Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The confessional - again. How fast have you driven?

• 25-03-2009 8:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭

OK, I'm bored. This popped into my head.

What's the fastest you've driven on a public road?
    What were you driving?
    Where was it?

I'll start with this.

125 mph, 1986 Corvette, Interstate 75 Florida, came out of a contra flow system and floored it.
    120 mph, 1994 Mitsubishi FTO, M4 between Leixlip and Kilcock.

And before anyone goes off on one, yeah, I know... I know. And I don't condone it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭bladebrew

oh no:eek:

dont do it,can of worms right here:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Vertakill

Heh, gotta love that Leixlip/Maynooth/Kilcock road (whenever its not crawling with guards) :)

120mph, 2002 350Z, Maynooth > Leixlip.

It was late and the road was fairly clear and it was shortly after pumping out some diesel out of the tank + refilling full tank of petrol and had to 'drive out' any remnants of diesel. (Yes I know I'm an idiot but I was in a rush filling up!!) :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,795 ✭✭✭Neilw

226kph on a derestricted section of autobahn in Germany, slightly down hill :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 173 ✭✭SAABMAN

176mph past a speed camera.
    Oh wait, no. That was just something I saw on TV :rolleyes:

Dunno really, got 90 out of a Dyane once going to a wedding :eek: Sounds impossible I know but, it was downhill. I had always thought their top speed was 75. The shaking stopped at about 80 and then it was just like a real car.
    Not the fastest I've gone but it felt like it.
    That was years ago and I wouldn't dream of doing it now even though current motor can do 140

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭Daz R1

176mph on my R1 just past the Carlow turn off heading for Newbridge -long road when ya come over that crest and you can see for miles -had to slow down for the bend at the end .....

And yes I dont condone it either - but it was 630am and no cars anywhere !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

255 km/h on an Autobahn.....What fun!!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,852 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

181mph through a timing light. Main runway Bruntingthorpe, Leicestershire. Ford Sierra Cosworth 3 door, running just under 350bhp.

It was rather rapid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭but43r

190 km/h in Renault Laguna diesel on M1 at 4 o'clock on a sunday morning...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭scudster

105mph in a Pug 106 1.5 diesel van on the M4 leixlip to kilcock stretch.
    120mph in a SEAT Leon 1.9tdi on a motorway in the north.
    137mph in a BMW 320d on M4 on the leixlip to kilcock stretch...then my turbo went kaputt! Karma or wha!
    All were done at about 5am so no cars on the road whatso ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭Dartz

If every K over is a killer, I've murdered more people than Ted Bundy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭.Longshanks.

Have seen an indicated 195 kmph on an empty motorway in my corsa outside the 32 counties;)

Its not big and its not elever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Vertakill

Dartz wrote: »
    If every K over is a killer, I've murdered more people than Ted Bundy.

Hahaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭frag4

152 mph on a R1 on the portlaois to Dublin motorway.

Slowed down as I went passed a gardai speed checkpoint. Saw them eyeball me but they never stopped me??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

110mph - Lexus RX400h

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

200 km/h and above for about an hour on the A7 in Germany in an Audi A4 1.8

77 mph somewhere near Monasterevin ...in the dweezil campervan :D (downhill) and I've got my one and only speeding ticket ever to prove it :o

ohh ...and may I remind posters that this is indeed a public forum :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭TheBazman

Wow no holy joes on giving out yet - I'm really surprised

around 140mph for me (for around 10 seconds).. no upside to saying where tho'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭Heroditas

225 kmph on the M7 on that massive long stretch between the Portarlington and Monasterevin exits I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭junkyard

Here is the last place i'd be admitting to speeding tbh what with the long arm of the law and all that. I've heard of Youtube videos being used to convict people of speeding in Ireland, this could be used in the same way, and peasant, I'm surprised at you, at least you got a speeding ticket.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭RedorDead

220km/h in an A4 2.7TDI on the autobahn outside Munich and 177km/h in Ireland on the M7 in an A6 3.0TDI near the Portlaoise exit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

Only an indicated 220km/h on the Autobahn, but I held the company speed record going from our office in Darmstadt in Germany to the HQ in Utrecht in The Netherlands for quite a while (410km in 2h 20m = an average 175km/h) :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,211 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

170 kph in an Opel Combi 1.7 Diesel - savage motor! It usually tops out at 160 so 170 was achieved on a long downhill section.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,113 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Faster than my cars alleged top speed (by satnav not speedo); but it was downhill...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭mondeo

170 km/h "105mph" in a 1.3 jap Lancer two years ago on N7 portlaoise to Dublin. It was maxed out at that speed, not bad for a little 1.3L engine. I had only recently bought the car as a second addition to my family so wanted to see what I could get out of it. Not fast compared to some of ye but I usually drive like I'm driving miss daisy so it was an experience for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭Lobelia Overhill

a rather tame by your standards 80+mph - but in a Fiesta. All right I was going downhill at the time, and I didn't intend to be going that fast, but I was trying to overtake a lorry and the sonovabitch lovely fella driving put his foot down as I got halfway passed him, and I had to floor it ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭but43r

junkyard wrote: »
    Here is the last place i'd be admitting to speeding tbh what with the long arm of the law and all that. I've heard of Youtube videos being used to convict people of speeding in Ireland, this could be used in the same way, and peasant, I'm surprised at you, at least you got a speeding ticket.:)
    Who is to say that everybody here is telling the truth???? A post on boards.ie could not be presented as an evidence in court :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭xFROSTY Gx

112mph in my Cousins Subaru forester on i-90 in the US

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

... and peasant, I'm surprised at you, at least you got a speeding ticket.:)

It's quite a funny story, actually

I was puffing up a hill in the wheezy camper behind another slow van, when the van pulled into the hard shoulder and sort of forced my hand to either pull in myself or try and overtake. So I floored the pedal and the old girl actually did make it past the van with some decourum (and clouds of smoke) ...well and then came the downhill bit and I had that nice bit of momentum and I thought to myself "wouldn't it be nice to find out how fast she still goes?"

So I kept the boot down and made it to 77 mph top speed ...just as I passed the unmarked garda car waiting for an idiot like me.

The garda who stopped me actually laughed and said "didn't think these things actually go that fast" ...and I said "neither did I" :D:D:D

Still cost me 50 pounds though ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

140mph on the M4 on a run to westport in mayo.. did it in 1 hour 50 minutes... ive got a better car now so id say i can beat it... ( also i left dublin at 5:30 am) i met 3 cars on the road 1 cop car and the other two were a cop car giving some one a speeding ticket :P

not driving but ive been in a civic doing 140+ mph down a back road in cork... first time ever in 5th gear... during a rally tho

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

160kph on the fermoy by-pass. Only put the foot down to see what it was like and then dropped back guard, i swear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 949 ✭✭✭LoanShark

246 kph in a Scoda RS a garage car that I had out for a test..
    160 kph in a Scoda Octavia Estate in Sweden (was late for the plane and kept her at it for over an hour and a half)
    110 mph in my mondeo today BUT I was going down hill...

DISCLAIMER: Speed Kills, Kills, Kills!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

150mph in a B7 RS4 on the M5 just south of Birmingham at 4.00am one lovely summer morning. Stayed at that speed for about 30 secs, then got scared.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭junkyard

but43r wrote: »
    Who is to say that everybody here is telling the truth???? A post on boards.ie could not be presented as an evidence in court :)

Really??? And there was me thinking everything I read on here since 2005 was gospel, that is a revelation!!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭cianclarke

130mph, legally, on derestricted autobahn in several different locations...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

~100 mph in a 99 colt and a 00 golf on the n18 from galway to limerick. Not sure of the distance each time but it did shorten the journey time considerably.
    Wouldn't chance it now (a year later), got a bit more cop on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 535 ✭✭✭Skopzz

DubTony wrote: »
    OK, I'm bored. This popped into my head.

What's the fastest you've driven on a public road?
    What were you driving?
    Where was it?

I'll start with this.

125 mph, 1986 Corvette, Interstate 75 Florida, came out of a contra flow system and floored it.
    120 mph, 1994 Mitsubishi FTO, M4 between Leixlip and Kilcock.

And before anyone goes off on one, yeah, I know... I know. And I don't condone it.

210 Km/h on the M50 beltway around Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

108 mph... Poor thing nearly fell apart.

I know someone who recently hit 186mph:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

240 ish kph
    merc s600(old bosses car:()
    over the rhine-brucke in cologne

• Closed Accounts Posts: 298 ✭✭farva

130+ mph in a 997 Turbo on a track in the UK

120mph in my 1.9TDI 130bhp A4 on the M50

110mph in a 4.2 295bhp Chevy Trailblazer on a trip to Vegas, roads were so straight and the Chevy had plenty more to come but it was limited to 110, probably for the best as the steering felt like it wasn't connected to the front wheels, especially at speed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,044 ✭✭✭Sqaull20

Done over 120mph on my brother's Galant on the Tralee road.It could have done more but I backed off.

Dont go over 100mph now and dont want to, even though I got a new car which could beat that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,441 ✭✭✭jhegarty

Lets test the theory.

200mph down the corridors of a school while drunk. There may have also been a body in the boot , can't remember if it was the same day because of the drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,053 ✭✭✭opus

240 kph in Germany, took a long time afterwards to get the flies that seemed to embed themselves in the car off :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,706 ✭✭✭craichoe

Depends on the time of year, the Winter Continentals are only rated to 180km/h on the Mercedes E350 .. go much faster and you risk failure

Have done 220 - 230 for extended periods of time (1 hr +) on the all weathers

Gets a bit booooring though when you do it every week, back roads in ireland at the speed limit are far more fun !

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

Managed to get 102 MPH out of my old Peugeot 106 1L :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭jizzyboner

many years ago - 2000 - on the M4 in Wales at 03:30am - long long straight - i had a BMW 750iL - limiter cut in at 155MPH but was steady as a rock and could chat away to passenger even with sunroof open

more recently - dropped 2 miseries at dublin airport after spending 2 weeks listening to them and their crap - had to get back to Tralee in a hurry - Mercedes S500 - up to the limiter again at 155MPH on the M7 on a quiet night - rock steady too but had the suspension set for rock hard

real wouldn't do this kind of thing on all roads but just at night when its dead quiet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,779 ✭✭✭Carawaystick

Did over 190kmh in me auld 1.3 Toyota corrolla on the A64 west of Trier. Could have gone faster but I was scared. I'd say it took about a km to slow back down to the recommended 130.....
    did 210 on the same road in a hired 406 a while later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭Bandara

145 mph.

You'll never take me alive copper.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 chrisinwestcork

from drimoleague( way way way west cork) to the swansea cork ferry in 40 mins,aprilia rs 250 tuned to the hilt,1/4 mile in 12.44 @144 it was proved at, dont want to think wot top or average speed was!!!

120mph, range rover. drimoleague dunmanway road,girlfriend slowed down at 100 behind me in her car.

not very fast u might think but how many of u drive on the west cork roads???? they are shocking!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭mumhaabu

I have done over 200mph in a mates Ferrari on that beloved piece of German infrastructure, the ICE train line was running parallel for a few k's and we were easily out speeding the trains. I think it was around 205 or 206mph.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭gofaster_s13

GPS indicated 292 kmh in a 911 turbo on my well hidden private test road which just happens to run parallell to the stretch of motorway between Kildare and Monasterevin:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭homer90

KamiKazi wrote: »
    Managed to get 102 MPH out of my old Peugeot 106 1L :D:D
    Perfect username :D