Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Road To Berlin - We have reached the end of said road. Berlin's here!

• 25-03-2009 11:49am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭

I am starting this off again for this season and it will follow the same idea as the 2008 Rankings which are at the bottom of this post. Last season we had 129 athletes ranked with 30 Juniors, 25 U23 and 74 Seniors. The top 20 was:

1 Olive Loughnane
    2 Rob Heffernan
    3 Roisin McGettigan
    4 David Gillick
    5 Paul Hession
    6 Eileen O' Keeffe
    7 Alistair Cragg
    8 Derval O' Rourke
    9 Dave Campbell
    10 Tom Chamney
    11 Deirdre Byrne
    12 Fionnuala Britton
    13 Mark Carroll
    14 Paul McKee
    15 David McCarthy (Le Cheile)
    16 Joanne Cuddihy
    17 Kelly McNiece
    18 Michelle Carey
    19 James Nolan
    20 Una English

Top 5 U23
    1 Eoin Everard
    2 Jason Smyth
    3 Kelly Proper
    4 Amy Foster
    5 Linda Byrne

Top 5 Junior
    1 Brian Gregan
    2 Curtis Woods
    3 Niamh Whelan
    4 Ciara Everard
    5 Ciara Mageean

The 'qualification' for each event is based on the following:

The average of the World's 10th Best Performance for the past 2 seasons in each event is used as the benchmark
    All athletes within 10% of this benchmark will be given a rank
    Scoring calculation is (Athletes Best Performance / Benchmark)

2008 Rankings

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭thirtyfoot

Qualifications & Benchmarks

Men
    Event Qualification Benchmark
    100 10.98 9.99
    200 22.13 20.12
    400 49.13 44.66
    800 01:54.60 01:44.18
    1500 03:53.36 03:32.14
    5000 14:21.26 13:02.96
    10000 29:46.60 27:04.18
    Mar 02:19:33 02:06:52
    3000sc 09:00.22 08:11.11
    100/110H 14.54 13.22
    400H 53.23 48.39
    HJ 2.09 2.32
    PV 5.23 5.81
    LJ 7.43 8.26
    TJ 15.65 17.39
    SP 18.83 20.92
    DT 60.53 67.26
    HT 72.26 80.29
    JT 76.23 84.70
    Multi 7502 8335
    20k W 01:27:21 01:19:24
    50k W 04:07:23 03:44:54

Women
    Event Qualification Benchmark
    100 12.09 11.00
    200 24.71 22.46
    400 55.15 50.14
    800 02:10.08 01:58.25
    1500 04:26.88 04:02.62
    5000 16:13.01 14:44.55
    10000 34:07.52 31:01.38
    Mar 02:38:55 02:24:28
    3000sc 10:20.61 09:24.20
    100/110H 13.89 12.63
    400H 59.72 54.30
    HJ 1.78 1.98
    PV 4.21 4.68
    LJ 6.20 6.89
    TJ 13.29 14.77
    SP 17.28 19.20
    DT 58.04 64.49
    HT 66.75 74.17
    JT 57.07 63.41
    Multi 5756 6396
    20k W 01:36:53 01:28:05

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭Stupid_Private

Hmmmmm.... I don't think I'm gonna make that qualification criteria. Maybe if we class me as a female I might. Wouldn't be the first time mind. The race results in France went up once with me down as first female. The lads in the club thought it was hilarious naturally enough. I obviously didn't put myself down as a bird, some bright spark thought my non french name was a bit feminine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭mrak

ok I don't really understand the above but does that mean that the std has dropped in the marathon..? Maria McCambridge ran a 2:36 in dublin and failed to qualify, but the std above is 2:38..?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭Mr Mister

Like the idea of this Tingle. Just looking at last years list and the standards of qualification there would appear to be some fairly large discrepancies between standards in certain events.

For example Thomas Carroll's 1.52.98 800 metres is ranked ahead of Martin Fagan's 29.16 10k at nationals. With all due respect to both performances, in my mind Fagan's run is of a far higher standard (obviously he can go well quicker than that time).

Just from a distance point of view - the 800 and 1500 appear to be softer than the steeplechase and upwards (including marathon). I then though that maybe the longer an event goes on for the harder it is to make the qualification but the 2 walkers kind of throw this theory out the window.

I wonder how each of the qualification standards score on the IAAF scoring charts (while not the gospel, they do give a solid benchmark)

mrak wrote: »
    ok I don't really understand the above but does that mean that the std has dropped in the marathon..? Maria McCambridge ran a 2:36 in dublin and failed to qualify, but the std above is 2:38..?

This is based on 2009 performances. I stopped updating the 2008 list in October so probably explains how I missed McCambridge's run in Dublin

Mr Mister wrote: »
    Like the idea of this Tingle. Just looking at last years list and the standards of qualification there would appear to be some fairly large discrepancies between standards in certain events.

For example Thomas Carroll's 1.52.98 800 metres is ranked ahead of Martin Fagan's 29.16 10k at nationals. With all due respect to both performances, in my mind Fagan's run is of a far higher standard (obviously he can go well quicker than that time).

Just from a distance point of view - the 800 and 1500 appear to be softer than the steeplechase and upwards (including marathon). I then though that maybe the longer an event goes on for the harder it is to make the qualification but the 2 walkers kind of throw this theory out the window.

I wonder how each of the qualification standards score on the IAAF scoring charts (while not the gospel, they do give a solid benchmark)

I agree there can be a bit of a skew but by and large its fair. I looked at certain things last year and I feel using the performance of the 10th best athlete in the world as a benchmark is the fairest. Taking the 1st could lead to situations where you will have massive fluctuations from year to year. Using the 10th its funny how consistent they are from 2007 to 2008. I looked at using the qualifying marks as the benchmarks but these are way off, ie, marathon is too easy, 100m too hard. I looked at using the IAAF Scoring charts but they have flaws too. The easiest is to measure against their current global peers so while in reality Carroll's 1:52 is possibly not as good as Fagan's 29:16, it is closer to the top 10 performer in the 800 than Fagan is to the 10th man in the 10000 for example.

This does show where we have depth. Last year, 800 and 1500 are strong and 400 too. Also, 4 of the top 5 on the list were our best performers in Beijing (Loughnane, Heffernan, McGettigan and Hession).

David Gillick has had a nice opener in the Jackie Joyner Kersee meet in California running a 21.38 to win his 200m race. Good opener considering he must be doing very heavy training right now.

Week 3 (12/04/09)

Rank Athlete Event Performance Benchmark Score Club Age Category
    1 Jamie Costin 50k W 03:50:51 03:44:54 97.35% West Waterford Sen
    2 Colin Griffin 50k W 03:53:54 03:44:54 95.99% Ballinamore Sen
    3 Dave Campbell 1500 03:40.98 03:32.14 95.84% St Coco's Sen
    4 David Gillick 200 21.38 20.12 93.71% DSD Sen
    5 Damien Bateman 1500 03:46.60 03:32.14 93.19% Mullingar Sen
    6 Antoine Burke 400 47.92 44.66 92.70% Crusaders Sen
    7 Maria McCambridge Mar 02:35:29 02:24:28 92.38% Letterkenny Sen
    8 Louise Kiernan 100 11.84 11.00 92.31% Fingallians U23
    9 Robert Heffernan 20k W 01:25:32 01:19:24 92.29% Togher Sen
    10 Daire Bermingham 800 01:53.55 01:44.18 91.01% Raheny U23

Rank Club Score Age Event Gender Rankings Elite Highest Rank
    1 West Waterford 10.58 3.33 1.25 5.00 1.00 - 97.35%
    2 Ballinamore 10.58 3.33 1.25 5.00 1.00 - 95.99%
    3 St Coco's 10.58 3.33 1.25 5.00 1.00 - 95.84%
    4 DSD 10.58 3.33 1.25 5.00 1.00 - 93.71%
    5 Mullingar 10.58 3.33 1.25 5.00 1.00 - 93.19%
    6 Crusaders 10.58 3.33 1.25 5.00 1.00 - 92.70%
    7 Letterkenny 10.58 3.33 1.25 5.00 1.00 - 92.38%
    8 Fingallians 10.58 3.33 1.25 5.00 1.00 - 92.31%
    9 Togher 10.58 3.33 1.25 5.00 1.00 - 92.29%
    10 Raheny 10.58 3.33 1.25 5.00 1.00 - 91.01%

Region Clubs Leaders Last Season
    Dublin 4 DSD DSD
    Leinster 2 St Coco's KCH
    Munster 2 West Waterford Leevale
    Ulster 1 Letterkenny North Down
    Connacht 1 Ballinamore Ballinamore

• Closed Accounts Posts: 466 ✭✭thirstywork

Im not well up on sprint times.how far is this of his pb?

Its 0.17 off his PB.

Louise Kiernan of Fingallians had a 11.84 and 24.44 in Florida. She won the 100.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭Rineanna

Gillick's back in action pretty soon after the indoor season, isn't he?! Not that three races would have worn him out or anything. It's interesting to note the different lengths of time taken by different athletes to open outdoors after an indoor season. Is there any general theories on it, or does it matter? Especially if athletes who skipped the indoor season got a month or two extra of preparation under their belt.

Gillick will continue his outdoor season at the Mt. Sac relays, except he'll open over 400m. I'm guessing he'll run a relay leg too, since there's a Loughborough relay team entered. Martyn Rooney and Tim Benjamin will also race so good field.

Men's entries: http://www.mtsacrelays.com/confirmations/confirmationsuomen.pdf

Richard Yeates is the only other male Irish entrant from what I can see, but I only had a quick scan.

Can't see any Irish Females, but just a quick scan again: http://www.mtsacrelays.com/confirmations/confirmationsuowomen.pdf

Thought Carey would have been there with the Luffbra gang.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 268 ✭✭Frank3142

david mccarthy is also down i think

Rineanna wrote: »

Thought Carey would have been there with the Luffbra gang.

Carey was ill after Beijing so was planning on a later start to the season as far as I know in order to catch up the training missed.

The experts have spoken and the Boards Irish Athlete of the Quarter (Jan/Feb/Mar) has been decided. I could only get 8 'experts' so the max score you could get was 40. It was a two horse race between Martin Fagan and Mary Cullen with Fagan coming out on top by the narrowest of margins. Here are the scores and thanks to the panel who voted. We'll do this each quarter and then at the end of the year also for Athlete of the Year.

1 Martin Fagan Mullingar 35
    2 Mary Cullen North Sligo 34
    3 Derval O' Rourke Leevale 19
    4 Jamie Costin West Waterford 14
    5 Kelly Proper Ferrybank 10
    6 David McCarthy West Waterford 4
    7 Roisin McGettigan Sli Culainn 2
    8 Deirdre Byrne Sli Culainn 1
    8 Keith Kelly Drogheda & District 1

Some interesting comments from the panel (these guys should be on TV instead of Coghlan & Kiernan:D)

Martin Fagan
    But Fagan, that is an astonishing performance, I know it's not a medal, but he's taken a legends record, a long lasting record, and put it up to the second fastest long distance runner of all time. Oh and he ran 7.58 for 3000m indoor in his t-shirt and flats.

Mary Cullen
    Mary Cullen - Beats Fagan by 0.0000001% of a point for me. Broke a record of Sonia's over 3k but then went and did something way better by getting bronze in Turin. Medals are the currency in athletics and to come back from the year she had in 2008 a better athlete is remarkable. Eary contender for athlete of the year.

Men's entries: http://www.mtsacrelays.com/confirmations/confirmationsuomen.pdf

Richard Yeates is the only other male Irish entrant from what I can see, but I only had a quick scan.

Can't see any Irish Females, but just a quick scan again: http://www.mtsacrelays.com/confirmations/confirmationsuowomen.pdf

Eimear O' Brien (she is Irish isn't she?) is in the 5k and Daire Bermingham in the 1500.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Racing Flat

the only other male Irish entrant

This wouldn't be anything to do with the fact that one of the Irish coaches/promoters over there is putting on some kind of rival/alternative meeting around the same time? Could be Chinese whispers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 macshay

Cant disagree with Martin, but is David Mc Carthys performance a little undervalued, sometimes "personalities" are seen in a more positive light.

macshay wrote: »
    David Mc Carthys performance a little undervalued, sometimes "personalities" are seen in a more positive light.

Personalities with Irish records and medals!!!!!!! 3 have set national records and 2 have European indoor medals. I would say McCarthy is overvalued and perhaps Roisin McGettigan undervalued but hey thats only my opinion and I wasn't on the voting panel.

Knowing the posting record of the panel here I don't think they'd be fooled by athletes having just "personalities", whatever you mean by "personalities":confused:

This wouldn't be anything to do with the fact that one of the Irish coaches/promoters over there is putting on some kind of rival/alternative meeting around the same time? Could be Chinese whispers.

I presume you mean the McDonnell Invitational in Arkansas. Are any Irish running there? Is Cragg running as I thought he was going to open up on the track later in May?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 beano-lawd

http://www.mtsacrelays.com/archives/2009/results/uo/090416F547.htm

amazing run first the sub 4 mile and now this hes heading the right way:eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭runjb

What a run!! In his first outdoor race this year, I think we can expect one hell of a season from this man! He has such a fantastic range of distances!

This time ranks him 2nd on the current European Season lists, behind Andy Bradly GBR!

Go on David!:cool:

beano-lawd wrote: »

amazing run first the sub 4 mile and now this hes heading the right way:eek::eek:

Great stuff. Its easily the Euro U23 standard and inside the World University standard of 13:50 (if he chose to compete in that later in the year).

Also great run by Damien Bateman of Mullingar in 4th in a PB of 13:52, he is having a great spring.

Week 4 (19/04/09)

David McCarthy with his great run in Mt Sac moves into 5th while Gillick with his classy run in Mt Sac goes top. It also means West Waterford take an early lead in the club rankings.

1 David Gillick 400 45.80 44.66 97.45% DSD Sen
    2 Jamie Costin 50k W 03:50:51 03:44:54 97.35% West Waterford Sen
    3 Colin Griffin 50k W 03:53:54 03:44:54 95.99% Ballinamore Sen
    4 Dave Campbell 1500 03:40.98 03:32.14 95.84% St Coco's Sen
    5 David McCarthy (WW) 5000 13:42.11 13:02.96 95.00% West Waterford U23
    6 Damien Bateman 5000 13:52.51 13:02.96 93.67% Mullingar Sen
    7 Antoine Burke 400 47.92 44.66 92.70% Crusaders Sen
    8 Maria McCambridge Mar 02:35:29 02:24:28 92.38% Letterkenny Sen
    9 John Laffey 400 48.09 44.66 92.32% Clonliffe Sen
    10 Louise Kiernan 100 11.84 11.00 92.31% Fingallians U23
    11 Richie Yeates 5000 14:03.22 13:02.96 92.30% Raheny Sen
    12 Robert Heffernan 20k W 01:25:32 01:19:24 92.29% Togher Sen
    13 Chris Russell 100 10.78 9.99 92.04% Ferrybank Jun
    14 Ava Hutchinson 5000 15:58.93 14:44.55 91.59% DSD Sen
    15 Kelly Proper 100 11.93 11.00 91.50% Ferrybank U23
    16 Daire Bermingham 1500 03:51.16 03:32.14 91.04% Raheny U23
    17 Andrew Ledwith 5000 14:17.95 13:02.96 90.42% Fr Murphys Sen
    18 Joan Healy 100 12.09 11.00 90.04% Bandon Jun

Rank Club Score Age Event Gender Rankings Elite Highest Rank
    1 West Waterford 26.17 6.67 2.50 5.00 2.00 10.00 97.35%
    2 DSD 22.83 3.33 2.50 10.00 2.00 5.00 97.45%
    3 Ferrybank 19.92 6.67 1.25 10.00 2.00 - 92.04%
    4 Ballinamore 15.58 3.33 1.25 5.00 1.00 5.00 95.99%
    5 St Coco's 15.58 3.33 1.25 5.00 1.00 5.00 95.84%
    6 Mullingar 15.58 3.33 1.25 5.00 1.00 5.00 93.67%
    7 Crusaders 15.58 3.33 1.25 5.00 1.00 5.00 92.70%
    8 Letterkenny 15.58 3.33 1.25 5.00 1.00 5.00 92.38%
    9 Clonliffe 15.58 3.33 1.25 5.00 1.00 5.00 92.32%
    10 Fingallians 15.58 3.33 1.25 5.00 1.00 5.00 92.31%
    11 Raheny 14.92 6.67 1.25 5.00 2.00 - 92.30%
    12 Togher 10.58 3.33 1.25 5.00 1.00 - 92.29%
    13 Fr Murphys 10.58 3.33 1.25 5.00 1.00 - 90.42%
    14 Bandon 10.58 3.33 1.25 5.00 1.00 - 90.04%

Region Clubs Leaders Last Season
    Dublin 5 DSD DSD
    Leinster 3 St Coco's KCH
    Munster 4 West Waterford Leevale
    Ulster 1 Letterkenny North Down
    Connacht 1 Ballinamore Ballinamore

Tingle wrote: »
    Great stuff. Its easily the Euro U23 standard and inside the World University standard of 13:50 (if he chose to compete in that later in the year).

Also great run by Damien Bateman of Mullingar in 4th in a PB of 13:52, he is having a great spring.

Great to see both of them under 14 mins; McCarthy is a very promising athlete indeed.

It'll be interesting to see which of the age-group championships these athletes pick, if any of them. The Universiade and the Euro u23s have been scheduled just a a few days apart in July, so for a lot of athletes, it'll be a choice of one or the other. I bet a lot would have liked to have competed at both.

There's an interesting situation arising in the Euro u23s, with four females having achieved the 100m standard: Foster, Proper, Kiernan and Brady. The timetable is conducive for Proper to do the 100m/LJ double, so we might have to have a race-off in Tullamore to decide the competing three! Plus, it's a good team for a 4x100m.

I suppose we all heard the bad news about Mary Cullen? Stress fracture (I think) according to the Indo. :( Not sure how serious they are.

There's an interesting situation arising in the Euro u23s, with four females having achieved the 100m standard: Foster, Proper, Kiernan and Brady. The timetable is conducive for Proper to do the 100m/LJ double, so we might have to have a race-off in Tullamore to decide the competing three! Plus, it's a good team for a 4x100m.

That is great to be getting such depth there. While we don't have a Hesh in the women we have more depth of sprinters.

I suppose we all heard the bad news about Mary Cullen? Stress fracture (I think) according to the Indo. :( Not sure how serious they are.

Shocking news alright, fingers crosses she'll be back for August and probably before that to get the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 coldplate

Gillick, 45.80 for 1st at Mt.SAC, looked easy, said he went out too slow

last year he opened at the same meet with a 46.3x..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭ChickenTikka

beano-lawd wrote: »

amazing run first the sub 4 mile and now this hes heading the right way

Flotrack have the video here -
    http://www.flotrack.org/videos/coverage/view_video/234894/170805

coldplate wrote: »
    Gillick, 45.80 for 1st at Mt.SAC, looked easy, said he went out too slow

last year he opened at the same meet with a 46.3x..........

World class season opener in April. Dare we say that he is now in 44 second shape? Too early to be saying that I know but jaysus that is massively promising! Head home, get stuck back into another block of training and be ready for June/July/August.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 Philosophress

I was very impressed by Gillick's last 120m. He is always strong but he had a nice fluidity even this early in the season which suggests that training is going well. Hopefully he can push on later in the season to the type of performances that is he capable of outdoors.

Very true, just saw the video on Flotrack and he was so fluid the last 100.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 268 ✭✭Frank3142

did loughborough have a relay team?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭eltuerto

Just a question./query.

Are Indoors not included? If so where are Alan O'Brien (3.49) and Pat MacCartan (3.52) as they were 1st and 2nd in Irish Indoors with these times??

How is Anthony Leghio added today? Is that from the Dublin Gradeds last night?

Tingle can correct me, but indoors aren't included AFAIK. It wouldn't really be comparing Apples with apples, I'd imagine, given the differences in track, weather and other variables.

Yes, I believe Leghio's time was the einning time in last night's meet.

eltuerto wrote: »
    Just a question./query.

Are Indoors not included? If so where are Alan O'Brien (3.49) and Pat MacCartan (3.52) as they were 1st and 2nd in Irish Indoors with these times??

How is Anthony Leghio added today? Is that from the Dublin Gradeds last night?

Just the outdoors, I can do similar for indoors next winter.

Yes that Leghio's time from last night. I will expect a few tomorrow and saturday too at the Varsities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭airscotty

Loving this idea! I'm guessing this is really only for track events....but if your expanding it maybe Emma Davis might sneak in there for triathlon...

European Championships - May 10th, 16th

Beijing Olympic Games - August 18th, 37th

airscotty wrote: »
    Loving this idea! I'm guessing this is really only for track events....but if your expanding it maybe Emma Davis might sneak in there for triathlon...

European Championships - May 10th, 16th

Beijing Olympic Games - August 18th, 37th

Not planning on doing that but hey it could be an interesting one. Using the best global peers of each event in various sports (swimming, cycling, tri, athletics etc etc) as the various benchmarks. Would be interesting but hard to calculate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 little mazungo

tonight in the states should be fast, as pacers are going out on American record pace, As Fam (anthony famiglietti) is try to break the record 27.13!!! due to go through in 5k in 13.35!!

I have spoken to Martin and he is eyeing up a crack at Irish record, 27.39.55 (cragg) if conditions are good,

Mary Cullen is down for the 5k too,
    I will keep you's posted,
    field below

Juan Luis Barrios (NA) M Nike 13:11.37 - 5k time - Mt Sac 2007
    Anthony Famiglietti (NA) M Saucony 27:37.24 - Cardinal 2006
    Teodoro Vega (NA) M New York Road Runners 27:37.49 - 2003 Pontevedra 10,000
    Ed Moran (NA) M Nike 27:43.13 - 2007 Palo Alto
    James Carney (NA) M New Balance 27:43.64 - Stanford 2007
    Alejandro Suarez (NA) M adidas 27:43.92 - 2007 Payton Jordan Cardinal Invitational
    Boaz Chemboiywo (NA) M Nike 27:44.15 - Neerpelt 2008
    Michael Aish (NA) M Strands Running 27:46.37 - Palo Alto 29/4/2007
    Juan Carlos Romero (NA) M Nike 27:47.46 - 2008 Payton Jordan Cardinal Invitational
    Fasil Bizuneh (NA) M New Balance 27:50.48 - Stanford 2008
    Yuki Sato (NA) M Nissin Group 27:51.65 - Fukuroi,14/10/2007
    Satoru Kitamura (NA) M Nissin Group 28:00.22 - Fukuroi,02/06/2007
    Robert Curtis (NA) M Reebok 28:06.74 - Melbourne 12/11/2008
    Collis Birmingham (NA) M New Balance 28:08.23 - Palo Alto 4/5/2008
    Michael Shelley (NA) M Nike 28:08.96 - Zatopek Mem, Melbourne, 12/11/08
    Seigo Ikegami (NA) M Honda Motor 28:16.12 - Yokohama,02/12/2007
    Martin Fagan (NA) M Reebok 28:18.30 - Cardinal 2007
    Ed Torres (NA) M Reebok 28:21.46 - 2003 USA Outdoor Champs
    Julio Cesar Perez (NA) M New York Road Runners 28:24.49 - 2008 Portland All-Comers 10,000
    Suehiro Ishikawa (NA) M Honda Motor 28:25.48 - Yokohama,23/11/2008
    Fernando Cabada (NA) M Reebok 28:25.62 - Oregon Twilight 2006
    Andrew Carlson (NA) M Brooks 28:25.86 - Stanford Inv. 2009
    Andrew Lemoncello (NA) M adidas-McMillanElite 28:28.04 - Stanford Invitational 2007
    Mark Matusak (NA) M Brutus Hamilton 28:30.00 - rabbitt one mile
    Josh Moen (NA) M Team USA MN/Brooks 28:31.08 - 2008 Payton Jordan Cardinal Invitational
    Damien Bateman (NA) M Unattached 28:45.3h - Cal Berkley 2009
    Mark Kenneally (NA) M Clonliffe Harriers 28:55.49 - Cardinal Invite 2007
    Jefferey Eggleston (NA) M Brooks 29:36.5h - 2008 American Milers Club
    Sam Chelanga (JR) M Liberty NM - per Rembao
    Haron Lagat (NA) M New Balance NM - PACEMAKER
    Ben St Lawrence (NA) M New Balance NM
    Bolota Asmerom (NA) M Nike NM - PACEMAKER
    Matt Gabrielson (NA) M Reebok NM - 2008 5k 13:30.95 Heusden, Belgium

suppose you wern't talking to Mary Cullen as she has a stress fracture.
    Be suprised if Fagan gets the record tonight.

suppose you wern't talking to Mary Cullen as she has a stress fracture.
    Be suprised if Fagan gets the record tonight.

that you are right, i wasnt, as I dont have contact with rays group,

but she is still down on the declared list to race???

She would be down as the entries would have been put in long time ago.
    I was having a small stab at you in the first post because you where name dropping and from the second post i can see i was right ''Rays group'';)

ah now give the lad a break - nice of him to post this info. Agree that after fagan's form in bupa and talk of hernia, etc record looks unlikely but you never know and it should still be a good race.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

In fairness now, mentioning Fagan is hardly name dropping!!! Irish athletics is a pretty small community, anybody involved in distance running in some way would know each other!!

yeah I live for name dropping it really gets me off.....:rolleyes:

that fact that Im good friends with Martin, and im based in the states alot of the time, has nothing to do with it, and as paddy white said irish athletics in a "gold fish bowel" and even more so at the elite level,

and we wonder why there is so much bitching and in fighting in Irish athletics;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

Fagan 8th, cheers to the OP, starting threads about races that would otherwise have been missed is what this forum is all about:)

Finals
    1 Sam Chelanga O= Liberty 27:28.48
    2 Collis Birmingham NA New Balance 27:29.73
    3 Yuki Sato NA Nissin Group 27:38.25
    4 Anthony Famiglietti NA Saucony 27:39.68
    5 Juan Luis Barrios NA Nike 27:40.10
    6 Boaz Cheboiywo NA Nike 27:48.97
    7 Andrew Lemoncello NA adidas-McMil 27:57.23
    8 Martin Fagan NA Reebok 27:58.48

Hey that was not too far off the record considering the recent bupa dissapointment and a big pb all the same. He would normally be ahead of Lemoncello in the past year so either he can run better or Lemoncello ran well. Looks to me like he's back on track to take the record.

Puts him 8th on the Irish all-time and its the B standard for Berlin.

Kenneally didn't run, no sign on the listings?

Tingle wrote: »
    Puts him 8th on the Irish all-time and its the B standard for Berlin.

Kenneally didn't run, no sign on the listings?

No sign of Bateman either.

Week 5 (26/04/09)

Martin Fagan's 10000 moves him into 3rd.

1 David Gillick 400 45.80 44.66 97.45% DSD Sen
    2 Jamie Costin 50k W 03:50:51 03:44:54 97.35% West Waterford Sen
    3 Martin Fagan 10000 27:58.48 27:04.18 96.66% Mullingar Sen
    4 Colin Griffin 50k W 03:53:54 03:44:54 95.99% Ballinamore Sen
    5 Dave Campbell 1500 03:40.98 03:32.14 95.84% St Coco's Sen
    6 David McCarthy (WW) 5000 13:42.11 13:02.96 95.00% West Waterford U23
    7 Damien Bateman 5000 13:52.51 13:02.96 93.67% Mullingar Sen
    8 Antoine Burke 400 47.92 44.66 92.70% Crusaders Sen
    9 Maria McCambridge Mar 02:35:29 02:24:28 92.38% Letterkenny Sen
    10 John Laffey 400 48.09 44.66 92.32% Clonliffe Sen
    11 Louise Kiernan 100 11.84 11.00 92.31% Fingallians U23