Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Almost killed someone last night

• 01-04-2009 1:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,863 ✭✭✭

Hi All

just thought I would share scary experience I had last night at around 1 am.

I'm driving home down the Howth Road around 60kph. when this drunk pedestrian just step out in front of me. I'm not joking when I say the car was about 10 metres away. Had the lights on and my car is quite loud, so she should have seen and heard me but she stepped out anyway.

SLAMMED ON (Had to..)
    ABS kicked in. (Never felt it working before)
    Car ground to a halt less than a metre in front of her, at which point she yells "Will you watch where your going!". I was fuming. I got a good look at her, and recognised her from my time working in an off license in the Howth road locality. (It was at that point I realised she was drunk. as she used to be in and out of the shop 3 - 4 times daily. plus she had an open bottle of wine in her hand!)

I called Raheny Garda Station... telling them there was drunk that was going to kill themselves cross a main road. they didn't seem interested.

Do ya wanna know what the gas thing about this is?

If I had hit her it would have been my fault plus I would have been left with a bill to replace my bumper and bonnet.

Just a warning to you all. Be careful
    :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

Frined of mine hit a drunk teenage girl years ago but it was kinda a strange one. She was driving past the girl as she walked /stumbled / fell off the path and caught her with the side of the car and broke her mirror. The girl hit the ground and had a few bumps and bruises but was ok. Her parents started screamimg blue murder at my friend but the guard advised the parents to pipe down because according to him " You cant knock someone down with the side of the car ". and that "they would be liable for the damage to the car". How true it was I dont know but my friend was just happy she didnt kill anybody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭joey54

A similar thing happened to a friend of mine on the Howth Road in Raheny too. You know that stretch of road outside the Garda retirement home. Probably about a year ago at this stage.

A drunk stepped out onto the road almost getting themselves killed. My friend too rang Raheny Garda station and in fairness to them they sent a car around the area to have a look.

People are willing to take huge risks when they have drink on them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭*Tripper*

Glad everything is ok OP, why is it just drivers who have to take responsibility for road safety? Driving through town a few nights ago I couldn't believe the amount of cyclists, not only without any lights, but wearing pretty much all black making them hard to see in lit up areas and impossible to see in dark areas. Now if I was to take a left turn in a dark area and cut one of them up seriously injuring or even killing them who would be at fault?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 575 ✭✭✭Dabko

this is something ive always pondered - if you kill someone (assuming its their fault entirely - like OP's situation), could you go after their family/next of kin for damages to your car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭hi_im_fil

Dabko wrote: »
    this is something ive always pondered - if you kill someone (assuming its their fault entirely - like OP's situation), could you go after their family/next of kin for damages to your car?

Cant see why tbh. Why would a family be held liable for the actions of someone? Doesn't make sense really.

Plus I dont think many people would be going after a family for damages to a car after the family had to go through losing someone

I can see the moral dilemma, but in that case, should pedestrians not be forced to have insurance.
    Why is it ok in society to mess things up for others who were going about their business and get away with it? (except the dead thing!):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Not unless they're a minor, I understood 'they' to mean the pedestrian as opposed to her parents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

Serioulsy, you've just knocked down and killed someone.
    and your thinking about whether or not you can go after the family for the damages to the car...
    Thats what has Ireland in the state we're in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭biggybum

sorry in advance but i have to say that is fair amusing, '' sorry about the loss of your family member, but who do i send the bill to for my new bumper and bonnet ??'' Down like a tonne of bricks springs to mind

whycliff wrote: »
    and your thinking about whether or not you can go after the family for the damages to the car...

No. Society these days seems to reward stupidity.

Oh, cant pay your mortage, apply here and we'll pay it for you.
    Oh, you buried your self in debt? Those bad bankers for selling you them loans!
    Oh, you've gotten up the duff and have no job - here's a house and 500quid a week to live on. Need a car?

Irelands in the state its in because we let stupidity and greed prevale in society.
    If some f**ked up my car i worked dam hard to put under my arse, we'll then ya - why not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

biggybum wrote: »
    sorry in advance but i have to say that is fair amusing, '' sorry about the loss of your family member, but who do i send the bill to for my new bumper and bonnet ??'' Down like a tonne of bricks springs to mind

not saying i agree but why is this so wrong, when you are at fault being the driver the family come after you, you killed my child now you and your insurance company is going to pay...... they don't consider the emotional state of the driver do they???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

You could go after their estate (i.e. whatever assets they've left behind, but you'll probably be at the end of a long queue behind banks and other creditors. If they have no estate or otherwise don't have enough to fulfill the debt, then your debt dies with the person, you can't chase the family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

"The guiding principles for pedestrians include:

Always use a footpath. If there is no footpath walk on the right hand side facing oncoming traffic
    Choose a safe place to cross
    Be Seen by wearing reflective gear
    Stay sober - drunk pedestrians can cause accidents
    However, it's not just the responsibility of pedestrians to cross carefully. Motorists must recognise the danger too and look out for pedestrians at risk."

http://www.rte.ie/news/features/roadsafety/roadsafetyissues.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭Lobelia Overhill

steve06 wrote: »
    Be Seen by wearing reflective gear

and if it was light out when you started, take a reflective vest with you, there's no guarantee it'll be light when you're coming back again!

I nearly hit a fella on a road out of town one winter evening - I was driving in the face of people, presumably coming home from work, and half of them had their lights on full beam, I could hardly see a thing - then I notice something "flickering" at the side of the road, I got closer and my headlights finally picked out a man in a dark jacket, jeans and white runners (the flickering I'd seen). I swerved to avoid him, and noticed the cars behind me doing the same...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,863 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

No. Society these days seems to reward stupidity.

Oh, cant pay your mortage, apply here and we'll pay it for you.
    Oh, you buried your self in debt? Those bad bankers for selling you them loans!
    Oh, you've gotten up the duff and have no job - here's a house and 500quid a week to live on. Need a car?

Irelands in the state its in because we let stupidity and greed prevale in society.
    If some f**ked up my car i worked dam hard to put under my arse, we'll then ya - why not?

I agree with you 100%.
    I Japan, you are liable if you get knocked down for crossing the road and were not at a pelican crossing.

Even you you are killed then your insurance must pay out for damage to the other persons car.

I think this is fair.

If the pedestrian is drunk then its not the fault of the Driver that they fell out onto the road. They should made be pay for the damage they caused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

i dunno where other peoples morals are on this issue, but i know where mine are.
    you'd want to have some neck on you..
    oh by the way, when your done paying the under takers, can i have a few pund for my bonnet... its almost laughable.
    there is another thread on After Hours- Stingiest thing you've seen..
    This is up there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 629 ✭✭✭cashmni1

i dunno where other peoples morals are on this issue, but i know where mine are.
    oh by the way, when your done paying the under takers, can i have a few pund for my bonnet... its almost laughable.
    This is up there.
    No its not. As said before, it's the Estate that will pay, or insurance. I doubt if the OP will go knocking on the familys door of the dead person.
    Also, the Family will only be responsible if the person is a minor. If I were langers, staggered out on the M-50 and caused a pile-up with lots of damage....you can be sure people would be looking for money, if not my blood, whats left anyway....

A dipso 24 year old showing off to his mates is one thing but I dont think Id be to keen to knock on the door of the parents of a 7 year old child who I just killed . Anyway picture this .... driving along and out comes a small child from behind a car. The thump as the child hits your bumper and is sent up and over the windscreen smashing his or her head hard with a sickening crack on the way and landing just adjacent to your car. Get out to see the broken bones sticking from the small childs body and then the hearing the yell of the childs mother coming screaming out the door in sheer panic at what has just happened......Not paying for your house is one thing but I dont think Id give a sh**t about my bumper if this happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,863 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

This is up there.

Of course its not nice...
    No one ever said it was gonna be an easy/nice thing to do. And in this country you are correct you would want to have some neck on you to ask. I probably wouldn't ask to be honest.

But at the end of the day man, a new Bonnet + Bumper + Labour = (at least) €1000. there is a guy that posted here last week that hit a big dog and now has approx €2000 euros worth of damage done to the Car! Just because some died doesn't mean "all dept's are off" if the banks have the neck to go after their estate then the person with a wrecked car should be going after it too.

You might be rich and able to afford to fork that out but a lot of others wouldn't be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,942 ✭✭✭stesaurus

grahambo wrote: »
    Hi All

just thought I would share scary experience I had last night at around 1 am.

I'm driving home down the Howth Road around 60kph. when this drunk pedestrian just step out in front of me. I'm not joking when I say the car was about 10 metres away. Had the lights on and my car is quite loud, so she should have seen and heard me but she stepped out anyway.

SLAMMED ON (Had to..)
    ABS kicked in. (Never felt it working before)
    Car ground to a halt less than a metre in front of her, at which point she yells "Will you watch where your going!". I was fuming. I got a good look at her, and recognised her from my time working in an off license in the Howth road locality. (It was at that point I realised she was drunk. as she used to be in and out of the shop 3 - 4 times daily. plus she had an open bottle of wine in her hand!)

I called Raheny Garda Station... telling them there was drunk that was going to kill themselves cross a main road. they didn't seem interested.

Do ya wanna know what the gas thing about this is?

If I had hit her it would have been my fault plus I would have been left with a bill to replace my bumper and bonnet.

Just a warning to you all. Be careful
    :(

Had something similiar last weekend. Driving through an estate, road perfectly clear. Doing about 60km/h. Some idiot decides to run straight across the road in front of me, he was probably 13/14 years old, came from nowhere running at full pelt.

Very very close to peeling him off my bumper. Made me think, ok prolly 99% drivers would have been doing a little over the limit in the situation but then it's technically your fault for speeding and you've just killed someone.

With sobering hindsight and my fellow man at the forefront of my mind I've decided to change my ways.
    Next time I'm feckin speeding up and doing the gene pool a favour by wiping out the little scrote!:D

And yes I'll be coming after his estate for repairs to my bumper and windscreen.:p

This is up there.

Oh, and i also complain in a restaurant if the food was sh1te.;)

If my cars going to cost 4k or 5k to fix, then why should i have to pay? Should i just gingerly apologise for all and let it be? Now thats so Irish!

Saab Ed wrote: »
    A dipso 24 year old showing off to his mates is one thing but I dont think Id be to keen to knock on the door of the parents of a 7 year old child who I just killed . Anyway picture this .... driving along and out comes a small child from behind a car. The thump as the child hits your bumper and is sent up and over the windscreen smashing his or her head hard with a sickening crack on the way and landing just adjacent to your car. Get out to see the broken bones sticking from the small childs body and then the hearing the yell of the childs mother coming screaming out the door in sheer panic at what has just happened......Not paying for your house is one thing but I dont think Id give a sh**t about my bumper if this happened.

Yes, this would be quite a hard thing to do, but a child would be a different thing as opposed to some tool who's steaming drunk at night time wearing a cat burgular outfit!

And whats a 7 seven year old doing playing near a busy road un-supervised? I blame the parents!

Yes, this would be quite a hard thing to do, but a child would be a different thing as opposed to some tool who's steaming drunk at night time wearing a cat burgular outfit!

And whats a 7 seven year old doing playing near a busy road un-supervised? I blame the parents!

Because kids do stupid things :(

I think I can safely say that no matter what you say here, If that really happened your tune would be different.

Saab Ed wrote: »
    Because kids do stupid things :(

True, very true. Personally wouldnt go after the parents of a kid mainly because anywhere there are children likely to bolt under your wheels, there are speed limits, therefore, you shoulnt be doing any speed that would kill/do car damage!!

Its the adults (18+) id think twice about.

True, very true. Personally wouldnt go after the parents of a kid mainly because anywhere there are children likely to bolt under your wheels, there are speed limits, therefore, you shoulnt be doing any speed that would kill/do car damage!!

Its the adults (18+) id think twice about.

Yeah Id probably go with that too....maybe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Had something similiar last weekend. Driving through an estate, road perfectly clear. Doing about 60km/h. Some idiot decides to run straight across the road in front of me, he was probably 13/14 years old, came from nowhere running at full pelt.
    60km/h through a housing estate?

You'd be done for dangerous driving causing death tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭Pedro K

I came across a claim before involving a woman who had damaged her car because somebody threw themselves onto it. Fatal impact, pedestrian died. The womans insurance company covered it as a comprehensive claim on her own policy, but waived the excess and let her keep her NCB because of the traumatic ordeal she'd been through.

whycliff wrote:
    This is up there.

Come off it will ya?

If some thick eejit runs out in front of my car and I'm not at fault for the accident, then there's not a snowballs' chance in hell I'll be down €1000+ (obviously figures depending on damage done) as a result of his lunacy and/or pure idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭skyhighflyer

s.welstead wrote: »

Very very close to peeling him off my bumper. Made me think, ok prolly 99% drivers would have been doing a little over the limit in the situation but then it's technically your fault for speeding and you've just killed someone.

With sobering hindsight and my fellow man at the forefront of my mind I've decided to change my ways.
    Next time I'm feckin speeding up and doing the gene pool a favour by wiping out the little scrote!:D

And yes I'll be coming after his estate for repairs to my bumper and windscreen.:p

I will just say one thing. I hope that you don't drive through my estate. Ever.

Pedro K wrote: »
    Come off it will ya?

If some thick eejit runs out in front of my car and I'm not at fault for the accident, then there's not a snowballs' chance in hell I'll be down €1000+ (obviously figures depending on damage done) as a result of his lunacy and/or pure idiocy.
    If there was nobody around maybe you could have a root through their wallet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,138 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Made me think, ok prolly 99% drivers would have been doing a little over the limit in the situation

Then call me a 1%er. I make a point of driving under the speed limit (about 45 km/h) through estates, for the very reasons mentioned in your example.

(and no, I'm not on any high horse - I regularly break the speed limit in more appropriate situations).

phutyle wrote: »
    Then call me a 1%er. I make a point of driving under the speed limit (about 45 km/h) through estates, for the very reasons mentioned in your example.

(and no, I'm not on any high horse - I regularly break the speed limit in more appropriate situations).
    +1, I'll do 180km/h on a clear motorway, but 60 through a housing estate is pure idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭*Tripper*

Your a retarded scumbag and I hope you die a slow painful death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭ball

Working in an insurance co, unfortunately most of the time you will be held liable for hitting a pedestrian.
    Unless they literally jumped out onto your car, which you would have to prove.
    They will also more than likely have a huge injury claim and your insurance will be through the roof next year.

On the other hand, if it's an animal, the owner is liable and you can claim off them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,091 ✭✭✭Biro

grahambo wrote: »
    Of course its not nice...
    No one ever said it was gonna be an easy/nice thing to do. And in this country you are correct you would want to have some neck on you to ask. I probably wouldn't ask to be honest.

But at the end of the day man, a new Bonnet + Bumper + Labour = (at least) €1000. there is a guy that posted here last week that hit a big dog and now has approx €2000 euros worth of damage done to the Car! Just because some died doesn't mean "all dept's are off" if the banks have the neck to go after their estate then the person with a wrecked car should be going after it too.

You might be rich and able to afford to fork that out but a lot of others wouldn't be.

Thats why you should get fully comp insurance. For some strange reason lives are more important than a few hundred euro increase in premium.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

not sure I'd wanna get behind the wheel again for a while if I'd after gone and run someone down - never mind goin lookin for compo off the unfortunates survivors :o

unless its that CJ lad from eggheads of course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

*Tripper* banned for a month for personal abuse

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,596 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

A guy in Italy did this a while back IIRC he was speeding too !
    can't find that link but..
    http://www.cnn.com/2008/WORLD/europe/01/30/spain.luxury.car/index.html

Another point from the rules of the road , if someone is already crossing the road then they have right of way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭bladebrew

i think people are forgetting what would happen if you KILLED someone with your car! you dont pop down to your garage next day to get a quote for repairs,the gardai would take it off you (the car) to do a test to make sure the car is roadworthy nct or not,and you would be charged with something, you dont get away with it
    as iv pointed out here before a few times,i clipped a pedestrian with a wing mirror,i wasnt speeding or drunk,i ended up in court got a conviction for careless driving,5 penalty points,and a pissed off insurance company
    when i got the car back after 5 days i was terrified of driving,took months to get any confidence back,the last thing i was worried about was my wing mirror
    sorry bout the long post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭ArphaRima

I dont get this. If a pedestrian is drunk, and runs out onto the road from behind a van at night at the last second, and I hit them; I'm liable?!
    WTF?

By liable I mean liable to charges.
    And yes, if they survived with little injury, I'd be looking for damages.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 467 ✭✭aoibhebree

I had an awful close one just on my way home from work a few minutes ago. It was just getting dark, kind of that grey in-between time. I was stopped on a red light, there were two lanes and I was on the inside one, and there was a jeep to my right but it had stopped just a bit ahead of me. The lights turned green, and usually I'd have just driven right off, but something made me wait for a few seconds ... and sure enough, some eejit of an old man in a grey jacket decided to chance his luck and cross before the cars started moving. The thing is, he was coming from the right, so the jeep could see him but it was a lot harder for me too - especially considering his dark clothes and the fact that it was getting dark.

I'm well aware that if I hit him I'd be a hundred per cent liable, but I'm telling ya, its scary that if I'd just put my foot on the accelerator when the lights changed I'd not have been able to stop in time. It mightn't sound like it was that close, but yer man was pretty much invisible! It really makes you feel sorry for drivers that injure people in accidents when the driver was legally "responsible" but, in all practical terms, it was the pedestrian's fault.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭Lobelia Overhill

aoibhebree wrote: »
    I'm well aware that if I hit him I'd be a hundred per cent liable, but I'm telling ya, its scary that if I'd just put my foot on the accelerator when the lights changed I'd not have been able to stop in time. It mightn't sound like it was that close, but yer man was pretty much invisible! It really makes you feel sorry for drivers that injure people in accidents when the driver was legally "responsible" but, in all practical terms, it was the pedestrian's fault.

I don't get why the driver is responsible in that circumstance ... I always wait for the traffic to stop before I walk across a crossing - which is what I was taught to do at school. I nearly hit someone at a crossing once - pitch dark kid dressed all in black, badly badly placed crossing about 10 feet from a junction ... he walked straight in front of me - I didn't even see him, I just heard a girl scream "watch out!" and stood on my breaks - she was yelling at him BTW ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Sorry, but no - it's time for people to take, and be made responsible for, their own actions.
    And that especially includes pedestrians, and drunk ones.

To think that a no-fault-of-the-driver accident leaves that driver, and his family deeply traumatised, with who-knows-what consequences, and yet somehow victimise him/her, is unacceptable. It's the pedestrian that's at fault and their should be no apology for it. And as surely as wrongly hurt pedestrians can sue drivers and estates, the reverse should also be true. The person knocked down is not the only victim, remember. Otherwise there's no justice.

As they might say in the Eurorvision, 'lethal stupidity, Null Points'

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

ball wrote: »
    Working in an insurance co, unfortunately most of the time you will be held liable for hitting a pedestrian.
    Unless they literally jumped out onto your car, which you would have to prove.
    They will also more than likely have a huge injury claim and your insurance will be through the roof next year.

On the other hand, if it's an animal, the owner is liable and you can claim off them

well, as the poster on here with link to cruiseireland shows, maybe it's time for us to equip our cars with hdd recorders, for our own protection.....

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

A number of years ago a very close friend of mine was knocked down and killed in a rural area. Most of my friends were braying for revenge, saying the driver should go to prison, etc. etc., but even at the time, with grief in full flow, my guess was that my friend was most likely drunk, dressed head to toe in black, and quite possibly not sticking to the edges of the road.

While obviously I still really miss my friend, I sometimes think of the driver as well, and wonder how he ever got on with things, and whether he got punished for something he might have had no chance of avoiding.

While I see no legal problem with claiming for damages to the car from the estate, unfortunately in 99% of cases, the executors will probably be close family, and I can't see many people (me included) that would dare ask for it, even through the intermediary of solicitors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭busman

fluffer wrote: »
    I dont get this. If a pedestrian is drunk, and runs out onto the road from behind a van at night at the last second, and I hit them; I'm liable?!
    WTF?

By liable I mean liable to charges.
    And yes, if they survived with little injury, I'd be looking for damages.

Maybe I spent too long in the US, but I would be looking a bit back on the money chain! I would be looking for damages from the person who sold the alcohol to the drunk!

I have seen this happen in New Mexico, family of 5 was killed by a drunk driver, police tracked him from a flight into Albuquerque where he had bought beer to an liquor store that sold him a six pack!

Here is a pdf link

http://www.adobeinterlock.com/download/a07_newmexican.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭ArphaRima

I for one never want it to be like the states. Can you imagine how much a beer would cost here if we had to help the vintners insure against that?!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

busman wrote: »
    Maybe I spent too long in the US, but I would be looking a bit back on the money chain! I would be looking for damages from the person who sold the alcohol to the drunk!

Maybe you have spent too long over there. That's like suing McDonalds because you got fat eating there 3 times a day for 10 years :rolleyes:

The suing culture in this country is sickening enough as it is, thanks...

aoibhebree wrote: »
    I had an awful close one just on my way home from work a few minutes ago. It was just getting dark, kind of that grey in-between time. I was stopped on a red light, there were two lanes and I was on the inside one, and there was a jeep to my right but it had stopped just a bit ahead of me. The lights turned green, and usually I'd have just driven right off, but something made me wait for a few seconds ... and sure enough, some eejit of an old man in a grey jacket decided to chance his luck and cross before the cars started moving. The thing is, he was coming from the right, so the jeep could see him but it was a lot harder for me too - especially considering his dark clothes and the fact that it was getting dark.

That's a very common occurrence - I don't mean to sound harsh, but you should never move off until you can see that it's safe to do so. Anyway, i'm sure you know that now.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Vertakill

Anan1 wrote: »
    That's a very common occurrence - I don't mean to sound harsh, but you should never move off until you can see that it's safe to do so. Anyway, i'm sure you know that now.:)

It's mad becuase I'm sure that plenty of us have been in that very same situation as aoibhebree was in.

It's also crazy that the driver would be 100% at fault when the pedestrian is crossing on a 'little red man' in front of, what would normally be, moving traffic.

When you think about it. Trucks/Cars/Motorcyclists/Cyclists all have to have some form of lighting (lights, indicators, brake lights etc) to be considered roadworthy.. but when a pedestrian crosses on a pedestrian crossing on a 'red man' whilst wearing dark clothing... the driver is at fault?

Madness.

I think the rules of the road should be taught to everyone (maybe at school) and not just people who drive on the roads. At the end of the day, there might be less road deaths if every pedestrian/cyclist knew the rules of the road regardless of whether or not they own a vehicle.

Unfortunately for a lot of people, the first time they ever even think about the rules of the road is when they're cramming for their provisional license and face the task of passing their little multiple choice test, despite the fact they may use paths/roads daily when on foot/bicycle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,942 ✭✭✭stesaurus

*Tripper* wrote: »
    Your a retarded scumbag and I hope you die a slow painful death.

'Tongue in cheek' mean anything to ya???? Enjoy ur ban:)