Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sam Raimi returns to his roots? "Drag me to Hell"

• 27-03-2009 2:16pm
    Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,664 CMod ✭✭✭✭

Watched this trailer yesterday, looks like it could be alot of fun. Do you think Raimi can redeem himself after the Spiderman drivel we have been subjected to tho?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,295 ✭✭✭✭Basq

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,664 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Oh dear, i really wish he would leave Evil Dead alone...

Couldn't agree more faceman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

I read a pretty decent piece about this a few months ago (can't remember if it was Empire or Total Film) and I was delighted to see him get back into horror. Trailer looks good, looking forward to this.

On Evil Dead, I'd be very much in two minds. I'd be worried as hell how it could turn out, but couldn't not be excited to see Bruce Campbell getting kitted out with his boomstick and chainsaw :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭Boo-yah

faceman wrote: »
    Oh dear, i really wish he would leave Evil Dead alone...

Why? The three he made are fantastic, he's 3 for 3, whats the harm in giving a fourth one a shot.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,432 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peteee

Boo-yah wrote: »
    Why? The three he made are fantastic, he's 3 for 3, whats the harm in giving a fourth one a shot.

He was 2/2 with spiderman before he made the third one!

Peteee wrote: »
    But on that logic, he was 2 for 2 before he made 'Army Of Darkness' .. which was great! :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,721 ✭✭✭Otacon

Peteee wrote: »
    basquille wrote: »
    But on that logic, he was 2 for 2 before he made 'Army Of Darkness' .. which was great! :confused:

Reading interviews from before and after Spiderman 3, it sounded like the studio influence was getting a bit much.

On 'Drag Me to Hell', it looks like it could be something special, a throwback to his film-making roots. If it is indeed good, I think many peoples' fears about Evil Dead 4 will be qwelled.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,114 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Not a bad little trailer, hopefully will play up the cheese factor for laughs (and a cameo from a certain actor friend of Raimis would be a nice addition).

Also: Alison Lohman ftw. Her Alice in Wonderland costume in Where the Truth Lies was a welcome departure from her Nickelodeon days (Tucker - I remember there being around 6 episodes of that, shown over and over and over again).

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

Can't belive how bad Spidey 3 was!!!...#2 was the best.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭Boo-yah

Army of Darkness is fantastic!

This could be the greatest film ever made but nothing will ever, ever, ever make me forgive Raimi for the stupidity that was Disco-dancing Spiderman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,579 ✭✭✭BopNiblets

lol trailer has the original Stargate movie music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭Macsimus

Can't belive how bad Spidey 3 was!!!...#2 was the best.

All 3 spidey films were crap imo - Raimi is a sell out pussy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

Do you think Raimi can redeem himself after the Spiderman drivel we have been subjected to tho?

Not if Legend of the Seeker is anything to go by. I caught an episode of it when I was in Chicago a few weeks ago and it was awful drivel. Perhaps the ad break every 3 minutes spoiled the narrative flow, but from what I could see it was pompous and humourless. I was really surprised that it was being made by Raimi as he generally brings some humour to his work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭deathstarkiller

God, I hope this is good. I sort of like the first Spider-man but hated the other two. I didn't even like the second one, they're just all 'ohh Mary-Jane, Mary-Jane, whimper, whimper, moan, moan moan'. Just shut up Spider-man, I think I preferred the crap 70's tv show I saw as a kid more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,086 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Saw this today and really enjoyed it. VERY similar in tone to the Evil Dead movies with plenty of scares and gore. One of the most enjoyable horror movies I have seen in the cinema in years. Definitely recommended.

Finally managed to see this last night. Terrific film.

It really is the closest thing to Evil Dead you'll find without Bruce Campbell actually being in it. As Tusky said it's very similar in tone with some comically over-the-top slapstick horror. One particular homage was
    when they're in the medium's house towards the end. When the medium's assistant is possessed and starts floating in the air it is incredibly reminiscent of Henrieta in Evil Dead 2, so much so I thought we'd hear "I'll swallow your soul!"

What it achieves more than Evil Dead are actual scares. There may be a firm tongue-in-cheek feel to the film but there are a few genuine hair raising moments. I'd already seen from the trailer
    when she wakes up in bed, and when the camera follows her back down the Gypsy is lying down next to her. Honourable mention to when her fortune is being read and the fortune teller sees her face changing for a split second.

Finally, for those who have seen it,
    the ending was awesome. I can't help thinking I should've seen the coin thing coming, but it was so well executed. The final moments of the the film when she's actually being dragged down are sublime.

Great film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭majiktripp

I too enjoyed this immensely, a nearly empty theatre screening but for the hand full of us there, you could hear everyones "Uggh!" or "Sweet Jesus!" , made for an enjpoyable viewing :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Just back from seein this now. Raimi is back on his old horror form with this.Really are some great slapstick moments and also moments that now have me scared sh!tless. Im not gonna be sleeping tonight and I love it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,590 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Great fun alright. One scene I thought was superbly done was
    the parking garage bit after her first encounter with the gypsy. The whole scene was great (nice slapstick humour - very Evil Dead-ish), but the bit with the handkerchief was great. Your eyes are tracking the handkerchief floating in the background and you don't notice Mrs. Ganush in the back seat until its too late.

Very similar to Evil Dead 2/AoD in cinematography too (slow zooms, fast zooms, weird camera angles)

And Alison Lohman is gorgeous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Finally, for those who have seen it,
    the ending was awesome. I can't help thinking I should've seen the coin thing coming, but it was so well executed. The final moments of the the film when she's actually being dragged down are sublime.

Great film.
    Annoyingly I copped that as soon as the envelope was dropped in the car, although I thought they would go with the boyfriends soul being taken instead at the end. What was really creepy for me though was that about 15 minutes after leaving the cinema and I was sitting waiting for a bus a random guy came up to me and absolutely insisted on giving me a button off a coat... wouldn't take no for an answer... I still have it here now... how nuts is that?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,114 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Just back from this and I absolutely adored it. What a magnificent film. One of those rare cases where everything just comes together and makes wonderful entertainment. The sound design was unreal and Sam Raimi's quirky direction as endearingly odd and energetic as usual (got to love that slowly tilting camera and split second crash zooms). Probably the funniest film I've seen in a long time
    (so many great scenes of that gypsy woman vomiting odd things out of her mouth)
    and a great creepy atmosphere throughout. Sure the plot was full of holes
    (she probably should have checked the envelope alright...)
    but just terrific fun.
    The muddy, stormy graveyard was a definite highlight, along with the truly demented seance scene
    . Definitely one of my favourite films of the year, and for sheer enjoyment probably even bypasses Star Trek.

Kind of makes you wish Raimi hadn't spent so much time on Spiderman :(.

Oh and geeky query:
    I'm guessing the gypsy's car was Raimi's car they use in all his films? Seems like a wasted cameo if not, especially with the lack of Bruce

What was really creepy for me though was that about 15 minutes after leaving the cinema and I was sitting waiting for a bus a random guy came up to me and absolutely insisted on giving me a button off a coat... wouldn't take no for an answer... I still have it here now... how nuts is that?
    Sounds like
    a gift....how many days ago was that

Oh and geeky query:
    I'm guessing the gypsy's car was Raimi's car they use in all his films? Seems like a wasted cameo if not, especially with the lack of Bruce
    I was looking at trivia for the film on IMDB and it didn't make any reference to it, but it did say that the script has been penned since a little after Army of Darkness came out. Also, apparently Bruce Campbell had to turn down a role because he's busy with Burn Notice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Oh and geeky query:
    Yep. That is indeed the oldsmobile:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Sounds like
    a gift....how many days ago was that

Only last night... and I did have some creepy dreams during the night too.

I'll let you know how I get on over the next 3 days. Hell can't be much hotter than it is outside right now anyway.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,664 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Loved this film, it was really awesome. At last Raimi has redeemed himself as a director!

I really really wanna see this.. but haven't seen Star Trek yet.

Might go to cinema Wednesday night.

Ooooohh decisions.. decisions!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭godspal

Sensory overload with this film, really has to be seen in the cinema. Pretty Awesome... Really enjoyable, and nice and cheesy in places and plenty of places were Reimi was poking fun at the whole thing.

I really really wanna see this.. but haven't seen Star Trek yet.

Might go to cinema Wednesday night.

Ooooohh decisions.. decisions!

I can identify with you dude. Therefore I recommend you do what I did, watch them back to back! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

I can identify with you dude. Therefore I recommend you do what I did, watch them back to back! ;)

Heh! thats what i done last night...was fecking knackered after it!

I reckon i probably enjoyed drag me to hell over star trek (slightly) though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

godspal wrote: »
    Sensory overload with this film, really has to be seen in the cinema. Pretty Awesome... Really enjoyable, and nice and cheesy in places and plenty of places were Reimi was poking fun at the whole thing.

You're absolutely right. Everyone should see it while it's still in the cinema. It's great, so loud. It's like a rollarcoaster, ya can see where you're about to drop, you're waiting, and waiting, and it still scares the bajaysus outta ya! And it does this every five minutes for the whloe film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

The stench of Evil Dead off it was bleedin rappeh!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,387 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Went to see it in Cineworld yesterday.

There must have been 2 coachloads of scum down the back.Anytime anything approaching gory happened,heard a voice behind me "knackkurr".Thought she must have been about 13,lights went up,some scum cow in her 30's....."Knackkurr,Knackkurr"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Saw this last night in Dundrum with OH. Cinema was quite packed with a good mix of people who just wanted to see a good horror and little faux-knacks.

I was glad of the latter as it's always a good buzz (wha) off them when they start cracking up and screaming the place down. (within reason....IE not doing it all the fcuking time!).

Thought it wasn't really that good tbh. Real by-the-numbers shock with some slapstick horror/comedy moments. Example
    the scene in the shed when she drops the anvil on her head, pure looney tunes. Even the eyes popping out.

Although I'm never going to get that scene when she's
    gumming her in the car
    out of my head.......eugh.

And I'm glad that I spotted her reg number (99951) is "is 666" upside down. HA, not even the trivia on imdb had that! Go me!

I'd give it 6/10 on enjoyment alone. The storyline didn't seem to matter at all! I'm sure the Raimis came up with the gore scenes first and then tried to tie a plot around it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

Thought it was brilliant myself.

Would definately reccomend it to any Evil Dead fan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

chin_grin wrote: »
    Saw this last night in Dundrum with OH. Cinema was quite packed

Yeah, I went to buy tickets and there were only 2 left, but they werent beside eachother!

So hadta drive the opposite end of the M50 to Liffey Valley, and wait an hour!

drama!!

The final scene was fvcked up! I know it was cheesy and all but it was still crazy!!!
    Being actually DRAGGED TO HELL!

I really wanna watch Evil Dead now!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭djkeogh

yea this was great craic it has to be said. If you're an evil dead fan then it is essential viewing. I loved the fact that you were laughing while being repulsed all at the same time. Poor Alison Lohman ended up with some amount of horrible looking stuff in her mounth throughout the film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

Saw this tonight and really enjoyed it. Havnt been that repulsed shocked and still be able to laugh all at the same time in a long time.

Only downside was the gang of 30 Spanish Students that came in just as the film was starting and wouldnt shut up talking for the first 15 minutes. I eventually lost the head and went over to them and roared "Shut the fcuk Up you pack of ****" and they actually did shut up. I think they were in shock more than anything. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭m83

gazzer wrote: »
    Saw this tonight and really enjoyed it. Havnt been that repulsed shocked and still be able to laugh all at the same time in a long time.

Only downside was the gang of 30 Spanish Students that came in just as the film was starting and wouldnt shut up talking for the first 15 minutes. I eventually lost the head and went over to them and roared "Shut the fcuk Up you pack of ****" and they actually did shut up. I think they were in shock more than anything. :D

You legend, i'd love to do that!

Aaaand what a flick! I'm home well over an hour from it and positively beaming with delight! Super gross, scary, loud, hilarious and so damn entertaining! A must see!

gazzer wrote: »

Ah yes the old tourist issue. Many times I had the misfortune to pick a screening where a bunch of non english speakers have one friend who speaks the language translate for everyone else. Each time it's happpend I have used the age old art of shouting at them till they stop and on one ocassion I ended up in a fight with one who kept answering his phone. I ended up bouncing it against the wall and this was well before Californication aired.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭JP Liz

Scaretastic!

10/10

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

Saw this today.A bit meh.

Telegraphed scares,predictible,lack lustre attempts at humour,all very tired IMO.

Interesting idea but poorly executed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,579 ✭✭✭BopNiblets

Saw it on Thursday night, quite good, a few jumpy moments, the girls beside me were cowered in a ball behind their coats and bags and whatever else they could find, ha!

Maggot puke and projectile eyeballs in the gob, lovely.

BopNiblets wrote: »

Maggot puke and projectile eyeballs in the gob, lovely.

Just on that.I think Raimi totally over did it with the oral fixation.Once or twice would have been grand and more impactful but multiple times got very old very quick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,330 ✭✭✭niallon

I cannot believe this was released. How anyone outside of The Evil Dead universe got this film at all is beyond me! What a wonderful bit of absolute over the top old fashioned horror, absolutely loved it! :D

On the wild conspiracy theory side of things, does anyone esle get the feeling, due to the absolutely abundant Evil Dead nods and general tone of the film, that Mr Raimi may be testing the water to see if a modern audience can take in another installment in the Evil Dead canon? Be it the longed for sequel or the oft rumoured remake?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

niallon wrote: »
    I cannot believe this was released. How anyone outside of The Evil Dead universe got this film at all is beyond me! :D

Word got around that Alison Lohman had things in her mouth a lot? ;)

How anyone outside of The Evil Dead universe got this film at all is beyond me!

Cheap scares and and an over abundance of scenes designed to make the audience go yuck.:p

I was in the cinema Saturday avo to see this and there were a bunch of teenage girls watching it a few rows behind me,no older than 15 or 16 and like clockwork they squealed,shrieked,yelled "its going into her mouth" at the approproate moments throughout.That was his target audience and his plan to get bums on seats which he succeeded in doing.

On the wild conspiracy theory side of things, does anyone esle get the feeling, due to the absolutely abundant Evil Dead nods and general tone of the film, that Mr Raimi may be testing the water to see if a modern audience can take in another installment in the Evil Dead canon? Be it the longed for sequel or the oft rumoured remake?

Id say its a certainty that ED will be re-incarnated in some shape or form.
    Easy money for him.
    As to whether it should be a sequel or a remake then I would have to plump for a sequel.
    I have no great love for Dead by Dawn and even less for Army Of Darkness but Evil Dead is a bona fide horror classic and to see it remade,even with Raimi at the helm would drive out what little respect I have left for him as a film maker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,330 ✭✭✭niallon

nedtheshed wrote: »
    As to whether it should be a sequel or a remake then I would have to plump for a sequel.
    I have no great love for Dead by Dawn and even less for Army Of Darkness but Evil Dead is a bona fide horror classic and to see it remade,even with Raimi at the helm would drive out what little respect I have left for him as a film maker.

Absolutely. On the remake side of things, the one notion I found interesting was Raimi's plan to set up some unknown director with the same budget and resources Raimi had back then and send them out to make it guerrila style, but then, does it reaally need to be an Evil Dead title? Just go ahead with a different story and that's fine!

A remake though, hell no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Tommy the Cat

One of the worst films I've had to endure.