Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda critical after being knocked down

• 26-03-2009 10:28am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭

Story from RTÉ News:
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2009/0326/letterkenny.html

A garda is in a critical condition in hospital after being knocked down while on duty in Letterkenny, Co Donegal.

Three gardaí were responding to a report of a stolen car at Tara Court in the early hours of this morning when the incident occurred.

They tried to block the path of a car coming out of the estate but the driver of the car reversed and apparently drove at the gardai, pinning them against a wall.

The 24-year-old garda, who is originally from Co Mayo, is on a life-support machine at Letterkenny General Hospital.

Another garda sustained injuries to his arm and the third was uninjured.

Two men have been arrested in connection with the incident.

A 17-year-old was arrested for dangerous driving and a man in his early 20s was arrested for endangerment.

They are currently being questioned at Letterkenny and Milford Garda Stations.

Regional Assistant Commissioner Michael Feehan visited the scene this morning and is with the injured garda's family at the hospital.

Past the scene this morning going to work.

Knew something big had happened but hoped not this bad :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

Amazing. You reverse on a few people and pin them to a wall in stolen car and get "dangerous driving" and you get the same for overtaking on a white line. Should be attempted murder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭daithip

Thoughts and prayers are with him, his family and colleagues.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Hope he pulls through. Apparently he's 29, not 24.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭pingu2008

hopefully he makes a speedy recovery he will be in our thoughts and prayers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 730 ✭✭✭CuteStuff

God love him. I hope he pulls through. Poor guy was only doing his job. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭Bang Bang

Thoughts and prayers for a full and speedy recovery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Not exactly cross border, but could this incident be the catalyst to allow for 'hot pursuit' across the border to be brought in legislatively? If these scuts had made a run for the border..

My thoughts are with him, his family and his colleagues. Here's to his recovery!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,647 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Sleipnir wrote: »
    Amazing. You reverse on a few people and pin them to a wall in stolen car and get "dangerous driving" and you get the same for overtaking on a white line. Should be attempted murder.

We call it 'Assault with a Deadly Weapon' over in these parts...

NTM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭mac_attack

Jesus, poor chap, hope he makesa full recovery. Have to say Donegal is poping up in the news alot for its wild road users and dangerous driving!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 313 ✭✭gilly0512

mac_attack wrote: »
    Jesus, poor chap, hope he makesa full recovery. Have to say Donegal is poping up in the news alot for its wild road users and dangerous driving!

I hear the poor chap has been transferred to Beaumont which is not a good sign, but please god he will recover without any lasting physical or mental damage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

God, I really hope he pulls through, an incredible act of bravery to attempt to stop a stolen car while on foot, his efforts should be acknowledged even if he never gets back to work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

Just caught it there now on 6.1 news, absolutely sickening so it is. I honest to God hope he makes a full recovery, and will return to work combatting these criminals soon.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

Really hope this colleague pulls through, thoughts are with his family and his friends in the Donegal division.

Maybe another reason to arm the gardai here, this criminal used lethal force.

Surely the garda putting himself in that position should have had the option to do the same.

In america if you drive a car at a cop you can know what to expect.

2 tonnes vs 13 stone, lethal force is acceptable in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

Thoughts with the garda, his family friends and colleagues!

Hope he'll pull through and maybe its a good sign he was stable enough to be transferred from donegal to dublin, and is now in the national centre of excellence!

Tbh, the person that did this should be locked up for doing so. No excuses. If i said what should happen it wouldnt be far from capital punishment at this stage....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,129 ✭✭✭kirving

Definatley, too many situations where Gards can't defend themselves. I doubt the guy would have tried that is he thought he would be shot, nevermind what would happen if he tried it anyway. Taking on a car like this is very brave(and a bit crazy) without a weapon.

I hope he's alright!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

Hope everything is ok with him. I can't even imagine what his family, friends & fellow guards are going through.
    I'm sure the scumbag driving the car will get what's coming to him & I sincerely hope it's a very long sentence & a complete ban from driving ever again.
    The only consolation is that even though he might be in a bad way now there's a good chance he will make a full recovery. I have seen people literally on deaths door & they have made it so I'm hoping & praying the same will happen for this young man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

Hope he makes a full recovery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭cushtac

gilly2308 wrote: »
    I hear the poor chap has been transferred to Beaumont which is not a good sign, but please god he will recover without any lasting physical or mental damage.

I'd take it the other way, Beaumont wouldn't have taken him if there wasn't a better than average chance of him surviving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭jake59

lets hope he pulls through this. my thoughts are with his family.... god love him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭Faheywitane

My thoughts are with him and his family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

I really hope both members injured this morning make a full recovery and can return to duty.

Lads, Be careful out there.

I must make a point, in no way meaning that this is what happened in Donegal.

Many times I have come on to Vehicle checkpoints where the Member stands in the middle of the lane to stop traffic. Simple hint: 85kg of Garda will not stop 1000+kg of vehicle. It may crack the windscreen. Too often I have seen members attempt to stop vehicles by standing in its path. Every time they have had to jump out of the way. LOOK AFTER YOUR OWN SAFETY.
    No Road traffic offence is worth getting injured, or killed for. These little car theiving cnuts have no respect for life including their own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 Dub_Gda

Sad news bout callas incident,

Hope my colleague pulls through, such a nice guy, sat few seats away from him in Templemore.

From speaking with my work mates and fellow phase members all our thoughts are with him, his family and work colleagues in Letterkenny, at this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

Folks,

Please do not post anything about the two men arrested which is not in the public domain i.e. in the media.
    Anything you do post must be backed up by source/links. Remember this is a current investigation and it is against the Charter to provide information that is not in generally known. I have deleted one post and will deal harshly with anyone following suit.

All my best to the injured colleagues. Get well soon

Nog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

eroo wrote: »
    Not exactly cross border, but could this incident be the catalyst to allow for 'hot pursuit' across the border to be brought in legislatively? If these scuts had made a run for the border..

My thoughts are with him, his family and his colleagues. Here's to his recovery!

It's ridiculous that this type of stuff is allowed to happen. Should definately be hit with much more serious an offence than they will get.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Stekelly wrote: »
    An unofficial cross border policy of give the scummer the beating of their life and dump them back across the border in a designated place would be the best option imo.

Hi Stekelly.

As moderator, I have to remind you that we cannot be seen to advocate vigilante justice.

Thanks for your understanding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Many times I have come on to Vehicle checkpoints where the Member stands in the middle of the lane to stop traffic. Simple hint: 85kg of Garda will not stop 1000+kg of vehicle. It may crack the windscreen. Too often I have seen members attempt to stop vehicles by standing in its path. Every time they have had to jump out of the way. LOOK AFTER YOUR OWN SAFETY.
    No Road traffic offence is worth getting injured, or killed for. These little car theiving cnuts have no respect for life including their own.

Goldie fish raises a VERY important and interesting point re the handling of Traffic Stops and the general issues surrounding ALL pedestrian-vehicular interaction.

I too have come upon the type of scenario described by Goldie Fish,all too often....Whilst it is perfectly acceptable 95% of the time I feel the individual member needs to plan for the other 5% FIRST.

This is not only in recognition of those whose criminal intent will allow them to use their vehicle as a weapon but perhaps more importantly to allow the member to stay alive when he/she comes up against a Driver who may not have the ability to control their vehicle at all.

The vast bulk of the Irish driver pool are quite acceptable when proceeding ahead in a straight line.
    Place an obstruction,human or otherwise,in their path and the entire plot can develop in so many differing ways,the least of which is the ability to bring their vehicle to a controlled stop.

I am always somewhat nervous when,for example,I see Garda Speed Checkpoints on major roads such as the N11.
    Two highly dangerous locations come immediately to mind southbound at Seafield on Stillorgan Road and Southbound at the approach to Loughlinstown Hospital Roundabout.
    I cringe when I see a member respond to a positive and leg it out,IN TRAFFIC, onto the 2nd lane to signal an offender to Stop.
    Human Nature ensurers that AT THAT MOMENT the members attention is focused upon the task in hand ie: Stopping the Offender.
    It is so easy to miss the other traffic approaching,cyclists,motorcyclists,other casr and even buses are disregarded in the "Thrill of The Chase".....and it DOES happen.

My experiences of similar Traffic Stops is the North have always been of a far more structured and planned system of operation,obviously for different operational reasons,but perhaps one`s which should be considered down here also.

I feel that in this and other areas that the Garda Authorities need to ensure that the extent to which modern life has become so totally mobile should be readdressed in training its members how to cope with it .

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭gerire

Best wishes to the two injured members
    AlekSmart wrote: »

The vast bulk of the Irish driver pool are quite acceptable when proceeding ahead in a straight line.
    Place an obstruction,human or otherwise,in their path and the entire plot can develop in so many differing ways,the least of which is the ability to bring their vehicle to a controlled stop.

How often have you seen it at a checkpoint on say a quiet road and people cant even properly bring the car to a stop near you its either 3 meters before you of stopped with a massive jolt a little too close to you for comfort;

Even going to check the tax and insurance disk by walking infront of the car is taking a major risk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭FGR

Best wishes to my colleague. Hopefully the specialists in Beaumont will help pull him through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 Com1186

hope robbie pulls through..... my wishes with him and his family.. he is my phase, really nice guy get well soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

A terrible incident. I wish him a speedy recovery & hope he can resume full duties.

Any updates on his condition?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Jackstone

My thoughts are with this man and his family right now.
    It is so so saddening.....a man doing his job had this done to him.
    I wish him a speedy recovery.
    Just wondering, does anyone have any news on how hes doing today?

the juvenile arrested for this is in my year at school.....Im not gona say anything cuz i know i cant. but i just want to say we're alll deeply shocked. Hes such a quiet boy. He must have really panicked.
    maybe this will stop all the boy racers that are about here.
    but its a terrible way to have to make them stop.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Hi Jackstone.

I edited your post because the person concerned is still only alleged to have committed this offence. Until such time as he is convicted of the offence, that's the way it has to be worded.

Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Ro69

I'm a cousin of Robbies and have just returned from hospital...Firstly thank you everybody for the amazing support to his family it means so much....he is still in ICU and had surgery on his brain on Thursday which the surgeons seemed happy with.We are hoping for some reaction maybe Monday or Tuesday when the sedation is reduced. He is a big strong athletic man so hopefullty that will stand to him ...Big thank you to the nurses and doctors in Beamont who are excellent and those Consultants deserve every penny
    Keep the saying hte prayers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

Pass on our best wishes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭spudz21

My thoughts are with him and his family

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

deadwood wrote: »
    Pass on our best wishes.

+ 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭opti76

Jackstone wrote: »

the juvenile arrested for this is in my year at school.....Im not gona say anything cuz i know i cant. but i just want to say we're alll deeply shocked. Hes such a quiet boy. He must have really panicked.
    no excuse...

wrong forum if your looking for sympathy for him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 LKY72

Ro69 wrote: »
    I'm a cousin of Robbies and have just returned from hospital...Firstly thank you everybody for the amazing support to his family it means so much....he is still in ICU and had surgery on his brain on Thursday which the surgeons seemed happy with.We are hoping for some reaction maybe Monday or Tuesday when the sedation is reduced. He is a big strong athletic man so hopefullty that will stand to him ...Big thank you to the nurses and doctors in Beamont who are excellent and those Consultants deserve every penny

Met Robbie through work in Letterkenny, such a lovely fella - was really sorry to hear what happened to him. Really hope he pulls through - both he and his family are in our thoughts and prayers. Pass on our best wishes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

Ro69 wrote: »

Please keep us all updated.

Jackstone wrote: »

This is the press release from Garda HQ. Please note how it mentions how the members were responding to "suspicious activity" and not boy racers. The last line reads that one of the cars was taken without the consent of the owner, in plain english, it's stolen.
    Also note, that he was struck by the car "as he got out of a patrol car", not standing around or standing in the way of the car. RTE report that they tried to block the car, I would imagine that the Gardai used their car to block the entrance.

A 29 year Garda was seriously injured in an incident at Letterkenny, Co.Donegal at about 4.30 a.m. on the 26th of March 2009. The Garda received head and arm injuries when he was struck by a car as he got out of a patrol car in the Tara Court area of the town. The injured Garda was taken for treatment to Letterkenny General Hospital.

Gardai went to the scene following a report from the public about suspicious activity in the area. A juvenile male was arrested at the scene following the incident and a second male in his late teens was arrested in a follow-up operation near Milford. They are both detained under Section 4 of the Criminal Justice Act at Letterkenny.

The incident is under investigation by Letterkenny Gardai and the scene is preserved pending a technical forensic examination. Two cars are also preserved for technical examination. One of two cars was earlier taken, without the consent of the owner, from a house in the area.

Here is hoping that the next few days go to plan in the recovery.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Hope he pulls through. Thoughts and prayers are with him and the family.

Terrible to see this happen. Lets hope something is done about it answer Robbie pulls through

• Closed Accounts Posts: 276 ✭✭badabinbadaboom

Im pissed off that someone was driving around like it was grand theft auto, but I'm more pissed off by the fact that this asshole will probably get off with a suspended sentence as fecking usual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

Im pissed off that someone was driving around like it was grand theft auto, but I'm more pissed off by the fact that this asshole will probably get off with a suspended sentence as fecking usual.

We all understand your frustration but please keep in mind that

1. this is a current investigation
    and
    2. the two fellas are alleged to have committed an offence or offences

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Hope he pulls threw, I wouldn't know if I could work again if this happent to me.

Again hope he pulls threw...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭djtechnics1210

Anyone know if theres a collection etc for robbie and his family.
    Family having to stay in dublin/ travel down etc is going to be very expensive for them, would be great if a collection or something like that could be organised

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

Anyone know if theres a collection etc for robbie and his family.
    Family having to stay in dublin/ travel down etc is going to be very expensive for them, would be great if a collection or something like that could be organised

Count me in on that.

If there isnt one maybe we should get GRA to organised somit!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭daithip

I'm almost sure one of the organisations we subscribe to, I'm not sure if its GRA IPA or Garda Benevelont etc, normally provide the immediate family with accommodation in an instance like this.

ES personal have to look out for each other and help in anyway possible in times like this

Well i know the IPA have a house in Dublin.
    I presume Benevolent Fund would help in some bit, thats why we subscribe to it.