cider in the beer tents at Oktoberfest in Munich? Anyone ever been over to it? I hate beer.I love cider though:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭steo87

alo1587 wrote: »
    I hate beer

:eek: then why are you going to the Oktoberfest?!

But yes you will find cider at the Oktoberfest - ask for an 'Apfelwein'

Edit - oh and prepare to be larfed at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,240 ✭✭✭hussey

steo87 wrote: »
    :eek: then why are you going to the Oktoberfest?!

76320.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Silly question i know but, do they sell cider in the beer tents at Oktoberfest in Munich? Anyone ever been over to it? I hate beer.I love cider though:D

WTF?

Do you want to know if you go into a nice restaurant will they have big macs and curly fries too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭thebiggestjim

I don't think they do sell cider, as far as I can remember anyway. Did two tours of duty there however never a sober moment. There is a wine tent however. Try one of the beers there, there are much nicer than the normal piss you get at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

I had to check the date of the OP twice to make sure it wasnt a late april fools joke there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,165 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

ask for the wimmins tent (this belongs in that bgrh wrong thread)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

If you ask for cider at oktoberfest you'll be sent to the camps

The beer is really good. Try it before you bring shame on yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

Yup, the only sell it in two liters and you gotta drink it in a field behind the main arena

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭JIZZLORD

Going to oktoberfest to drink cider?

get some skillz!

as far as i know it's more or less wine and the produce of a few german breweries such as paulaner, augistener, etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Not in Oktoberfest, but I was in Germany before with my mate, who drinks cider, and suffice to say, it doesn't go down well if you don't drink beer! I'd be surprised if they had (much) cider at Oktoberfest tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Only six months left OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

What's everybody doing for New Years Eve?

All the hotels I tried are booked out and could not get a cheap flight for St Patricks Day.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

I hate beer

HOW-DARE-YOU!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭Mr.Applepie

JIZZLORD wrote: »
    as far as i know it's more or less wine and the produce of a few german breweries such as paulaner, augistener, etc
    Not even. You have to produce your beer in the district of Munich if you want to have a tent there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

steo87 wrote: »
    But yes you will find cider at the Oktoberfest - ask for an 'Apfelwein'
    I doubt it ... Apfelwein is something local to a very specific area in Germany, i.e. Frankfurt and southwards past Darmsatdt into an area called the Odenwald, where it's known as Ebbelwoi, and virtually unheard of outside of this area. It's also rarely drunk 'neat' but mixed with fizzy mineral water (Sauergespritzt) or with lemonade (Sussgespritzt).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭brianc123

I'v been to oktoberfest
    did'nt see any cider, but the beer is lovely not like the crap you buy here
    no hangover either...................although it's possible i have'nt sobered up yet :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭dade

lived in Bitburg for a time about 15 years ago, my brother owned the Irish pub there. only Cider available was Olde English. the Germans did have a drink called Viez it like cider but was as sweet as hell, it was usually mixed with cola to tame it a bit.

i didn't drink beer at all but you become accustomed to the taste after a while i guess, though the Oktoberfest variants can be stronger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭griffdaddy

What exactly is it you don't like about beer? try a wittebier or whatever it is in German, Weissebier i think, it's like normal beer except more bitter and gives you that 'i could shart at any moment' hangover that usually comes with cider. It's time you made the switch though mate, drink a crate of Hudson blue or Scrumpy Jack in about 7 hours, after that you'll never want cider again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,813 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

Can you still get Hudson Blue?
    griffdaddy wrote: »
    What exactly is it you don't like about beer? try a wittebier or whatever it is in German, Weissebier i think, it's like normal beer except more bitter and gives you that 'i could shart at any moment' hangover that usually comes with cider. It's time you made the switch though mate, drink a crate of Hudson blue or Scrumpy Jack in about 7 hours, after that you'll never want cider again.

OP, Be a MAN and drink the fecking beer.

I wouldnt be admitting to hating beer on a public forum if I was you. It is a serious crime almost as serious as loving cider and they can trace your ip address so prepare for a knock on your door!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

Hah I hate beer too. I always stick the the cider.

The majority of people hate beer when they start drinking and just force themselves to get used to it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Drinking cider takes a lot more bravery than drinking beer. If you've ever woken up after a night on Druid's you'll know exactly what I mean.

But anyway, German beers don't taste of ass like the beers you get here. So go and drink them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭Quaver

I wanna go back to Oktoberfest!!

You can't get cider in the beer tents, they only sell their own beer e.g. in the Hofbrau tent, you can only get Hofbrau! (shocker, i know :P).

They have a wine tent, but it's ridiculously overpriced, and definitely not as much fun as the other tents.

Anyway, German beer is yummy, wouldn't touch anything else after I came home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,330 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

i went to work in Germany for the summer years back - at the time I wasn't much of a beer drinker, by the time I came back I was mad for it (and was bitterly disappointed to realise how sh!te the stuff available here is).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I was thinking of heading down to Patagonia next year, but the paucity of Tayto and Fanta down there turned me against it.

Pity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Smart Bug

OP, going to the Beerfest to drink cider is like Gary Glitter doing community service at his local primary school. The intention is good but it's just wrong. Wrong wrong wrong.
    I hate beer

You should be banned for that. I choose to take it as personal abuse and that's against the charter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 407 ✭✭boardinwork

I was there with some german friends last year and it was class. Dont think they do Cider though. All the tents (about 10 i reckon) only sell their own brew beers. Its beautiful though. Honestly best tip i can give you is go to Carrolls and buy Leprechan outfits. Went down a treat with the ladies over there :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Smart Bug

I was there with some german friends last year and it was class. Dont think they do Cider though. All the tents (about 10 i reckon) only sell their own brew beers. Its beautiful though. Honestly best tip i can give you is go to Carrolls and buy Leprechan outfits. Went down a treat with the ladies over there :)

Jaysus, reckon I seen ye over there then!

& no OP, no cider to be had there. Try the beer tho, it's actual beer, not the pint of chemicals you're served here. Get bookin now tho, accomodation around the city centre will in all likliehood be gone by now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 407 ✭✭boardinwork

Smart Bug wrote: »
    Jaysus, reckon I seen ye over there then!

& no OP, no cider to be had there. Try the beer tho, it's actual beer, not the pint of chemicals you're served here. Get bookin now tho, accomodation around the city centre will in all likliehood be gone by now.

you could do that or join couchsurfers website and get put up :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭Dearg81

They dont sell cider but i wouldnt worry if i was you cos the beer there is much nicer than the beer (and cider)you get here. I'm a cider drinker too but I loved the Hofbräu beer at Oktoberfest last year. I'm heading back this year too and i can't wait :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Beer is rank OP, I hear ya. Gl@ciderfindings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Cunny-Funt

I ****in hate cider. But I also hate the fact that most people have no clue that not everyone CAN drink beer. I'm allergic to barley so I've no ****ing choice but to drink cider, or spirits if they are available.

& I really hate cider.

Bah, but what do I hate more? People who have a choice and still drink cider, when they could be drinking BEER!!!?

You people sicken me. :mad:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Does anybody actualy like beer? Tastes like some gone off **** to me. Most poeple talking about beer to me say jeez this is awful stuff yet always drink it.

Depends on the beer, have you ever tried Hoegaarden, Erdinger, Paulaner or Duvel? Lovely stuff.

all of them, and much more in the hope of finding a nice one. Even chocolate beer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

the HB tent is the 8th wonder of the world but dont stop eating after the 2nd day of heavy beering,terrible scenes inside Munich airport trying to get home:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Funny enough, I hated beer when I first started drinking it. But I still preferred it to alcopops and cider, so I forced myself to drink Budweiser or Coors light, which really dont have much flavour to them. Eventually it was tolerable

One day, about a year later, I had a pint of Fosters, and thought to myself "Wow, this tastes lovely".
    Then a friend introduced me to British Ales. Then I discoved Wheat beers, Porters, Milds, Pale Ales etc, and now I live for beer. I brew my own, visit beer festivals, choose pubs based mostly on the selection of beers, go on brewery tours. Its probably my favourite hobby.

So stick at it, and maybe one day you'll like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

I agree, beer doesn't do it for me. Cider is where it's at.

Strawberry and lime Recorderlig cider. Yum! Pear, apple, mixed fruit...comes in all flavours. Kopperberg. Yum!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 633 ✭✭✭dublinario

This thread is perpetuating a lazy stereotype about the Oktoberfest festival. It isn't all about drinking and beer. It's also about boozing and ale. Why do people forget that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

Cunny-Funt wrote: »
    I ****in hate cider. But I also hate the fact that most people have no clue that not everyone CAN drink beer. I'm allergic to barley so I've no ****ing choice but to drink cider, or spirits if they are available.

& I really hate cider.

Bah, but what do I hate more? People who have a choice and still drink cider, when they could be drinking BEER!!!?

You people sicken me. :mad:

you could try wheat beer, it's quite common in that part of the world and these days it's in most Dublin pubs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 100 ✭✭Dee369369

I hate beer too OP but i drank a whole stein when i was there last year was so proud of myself...did take a good hour though!
    If you can you should go camping that's where all the fun is because the tents close at 11 and there's all night drinking to be done with like minded people :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭steo87

Cider drinker = woman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Cunny-Funt

RoundTower wrote: »
    you could try wheat beer, it's quite common in that part of the world and these days it's in most Dublin pubs.

Its actually gluten I'm allergic to (coeliac) and theres gluten in barley and wheat :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

There are gluten free beers available in off licences. Doesn't help when it comes to pubs though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

Mark200 wrote: »
    Hah I hate beer too. I always stick the the cider.

The majority of people hate beer when they start drinking and just force themselves to get used to it...
    Pretty much, but it's an acquired taste as opposed to something you have to force yourself to drink every time. When I started drinking, I could barely stomach a can of beer, but now I quite like it.

Incidentally, I HATE cider and always have done.

I love the way people force themselves to drink stuff they don't like for no apparent reason, until they get used to it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

No apparent reason? The effects?

And acquired tastes are the most rewarding.