Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

QUB and a few questions...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭madmac187

nkel wrote: »
    Heading up for a postgrad this month and have a place sorted on melrose st. Any comments on the area? Any recommendations for pubs in the area where southerners are def welcome?

Hey man what part of the world are you hailing from? Im doing the same aswell. Thinking of organising a meet up in a pub for the southerners from boards but all are welcome.:) What you think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 nkel

Yeah that wouldn't be a bad idea, I'd say theres a good few of us headin up. Theres at least 7 or 8 of us from my course in ucd anyway.... From wex myself, u? Judgin by the area up there it wont be the easiest to find a decent pub!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

madmac187 wrote: »
    Hey man what part of the world are you hailing from? Im doing the same aswell. Thinking of organising a meet up in a pub for the southerners from boards but all are welcome.:) What you think?

Of course all NI boardsies would be welcome too, no?

Re. the pub - depends what you're looking for. Your opinions of watering holes up here all seem very grim....I find them great :D

pow wow wrote: »

Re. the pub - depends what you're looking for. Your opinions of watering holes up here all seem very grim....I find them great :D

Yeah alls welcome Im from Laois myself so could be an idea, there is a decent pub just beside queens itself and they have good enough offers on drink as well. Can't think of the name only been there once:)

I hope you don't mean The Globe!!!!!!! :eek:

I dunno what the name of it is but give it a chance to settle in and see what happens, where would you recommend? Hopefully no where there would be a union Jack because they probable won't like us then.:(

The more the merrier lads! Just tryin to find a decent pub to call home for a year! Its a bit strange movin to an area where its not advisable to drink in certain areas

I think once you settle in you'll find it's not as much of a problem as you think it will be before you arrive! If you're at QUB anyway it's unlikely you'd stray into anywhere that might not be 'advisable'. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 lenn

well lads fist time poster here, i think i'm a little less organised than all of u, but also a southerner headin up to queens for a masters. any tips for gettin accomadation? not lookin to stay on campus but in stranmillis(rathmines of belfast or so i've been told). all help greatly appreciated!

lenn wrote: »
    well lads fist time poster here, i think i'm a little less organised than all of u, but also a southerner headin up to queens for a masters. any tips for gettin accomadation? not lookin to stay on campus but in stranmillis(rathmines of belfast or so i've been told). all help greatly appreciated!

Hey man what you doing and where you from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 lenn

i'm a dub, (northsider) and studyin a management masters

lenn wrote: »
    i'm a dub, (northsider) and studyin a management masters

Im from Laois doing Project management masters. Couple of us going to organise a meet on the lash for northern Boards people if you'd be interested?

See forum stickies on social events (read: BEERS!) and introductions folks. Suggestions welcome. I think madmac187 is buying the first round regardless :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭crinkley

first night in belfast myself think I'll check out some local as the match is on I'm living in stranmillis and there seems to be a few pubs as you head into town

Beer in the Fast!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭Suited

Hi, I'm from Dublin and I am doing my masters in Queens.
    Because the masters is only on a Monaday and Tuesday I am planning to stay in Belfast for one night and then head back to Dublin on the Tuesday evening.
    Has anybody ever done this? If so, where did you stay?

I found a nice B&B but Im wondering did anybody stay in Elms on a nighlty basis or did they just go for a B&B and if so, which one?

Suited wrote: »
    Hi, I'm from Dublin and I am doing my masters in Queens.
    Because the masters is only on a Monaday and Tuesday I am planning to stay in Belfast for one night and then head back to Dublin on the Tuesday evening.
    Has anybody ever done this? If so, where did you stay?

I found a nice B&B but Im wondering did anybody stay in Elms on a nighlty basis or did they just go for a B&B and if so, which one?

Hey man what masters are you doing because mine is like that. Its the Project & construction Management one, is that it??

Nah, its Criminology.

So are you just going to head up and down or live up there?

Nah, its Criminology.

So are you just going to head up and down or live up there?

Going to live up there handier for me being from Laois have you decided yet?

Well since I only have to stay there for one night ill probably just get a B&B or something then just head back down for the rest of the week. Seems a bit extream for me to up camp completely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Karst

Well since I only have to stay there for one night ill probably just get a B&B or something then just head back down for the rest of the week. Seems a bit extream for me to up camp completely.

I'm a postgrad a Queen's (History part-time) and I would have to say, that if you're doing this full-time you will need access to the library pretty much constantly. A B&B might suit you for the first few weeks but I'd suggest you try to find somewhere more permanently to stay throughout the year. This is not just about contact hours but but also the amount of research you have to put in yourself.

I'm with Karst though to a lesser extent. During my MA I rarely used the library in term time unless I had an assignment but I found in my school a lot of optional forums/presentations/talks/discussions etc. which were beneficial and that I wanted to go to (voluntarily!) were on days when I didn't have contact hours - the end result being I was on campus at least 1 day extra a week over and above my two teaching days. And that says nothing of 'social' engagements :eek:

You'll find on gumtree (and other fine sites :D) there are people looking to rent out their spare rooms part-time (i.e Monday to Friday or 3 or 4 days a week) and these are pretty reasonable, especially compared to B&Bs. We always had different people coming and going from our spare room this way :D

You don't necessarily need to move up full-time, but I think only coming up for the two days you have classes might limit your postgrad experience...in many ways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 littlemizz99

Hi to all, Hope you are all gettin on well studying in Queens!!
    Im thinking of headin up there in September to do an LLM would just love to know what you all thought of the city/college?? Iv heard loads of good thing abour it would just love to hear from people who are still up there!!

Thanks a mill

fab fab fab :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 albacete

Im from Laois doing Project management masters. Couple of us going to organise a meet on the lash for northern Boards people if you'd be interested?

Hiya madmac187, Im planning on doing the same masters in Const/Project Management. I see you started it last year, how is it going? would you recommend it? any comments appreciated...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

Hopefully starting a PhD (Geography) in Queen's in September, anyone got any advice for somebody completely lost? Where's decent cheap, accommodation? Anything really, because I'm finishing my fourth year in Dublin and literally go from my MSc into the PhD over the course of ten days.

Stranmillis is usually more 'decent' than the streets around campus and is only a 5 min walk up from the main building. Postcode BT9 will find it on most lettings sites. It tends to be a little quieter than Holylands (BT7) and the houses are ever so slightly more modern.

If you are looking at QUB accommodation I haven't heard great things about Mount Charles (the postgrad houses on the QUB website) and they are pretty yuck inside. There is zoned postgrad housing in Elms Village that is allegedly a lot quieter than the undergrad halls with the raucous wee pups ;)

spareroom.co.uk and gumtree are good for houseshares, propertynews.com is better for renting by yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

Stranmillis is usually more 'decent' than the streets around campus and is only a 5 min walk up from the main building. Postcode BT9 will find it on most lettings sites. It tends to be a little quieter than Holylands (BT7) and the houses are ever so slightly more modern.

If you are looking at QUB accommodation I haven't heard great things about Mount Charles (the postgrad houses on the QUB website) and they are pretty yuck inside. There is zoned postgrad housing in Elms Village that is allegedly a lot quieter than the undergrad halls with the raucous wee pups ;)

spareroom.co.uk and gumtree are good for houseshares, propertynews.com is better for renting by yourself.

BT9, grand job! Yeh the QUB accommodation might be out of my budget but those other places are grand. Couldn't stand to be near the undergrads, friend of mine lived in on campus accommodation for one semester in TCD and had to move out, besides being expensive, noisey undergrads who can't hold their Morgan Spice was a pain in the face for him!
    I've been on Daft, a lot of the places advertised are usually on streets off the Ormeau Rd. or they're near Belfast City Hospital, what are these places like? I'd prefer to be near Fitzwilliam St. as I'll be based in the Geography/Archaeology & Palaeoecology buildings (hopefully!).:D

Oh, this might sound silly but I'll ask anyway. This is my first time to be not in a classroom type of course, in that I'm the only one my super will be supervising and apart from other PhDs, what's the best way to make friends? Sounds a bit childish but I only know maybe two people in Belfast and one of them might be moving out in September. I just don't want to be all by my lonesome!;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭milly4ever

El Siglo wrote: »
    I've been on Daft, a lot of the places advertised are usually on streets off the Ormeau Rd. or they're near Belfast City Hospital, what are these places like? I'd prefer to be near Fitzwilliam St. as I'll be based in the Geography/Archaeology & Palaeoecology buildings (hopefully!).:D

All those areas are fine, except if a place is advertised as 'near city hospital' just make sure it's not the Donegal Road area or Sandy Row. Fitzwilliam street would be really handy for everything. do you have a car?