Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Now they're trying to steal our SEA....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

If it could supply 5% of electric of a country of 90 million then what could it supply to a country of just 5 mill ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

If it could supply 5% of electric of a country of 90 million then what could it supply to a country of just 5 mill ?

eh.... 90%?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

You don't know how to get 5% of 90 ?

90 / 100 * 5 = 4.5 million.

We don't have to give electrity to the midlands, they won't miss what they don't have :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

TEY TUK OUR SEA!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

Dey Terk Er Jerbs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭Tech3

What else did they take? The North? They can have it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

They tuk our tides....

No more waves or surfing.

Wait til the british government has to deal with the irish surfing community. Will make the IRA look like the scouts :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,109 ✭✭✭ThE_IVIAcIVIAIV

Not if i can help it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

i know everything the Brits do gets exagerated on here, but 90 million?

that is some population explosion!!

Anyway, I thought the Irish Sea was so radioactive it could power a small town all on its own, without any waves!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭CountingCrows

They already stole our sea - Sellafield

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭Captain-America

I'm sure there's enough sea to go around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 865 ✭✭✭Purple Gorilla

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,728 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

It's closer to 61 million. Ireland would need something like the Severn estuary to take advantage of the tides. Could probably dam lots of bays in Connemara.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Can't we hide it in a cleverly concealed bucket?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Riddle101

If we could use the sea could we not use the Atlantic Ocean as well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭Captain-America

Riddle101 wrote: »

NO!

i know everything the Brits do gets exagerated on here, but 90 million?

that is some population explosion!!

Anyway, I thought the Irish Sea was so radioactive it could power a small town all on its own, without any waves!!

He's heard about the number of illegals being squeezed out of the chunnel.:eek:

or he got confused when someone told him that they were a bunch of shaggers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

there's lots more water out there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

Sure they've already polluted the fcuk out of it. They're welcome to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

Riddle101 wrote: »

No! That sea belongs to the lost civilisation of Atlantis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

Mr.Lizard wrote: »
    No! That sea belongs to the lost civilisation of Atlantis.

Actually the lamoreons are the civilisation who owned atlantis...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭nice1franko

they've invented a way to turn piss into electricity now?

i thought we were atlantis?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭john concannon

Come back Stephen Ireland

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,294 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

cnocbui wrote: »
    It's closer to 61 million. Ireland would need something like the Severn estuary to take advantage of the tides. Could probably dam lots of bays in Connemara.
    or one across the Shannon :)

http://www.liv.ac.uk/engdept/tidalpower link with maps
    http://www.liv.ac.uk/science_eng_images/engdept/tidal_power/tidal_range_map.jpg map

world tides http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/5/5e/M2_tidal_constituent.jpg
    we've got world class tides :)

tides in the med in cm
    http://www.aviso.oceanobs.com/index.php?eID=tx_cms_showpic&file=uploads%2Fpics%2Famplitude_maree.gif

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,294 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

they've invented a way to turn piss into electricity now?
    wait until you hear about the electicity interconnector, people say it's just electrons but we know BNFL will try and dump a lot of beta particles on us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭ART6

wait until you hear about the electicity interconnector, people say it's just electrons but we know BNFL will try and dump a lot of beta particles on us

A simple way to avoid that. If you hold two wires close together to get a spark between them, and if that spark is blue, then it's natural electricity. If it's green it's nuclear. There ye go. The appliance of science.:D

isn't there a couple of dirty great big windmills off the coast of Wicklow somewhere?

What gives you lot the right to nick our wind?

wait until you hear about the electicity interconnector, people say it's just electrons but we know BNFL will try and dump a lot more beta particles on us

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Let them have the sea.
    We've got an ocean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

The effectiveness of tidal power is very much dependent on the shape of the coastline.
    There are very few suitable places for it in the world; just because Britain can use it, doesn't mean that we can.

I read the thread title and thought someone was trying to steal our stamped addressed envelopes :o

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,162 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Let them have it, there's plenty more fish in the sea. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Let them have it, there's plenty more fish in the sea. :o

They tried fishin' power before and look how that turned out.

^May be my worst pun yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 668 ✭✭✭karen3212

Trinny. wrote: »
    Let them have the sea.
    We've got an ocean.

i don't think any country could handle that much power.:P

I also thought this thread was going to be about envelopes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

karen3212 wrote: »

The brown envelopes will be used to carry payments from those who want to buy the surplus power.

Trinny. wrote: »
    The brown envelopes will be used to carry payments from those who want to buy the surplus power.

This envelope business is a Red Herring. :o

.......are you doing a tv show called "What not to post"?:o:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Here's a radical idea, why don't we harness the free power that's all around our coast and sell it to the rest of europe.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Kurtosis

I read the thread title and thought someone was trying to steal our stamped addressed envelopes :o
    karen3212 wrote: »

Stamped addressed envelope...SAE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

The Irish National Grid is supported by the British one. They're stealing our sea and selling it back to us.

Lads, we should have got there first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

Blush_01 wrote: »
    The Irish National Grid is supported by the British one. They're stealing our sea and selling it back to us.

Lads, we should have got there first.

It does sound more like one of our economic policies alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭A7X

isn't there a couple of dirty great big windmills off the coast of Wicklow somewhere?

What gives you lot the right to nick our wind?

The famine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭Tech3

galwayrush wrote: »
    Here's a radical idea, why don't we harness the free power that's all around our coast and sell it to the rest of europe.:rolleyes:

I think that what there doing now with the U.K

they have invested in a high power cable to connect the uk to Ireland in the last few days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

Dont worry when the interconnector is built we can sell them all the excess electricity we have from the wind power in the atlantic

Off course both projects assume that we will continue to have the benefit of the gulf stream and the north atlantic drift.

Both currents are forcast to decline with Global warming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

Dey Terk Er Jerbs!

Deerk Deerrrrrr!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 667 ✭✭✭Altreab

Dont worry when the interconnector is built we can sell them all the excess electricity we have from the wind power in the atlantic

Off course both projects assume that we will continue to have the benefit of the gulf stream and the north atlantic drift.

Both currents are forcast to decline with Global warming

no we wont ...because eirgrid wont fecking build the infrastructure to transfer the power from the west coast to the east!! :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

Altreab wrote: »
    no we wont ...because eirgrid wont fecking build the infrastructure to transfer the power from the west coast to the east!! :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Laugh my fcuking head off. You forget Fianna Fail own most of the land across so it will be built and will go underground I would like to bet!

The effectiveness of tidal power is very much dependent on the shape of the coastline.
    There are very few suitable places for it in the world; just because Britain can use it, doesn't mean that we can.
    have posted tidal maps back a bit, we have the same sort of tidal ranges, and less of the bays on the west have big harbours and stuff to interfere with building main problem is that a lot of bays are too deep but tidal turbines already installed up north so that's another option

and wave power, yeah we could do that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

What will the inevitable whingers who are against any kind of progress call their protest group? "SeaShell to Sea" kinda sounds stupid.