Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Just had a run in with some littering teenagers...

• 25-03-2009 4:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

So as I walked up a street close to where I live, a teenage girl (about 13) threw her smoothie plastic cup thing on the path.

As I walked by I asked her to pick it up and put it in the bin (there was one 10 feet from her). She starts going off on one "it's only a cup........"

So, I called her a scumbag or a knacker or both and then got the usual shouting "No i;m not....", "well why are you acting like one so?" yaddiyadda). There was a bit of verbal back and forth and I walked off.

She was with a couple of friends and some lads were in tow - so I just walked on to the shop to get what I was going for.

1. I feel so powerless in these situations sometimes, confronting loud teenagers (I'm in my 30s)

2. Should I just say nothing and walk on as if it's acceptable to litter the street of my town

3. After these altercations, I don't feel any better for "being in the right" and I usually feel a bit shook up/nervous. I judge the situation beforehand and don't feel I put myself in any physical danger. But I obviously make sure they aren't following me to see where I live.

4. Is there anything to be gained by giving out to them? I guess if more people did, maybe they wouldn't feel so at ease doing it...

I just get so frustrated that these kids just ruin the place for everyone else and leave the place in a mess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

IMO,

I think these days your crazy to get into a verbal with any scumbag there are people who have gotten stabed for asking directions.

Your not going to get through to the little toerag by giving out and as you have said your only going to upset yourself by getting in an argument.

Best to just silently Judge IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

I was living with someone in limerick she was a teacher. I can't remember the situation to well but it was possibly 2 twelve year old lads, they were either somewhere where they shouldn't have been or doing something they shouldn't have been. The boys were really ******** of children and the term being dragged up would have been too far. The teacher(not the boys teacher) just said something to them in a loud voice(but not shouting) that was direct and too the point. She did have to say something else to them but they did just walk away without much of a fuss. A teacher voice helps, talk loudly, don't shout, be direct and don't go off on tangents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 470 ✭✭Craft25

No way Ziedth.. Well done OP, you're my hero, Fair play to you!!

She didn't take it in right now, but one day she might.. fair play!

When i was a kid going around in a group like that i used to be on my mates case all the time: heres a bunch of kids going ireland this, ireland that, wearing the jerseys, sayin stuff about the english & they cant even be bothered to try keep our country beautiful!!

You will always feel that adrenalin rush & fear when you confront someone but it will make you more confident next time you've gotta speak up. Obviously there are bunches of kids you absolutely couldn't say it to as they probably have knives and value life (including their own) so little that they arent afraid to use them - just use your best judgement!

Well done!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

zoooooomy wrote: »
    So as I walked up a street close to where I live, a teenage girl (about 13) threw her smoothie plastic cup thing on the path.

As I walked by I asked her to pick it up and put it in the bin (there was one 10 feet from her). She starts going off on one "it's only a cup........"

So, I called her a scumbag or a knacker or both and then got the usual shouting "No i;m not....", "well why are you acting like one so?" yaddiyadda). There was a bit of verbal back and forth and I walked off.

She was with a couple of friends and some lads were in tow - so I just walked on to the shop to get what I was going for.

1. I feel so powerless in these situations sometimes, confronting loud teenagers (I'm in my 30s)

2. Should I just say nothing and walk on as if it's acceptable to litter the street of my town

3. After these altercations, I don't feel any better for "being in the right" and I usually feel a bit shook up/nervous. I judge the situation beforehand and don't feel I put myself in any physical danger. But I obviously make sure they aren't following me to see where I live.

4. Is there anything to be gained by giving out to them? I guess if more people did, maybe they wouldn't feel so at ease doing it...

I just get so frustrated that these kids just ruin the place for everyone else and leave the place in a mess.

Whats the issue?
    People are going to litter,particularly teenagers.No point getting bent out of shape about it.
    If you were that bothered why didnt you pick it up yourself?
    Im not been sarcastic by the way.

they want people to confront them because they know they'll win by numbers. just leave it be, who cares about rubbish anyways, it gives someone else a wage cleaning each morning.

i don't litter by the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

Firstly...ya should not of called her anything. That just provoked her to argue back (and gave her reason to).

Secondly...why do ya feel powerless? You are much older than them and they are only thirteen, bearly teenagers and easily over-ruled.

Laugh at them. Next time you see someone litter, just laugh and point. Make them feel guilty instead of getting yourself in a bad mood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,109 ✭✭✭Electric Sheep

I think the name calling was out of line, and not likely to encourage cooperation. You can confront someone without using that kind of language.

If they were in a school uniform them report it to the school.

A lot of parents don't really teach their kids to not be little shíts these days so you'll never really win in a situation like this unless you're packing an ak47 and there's no witnesses :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,649 ✭✭✭✭CDfm

zoooooomy wrote: »

As I walked by I asked her to pick it up and put it in the bin (there was one 10 feet from her). She starts going off on one "it's only a cup........
    "

So, I called her a scumbag or a knacker

I had no problem with this part of your post as I imagine most people wouldnt up until the highlighted part because thats where you lost your authority - up until then you could have said well its a nicer place to live without litter and I am sure you didnt learn that at home and even picked up the cup lid which would have embarrassed her.

So,I called her a scumbag or a knacker or both and then got the usual shouting "No i;m not....", "well why are you acting like one so?" yaddiyadda). There was a bit of verbal back and forth and I walked off.

She was with a couple of friends and some lads were in tow

2. Should I just say nothing

3. After these altercations

So what worried me was Part 2 of your post that you lost proportion and then rather than being the Tidy Towns Good Neighbour you percieve yourself to be - you come across as being very aggressive who regularily has these scenes and you should say nothing.

Thats not justifying littering but its a bit obsessive and inevitably you know yourself it could escalate. IMHO you owe the girl an apology next time you see her and should really avoid even worrying about litter type stuff if it makes you so upset.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭cafecolour

Skip direct confrontation. Say, in a friendly, helpful tone, something like "Oh honey, you look like a lovely girl, but honestly, littering like that will make people think you are knacker."

Then keep walking, don't even turn around to look back. If she doesn't pick it up that time, she will think twice next time.

The key is not to sound like you are lecturing, but that you are giving her helpful advice. It should come off in the same manner as "You look lovely, but honestly, those jeans are really not flattering on you. Why don't you try this pair."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

unfortunatley thses situations you probably wont win.

but from my experience of teenage girls arguing call her ugly or fat or a slut or say her hair is awful and that will affect her the most

probably best to leave it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

I can understand where you are coming from but to be honest calling her a scumbag and a knacker was out of order. She was a teenager and thats what they do, you should have just said you think its better to keep the place clean. I dont know the girl, so I dont know if she is a scumbag or not, but if i was 13 and i threw a cup on the ground(which i have done as a young lad) and someone called me a scumbag/knacker i would also reply as she did :"no im not".

Its best not to aggrevate the situation, approach it calmly and you might get a more constructive solution to the problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

nedtheshed wrote: »
    Whats the issue?
    People are going to litter,particularly teenagers.No point getting bent out of shape about it.
    If you were that bothered why didnt you pick it up yourself?
    Im not been sarcastic by the way.

what an idiotic post

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭Kevster

zoooooomy, you're my hero! I've been considering confronting the next person I see doing this. I remember one day I was waiting for a bus and there was a bin near me. Some guy then walked by and had just finished drinking a paper cup of coffee. he turned around and - from about 5 metres away - threw the cup at the bin and kept walking. he clearly saw that it didn't make it's way into the bin.

I'm also disgusted by how many young people now just spit onto the pavement; and by people who throw cigarette butts on the ground. That said, you do have to be careful about who you confront.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

I think the name calling was out of line, and not likely to encourage cooperation. You can confront someone without using that kind of language.

people who litter are not people you approach in a concilatory manner , they are not the kind of people who would be receptive to gentle diplomacy , if i saw someone litter , i would come down on top of them like a tonne of bricks , thier are no excuses and if thier are , im not interested in hearing them

settled tinkers , thats what i call people who litter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

irish_bob wrote: »
    what an idiotic post

Why pray tell is my post idiotic?

People are going to litter.I didnt condone littering and would always find a bin or take any rubbish I have home with me.

What is the point of accosting a bunch of teenagers in the street over a plastic cup?In this day and age,approaching any group of young people and proceeding to verbally abuse them over anything,never mind 1 piece of litter is like putting your head in a guillotine.There is no way in knowing how they are going to react and frankly a person in their 30s really should have more sense.

As for me saying that if the OP was so bothered why didnt he pick it up himself,its the truth.If he was so offended by it he could have picked it up and binned it,whats so hard about that?

If you would like to address my post in a constructive manner then by all means do but calling me idiotic and not giving reasons why leads me to believe you simply cant come up with any.Thats ok though,I wont hold it against you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 307 ✭✭artielange

A very upset father or brother might be a bigger problem than litter:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

people who litter are not people you approach in a concilatory manner , they are not the kind of people who would be receptive to gentle diplomacy
    I don't think that's true across the board... it really depends on who it's coming from and in what circumstances.
    An older brother or someone else they look up to could have a definite impact IMO.
    Some random busybody on the street will of course be told to f-ck off and mind their own business... but I think that's as much about saving face as anything else.
    I know what you mean though, you could drag them home by the arm and tell their parents what you saw them doing, and the parents would beat the shít out of you and tell you you to f-ck off and mind your own business.
    if i saw someone litter , i would come down on top of them like a tonne of bricks , thier are no excuses and if thier are , im not interested in hearing them
    Good luck with that, next time you see a group of 25-year-olds throwing cans around the place. ;)
    Be sure to have someone standing by with a camcorder. :D
    In this day and age,approaching any group of young people and proceeding to verbally abuse them over anything,never mind 1 piece of litter is like putting your head in a guillotine
    True, it's not worth getting stabbed over... but it's this adult fear of groups of children that has them the way they are.
    You can't win though, lay a finger on them and you're in big trouble... if they decide to turn things violent, you lose either way.
    I wouldn't blame anyone for not wanting to get involved... you have everything going against you... I think we're a community that can't police itself.
    As for me saying that if the OP was so bothered why didnt he pick it up himself
    Well I think what bothered the OP was seeing the action of someone disrespect the space everyone has to share by littering, not the piece of litter itself.
    It's like the difference between seeing a broken window and seeing someone breaking that window.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

I was sitting at a stoplight last spring when the carload of school girls in front of me starting emptying the contents of their car onto the road. I set the hand brake and walked up to the car and started handing back all of the rubbish they had dumped.

The screams coming from the back of the car made it well worth my while. I guarentee that they will think twice before they do it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭xxmarymoxx

well if my teenage daughter littered which she wud never do by the way and u called her a scumbag and a knacker u wudnt have to worry about her and her friends u would have to worry about me cos i would not think twice about confronting u how dare u call someone names like that and u wonder why some teenagers behave d way do do ur a disgrace just mind ur own business next time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

xxmarymoxx wrote: »
    well if my teenage daughter littered which she wud never do by the way and u called her a scumbag and a knacker u wudnt have to worry about her and her friends u would have to worry about me cos i would not think twice about confronting u how dare u call someone names like that and u wonder why some teenagers behave d way do do ur a disgrace just mind ur own business next time

Ahhhh ....an enabler.

artielange wrote: »
    A very upset father or brother might be a bigger problem than litter:)

My thoughts exactly -if it was my daughter I would complain to the guards but others are not so law abiding.TBH and please dont take this in the wrong way but you sound like a nutter.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

lead by example. Pick up the cup yourself and shoot her a filthy look. She'll probably get defensive - she's a teenager - but maybe she'll be embarrassed enough not to do it the next time. If she's not, then she wouldn't be if you'd shouted at her anyway. The most important thing is that the cup gets picked up, right?

Ahhhh ....an enabler.

+1. Most parents would be mortified that their child had embarrassed them by behaving like a scumbag, but there's a certain type of parent who deals with that embarrassment by going on the attack. Pathetic really.

tbh wrote: »
    lead by example. Pick up the cup yourself and shoot her a filthy look.

I agree with you on this

+1. Most parents would be mortified that their child had embarrassed them by behaving like a scumbag, but there's a certain type of parent who deals with that embarrassment by going on the attack. Pathetic really.

If you were a Dad or older brother who walked innocently onto this situation you would think diferently - I would freak- because the confrontation was disproportionate.

OP if you are really so interested in the neighbourhood get in touch with tidy towns in your area and do it properly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

CDfm wrote: »

If you were a Dad or older brother who walked innocently onto this situation you would think diferently - I would freak- because the confrontation was disproportionate.

in fairness, calling them a knacker was too much. I was on a bus one day and stepping off it, this kid (who was with his mother) literally emptied his schoolbag all over the path - crisp bags, juice boxes and old sandwiches. I didn't say anything because I was sure that his mother would belt the head off him for doing it (I just assumed all mams were like mine) but she didn't, even tho she saw it. I said, as politely as I could given I was literally shaking with rage "Excuse me, are you not going to get your child to clean up his mess?" cue sustained verbal assault :) that's what I'm talking about really.

ive always taught my kids to respect adults someone shud teach some adults to respects kids some adults think they have a right to hurl abuse at other peoples kids its pathetic i feel sorry for their own kids if they can go out and shout abuse at a kid for dropping a cup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

i admire your sense of pride in your country but i would not have confronted them. Your just bringing trouble on yourself and no one will stand with you. Its a society thing.

I think good behaviour like this is learned. My mother and father though me and I am only 33 so I am not old school.

How did they teach me. When I got something on the street My mom would say give me that paper when your finished and dont throw it on the ground. After a while of seeing her it in the bin I would do it to impress her. See how its thought so easy.

This is what I see know. " Get that out of your hand its sticky and dirty". Most people carry baby wipes these days so why cant they wrap it and put it in their bag till they reach a bin?

It all goes back to good teaching thats why. That and no pride!

well said it becomes a habit if u lead by example if im in a park and kids cant find a bin they will wait until d do plus i have a bin tied to the bag seat of my car if kids are eating crisps or sweets d bin the papers they have its like puttin on a seat belt it becomes automatic but u still see parents with kids in cars jumping around with no seatbelts on or smaller ones standin up in the front seats i wont start my car until everyone is straped in i never have to say it anymore cos the kids get in and automatically but belts on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

She was only being a gobby child. I hate littering aswell but I know people are always gonna do it. Abusing a child over something thats gonna happen anyway is a bit childish in my opinion.
    You where in the right about the littering but once you said you verbally abused a child you brought yourself down a level or two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭mags16

I had a lovely french flatmate who was a big softie but he looked scary. He has a mohican, missing tooth, some piercings etc - you get the picture. He was at the Jervis Luas stop and a young fella dropped his half eaten take away, bag and all, on the ground. My friend told him to pick it up. Young fella tells him to f**ck off. My friend screams "PICK IT UP!". Young fella picks it up, puts it into the litter bin and scurries off. Next time that fella decides to litter, he'll have a good look around to make sure there is no crazy looking french guy in the vicinity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭Katgurl

i agree with the posters who said you should have drawn attention to the litter & binned it yourself.

you were completely out of line calling her a knacker & a scumbag, how dare you speak to a child that way? can't you remember how sensitive (for all the false bravado) you were at that age?

exactly and they wonder why teenagers are the way they are when a stranger on the street calls them a knacker and a scumbag over one piece of rubbish unreal these people must forget they were once kids themselves

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 thedeadpoet

what an idiotic post

Hardly. Whats idiotic about talking sense? You're downright naive if you assume confronting a teenager over something as superficial as littering is going to produce any effective result save from being verbally and or physically assaulted.

Last night I was walking to the off license and as I passed a group of fools loitering outside a near by pub, I looked beyond an opening door in a bid to confirm if my friends were at the bar. I was met with a hail of abuse akin to "warreh yoo lukin' ahh" etc. There was six of them. I didnt even open my mouth.

Three days shy of St Patricks Day I was crossing O'Connell Street when I was approached by five Londoners who proceeded to ask me where they could by some 'skunk'. I said I didnt know, and as I was about to walk off one of them asked me why I "was looking at them funny as I was crossing the road that time", to which I merely responded with "you're mistaken" and continued towards my destination. Fortunately I looked behind me to check if I was being followed, and I was met with the sight of a figure about a foot away from me who then punched me in the face and sprinted back to his gang...standing on front of a Garda Station. Mehh, I just went home laughing.

But what gives you the right to call someone who litters a 'scumbag'? That word is used far too liberally these days. Do you think you could define it in your own terms?

its the same in every part of the country u get a gang of kids out late at night and d are looking for a fight where are the parents of these kids who range in age from 11 to 17 where i live old people are afraid to go into the graveyard cos its not safe anymore kids go drinking there day and night and yes if u went to the parents door ud get nothing but abuse but the same ones set this kind of example for their kids some dont care as long as the child is out of their sight so to call someone a scumbag for droping a piece of litter is a disgrace

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Hi xxmarymoxx.

We ask all posters in this forum to write in English. (no text speak)
    It makes for easier reading for the rest of us.
    Thanks,
    B

thats a joke right

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭Oh The Humanity

You should have pointed out to her that if it was "only a cup" then its just as easy to put it in the bin as on the ground.

I think you lost the moral high ground a little bit when you started slinging names at them. But fair play for saying something all the same!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 thedeadpoet

fair play for saying something all the same!

Fact is, its just stupid to involve yourself in matters that dont directly affect you. I hate to see litter in particular environments, but not as much as I'd hate to be looking at a knife handle protruding from my eye because I couldnt keep my mouth shut.

It would most certainly benifit you to heed when to shut up and when to speak up, for it could be a matter of life or death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭nmesisca

Fact is, its just stupid to involve yourself in matters that dont directly affect you. I hate to see litter in particular environments, but not as much as I'd hate to be looking at a knife handle protruding from my eye because I couldnt keep my mouth shut.

It would most certainly benifit you to heed when to shut up and when to speak up, for it could be a matter of life or death.

With your attitude you are just ignoring your social/civic responsibilities. Why being surprised when people attacked in broad daylight do not receive any help from others?
    We play the "minding my own business" far too much in this country IMHO.
    I would rather take my chances than looking the other way around.
    Kudos. Great example for your kids.

N

theres a big difference being attacked and attacking a child for dropping litter

Littering makes me angry though I'd never have the courage to confront somebody myself. When I was a kid, it was drilled into us that littering was bad. People who litter don't care about their town, city or country. Councils spend fortunes picking up after them. I can understand the OP's anger however I don't agree with him (her?) verbally abusing them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭nmesisca

LOL
    we are not talking going around with an axe.

in my book anyone that litters is a scumbag and deserves to be called so.

besides, believe me the kids can defend themselves calling you at least 15 other names.

today, I was drinking my coffee when a lad comes around and asks the shop assistant how much was a can of coke. She told him the price and the lad just shouted "**** off" and left. you want to try and explain good manners to that type person?

and u wonder why some teenagers have an attitude when fools like you and others think its ok to call them scumbags it was a piece of rubbish not a fooking bomb get over it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭Pub07

nmesisca wrote: »
    LOL
    today, I was drinking my coffee when a lad comes around and asks the shop assistant how much was a can of coke. She told him the price and the lad just shouted "**** off" and left. you want to try and explain good manners to that type person?

Yes, so why bother even saying anything to these type of people? They're not going to listen to you anyway and if you say something that gets taken badly by a scummer, no matter what their age, you could end up in serious trouble. Even more so if you say something to them if they're with a group as they'll have to save face and they'll be more confident. As someone said, if you end up in a fight you'll either get the crap kicked out of you or if you hurt them you'll be done for it, so you cant win. Best thing to do is just mind your own business.

And don't forget the two polish guys who got killed with a screwdriver last year because of a verbal altercation they had with a few young knackers. Or the 50 year old man that was shot by a young lad in Dublin just a few months ago? And these are just the cases that make it to the news because there were fatalities, Im sure there are tons more that you dont hear about where people get the sh*t kicked out of them for getting into verbal rows with young scummers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭Pub07

xxmarymoxx wrote: »
    and u wonder why some teenagers have an attitude when fools like you and others think its ok to call them scumbags it was a piece of rubbish not a fooking bomb get over it

For god sake, its not attitudes like the OP's that have turned so many young people in this country into scumbags. It's a combination of bad parenting and general diminishing morals. You think it's people like OP who take pride in their country and don't want to see it littered that are the cause of the problem...lol.

take pride in there country your a joke he or she is on the streets shouting and calling a kid a scumbag and a knacker and you think this is ok go back to the rock you crawled out from under you and anyone else that calls a kid or anyone a knacker or scumbag deserve every slap you are sure to get

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,218 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

OK folks lets calm this down and xxmarymoxx can you please use all the keys on your keyboard and that includes the full stop. It can be hard to read, so your point may well be lost and less talk of people deserving slaps. Thanks.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 307 ✭✭artielange

Just wondering if the Op says these things everytime he see someone littering or is do they have to meet a certain criteria, girl and 1st year of teenage years?

We see someone littering the street and we say nothing. We hear someone verbally abusing a shopkeeper, we say nothing. Some guy gets punched in the face, we say nothing. Because we're afraid. We are sending out messages to these people that they can do what they like and they will get away with it.

There are cities where if someone drops paper on the ground, people are appalled. It wouldn't be tolerated. If people were to challenge litterers (not abuse them), they might think twice about doing it again.

Litter isn't a small problem. It costs the country a fortune.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

artielange wrote: »
    Just wondering if the Op says these things everytime he see someone littering or is do they have to meet a certain criteria, girl and 1st year of teenage years?

I'll say it to anyone I think isn't likely to stab me/beat me up.... so it can be a teenager, a kid; I told a middle aged man who threw litter just outside where I live that "you seemed to have dropped something"..... his embarrassment at being caught out (as he assumed there was no one around), turned to anger but hey.... I got my point across and walked on. So no, it's not just easy targets.

My reaction to calling someone a knacker or a scumbag is when having said to someone "why don't you put that in the bin" , that they go off on one and start shouting at me and I know I'll get no where - so I call them as I see them. Now some people here think that those two words are too strong - maybe they are but they seem to be the only words which have any effect. Maybe my point is made at that stage.

As for those who say "what's the point?" well, I'm sick of having to see litter and graffiti around the town in which I live. It disgusts me - and it angers me.

Actually, now that I think of it, the reaction of her and her friends was one of "what's wrong with that?" in a genuine ignorance of her actions - so maybe they have been reared thinking that there's nothing wrong with it.

And for those who say "they;re only kids" well, yeah.... but as far as I'm concerned, if someone is blatantly littering, then one is allowed to say something - so maybe softening my approach is the thing to do.