Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Belfast marathon - 4 May 2009

• 28-03-2009 7:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭

Is there anyone else going up for the Belfast Marathon in May, I'm going to be going up from Sunday to Tuesday I think. If anyone will be running around the 4 hour mark let me know..
    Cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

my self and aquagirl are goin.will be goin 4 about 4 hrs,more the merryer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

ultraman1 wrote: »
    my self and aquagirl are goin.will be goin 4 about 4 hrs,more the merryer

Great might join your little group then :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭trotter_inc

I didn't even know this was on :)

I was planning on running Cork which is about 4 weeks after this, 2 marathons in 5 weeks is a little much I think...but then again I like a challenge :)

Just so people know.

Belfast has 4 stations of energy drinks serving Powerade starting at 10 miles. As well as the water stations ever 2 ish miles.

There are no gels available.

Also 4 nutrition stations will serve bananas and oranges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭Magnet

I`m doing this too if nothing bad happens in paris!!
    I`ll revise my planned target after this weekend.
    :D:D
    ahhh the endorphins are great

Magnet wrote: »
    I`m doing this too if nothing bad happens in paris!!
    I`ll revise my planned target after this weekend.
    :D:D
    ahhh the endorphins are great

See you up there then, best of luck this weekend too..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭Guisseppeth

Doing this myself and as its my first one I had originally been hoping for 4 hours but don't think I will manage that now. Haven't done a thing since my long run last Sunday (10 days ago) due to work and sickness and I think just general fatigue after the 23 miles that day so just aiming to get around.

Heading on holidays next week so hopefully I'll get a few runs in then to get me back into the swing of things. Seriously lacking motivation...

Good luck to everyone else doing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭misty floyd

Shels,
    Responding to your question from another thread. Might join the gang too as I'm hoping for a 4hr finish. Would love a 3 59 finish.

Going by the macmillon calculator http://www.mcmillanrunning.com/cgi-bin/calculations.pl , with my 20 mile time of 2hrs 49mins, it says I'm heading for a 3.45 marathon finish. Obviously there is a lot the calculator doesn't take into account, but thats where I'm at.

I'll wear a rovers jersey so you can spot me ;)

Shels,
    Responding to your question from another thread. Might join the gang too as I'm hoping for a 4hr finish. Would love a 3 59 finish.

Going by the macmillon calculator http://www.mcmillanrunning.com/cgi-bin/calculations.pl , with my 20 mile time of 2hrs 49mins, it says I'm heading for a 3.45 marathon finish. Obviously there is a lot the calculator doesn't take into account, but thats where I'm at.

I'll wear a rovers jersey so you can spot me ;)
    Not a bad 20 mile time at all there, you'll be a fair bit in front of me with that time, my 20's are a lot slower.. but then again it is a race ;) and how can i let rovers win

shels4ever wrote: »
    Not a bad 20 mile time at all there, you'll be a fair bit in front of me with that time, my 20's are a lot slower.. but then again it is a race ;) and how can i let rovers win

ah I'm more of a roverswhenever than rovers4ever :D

If you lot are going for a pint that night, I'd be up for that.

Guisseppeth, I hope the motivation kicks in again. I had a miserable week last week coming out of a cold and generally fed up running. Found the break made a good difference. Good luck.

Magnet, how did Paris go? Still doing Belfast?

I think there maybe a beer or two had after not sure where yet.

Paris went alright so Im still up for this!
    My revised target is 3.21 ( did 3.22 in paris )
    My legs have been tired lately, had to stop and walk at 8 miles in the Kilnaboy 10m, so we`ll see how it goes...
    Im staying monday night so it`d be great if there was a session orgainized but I don`t know the town so any suggestions?!?!
    Went out for 2 hrs running yday and got my fix of vitamin D :D
    God another taper now... I love it!

Don't know the city myself will be staying in the premier inn, not too far from city hall, Will stay Sunday and Monday night , looking at about a 12 hour marathon the way i'm feeling at the moment.

I`m nearly sure I`m in that hotel too!

My re-revised target is 3.19 to win a bet!! (My friend did 3.20 in Boston)
    If I don`t do that pace it`ll be grand to take in the sights.
    Dunno whats goin on with my legs lately though I can`t seem to shake the tiredness outta them.. oh well more liver for dinner i suppose..

I`m already looking forward to the short stuff after :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 rich dublin

hey all, new too boards.ie. heading up to belfast on the sunday staying also for monday, have been training now solid since january, god im a bag of nerves right now, did wexford on sunday the hills were tough but got around in 2 hours flat,

shell i was looking to aim for 4 hours too my race number is 1948 would love a little group to pull me along as my race partner is way faster than me :D:(:D

cant believe after such an amount of training the race is so close, its my first one so really looking forwarrd to it, with the training i have put in i cant wait, i was 16 stone starting out in january now im 13 and a half so looking good:D;):D;):D;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭chatoon

Hey rich dublin,

Have a great time up in Belfast - I did the relay race up there last year and was lucky enough to be the doing the last leg, and the crowd at the finish was great...although the last 5 miles or so were pretty tough - they seem to weave you in and out of the park and in the distance you can see finishers crossing the line about 3 miles ahead of you..!

Just another point, apparently about midway through you run along an extremely narrow towpath, so once more take care if there are a lot of runners around you (and it's hard to pass out on such a narrow path) and finally they only serve water in cups - hard to drink as you're running - so maybe run with a waterbelt if you're used to that...

Otherwise, I thought it was a fantastic experience - it was my first marathon event and it inspired me to complete my first full one this year... so enjoy it, right from the start to the finishing line - all that training is SO worth it for the feeling you get when you cross the line....very best of luck...!:)

thanks chatoon,

i waer a belt anyway have a 6 bottle one have wore it a few times now, im going to have a spotter to collect the belt off me at around 16 miles and hand me my gel-bot, so no extra weight for the finish,

cant wait now untill it comes around, so funny for the last 15 weeks i have done no research what so ever, my training partner has done all the research for us, now i cant stop myself!!!!!!!

chatoon wrote: »
    Hey rich dublin,

they only serve water in cups - hard to drink as you're running - so maybe run with a waterbelt if you're used to that...

Thanks for that, not too happy with the water cups at all, really like bottles but will just have to deal with that.. not sur eif i'd fancy running with a belt but maybe i'll pick one up just in case its warm.

hey all, new too boards.ie. heading up to belfast on the sunday staying also for monday, have been training now solid since january, god im a bag of nerves right now, did wexford on sunday the hills were tough but got around in 2 hours flat,

shell i was looking to aim for 4 hours too my race number is 1948 would love a little group to pull me along as my race partner is way faster than me :D:(:D

cant believe after such an amount of training the race is so close, its my first one so really looking forwarrd to it, with the training i have put in i cant wait, i was 16 stone starting out in january now im 13 and a half so looking good:D;):D;):D;)

Sure i'll pm you my number before the big day and maybe arrange something, how was your 2 hour half did it feel easy ? I ran around the same time about 6 weeks ago but would like to think i'd take 6 mins of that time. So will go out @ 9 min mile pace and see how it goes.

According to the website FAQ's there are four energy drink stations towards the latter stages of the route. I'd imagine these will be in bottles? They also say: We provide a series of water stations approximately every 1.5 to 2 miles around the Marathon course. I don't find it too much of a problem walking for a few steps to get the water in. I hate carrying bottles or drink belts but thats just me.

http://www.belfastcitymarathon.com/knowledgebase/default.asp?itemId=17

I'm nervous myself. Can't wait. Glad to know that with 3 miles to go you can see people finishing. I hate that but if I know thats the case, thats alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 502 ✭✭✭ClashCityRocker

According to the website FAQ's there are four energy drink stations towards the latter stages of the route. I'd imagine these will be in bottles?

The energy drinks were in bottles last year anyway.

hey shell, the half was really tough simply because of the amount and the size of the hills i really had not researched it and went to it not really thinking about the race at all, at the half way stage there was a water stage and a big digital time it said 1 hour and 13 mins, i forgot my watch ( as i said i was not really thinking about it) so was the first time i seen the time i was disgusted to say the least i picked it up and ran the second half in 47 mis.

would looking to start of at around that sort of pace too maybe pick it up after 10 or so miles if needed,

on that note has anyone got any sort od sratagys for thee race? is it better to go out slow and start to pick it up, or is it better to go out quicker and see how long you can hold it?

i am a bit worried about going out slow incase at 16 miles i am tired and not able to pick it up and then my time suffers?????

ya pm me and nayone eles too who wants to try and get a little support group going for the race it will be amazing how we can help each other out alomng the way....:D:)

hey shell, the half was really tough simply because of the amount and the size of the hills i really had not researched it and went to it not really thinking about the race at all, at the half way stage there was a water stage and a big digital time it said 1 hour and 13 mins, i forgot my watch ( as i said i was not really thinking about it) so was the first time i seen the time i was disgusted to say the least i picked it up and ran the second half in 47 mis.

would looking to start of at around that sort of pace too maybe pick it up after 10 or so miles if needed,

on that note has anyone got any sort od sratagys for thee race? is it better to go out slow and start to pick it up, or is it better to go out quicker and see how long you can hold it?

i am a bit worried about going out slow incase at 16 miles i am tired and not able to pick it up and then my time suffers?????

ya pm me and nayone eles too who wants to try and get a little support group going for the race it will be amazing how we can help each other out alomng the way....:D:)

I think the general rule would be to get to 13 miles feeling good, They say take your half marathon time and add ten mins to it and that should be roughly your marathon pace.
    I'm hoping to run a fairly even run @ just a shade under 9:09 mile pace (sounds so easy). If i have anything left at 20 miles I'll make my move then ;)

ya good enough for me, i suppose as its my first marathon i should be looking just to get to the finish line but pride and all that makes me want to get under the 4 hour mark,

i like your idea, head for the 1/2 mark first in a nice time then try to push on and i suppose with the supporters there it should give us a boost. i presume the first 5 or so miles will be packed with people so it will be hard to get any sort of pace going? is that the way it is?

ya good enough for me, i suppose as its my first marathon i should be looking just to get to the finish line but pride and all that makes me want to get under the 4 hour mark,

i like your idea, head for the 1/2 mark first in a nice time then try to push on and i suppose with the supporters there it should give us a boost. i presume the first 5 or so miles will be packed with people so it will be hard to get any sort of pace going? is that the way it is?

I would hope to get into a good pace after the first mile, It shouldnt take 5 miles for that to happen, once you cross the start line maybe a mile or so of traffic but after that it should start to get better. Its basically my first marathon too .

ya i suppose sure it will be some fun anyway, was looking at a few threads there, some great advise. i have looked at some splits and i think if things go well i should be able to get round in under the 4 hr mark, i see myself hitting 13.1 in around the 2hour mark ( considering my pb for 13.1 is 1.48 add 10 mins ect) that would leave me im hoping with enough energy to kick on from there, at that point in the race i think it is the place furthist from the crowds and so we should be starting to head back into town then, plus ill start taking the gels then so that should give me a boost :D:D:D

I'll be taking my gels a lot earlier then that, idea is not to get to the stage that you need them :) . How many are you planning on taking?

my plan is to take 900 ml of water in my belt, have 2 of the bottles with a gel squeezed into it, one with electrolite in it and 3 with plain water. i plan on going with this for around 16 miles at which point i will be handing my belt oover to someone and getting my gel-bot with water and two gels inside.....

i may also have a gel or two with me just incase.....:D:D:D:D

my plan is to take 900 ml of water in my belt, have 2 of the bottles with a gel squeezed into it, one with electrolite in it and 3 with plain water. i plan on going with this for around 16 miles at which point i will be handing my belt oover to someone and getting my gel-bot with water and two gels inside.....

i may also have a gel or two with me just incase.....:D:D:D:D
    Sounds like you have it all planned, So you have a support crew with you thats going to be very handy,

support crew??? think its going to be more like a few of the lads on the bear laughing :D:):p

not all planned but a bit of a one, think it will depend alot on the day, how the morning goes, sleep, weather course and how i feel during the race..... be great if there was a few around that can push each other on though

support crew??? think its going to be more like a few of the lads on the bear laughing :D:):p

not all planned but a bit of a one, think it will depend alot on the day, how the morning goes, sleep, weather course and how i feel during the race..... be great if there was a few around that can push each other on though

I'd say there will be I know ultraman is looking for about 4 horus too, Where are you staying up there? But as you say its on the day be best plans can always go a bit mad during marathon.

thats it god only knows how it will go, am staying in the holiday inn, not too far from the start or finish!!!!! ill pm my number to you so you have it and we can meet up if ya want!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 N22JDR

Hi All
    is there anyone out there who has a race number for the Belfast marathon but will not be using it . Maybe you have gotten injured or had a change of plans?

I know this is a VERY long shot but I thought it was worth checking .

I posted in my application to the Belfast marathon people about 3 weeks ago. I assumed it would have all been sorted. I never received anything back so I just rang them this morning and they have no record of my application nor have they even one more space.

I have been training for the event so I am VERY keen to run. I would be delighted to pay the entry fee is someone has decided they are not going to run.

Thanks for any help you can give.

N22JDR wrote: »
    Hi All
    is there anyone out there who has a race number for the Belfast marathon but will not be using it . Maybe you have gotten injured or had a change of plans?

I know this is a VERY long shot but I thought it was worth checking .

I posted in my application to the Belfast marathon people about 3 weeks ago. I assumed it would have all been sorted. I never received anything back so I just rang them this morning and they have no record of my application nor have they even one more space.

I have been training for the event so I am VERY keen to run. I would be delighted to pay the entry fee is someone has decided they are not going to run.

Thanks for any help you can give.
    Have a read of the charter , Transfer of numbers is not permited. Newry maybe an option a few weeks later? of Cork?
    http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055254160

Have a read of the charter , Transfer of numbers is not permited. Newry maybe an option a few weeks later? of Cork?
    http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055254160

Hi Shel4ever
    Thanks for your response. Apologies for the breach of the charter. I thought it was a long shot anyway. The only reason I was so keen on Belfast is I have a number of friends doing it as well. All of their applications were processed but for some reason mine was not :(

N22JDR wrote: »
    Hi Shel4ever
    Thanks for your response. Apologies for the breach of the charter. I thought it was a long shot anyway. The only reason I was so keen on Belfast is I have a number of friends doing it as well. All of their applications were processed but for some reason mine was not :(
    I'd give them a call again, did your pay by money order or cash? Maybe check to see if it was cashed . I have an email address for one of the people running it somewhere can pm it to you if needed.

Thanks for the suggestions. I was on the phone to them this morning begging to get in but no luck. They insist that they have literally filled every space and that they have no chips available. I paid by cheque but it has not been cashed. They suggested I cancel it. I'm not bothered about the money at all - I am just keen to run if at all possible. To be honest I hoped they might have been a bit more helpful. Maybe the girl I was on the phone to was more of an administrator that a decision maker. If you know someone who is involved in running the event then I would definitely appreciate their email address. Please PM it to me.
    Thanks for all your help.

Anyone got any details on this. The only thing on the website is times of collection but nothing about location.

As for anyone looking for places to go drinking afterwards, you could do worse than try the Crown Liquor Saloon (http://www.crownbar.com/) on Great Victoria Street opposite the Europa Hotel. Its in the city centre and a short walk from where most people seem to be staying (Holiday Inn/Premier Inn etc). Nice bar and pretty famous too - it would appear in all the guide books. After that I have no idea. I lived in Belfast for about 10 years while at college and working afterwards but that was a few years ago so everything has changed since then.

Hi Guisseppeth,

Having done the relay race last year, I can tell you that the most likely place for collection of numbers is that of last year, which is out in Sir Thomas and Lady Dixon Park, which is just outside the centre - you probably know that yourself anyway. I remember from last year that free shuttle buses were provided to bring participants out from the centre and back in, but just a word of advice, if it's the same place as last year, there were a lot of people queuing for those buses, so I'd advise getting out there as early as you can... hope this helps...and very best of luck with the race:)

Okay, I've just looked on the website and yes, on the home page, where it descibes the new t-shirt, it mentions pack collection in Sir Thomas and Lady Dixon Park, so that's where it must be.. (see http://www.discovernorthernireland.com/Sir-Thomas-and-Lady-Dixon-Park-Dunmurry-Belfast-P2795 for directions)...! (sorry for long-winded posting!)

reading off the confirmation letter (of which I got 3 cos I kept putting them "somewhere safe")...

...your registration pack will contain route details and pre-event advice and can be collected from Marathon Office at Wilmont House.
    BUS:
    There will be a free shuttle bus from the Europa Bus Station to the Park every 40mins on Sat: 1pm - 5pm
    on Sun: 12noon - 4pm

Address:
    Wilmont House,
    Sir Thomas and Lady Dixon Park,
    Upper Malone Road,
    BT17 9LA

Directions:
    Take the upper Malone Road after the House of Sport Roundabout,
    Take the 2nd entrance to Sir Thomas and Lady Dixon Park( on the right after you pass the Malone golf Club on your left)
    On entering, there is a carpark on your left and a winding road to the right(ditch the car and stroll up winding road to Wilmont House!)

Eat tonne of pasta and try and sleep...:p

Cheers folks. Found my confirmation letter last night after putting it "somewhere safe" as well and saw the location... That really is a pain in the arse to get out there. You wonder why they couldn't have it in the Odyssey or Opera House or Waterfront or anywhere central rather than having everyone trek out there. I used to work out that direction and its not even in Belfast.......

Starting to get worried/excited now. Have done practically nothing for the last 2 weeks or so so its "fingers crossed" time!!!

Ha Ha I looked at my training miles yesterday and over the last 3 weeks my milege has been... 19, 20 and 22 miles total!!! :eek:
    I feel more energetic though so I hope that lasts through 26.2

Q my quick search of my "safe place" , great its there will there be live update of times online of this race too?

Stop talking about it! your making me nervous :D

Last long run last night (10miles). Felt good would have enjoyed a few more miles actually.

From Hal Higdon novice 1:

3 mile Wednesday
    4 mile Thursday
    2 mile Either Friday or Saturday.
    Lots of pasta.

Thats lousy that you have to go outside of Belfast to register. Suppose I'll have to find a sainsbury's while I'm out there and stock up for the following weekend.

Looking at the website and the advertisement of NB t-shirts for £20 :eek: Surely there is a free t-shirt in the 'goody bag'? I still shudder every time I use the term 'goody bag'.

Stop talking about it! your making me nervous :D

Last long run last night (10miles). Felt good would have enjoyed a few more miles actually.

Are you hyperventilating too???

Its normal and then the "chomping-at-the-bit" phase should kick in about 6pm wednesday...

Any phantom injuries/illnesses? :D

Anyone planning on going up via the Train on sunday should book ASAP if you ahve not already done so. Only the early train will get you there on time.

Magnet wrote: »
    Any phantom injuries/illnesses? :D

Loads but I think this stems from the fact I have done very little in the last 4 weeks. Illness, work and family committments and holidays have meant I have only been out about 5/6 times in this period after my last long run of 23 miles. It really is fingers crossed time...

Hey Guisseppeth,

Not sure if you're trying for a time in Belfast or just wanting to get around - I was the latter in Paris, and if that's the case, don't panic about having not done much in the last few weeks. Illness and a bit of a family crisis meant that my last few weeks were completely messed up too, but I still managed to get around on the day. It's amazing how much the excitement of the day carries you along...so don't be worried - you've obviously put in a lot of training in the last few months so that'll really help you - have a brilliant race and that goes to all of you running on Monday....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭Stupid_Private

Good news Belfastonians. At a race a few weeks ago in Armagh I got chatting to a photographer at the finish line about my photo site (RacePix365.com). He liked the idea and posted his pictures from that race and another last weekend. He was just onto me to say he'll be taking photos at the Belfast marathon. I can't imagine he'll take that many shots but he'll definitely be catching some people. Also Athletics NI have set up a profile with their photos on the site so there's a chance they'll have some and all.

So if you want to get in photos I recommend either wearing a NI club singlet or trying to run beside someone in one! If anyone's got friends/family cheering them on and taking photos of them then they can be posted and all.

Best of luck on Monday.

Thanks would be nice to get a few shots.

Race number is 687 , Won't be in Boards colors this time out,