Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

got stung with a fake 50

• 26-03-2009 3:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 196 ✭✭

i got a fake 50 last week and didnt cop on
    what will i do with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,081 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Spend it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 559 ✭✭✭ZygOte

give it to the cops plain and simple, better luck next time.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

try move it on. what i do any time im caught.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Make sure you do it in a busy shop though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

How do you know it's fake? And shouldn't you hand it in to the cops? Or, if you're feeling in a particularly mean mood, give it too a homeless guy and then watch as he tries to buy something with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭Irlbo

Pack of chewing gum in a garage shop,49.30 change

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Give it to a drug dealer or hooker......free crack ftw!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 196 ✭✭NedKelly

its deffo fake i went into a shop and handed it in (before i knew it was fake ) and they handed it back to me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Kinetic^ wrote: »
    Give it to a drug dealer or hooker......free crack ftw!

It's hardly free if he was due to get a proper 50 euro note last week anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

NedKelly wrote: »
    its deffo fake i went into a shop and handed it in (before i knew it was fake ) and they handed it back to me

And they didn't report you for trying to use a fake 50?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I always wondered can vending machines spot the difference between fake and real 50 euro notes.

Could you not just buy a LUAS ticket with it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

Nightclub

kraggy wrote: »
    It's hardly free if he was due to get a proper 50 euro note last week anyway.

That 50 is gone. So effectively he has nothing but a coloured piece of paper that may as well be toilet paper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

But his balance sheet at year end will not show any profit over what he would have made had the 50 been real. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Zangetsu

Busy pub or shop, no point in wasting it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Ass

Yeah, your best bet is spending it in a nightclub or a pub.

kraggy wrote: »
    But his balance sheet at year end will not show any profit over what he would have made had the 50 been real. :)

Bad debt written off :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,240 ✭✭✭ceegee

That 50 is gone. So effectively he has nothing but a coloured piece of paper that may as well be toilet paper.

Good thinking - OP, have you considered wiping your hole with it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭1mcampo1

ceegee wrote: »
    Good thinking - OP, have you considered wiping your hole with it?

and then trying to get rid of it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,780 ✭✭✭JohnK

Oddly enough a bank once handed me back a 50 saying it was a fake. It was too, I'm just surprised they gave it back to me and didnt destroy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭Ann22

You know those wee checkouts at Tesco you use yourself? I wonder if they'd accept it? That way no assistant would get into trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭NullZer0

what will i do with it

Ha - I was wondering if i'd get away with it :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

Just throw it on the street. Some poor bugger will probably chase after it and then when they go to use it they will get put in jail. lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

How did you get it?

1. Busy nightclu...a cloakroom with no scanners...or an old mans pub

2. Busy market stall in a town

3. One of your mates...lol

4. A chip van outside a match

5. Buy a match programme from some kid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 497 ✭✭znv6i3h7kqf9ys

Give it to someone collecting on the street for charity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

Give it to someone collecting on the street for charity.

Fork that. They'll just end up using it to sting another sucker like the OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭adzer86

All the places the Partyguiness said bar the market. If you get caught, you will be lynched. And whoever said hand it into the Guards??? HAHA shut the fook up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Saibh wrote: »
    And they didn't report you for trying to use a fake 50?

They don't do that, you think they will study the CCTV and track this guy down? No they wont. If it was a bank you wouldn't get it back and the proper procedure will begin.
    Mr.Lizard wrote: »
    Nightclub

Good idea, but they might use UV lights.
    AnonoBoy wrote: »
    I always wondered can vending machines spot the difference between fake and real 50 euro notes.

Could you not just buy a LUAS ticket with it?

They can spot a fake note easily.

Wrong, he has a fake 50 where a real 50 should be, he is at a loss.

There are either 11 or 13 ways to check for fraud in a not, I forget how many exactly.

It is impossible for a fraudster to get them all correct unless he uses a genuine money printer and the appropiate materials.

Very usefull training I recieved a few years back.

Anyway, firstly the feel of the paper, you can tell if it is tough or lighter in most cases than the real thing.

Water marks. All genuine notes have watermarks. Normally one to the left side of the 50 where it seems to be blank. There is another water mark in the top left. See some lines in orange that make up part of a the quantity in numerical form? Well lift it so light passes through it, the other markings on the opposite side of a not make up the rest of the 50. This must be exactly lined to form a perfect 50.

The foil, this can be mimiced, but is almost impossible. The foil will have prints of 50 EURO on it if you look closely at it. They say that this foil can not be torn easily, if it is it is most likely a fine piece of alternative foil.

Where is says BCE ECB EZB EKT EKP 200* This is embroided, you should be able to feel it raised. This may lose effectiveness if the note is old. I have one from 2002 in front of me and I can still feel it. On a 5 euro note this may not be obvious.

The number underneath the large watermark should be multi coloured. While you tilt it it will change from a kind of purple to an amber greenish colour. Quite difficult to copy.

The holigram on the front of the note is normally shiney, you can check this out on close inspection. This can also wear off. You should be able to see the number of the note in this holigram, it is difficult to see so don't worry if you can't. You should be able to make out the 5 of a 50 at least, with a funny tall building behind it. This building is visible in ink on the front of the note. Tilt it and use the light to make this appear. Here's a picture:

EURO-250_tcm18-46505.jpg

Ultra violet lights. This seems to be the most common way of checking but NOT the most effective. They have learned to copy this pretty well, and someone with no training will not see this. Certain parts of the note will shine under a UV light, it will be a bright floresent yellow. The picture of europe glows, along with the european flag, the stars on the note also glow. The bridge glows and you will see flecks of glow through out the note. Picture here:

50uv_echt_rs.jpg

There is tiny writing on the note too, which has something like 50 euro 50 eypn over and over again. It is very very difficult to read, I can barely make it out. It's on the bottom of the front of the note.

There might be a few more, I might have covered them all with the same heading. I think I got most of them anyway. Right, never use one of these methods on it's own, if the holigram is not working, check the other signs. If the UV is dodgy, check the foil and holigram etc etc.

Fraudsters tend to get a few things right, but it is impossible, and I mean 100% absolutely impossible to print money with all the security measures done correctly.

What we lack is some training... People need to be trained in how to check for this kind of thing.

OP where did you get the note? If it was from your mate, then have a word with him. Chances are it wasn't from a bank, if it was it was more than likely given in the same day. By law people are supposed to take it and hold it, pass it onto a bank or the guards, but someone on minimum wage isn't going to hold onto your fake note, for fear of physical conflict, and rightly so.

Hope this helps a little :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,780 ✭✭✭JohnK

They don't do that, you think they will study the CCTV and track this guy down? No they wont. If it was a bank you wouldn't get it back and the proper procedure will begin.
    They didnt with me, they just said its a fake and showed me why it was a fake then handed it back and let me on my merry way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

what will i do with it

Give it to some business you don't like....

*cough* taxi *cough*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

I used to work in a shop and the procedure for getting fake notes was to hold onto the note and ring the police. Happened to me a couple of times, I just gave the notes back though, felt bad for them if they genuinely had been stung in a paypacket or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭pipeliner

i got a fake 50 from a bank link once. It was refused in the shop but i owed my mother 50 so happy days.

She got to move it handily enough so im not all that evil

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭FX Meister

Irlbo wrote: »
    Pack of chewing gum in a garage shop,49.30 change

That won't look dodgy at all. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Lab_Mouse

Sale of works at your local church is a good place to gid rid of them so i have been told anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 611 ✭✭✭MonicaBing

Worst experience with a fake 50 was Christmas last year, 2007, guy came in bought some stuff handed in the note, i checked it with the pen, pen said fine, so i accepted and gave back change...cue to later that evening when i was doing up the cash for night bank with the boss, and he spotted i'd checked the note, checked it himself, as in the watermark etc, found it was a fake and i was very bloody kindly docked €50 from that weeks wages.
    Learnt me a lesson realllllll quick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭Endaaaagh

you should pretend you're a flash b*st*rd, light it on fire and use it to light a cigar in front of all your mates:D

pipeliner wrote: »
    i got a fake 50 from a bank link once. It was refused in the shop but i owed my mother 50 so happy days.

She got to move it handily enough so im not all that evil

Fake 50's don't go through ATM's... they have technology to stop this and they go into a little case under the machine... :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

MonicaBing wrote: »
    Worst experience with a fake 50 was Christmas last year, 2007, guy came in bought some stuff handed in the note, i checked it with the pen, pen said fine, so i accepted and gave back change...cue to later that evening when i was doing up the cash for night bank with the boss, and he spotted i'd checked the note, checked it himself, as in the watermark etc, found it was a fake and i was very bloody kindly docked €50 from that weeks wages.

I'm pretty sure thats illegal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭adzer86

MonicaBing wrote:

Serves you right. Not for taking the fake not. But for putting up with that bullsh-it that is being docked wages haha. You know that is illegal for them to do that? Well i guess you didnt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭Carroller16

Ask somebody for change of it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Volvoboy

Give it to some business you don't like....

*cough* taxi *cough*

:(

I always scrape my nail off the little box at the top of them, should have a corrigated effect to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Right, you need a lemon and a candle.........isn't that how you make it look old?

Well if not try here, may help get rid of it to look like it's been through the wars.

http://www.wikihow.com/Make-Paper-Look-Old

.........and then light a cigar or wipe your hole with it. :D

adzer86 wrote: »
    Serves you right. Not for taking the fake not. But for putting up with that bullsh-it that is being docked wages haha. You know that is illegal for them to do that? Well i guess you didnt.

Gloat much do ya? Im well impressed at your remarkable powers of deduction...i dint know it was illegal, and i put up a damn good argument against him doing it, but hey when he's effectively putting the food in my kids mouths, i wasn't gonna talk myself out of a job.

But Karma has a novel way of coming around and biting, and it has recently....have you been introduced to Karma??:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,641 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

fishing rod + note = lots of fun!

Ask somebody for change of it!

Probably the most suspicious way of getting rid of it :P
    MonicaBing wrote: »
    ....have you been introduced to Karoma??:rolleyes:

Yea. He's a mod around her somewhere... nice fella...

Probably the most suspicious way of getting rid of it :P

Yea. He's a mod around her somewhere... nice fella...

Jays on my screen tis saying Karma? not the way you have it quoted? How bizarre!

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,432 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peteee

Fraudsters tend to get a few things right, but it is impossible, and I mean 100% absolutely impossible to print money with all the security measures done correctly.

This is American currency but still

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Superdollar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 Akantha

Hand it into the police. It is a criminal offence to knowingly use the fake monies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

I'll give ya a tenner for it..:rolleyes: I know a pub where that note'l feel right at home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Give it to this man.