Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Need help choosing one of these cars???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 200 ✭✭DaMonk

there isnt any 1.6 turbo engine for the A3...and turbo was spelt wrong. I'd go for an audi, need to be a hairdresser to drive a coupe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 646 ✭✭✭Johnboy Mac

I'd consider the Hyundai better built overall, thus greater reliability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭Amzie

DaMonk wrote: »
    there isnt any 1.6 turbo engine for the A3...and turbo was spelt wrong. I'd go for an audi, need to be a hairdresser to drive a coupe

Oh yeah I know that, why do I need to be a hairdresser to drive a coupe???:confused:

I'd consider the Hyundai better built overall, thus greater reliability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

Amzie wrote: »
    Oh yeah I know that, why do I need to be a hairdresser to drive a coupe???:confused:

because *some* might consider it a girl car

Caliden wrote: »
    because *some* might consider it a girl car

did you look at my name? lol.. I am a girl!;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

I would go for audi meself. Never drove the coupe before so cant really give opinion on it. Personally I really like audis in general so Im kinda biased.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 200 ✭✭DaMonk

seanybiker wrote: »
    I would go for audi meself. Never drove the coupe before so cant really give opinion on it. Personally I really like audis in general so Im kinda biased.
    Ya me aswell. Korean car manufacture doesn't really hit the spot. The Coupe is nice looking though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

did you look at my name? lol.. I am a girl!;)

Well then you are allowed have one, congrats

DaMonk wrote: »
    Ya me aswell. Korean car manufacture doesn't really hit the spot. The Coupe is nice looking though!
    They are nice looking alright.
    One of me mates got one a while back. Must scab a go of it sometime.

Caliden wrote: »
    Well then you are allowed have one, congrats
    `
    but im not a hairdresser!!:o:(

thanks everyone for the replies so far, I gather Audi's are a better car!:confused: however I was more looking for what each is like to drive and their reliablity. I like the look of the coupe but the Audi is nice too! im so confused! arggh!!!:mad::)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

2 words for ya,test drive

• Closed Accounts Posts: 646 ✭✭✭Johnboy Mac

Yes I have both 1.6 & 2.0. Not bad at all, no out and out sports car but drove fine.

jackncoke wrote: »
    2 words for ya,test drive

Yes I have thought of that:rolleyes: however as this is a public form I wanted other peoples opinions aswell who may have driven these cars!!:)

Yes I have both 1.6 & 2.0. Not bad at all, no out and out sports car but drove fine.

oh thank you:) I would probably only be able to get the 1.6 however I'm not looking for too much for my 6K just want it to look good and is reliable:D

I'm not looking for too much for my 6K just want it to look good and is reliable:D
    i look good and im very reliable.

Sorry I forgot to mention what do people think of the above links of cars I posted? your opinons are much appreciated:)

i look good and im very reliable.

have you got a valid NCT???:p:D:p:D

price wise i dont have a clue. Im more into bikes.
    Lookswise I would actually go for coupe even though I normally rather audis.

price wise i dont have a clue. Im more into bikes.
    Lookswise I would actually go for coupe even though I normally rather audis.

Yeah thats the predicament I'm in:confused::( I dont know which to go for........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

coupes are nice... a3 ( unless its the 1.9 tdi ) is under powered...

cant go wrong by buying either tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

The coupe linked above says that it is sold as is. That means no warranty. So its just like buying privately really. You might get a similar car cheaper privately. I would chose the a3 but thats just personal preference and i'd prefer the interior of the audi as its better quality. Have driven both in 1.6 and the coupe was a better car than i had imagined and the audi standard vw/audi fare. People crib about the 1.6 engine in the audi that its old-i have the 1.6 8valve engine in my car and has never given any trouble, moves well for what it is just a little noisey when revved. I think the a3 linked has the 16valve engine though which is a bonus as its a sweeter unit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭kazul

EPM wrote: »
    The coupe linked above says that it is sold as is. That means no warranty. So its just like buying privately really. You might get a similar car cheaper privately.

+1, there's a whiff of lemon off that one. I've seen a coupe that went badly wrong, needed a new engine to go back on the road.
    Although, AFAIK a SIMI dealer is obliged to give a 3 month warranty. Any dealers willing to clarify?

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,957 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

kazul wrote: »
    +1, there's a whiff of lemon off that one. I've seen a coupe that went badly wrong, needed a new engine to go back on the road.
    Although, AFAIK a SIMI dealer is obliged to give a 3 month warranty. Any dealers willing to clarify?

I'd be reluctant to buy a car that a dealer is giving no warranty on. A mate of mine did this on an Almera, it was a choice between the one she bought and another one, which had got a warranty, but she bought he no warranty one because it was cheaper. Unfortunately the car was basically a total lemon, she had to spend a lot more getting it sorted out. It was a disaster. Is it just me or does the interior of that Audi look filthy and worn, or is it just a bad picture?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭pearcider

Don't rate either car tbh...If you could stretch a lil on your budget or save for a bit, you could pick up the car you really want...

Audi-TT-2.jpg

kazul wrote: »

Well I checked other cars the dealer had and theres a good few that they arent giving a warranty with, is it maybe because its a sale price?? I definitely dont want to buy a lemon and I just dont have another 1k to put towards my budget:(

pearcider wrote: »
    Don't rate either car tbh...If you could stretch a lil on your budget or save for a bit, you could pick up the car you really want...

Audi-TT-2.jpg

The cheapest price I could see on this car is 8K, I'd prefer a car with 5 seats no offence! this is a lovely car, but god my insurance would go through the roof!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭cianclarke

Insurance on the TT wouldn't be much different than an A3, you'll just get safety head type telling you it will be. I'd be inclined to save the extra 2K and get something really special, but if you don't..
    In order of preference I'd honestly take the A3 over any Hyundai - was in the car with my father once test driving the Hyundai Coupe, really didn't like it - looked nice, drove like a barge. In comparison, the A3 is a much nicer car, nicest in its class.. All IMO, my .50 cent, etc etc..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

I'd go for the/a Coupe. As said above, the 1.6 in the Audi is an old 8 valve engine AFAIK. That particular one has a dodgey exhaust, plus it says it's a terbo, which it's not lol. Smells like it's been horsed about a bit. IMO, the A3 hasn't dated well.

As for the Coupe, it could be a different dealer, but I think I've seen them sell a few cars advertised without warranty. I've driven the 1.6 and it's a nice "heavy" kinda car to drive. The brother in law is on his second, and swears by them. He hasn't had a problem yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭groupb

cianclarke wrote: »
    Insurance on the TT wouldn't be much different than an A3, you'll just get safety head type telling you it will be. I'd be inclined to save the extra 2K and get something really special, but if you don't..
    In order of preference I'd honestly take the A3 over any Hyundai - was in the car with my father once test driving the Hyundai Coupe, really didn't like it - looked nice, drove like a barge. In comparison, the A3 is a much nicer car, nicest in its class.. All IMO, my .50 cent, etc etc..

Do'nt think much of your 50cents worth. Audi A3 nicest in its class? Its an old car that people who do'nt care about driving buy. Having said that I would'nt be drooling over a hyundai coupe either but at least you would be getting something that looks different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,522 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I'd have a newer TDI Golf over an underpowered and underspecced asthmatic 1.6 A3 any time.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I'd have a newer TDI Golf over an underpowered and underspecced asthmatic 1.6 A3 any time.

LOL im getting some mixed feelings on both cars.. (thats some way to describe the Audi) :pac: I was thinking of a Golf but really just want something that looks kinda sporty, Im more of a city driver get me to work kinda car, go on long journeys some times but im not looking for anything above 1.6L im scared of what insurance would say

(im 21 full license but was recently in a crash and lost my no claims and my car was a write off ( not my fault in accident but couldnt be proven, anyway thats a whole other story:(:( !!!!!!!

The most I could go is bout €6500 but preferably 6k as I have to consider insurance and tax:(

groupb wrote: »
    Do'nt think much of your 50cents worth. Audi A3 nicest in its class? Its an old car that people who do'nt care about driving buy. Having said that I would'nt be drooling over a hyundai coupe either but at least you would be getting something that looks different.
    To be honest, I couldn't give a flying so and so what you think of my fiddy pence :P
    However, to humor you what else would you suggest in it's class for 6K? The only other thing I can think of would be the golf, and the shape of the Mk4 never did it for me.

All the golfs I've seen for around 6K aren't anything to look at:( heres another coupe but its above my budget, do you think I could get it down much on price???:confused:

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Hyundai/Coupe/1.6-FX/200913192303453/advert

Here you go

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Hyundai/Coupe/200909191968060/advert

6500 plus a HPI check and you're ar muin na muice

Yeah that's the problem, the nicer shape (Mk5) will cost a fair bit more.
    Come to that dealer with cash, and I'd say you should... I've been figuring on cash price will generally get 1k off...

Actually, the steering wheel looks a bit too "shiny" on the one I posted for 35k miles.

cianclarke wrote: »
    Yeah that's the problem, the nicer shape (Mk5) will cost a fair bit more.
    Come to that dealer with cash, and I'd say you should... I've been figuring on cash price will generally get 1k off...

yeah its a pity! oh well!:rolleyes: yeah I'l definitely be paying cash, If I got anything like that off it would be brill! fingers crossed I get a nice sales man:D

Actually, the steering wheel looks a bit too "shiny" on the one I posted for 35k miles.

:P lol

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=1259379

I think with 6750 cash in your hand you should be able to get this one. I'm assuming this is at the higher end of your budget, so bear in mind it will need to be taxed. It could be worth driving a hard bargain of 6500, plus a guaranteed NCT. If not, stick with a 02, which should come into budget and leave you with a few bob. It'll do you no harm to get out a list of 10-15 of them that are forsale on carzone, preferably in dealers, and ring each one and just offer them what you feel it's worth. They might be insulted by your offer, and some might just take it. You never know. Also, go and see and drive as many as you can near you. This will show you what standard you can expect, what to look out for and what drives like **** and what doesn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭kuro_man

What a choice! How did you narrow it down to two such non-descript cars?

Get a Ford Puma, preferable the 1.7L and you'll be happy. Better than both A3 and Hyundai.
    http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=1269727

Or, if a two-seater convertible is your thing, get an Mazda MX-5.

kuro_man wrote: »
    What a choice! How did you narrow it down to two such non-descript cars?

Get a Ford Puma, preferable the 1.7L and you'll be happy. Better than both A3 and Hyundai.
    http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=1269727

Or, if a two-seater convertible is your thing, get an Mazda MX-5.

Well cos a friend of mine has a coupe and I really like the look of them and the audi well im not sure.. Im not mad on the puma really, im coming up from a peugeot 206 and I want something a bit bigger defo need more than 2 seats though:)

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=1259379

I think with 6750 cash in your hand you should be able to get this one. I'm assuming this is at the higher end of your budget, so bear in mind it will need to be taxed. It could be worth driving a hard bargain of 6500, plus a guaranteed NCT. If not, stick with a 02, which should come into budget and leave you with a few bob. It'll do you no harm to get out a list of 10-15 of them that are forsale on carzone, preferably in dealers, and ring each one and just offer them what you feel it's worth. They might be insulted by your offer, and some might just take it. You never know. Also, go and see and drive as many as you can near you. This will show you what standard you can expect, what to look out for and what drives like **** and what doesn't.

yeah that 03 is nice alrite, but I would definitely want an NCT with it, yeah I've been looking at a good few of them some are way out of my price range e.g lots of 02 for 7K-8K:eek: yeah sure it'l do no harm to give them a ring, im from waterford though and the selection down here is dire:( but i'l travel to get the one I want:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 935 ✭✭✭samsemtex

I have a very simple solution for you Amzie

Buy one of these all time classics:

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=1287595

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=1321488

*awaits usual Alfa bashing*

samsemtex wrote: »
    I have a very simple solution for you Amzie

Buy one of these all time classics:

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=1287595

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=1321488

*awaits usual Alfa bashing*

I remember my maths teacher had one of these! giving me the creeps as I look at it! Its grand looking car but memories ugghh !argghhh!:eek:

Your maths teacher was a man of good taste :P
    I'm from Waterford myself, well Dungarvan actually - so yeah, you're going to have to travel, let's be honest there's feck all in the county..!

Ah im not going for the Alfa, Right well the coupe for 5999 is gone! grr:mad: would of been nice if they took it down of site!

Okay so theres the Audi that I like but could anyone give me advice as to how I should go about it? I know the spelling is wrong and its not a turbo, ive checked cartell its an attraction sportpack 1.6
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/Audi/A3/-1.6-ter/200912192186946/advert
    or heres another option I was looking at(any good)
    Toyota corolla terra
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/Toyota/Corolla/T3/200913192303410/advert

I would love the hyundai Coupe but they are all above my budget, I might have to starve for a month to get one:(
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/Hyundai/Coupe/1.6-FX/200913192303453/advert this one the guy will only give me €50 for paying cash..ehhh!!!:eek:

theres more on carzone but all around the €6999 price and above do ye think theres much point haggling or is that a cheap price for a 02 coupe( im just looking at the blk or navy colours in the coupe):cool:

Well what ever you do, don't let them know that is the colour you want. 50 euro off for a straight sale? Let the car rot on his forecourt lol. Try more places. Honestly now, how many have you rang?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭kuro_man

At this price range, you will get a better car if you are more flexible. Try not to get hung up on certain colours and keep your options open (unless it playboy pink). Silver has been a very popular colour during the years you looking at; it would be a shame to reject a good buy just because it wasn't black.

Even if you don't want a Puma, I would advise you to test drive one anyway. It is a benchmark for small coupes - very quick off the line, nicely geared and handles like a go-cart.

If you really want a hyundai coupe, then be patient and flexible and you will find one. Look and drive as many of them as you can (any colour!) so you get a feel for a nice one and a not-so nice one. It took me 18 months to find my last car!