Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

lidl road bike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Interesting frame sizes, 53cm is too small for me and I reckon 57 would be way too big.

900 euro ain't exactly a great offer either, I would spend the little bit extra for piece of mind and quality and go to planet x, wiggle ir get a good deal locally. Trade down to 105 even, I just can't see the attraction in buying a bike worth more than 100 euro from lidl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭Vélo

I'd have reservations about buying a bike from Lidl but you have to say the kit on it is impressive.

Has anyone heard of Stratos before?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Is it just my innate snobbery re LIDL or does that frame really look sh*t

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

I'd buy bikes for the kids there to thrash around on, but I wouldn't buy much else there.

Instead of Lidl - I'll be nipping across the border for one of these for a summer upgrade:-

http://www.halfords.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/product_storeId_10001_catalogId_10151_productId_502001_langId_-1_categoryId_165710

1075 yoyos at the current exchange rate!!! 300 yoyos cheaper than Halfords in the Republic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

I never thought I'd see the day when Lidl stock an Ultegra equiped bike, which I have on my bling-mobile. I mean this is awful, the damn thing even has a very similar saddle to mine. I imagine they will fly out the door.

Raam wrote: »
    I imagine they will fly out the door.

Then quickly fall apart in the car park...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

I never thought I'd see the day when Lidl stock an Ultegra equiped bike, which I have on my bling-mobile. I mean this is awful, the damn thing even has a very similar saddle to mine. I imagine they will fly out the door.

Leaving it's new owner on their arse in the shop!

Do they come built or do you have to do some assembly yourself, I wonder? And if so, how much assembly?

That might be a thought to freshen the mind as you zip down a hill - "hmmmm, this bike was built by Lidl - what's that rattle????"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,234 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    Then quickly fall apart in the car park...

The ad says it's pay in the shop then home delivery.

So I assume the bike is built and shipped by a distributor or manufacturer, with Lidl just acting as a retail front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭Ghost Rider

Am I the only person here who thinks a lot of the stuff Lidl sell is actually really good quality (and, of course, value)?

Still, that bike's no oil painting. (Not that I'd want to ride an oil painting, mind you. Especially if it depicted An Taoiseach holding his jocks.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

Ultegra? You mean that POBs now will go around with Ultegra? what a load of Cr*p.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭Bruce11

Put it this way, someone new to cycling looking to get a half decent bike with good kit? Well to me it looks good value, Ultegra, some lads racing are using 105 so this is up again. The frame is most likely the same as nearly every frame out there, generic with a different spray job and decals. It has a carbon fork and alu frame, like most bikes at that price. The Ultegra option to me gives it value.

Anyhow my other point is that to most users here they are well versed and experienced regarding bikes so it won't appeal. I predict though that the people whom purchase the bike will be happy and it will be as reliable as any other bike.

PS If it needs to be built avoid Cyclelogical eh!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Am I the only person here who thinks a lot of the stuff Lidl sell is actually really good quality (and, of course, value)?

Absolutely, as I always say, If it's good enough for the Germans...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭Turbulent Bill

Bruce11 wrote: »
    Anyhow my other point is that to most users here they are well versed and experienced regarding bikes so it won't appeal. I predict though that the people whom purchase the bike will be happy and it will be as reliable as any other bike.

That's the thing - who's going to buy this bike? Experienced riders will look for something specific so they probably won't be interested, while ordinary Joes will baulk at spending €899 on a bike.

No reflection on the quality (I like Lidl stuff in general), just wondering if this will really sell.

That's quite a good point Bill. My family often ask me "How many gears does your bike have then?", the measure of a bike's worth since you were 10 years old.

I doubt Joe Public would be looking at the ultegra as opposed to the price tag.

a lot of people assume that 'it in lidl = it's a bargain' ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭scottreynolds

If the guys who buy that bike are smart they will put cervelo stickers on it and have a bike like Raam. Anyone who has ultegra should be ashamed (Ultegra SL is okay)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

a lot of people assume that 'it in lidl = it's a bargain' ...

Just like a lot assume 'its in lidl= it's a piece of ****';)

Seriously though I thought it was gonna be 200 quid or something...who the fvck is going to buy a bike in Lidl's for 900 quid? I dont know much about bikes but I imagine the bike in question is worth about €900 and its neither a bargain or a rip off that will fall apart five minutes after you leave the shop.:D

Babybing wrote: »
    I imagine the bike in question is worth about €900 and its neither a bargain or a rip off that will fall apart five minutes after you leave the shop.:D

not 100% sure about the wheels etc but I think that the rough cost of this kinda spec in Ireland, Ultegra, ALU Frame. Shimano Wheels woulc be 1200 - 1500 euros. I think the cheapest bike I have seen with Ultegra is 1400 on sale but it was a conalgo.

Imagine pulling up to a race and this puck beside you says, "Oh 105, I got my bike from Lidl and its better than yours."

--or--

"Whats a colnago, never heard of it, must be a Lidl brand."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭72hundred

Personally I think the Lidl and Aldi brands are great for quality and of course value. I've bought loads of cycling gear in there and use it every day for commuting, and its served me very very well.

I'd say this bike will be a great hit with ppl looking to get good components for value.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Classic case of a bike spec designed to appeal to the typical, newish to the sport, buyer who falls into the trap of thinking that a frame is simply something to hang the best groupset they can afford on. The frame is the most important part of the bike and its a brand which I (and seemingly everyone else here) has never heard off. The wheels (also more important the the groupset) are pretty cheap Shimano jobs.
    I never thought I'd see the day when Lidl stock an Ultegra equiped bike, which I have on my bling-mobile.

Time for that Super Record upgrade then.

we are a such a bunch of vain immature snobs ...

( i know I am )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭sy

Imagine pulling up to a race and this puck beside you says, "Oh 105, I got my bike from Lidl and its better than yours."

--or--

"Whats a colnago, never heard of it, must be a Lidl brand."
    lol Quote(s) of the day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 sorcha08

have to say that some people are really snobby about lidl stuff but i have got loads of kitchen things like blenders and they are way better than any brands we have ever had before! everyone thinks their stuff is low quality but its actually the opposite...queues out the door on days when the specials come out says it all really...

asked a few people who are into cycling about the bike and they said its a great deal...not for the ordinary joe soap but for people who are into cycling:D

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

sorcha08 wrote: »
    asked a few people who are into cycling about the bike and they said its a great deal...not for the ordinary joe soap but for people who are into cycling:D

o_rly.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭zzzzzzzz

el tonto wrote: »
    Classic case of a bike spec designed to appeal to the typical, newish to the sport, buyer who falls into the trap of thinking that a frame is simply something to hang the best groupset they can afford on. The frame is the most important part of the bike and its a brand which I (and seemingly everyone else here) has never heard off. The wheels (also more important the the groupset) are pretty cheap Shimano jobs.

Yeah - the first thing that occured to me when I saw it was that if they had ultegra on it, the frame couldn't be great. Personally i wouldn't take a chance on it.

With a 900 yoyo price point I'd imagine it's pitched at people going for the bike to work scheme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭stuf

Yeah - the first thing that occured to me when I saw it was that if they had ultegra on it, the frame couldn't be great. Personally i wouldn't take a chance on it.

With a 900 yoyo price point I'd imagine it's pitched at people going for the bike to work scheme.

Frame's guaranteed for 3 years I think - and no - my name's not sorcha

Oh - and it's happening all over europe so don't think the cycle to work is anything to do with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

If you add up the cost of the components on their own, without the frame/fork, you are over €900. The frame/fork is probably whatever generic rebadged thing other manufacturers use. Frame is important, yes, but we are at a pricepoint where we are comparing to the sort of entry level Giant/Trek/Specialized frame you will get with Sora components. Is this frame as good as that? Probably, and with much better components/wheels/etc. I wouldn't go for it myself but it looks like good value to me (and I am "into cycling" :))

• Closed Accounts Posts: 662 ✭✭✭Ba$tard

im thinking of buying it as its a decent package and a very good price

TOTAL price for chain/wiggle 1531euro

LIDL 899euro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭xz

el tonto wrote: »

As regards the wheels, you can get Mavic Aksiums or Fulcrum 7's for around the same price, so to say they are "cheap jobs" could be construed as snobbery,I,personally have a set of Fulcrum 7's for about a year now,I am a big guy and have so far found them to be very sturdy.Those Shimano wheels may just be a good,bomb proof training wheel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

xz wrote: »
    As regards the wheels, you can get Mavic Aksiums or Fulcrum 7's for around the same price, so to say they are "cheap jobs" could be construed as snobbery,I,personally have a set of Fulcrum 7's for about a year now,I am a big guy and have so far found them to be very sturdy.Those Shimano wheels may just be a good,bomb proof training wheel.

The RS10 wheelset on the lidl bike is a step below the Aksiums or Racing 7's (Shimanos equivalent is the RS20)

xz wrote: »

Saying something is cheap isn't snobbery. My point was that everything on the bike was pretty entry level except for its groupset, which seems to be its sole selling point. I've never heard of the frame before. It could be fine or it could be crap. We just don't know yet.

My own bike came with Fulcrum 7s and I rode them for over a year. I'm a big guy too and they were grand. And I know plenty of people on entry level Shimano wheels. Having said that, more than one of them ditched them because they found them too flexy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

I don't really have an opinion on the bike itself or its euroness or whatever. But the price point seems a tad high for the average non-cyclist to take a punt on it. And anyone into (or potentially into) cycling who is prepared to pay 900 euro on a bike would probably not go to Lidl.

I'm keen to see the uptake on this. If they sold a bike around the 300-400 mark, I imagine the demand would be huge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭PaulHardwick

The arrogance of the average irishman astounds me.

I can guarantee the quality of this bike is vastly superior to your ability to ride it.

I can guarantee the quality of this bike is vastly superior to your ability to tide it.

What's the ride like?

Very good, I'd imagine.

I encounter the same problem with both cyclists and golfers. They both shell out bucket loads of cash on the best products. Think they are all Little Lance's and Tiger's.

Jokers.

Very good, I'd imagine.

I encounter the same problem with both cyclists and golfers. They both shell out bucket loads of cash on the best products. Think they are all Little Lance's and Tiger's.

Jokers.

Maybe it is very good. I would say this though, I can go uphill faster and easier on my carbon bike than I can on my alu bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭The tax man

popcorn1.gif

Maybe it is very good. I would say this though, I can go uphill faster and easier on my carbon bike than I can on my alu bike.

And what,

Will that effect your final standings in the Giro, maybe be the deciding factor in whether the team enter you for the tour de france?

Unlikely.

And what,

Will that effect your final standings in the Giro, maybe be the deciding factor in whether the team enter you for the tour de france?

Unlikely.

It will affect position in uphill TT races.

A few seconds at most. It will not be the deciding factor between the riders.

A few seconds can be the difference between winning and loosing in a TT.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭jautukas87

Just go and buy the bike.

A few seconds can be the difference between winning and loosing in a TT.

Possibly,

Although if this occured, I'd rather alter my training than splash the cash on a new steed.

jautukas87 wrote: »
    Just go and buy the bike.

I bough myself a cracking Trek Madone 2 years ago on ebay (UK).

£300 and postage. A scratch here and there, yes. However the man powering the chain is what really matters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭jautukas87

I bough myself a cracking Trek Madone 2 years ago on ebay (UK).

£300 and postage. A scratch here and there, yes. However the man powering the chain is what really matters.
    Agree, but you're not gonna force everyone to think so. Especially if ppl have $$$.
    I've go BeOne briza 1.0 for 300 euros. I'm happy with it. But I'm not racing so It's ok for me.

jautukas87 wrote: »
    Agree, but you're not gonna force everyone to think so. Especially if ppl have $$$.
    I've go BeOne briza 1.0 for 300 euros. I'm happy with it. But I'm not racing so It's ok for me.

Yeah that's it in a nutshell. However Lance could jump on an old mountain bike and leave most of these posters on their €3000 carbon fibre bikes well behind.

I mean, in my local area I know quite a few riders. A lot of them would laugh if some chap tuned up on this Lidl bike, irrespective of the fact that most of them are hopeless bike handlers before we even broach the subject of fitness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

Yeah that's it in a nutshell. However Lance could jump on an old mountain bike and leave most of these posters on their €3000 carbon fibre bikes well behind.

I mean, in my local area I know quite a few riders. A lot of them would laugh if some chap tuned up on this Lidl bike, irrespective of the fact that most of them are hopeless bike handlers before we even broach the subject of fitness.

But if you can afford the €3000 carbon bike, why not buy it... you shouldn't have to justify your purchasing to all and sundry, and if it makes you feel like you're going faster/easier, then it's fine by me.

Note, no one here has said that the bike is awful, just saying that at that price, the chance is the quality isn't going to be high on the frame, much the same as we would say about tesco's bikes etc etc. Yes, it's snobbery, but we're human, and that's fine -you said you've a Madone, does that mean you're as good as Lance or one of his domestiques?

Yes, it's snobbery, but we're human, and that's fine -you said you've a Madone, does that mean you're as good as Lance or one of his domestiques?

I am about good enough to fill up LA's water bottles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

To be honest paulhardwick, i think you're the one who's being a bit snobbish now. When someone asks "how good is this bike?" and your only contribution is along the lines of 'too good for any of you, jokers' you're sort of missing the point of the question and being a little bit insulting.

No one here is under any illusions about their ability. As the terraces say, "We're sh1t and we know we are". We enjoy cycling. Some of us bloody love it. I spent about 6 hours on my bikes yesterday - by your narrow and petty opinion I should have spent that on bikes befitting my standard - but I don't want to spend six hours on a double-sus from Dunnes, and I shouldn't have to to adhere to some tortured logic about who gets to privilege to ride what.

Are you good enough for your madone? that was lances bike right? so you think you're good enough to ride lance's bike? puh-lease.