Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

1 and 2 cent coins

• 26-03-2009 7:32pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

I see lads in school spitting on them and flinging them across the yard every day and this is not Blackrock or anywhere like that. Do these ignorants not understand the basic functions of maths?

My friend and I pick them up at lunch (started a month ago and already have 70cent). Amazing the amount of money lying about in bins and gutters around the school tbh.

I hope to f**k the recession teaches these young'uns a lesson.

Do ye treat your 1 and 2 cents with respect?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭HarryPalmer

Stick 'em in a jar with the odd ten or twenty for company... I'll be rich in a few lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭wylo

70c in a month? I think they do understand maths to be honest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

You should go on Dragon's Den

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Finland has the right idea.

I used to have way too many of them collecting in my wallet
    make sure to use them on the bus fares now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I just use them to pay with when something costs 7.03 or similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,167 ✭✭✭Notorious

wylo wrote: »
    70c in a month? I think they do understand maths to be honest

You'd earn more begging on nassau street for a couple of hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

1c + 1c

That's my 2c for what it's worth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

i keep them in a jar til its full then cash them in. i saw a granny pour a shítload of them into one of them coin counter things in supervalu the other day, the bint ended up with €24 to use against her shopping

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭pcardin

I think that 1 and 2 cent coins should be withdrawn from use and 99 cent coin must be introduced. :cool:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

K4t wrote: »
    I see lads in school spitting on them and flinging them across the yard every day

They used to do that in my school also...excepts it wasnt coins, it was the black kids

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

The Dutch have taken them out of circulation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

Id be more worried why you and your friend are spending your days spying on school children playing in the yard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

I remember collecting half-pennies back when money was worth something, you'd wouldn't even need many of them to get a decent bag of sweets! Your 70c wouldn't get you much now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭1mcampo1

They used to do that in my school also...excepts it wasnt coins, it was the black kids

:pac: :pac: :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

I see lads in school spitting on them and flinging them across the yard every day and this is not Blackrock or anywhere like that. Do these ignorants not understand the basic functions of maths?

My friend and I pick them up at lunch (started a month ago and already have 70cent). Amazing the amount of money lying about in bins and gutters around the school tbh.

Thats damn impressive K4t. If you and your friend keep this up you will both be millionaires in about 238095.238 years. A proper pair of entreprenaurs you two are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Since they brought in the euro I collected coins on the ground. I have 98.03 euro worth of 1 and 2 cent coins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,072 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I throw them at poles, first to hit one right between the pylons wins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,658 ✭✭✭Patricide

I never use em, always put em in charity boxes or just fling em away. Im not well off or anything but they just acumulate in your pocket untill your wallet is about to burst. on top of that its annoying when you cant find anythng but copper when your looking to actually pay for somthing.

With the pound id always keep onto anything but with 1 cent being pretty much worthless(cmon these days you cant even buy a penny sweet with one) I dont see the point in keeping onto them. You can make the argument im throwing loads of money away and that i could save up the pennys but i cant see myself going into the bank with massive jug of em or anything, i dont have the time. Especially when the rewards arent going to be great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

and what use is 70cents a month exactly, don't think it will help clear off a mortage any time soon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

Id be more worried why you and your friend are spending your days spying on school children playing in the yard.
    I would be too if I wasn't in 6th year! Would it be innapropriate to go down searching in the primary school playgrounds? I really want to expand into new markets.

Grimes wrote: »
    You should go on Dragon's Den
    I'd never get a patent though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

My brother often flings them into the bin.....he's getting good.

and what use is 70cents a month exactly, don't think it will help clear off a mortage any time soon

Would pay for that odd Yorkie, though. Assuming that you're not a girl.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

pcardin wrote: »
    I think that 1 and 2 cent coins should be withdrawn from use and 99 cent coin must be introduced. :cool:
    And what happens if someone doesnt have a 1euro coin so buys something dns a euro and uses the 99c coin.

Mark200 wrote: »
    My brother often flings them into the bin.....he's getting good.
    Can you tell me the exact location of that bin? Thanks :)
    Would pay for that odd Yorkie, though. Assuming that you're not a girl.
    Indeed, and oh how sweet it would taste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

That'll get you a packet of Super Valu Cheesy Puffs.
    /shill.

I leave them on my dresser with other small coins. Then I bring them over to the coin thingy in super valu and I usually have enough for 20 smokes.

Also, fair play to the OP for not rising to the trolls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭pcardin

seanybiker wrote: »
    And what happens if someone doesnt have a 1euro coin so buys something dns a euro and uses the 99c coin.
    And why not? Many shops and petrol stations doesnt bother to give back 1 cent from 15 euro if you have to pay 14.99. So I think 99 cent coin could be a great idea.

Terry wrote: »
    That'll get you a packet of Super Valu Cheesy Puffs.
    /shill.
    Another 40cent and I could get a 12 pack of burger bites in Texco (not own brand). I'm quite in love with their confectionery isle atm.

I'm disappointed that you smoke tbh Terry. You have so much to offer life and boards. It would be a shame to see it cut short. Quit now please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭Spastafarian

I'll give you a euro OP if you clean out my attic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,658 ✭✭✭Patricide

Another 40cent and I could get a 12 pack of burger bites in Texco (not own brand). I'm quite in love with their confectionery isle atm.

I'm disappointed that you smoke tbh Terry. You have so much to offer life and boards. It would be a shame to see it cut short. Quit now please.
    Or for 42 cent you could get there bacon bites....they get revolting around half way through the bag but for 42 cent you really cant go wrong!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭GlasnevinRed

I collect them along with 5, 10 and 20's I know it's not much but every 3 or 4 months I cash it in and €20 back. Handy when you're a non-working student.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

I just use any I have as part of bus fares. Let Dublin Bus worry about the shíte little coins. Feels good getting about 50 of them and just fecking them in that collecting machine of theirs.

I'll give you a euro OP if you clean out my attic.
    Where do you live? I'm in Mayo. I don't think I'd travel outside of Connaught for the job tbh. Unless you meant an hour.

I'm in cork. €1.05?

Expenses?! No, I'll leave it. I'm heading down to Kilkenny at the weekend. Might do some business there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭Exneigh

Look after the pennys and and pounds look after themselves... and your mates call you a stingy C*nt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

Can you tell me the exact location of that bin? Thanks :)

Yeah I can

Yeah I can

Is it gonna cost him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Ahh, the folly of youth. In both cases.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

why are you putting up 1c and 2c coins that have been spat on?

Yeah I can
    Are you going to?

why are you putting up 1c and 2c coins that have been spat on?
    Because I have a spittle fetish.
    Terry wrote: »
    Ahh, the folly of youth. In both cases.
    Smoking kills, Terry. Imagine how much you'd save if you quit?!

Expenses?! No, I'll leave it. I'm heading down to Kilkenny at the weekend. Might do some business there

Expenses?? €1.05 is more than you make in a month! Surely you can walk to cork for that.

But there is dignity in it! (i think)

Save your cents lads and reap the benefits. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

My friend and I pick them up at lunch (started a month ago and already have 70cent).
    Wowzers, you must be completely chuffed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭blubloblu

Do banks accept big jars of loose change or do you have to sort it first?

blubloblu wrote: »

You have to sort it yourself. Lazy f'ers... they have machines, and everything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

blubloblu wrote: »

Sorted in bags.

Start counting :D

Aidric wrote: »
    Wowzers, you must be completely chuffed.
    It's strangely fulfilling. And it costs nothing. Pure Profit.